QUOTE(signither @ Mar 1 2009, 01:36 AM)
i want 50mm f/1.4 too sad.gif
go buy, just use the Master or Visa card in few seconds tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 05:25 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

halo, all expert alpha users, please come here guide me on this:

how to shoot landscape photo under a sunlight condition, i observed that the landscape objects are dark sad.gif see attached pictures (LYN link) these photos shoot with m dial and the no over/under exposure in the meter scaling + creativity style = lanscape +1 +1 +1 and aiya , shit, it is portrait creativity with +0+0+0 sweat.gif forgot to changed back

what setting, configuration i need in order to capture on the blue & white sky and bright objects? i am been failed in this type of situation for many times already rclxub.gif

** shit, after investigation for the black dot i found in my photos, luckily that dots is the birds flying sweat.gif rolleyes.gif

example photos are here: notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 05:26 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 06:33 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(chiggy @ Mar 1 2009, 05:30 PM)
here is another way to steady your camera
before you pull your shutter release using your right hand, pull the strap down on the left side using your left hand. Hold the camera on your right by pushing it up, so that you counter your left.

So left down, right up... balance
Then set to 2 secs timer and wait...

need to practice to make it perfect biggrin.gif
erm, are you replying my post?

if yes, object darken at sunlight condition is due to my hand shking issue during pressing on shutter hmm.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 06:37 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 1 2009, 05:30 PM)
gND or CPL will settle your problem. smile.gif
so curious CPL able to remove the darken areas hmm.gif thought CPL only to remove those water/solid metal reflection stuff

do GND filter similiar to CPL, which is we need to rotate the ring? (most of time, i forgot to turn that ring when shooting photo for my CPL km 50mm; those photo is shoot by kit lens)

Added on March 1, 2009, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Mar 1 2009, 06:35 PM)
shot in raw
then spend time editing it
or get the CPL or gradient filter
yer... i dont like to pp de (in fact, i also duno to pp tongue.gif ), if possible to improve the skill for this shoot nod.gif but it seem like not skill concern in this condition, its about hardware requirement hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 06:42 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 06:55 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ Mar 1 2009, 06:51 PM)
@ jimlim - may i know what type of metering u used?

in my case, since i dont use cpl or nd, i try to avoid spot metering in similar situation. so, i either use center-weighted or multi segment
oh ya, forgot to mention, i used centre-weighted. does this really help hmm.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 07:11 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ Mar 1 2009, 07:07 PM)
im not sure. probably u metered at the sky itself? this is my example of using center-weighted during bright sunny day

erm...let me think back, i think i metered at slightly higher abit from centre object; do we need to consider the factor where the sunnlight from? some time i am not even know which side the sunlight from sad.gif

since that, my 2nd photo under tree, the leaf sure black loh, since i focus to the sky

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 07:13 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 07:16 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Mar 1 2009, 07:11 PM)
Pic Spam:some custom made bracelet
C&C appreciated...
OOF tongue.gif

yaya, also want to ask one thing, today when i was using 55200mm, i focus to a signboard, the lens not perform ziiii zee auto focus, but after i zoom zoom in to 1 object (small signboard), then only the lens able to auto focus zii zeee....

(of course when not zoom zoom in, the signboard look more small at first, so this is because the object too small to be focus or the sunlight too bright at focus area and make lens not able too focus?) notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 07:17 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 07:23 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(The Wonder @ Mar 1 2009, 07:17 PM)
I see all exposure were almost the same. Did u accidentally pressed the lock exp button (camera lcd should show * marking)?
If u think your shot is underexposed, increase the exp directly (exp +-) using the same metering method & focus point. For such scenery shoot, try multi segment metering.
aiya data integrity issue with vrcx, dont use multi-segment hmm.gif

aiya, din notice that * sign woh (will check on it); but i always remembered ahmike say meter scaling must be

...........|
-3-2-1 0 1 2 3

;(but seen for this scenary, it is not working even it is at 0) so we do need to adjust on exp+- (which button is that); but there is another issue, cant really able to review the picture to check exposure due to sunlight reflected at LCD, cant see it clear doh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 07:25 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 08:11 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ Mar 1 2009, 07:21 PM)
from my understanding, people try to avoid facing sunlight because of metering error. if you accidentally meter the sky(sun), the sky will be properly exposed and the subject will usually be under-exposed. and if you meter the subject you will get overblown sky.

that's my understanding la tongue.gif
erm.... the sun... din notice just now the sun position doh.gif what if in this scenary: does this consider we facing sun or follow sun light?

.........................Object to be shoot
....................................... ^
....................................... ^<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< Sun
.................CaoCao a100/200/300/350/700/a900

Added on March 1, 2009, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(vcxv @ Mar 1 2009, 07:27 PM)
aiya, i said dont use spot la. use either center-weighted or multi-segment  doh.gif

Added on March 1, 2009, 7:29 pmif u use A or S priority, u need to adjust the exposure compensation lor

Added on March 1, 2009, 7:30 pm..and to be save, use exposure bracketing mode tongue.gif
ya, that bracketing mode shoot 3 pics once; will this work when i am in M Dial? or only work in A or S mode notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 08:15 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 08:52 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Mar 1 2009, 08:35 PM)
Hey Alpha users, hope you don't mind me invading camps - but I have a question:

My friend has an a200, and I seriously dunno how to change the ISO, shutter speed, aperture, etc. I can't find a button for it. doh.gif which one do I press? I don't have the manual with me...
by look to manual the camera interface u will see the major of button function,

ISO button at top right, A mode - right dial will be for aperture, S mode - right dial for S speed, M mode - right dial is shutter (press & hold the [ ] icon and turning dial for adjust aperture

correct me if i m wrong (my god, this for a300, i saw din replied d)

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 09:02 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 09:12 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Mar 1 2009, 09:10 PM)
just in case u still needs a manual... please refer to this manual even though it is for A350..
all functions are the same except these 2: LiveView & megapixel counts...

link >> http://www.sony.com.my/support/manual/product/dslr-a350

Added on March 1, 2009, 9:10 pm
i got a feeling... like both are kinda different...
hehe, kodak merged with minolta, then sony sapu all tongue.gif i guess onli
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 09:55 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

haha dont laugh me please tongue.gif typo d, typing while think in the wrong name doh.gif

Added on March 1, 2009, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 1 2009, 09:16 PM)
Sony really smart...buy over ericsson and now Sony Ericsson..now buy over Konica Minolta and Sony Alpha. What more?hmm.gif
if u have money, u can buy sony, u earn a lot d, got PS3, Blueray (will death 1 or 2 more years), SONY DSLR, SONY HDCAM, SONY Ericsson, and so much laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 09:59 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 10:17 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 1 2009, 10:02 PM)
haha yea...no im asking wht other company that sony has bought over?

i wanna ask a question again which i did asked last time... Wht magnifying eyepiece suits a300? Do i need to take off my current eyepiece b4 attaching it?
erm... like that u need jump ship d tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 1 2009, 10:32 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 1 2009, 10:28 PM)
lol now a bit too late for me to jump ship...but i know there is magnifying eyepiece for alpha.. not made by sony though..
ya, i heard befor, like convertor some thing hmm.gif

Added on March 1, 2009, 10:39 pmafter filter all the photos, left 3 can just to show ppl

MengKuang Dam shoot. C&C welcome. Arigato! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 1 2009, 10:40 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 2 2009, 01:42 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Mar 2 2009, 01:06 PM)
hallo my alpha fren..................

morning at kudat sabah

flickr
please resize ur photo la tongue.gif loading so slow; of course i know u want to show off tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 2 2009, 08:40 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 2 2009, 07:59 PM)
canon 50mm f1.8 only rm300?? omg why so cheap?
haha, u can jump ship d if u are surprise on this, forgot to say, its with warranty too tongue.gif

Added on March 2, 2009, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Mar 2 2009, 02:05 PM)
no to show off la bro...... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
wakakaka laugh.gif

Added on March 2, 2009, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 2 2009, 02:23 PM)
AlphaBeta, you need to remove your current eyepiece.

You can find it on http://www.shashinki.com/ or the camera shop called dSLR, in the computer shop area, somewhere behind Kenny Rogers in Subang Parade...

jimlim007, about your landscapes, you could shoot RAW and use (minor) HDR. With RAW, you can use the Shadow Fill tool to brighten the dark hills (it will not brighten the skies.)

Also try turning on DRO+ for landscapes, it helps.
yaya, in future, i will watch out many thing, like exposure locked * , DRO stuff loh.

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 2 2009, 08:43 PM
jimlim007
post Mar 3 2009, 07:37 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(creepydslr @ Mar 2 2009, 11:31 PM)
in 'M' mode, u must remember, -ve sign for black/darker and +ve sign for white/brighter...so if u wanna take a snow or person with white shirt, make sure u overexpose 1 or 2 step up...so the white will be white or else it will be gray...so do the black, do vice versa...
this applies only if u meter the subject in the situation above..remember that
FYI, the '0' sign for grey = in between of white and black...

for landscape, if u wanna brighter ground than sky, meter the ground and get '0' then compose and then snap...or for silhouette, meter the sky, get '0' or 1 or 2 step up (or ikut u nyer preference) then compose and then snap...there you go...
for get nice balance metering ground and sky, use GND/CPL is recommended...
i would suggest Cookin GND blue Filter (even though i dont have one, hanafinoor have it)...
for A300 i would sugget Pentax O-ME53...
for A200 i would suggest Olympus ME-1 (bigger and brighter)
such a good detail in explanation, thank you creepydslr notworthy.gif but thinking of buy GND or CPL filter, i think pretty hard for me loh, last time i am very lazy change lenses, now is ok. again now need to change filter since i already have uv filter sweat.gif

erm...forgot what is silhouette shoot d, i used to see that in previous alpha thread long long time ago, but cant recall already doh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 3 2009, 07:38 AM
jimlim007
post Mar 3 2009, 08:04 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Mar 3 2009, 03:28 PM)
taken using tamron 90mm macro =)

tried using cz1680 n sal50mm f1.4...but couldnt really see the flower..its too small..lol
wah, achew, can creat 1 more box human to me boh tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 3 2009, 08:26 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Mar 3 2009, 08:13 PM)
errr..don really catch u..hahaha..u mean create another copy of that toy for u? blink.gif  or u mean create another shot of that toy for u?haha
haha, create a nother toy for me drool.gif drool.gif
jimlim007
post Mar 4 2009, 10:28 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

tongue.gif
QUOTE(craziqbal @ Mar 4 2009, 10:20 PM)
check out this dude's set. he's not using a sony, but his pictures are nice, so I wanted to share with u guys..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/balakov/sets/72157602602191858/
omg, crazybal change avatar d

Added on March 4, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(craziqbal @ Mar 4 2009, 10:20 PM)
check out this dude's set. he's not using a sony, but his pictures are nice, so I wanted to share with u guys..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/balakov/sets/72157602602191858/
he is Achew fren tongue.gif same type laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Mar 4 2009, 10:29 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0459sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:06 PM