Satria NEO CPS, Media Launch and Test Drive Review

travis_ckf
post Feb 13 2009, 11:10 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

First of all thanks to kcng for his efforts for this brief but brilliant review notworthy.gif

Overall the car looks great with the bodykit and the interior. Not to mention the CPS is finally included inside the engine bay

Just that the minor turnoffs are its leather steering, the rims and the overweight. Need to test drive this baby.

May consider for a 2 door car considering i have already one family saloon in my house which explains i actually can go for a hothatch, its time for some fun in the road after been in a bot (myvi) for 3 years brows.gif

Cooshyree, what do u think? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Feb 13 2009, 11:12 PM
travis_ckf
post Feb 13 2009, 11:41 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 13 2009, 11:28 PM)
When is proton going to make a Satria Neo CPS GTi. The wheel arches may be taken from the GTi, but I think its too thick. Maybe making it thinner would make it better? Someone try photoshop see how it looks like
Proton has no plans for the gti version of the satria neo since their direction is towards people's cars like the persona, saga and the upcoming MPV. The best we can wait is via R3's tuned version which wont be cheap either since it will be limited quantity.

Lotus do have plans to tune a existing road car and the satria neo has a very good potential. With their planned participation in the WRC via the S2000 rules this year and next year, this look good for the satria neo. smile.gif

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Feb 13 2009, 11:42 PM
travis_ckf
post Feb 16 2009, 10:09 AM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(antu007 @ Feb 16 2009, 04:33 AM)
in MME 2008, neo r3 campro 1.6L beat those 1.8L vtecs, Gti, and toyotas ...

but that's neo from R3 division. Heard the output for the engine reach 200hp and of course, neo has a very good handling.

For the sake of safety for the Rakyat.. they build slower engine for production neo...heheh( i like this one )

but for those who knows the recipes (esp. R3 division)... u can have a cute monster that can beat vtec/4ag. Too bad, HKS, Apexi or other tuners don't develop aftermarket performance parts for campro engine.
I believe the satria neo beat tthe vtec in MME not only because of the engine, as i believe the nsatria neo used in MME still ahve disadvantages in the engine displacement and power, but R3 has also better experience than most teams in that category in terms of endurance racing. Dont forget R3 used to win the overall category on the Lotus Exige 340R a few years back.

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Feb 16 2009, 09:20 AM)
yeah lor.. i was so happy n proud when i 1st heard that petronas made the E01.. a powerful n hi tech engine developed by malaysians using knowledge they gain from F1 know-how..

then i thought, finally proton would have a proper engine that we could show off 2 the world..

then.. i heard the new that proton didnt want it.. i was like, "WTF??!!"  doh.gif

then.. i heard that some chinese company bought it..

weird.. ive always wondered y did proton didnt want it??? unsure.gif
That time proton was headed by that buffon Tengku Mahaeel who wants self pride more than anything else. He wants proton to develop tehir own engine to show their capability and dependence from petronas. If i recalled proton and petronas have conflicts back then.
travis_ckf
post Feb 18 2009, 03:22 PM

6,413 posts

Actually it might be more expensive if the car is lighter. Take a look at those "superlagenda" lightweight cars from Lamborghini or Scuderia F430 from Ferrari, its much more expensive than a normal Lambo/F430.

travis_ckf
post Feb 19 2009, 02:11 AM

6,413 posts

I went to Proton COE at subang and take alook at the new satria neo CPS. The white neo is simply gorgeous, simply one of the best looking proton cars ever. It reminded me that the stig's DNA is implanted inside the car.

However interior wise i quite disappointed that it still uses some bits from the current satria neo, such as the plastic door trims and the samurai sword handbrakes. Space utilization is quite wasted and the car is strictly for 2 people only. Fine for me now but not good for long term. Boot space is fine for a 2 door car.

Overall, i felt the gen2 CPS has better value if you looking for a small fun hatch but the gen2 cant beat the looks of the white satria neo. If i have one, i gonna name it "stig" tongue.gif

Need to bring the car for test drive, hopefully i can get one next week. thumbup.gif
travis_ckf
post Feb 23 2009, 07:01 PM

6,413 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Feb 23 2009, 05:39 PM)
IvanDass.. i totally agree wit u.. the old gti was such a hit coz it looks really good (so good infact that people dont seem 2 mind forking out 72k 4 a hatchback that has only 120bhp).. all the extra kit blended wit one another so well that it made it such a looker.. this cps however, its like they tried 2 bring the glory back as the old gti, like the wheel archers, but somehow ended up not succeeding n appear too try hard..
Well let see if Lotus really picks the satria neo as their supposed tuned up production car project just like what they did on the vauxhall a few years back.

QUOTE(diablo69 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:16 PM)
lets wait for the knock down version, like da one they did for neo... engine maintain 1.6 cps, but the rest low line... should be a good modding project...
There will be a knock down version, called the clubsports which they took the satria neo chasis of a 1.3cc engine and put a 1.6 campro inside.

0.0236sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:12 AM