~~Budget Earphones/Headphones~~, Ear-/Headphones for the tight wallets

ArianneG
post Nov 9 2009, 02:00 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Can anyone recommend me some good headphones under RM100 (Well under USD30)? Was thinking of asking a friend in America to help me test and buy the KSC75, but I saw Newegg reviews saying the clipon style is not good for people wearing glasses and the earclips are easy to lose....
ArianneG
post Nov 9 2009, 04:32 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 9 2009, 02:12 PM)
Hi fellow Nottingham minion. laugh.gif
Try out the Philips SHP2700 which you can easily get locally. smile.gif You strictly want headphones only? Not trying out any earbuds or IEMs?
OH HAI DAR FELLOW MINION. biggrin.gif

Hm. How is its performance vs say, Koss KSC75 or Sennheiser PX100? Absolute max budget is RM150. I listen to all kinds of music, but am not bass-crazy; like a pair with good clarity as I listen to classical and choral a lot though. Will be taking these headphones places-- in and out a lot, so portability is a big plus. Want to use in the library as well. XD

I look at the Philips and it seems REALLY huge lah. Don't want to stuff such a huge things into my comp bag; it's already really full. And yes headphones only. I find that earbuds and IEMs give me problems with my ears, so I can't use them for long periods. sad.gif

This post has been edited by ArianneG: Nov 9 2009, 04:37 PM
ArianneG
post Nov 9 2009, 04:47 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

How about the Koss PortaPro? Any good vs KSC75 or Senn PX100? Anythingbutipod review says PX100 >> PortaPro and KSC75. True/false?
ArianneG
post Nov 10 2009, 03:21 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Haha. Already have one HUGE pair of headphones from Philips, don't want to add another.

Hmm. Since I don't really spend a LOT of time in the library, I should be fine. laugh.gif Portability and good SQ is the main thing for me.

So now you're saying that KSC75 or PortaPro are better than PX100? Because if so then my final pick would be between KSC75 and PortaPro, which I can ask my friend in US to get for me. So KSC75 vs PortaPro, both unmodded-- who wins? KSC75? Beyerdynamic DT231 looks good, except it is WAAAAY out of budget. sad.gif

Newbie question: what is this recabling you guys keep talking about, and how do I do it? I am a disaster with soldering and stuff (dulu cikgu KH sering marah tengok kerja dibuat saya), so maybe best I don't try it... LOL

Now my main worry is that the foam earpads will not last in our weather-- US won't fall apart, but most of the foam-padded headphones I own had their foam pads disintegrate within a year or two. What then? Where to replace, or try and DIY?

This post has been edited by ArianneG: Nov 10 2009, 03:29 PM
ArianneG
post Nov 10 2009, 04:50 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

laugh.gif Two friends studying there now-- one of whom is willing to help me buy stuff, even asked me last year if I needed a new pair of sport shoes (since my favoured and really battered pair came from US-- Avia running shoes)!

Actually I already have a pair of Philips clip-ons, design similar to the KSC75 (Philips SHS4700/37), but I'm looking to upgrade equipment. Still that pair of earphones is REALLY comfy-- some kind of soft silk-looking material covering firm cushy pads, and SQ is fair.

The Beyerdynamic 'phones would be fabulous to replace my poor aging Philips cans ()-- those had nice SQ and were a steal at only RM20. biggrin.gif

So I'm looking for KSC75 for running around and listening on LRT/KTM-- and also I don't spend much time in the library. Headphones mostly for running around on the street, and for listening at home since speakers are on campus and not in house bedroom.
ArianneG
post Nov 10 2009, 08:53 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

So now what should I get? The Beyerdynamics headphones on sale in the other thread is now only about 50% of the retail price for new stock (RM12x); but the KSC75 I can get for under USD20 or less through my friend. How ah? Also I'm worried my player has not enough power to drive these babies: I'm using Samsung YP-U3 while scrimping enough for a Sansa Clip+.

This post has been edited by ArianneG: Nov 10 2009, 09:54 PM
ArianneG
post Nov 10 2009, 10:54 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Ha! Koss KSC-75 with PcWork's recabling? You bet I want 'em! laugh.gif If you seriously want to sell, can PM now. Then that money can go to your new baby la. XD

Beyerdynamics headphones, if I managed to buy, would probably be used indoors-- which means it'll most likely be stuck straight to my laptop. Unfortunately my laptop's soundcard is one of those integrated affairs. Haihz. Any recommendations for a cheap and good DAC?
ArianneG
post Nov 11 2009, 09:29 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

How is the clip + battery life? Maybe you just use it a lot or something?
ArianneG
post Nov 13 2009, 12:51 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 12 2009, 09:45 PM)
*cough*

Siapa saying I am selling my PK2? laugh.gif
Hurm.. I am getting around 7 hours a couple minutes extra on 128kbps mp3, which in my opinion is terrible. 5 hours for FLAC. Well, hopefully mine is just a lemon unit. Getting it exchanged soon.
Hmm. If you're going to exchange, does that mean your Clip+ no longer going to go on sale? Cheh, raised hopes for nothing! laugh.gif Well, if you exchange already and still not happy, can sell to me, sure. I don't usually listen up to 7 hours straight off-- though I agree that 5 hours for FLAC is kinda sucky. I usually listen at home and not on the run; I also tend to caryy chargers and converters around all the time, so shorter battery life is not a real problem.
ArianneG
post Nov 16 2009, 09:16 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Lemon unit means a bad unit-- one that's not quite up to stated specs, or is in some way broken.
ArianneG
post Dec 23 2009, 02:19 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

QUOTE(akgmalaysia @ Dec 22 2009, 10:00 PM)
rm900  blink.gif  budget hdphones  blink.gif  blink.gif
Yah. Budget headphones, certainly-- if your first name is Richie and your last name Rich. whistling.gif
ArianneG
post Apr 16 2010, 07:14 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

I am not sure, but I thought I saw somewhere DT231 pro not as nice as the old DT231?

0.0340sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:34 PM