Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V21!, The Orange Legion

bysquashy
post Mar 6 2009, 07:18 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 6 2009, 07:02 AM)
Can you guys show the different between with and without flash. I seriously dont see any real different in shooting macro and outdoor. tongue.gif.
Self inflicted poison request cannot be cure. Be prepared.
jimlim007
post Mar 6 2009, 07:30 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Mar 6 2009, 04:58 AM)
Thx for the thorough guide mike. Hoping for more inputs.

Need to put more work on compositions also, look through alphanatics event trade. The shots I need to take a little different, for client one so need to include a lot of those sponsors logo and backdrop.
Anyway, for ppl interested in achew's toy.

It's called Danboard, revoltech series from Kaiyodo. I've collected some of them also but I'm more into mechas(robots)

Henrylow selling a few but dunno still available or not
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...30&hl=revoltech

There's also amazon version
the lowyat version is 1 toy or 2 toy? btw, is quite expensive doh.gif
ryzan76
post Mar 6 2009, 07:35 AM

1,775 posts

Can you guys show the different between with and without flash. I seriously dont see any real different in shooting macro and outdoor. tongue.gif.
if u shoot macro without FLASH...u bug or the macro thing will dark....coz in macro we need SS between 125-200 / f 11 -18....iso 100...then walllaaaa...................................

post Mar 6 2009, 07:55 AM

297 posts

I have auto focus problem with my camera A300, photo below taken at 55mm kit lens with centre (spot) autofocus sensor. The leaf is look sharp in full size but when i view it in 100% crop, i encounter it's not sharp and not in focus!

Below photo is both focus on the camera body with a tripod (kit lens at 18mm, crop it at 80%).
Left photo using centre (spot) autofocus, the camera not in focus. Pillow behind is in focus.
Right photo is using "left focus sensor" autofocus point, the camera look better and in focus.

Is it my camera autofocus sensor not accurate? need to send for repair?

This post has been edited by barlogteoh: Mar 6 2009, 07:56 AM
Sp00kY
post Mar 6 2009, 08:06 AM

3,366 posts

can u show the full pic for pic 3?(right bottom)
suchap69
post Mar 6 2009, 08:25 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Mar 5 2009, 09:49 PM)

Added on March 5, 2009, 9:52 pm

apakah itu time lapse potoglapi?
time lapse photog is like u take a series of pics then string them together to make short clips. like u see the moving sky or sorts. do search at TiubAwak to see examples

i know the easiest way is to do it manually, where u snap the picture manually on ur own interval. but i'm wondering if there is any intervalometer for alpha or previously for minolta so that we can automate the whole picture taking process. iianm, to make a 10 seconds clips framed at 30 fps u'll required about 300 pics snapped. thats a lot of snapping to do manually and timed correctly
ryzan76
post Mar 6 2009, 08:41 AM

1,775 posts

hehehe.....
he want a700...cz....the snake.....

noprob
post Mar 6 2009, 09:02 AM

1,982 posts

hokc77 ,
ur new A700 bundle with 16105 or 18250 ?

This post has been edited by noprob: Mar 6 2009, 09:02 AM
chiggy
post Mar 6 2009, 09:02 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

ryzan76, what is the distance between your camera and the butterfly?
shootkk
post Mar 6 2009, 09:11 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

When using flash, the trick is not to have the flash usage become too obvious in your pic.

Some outdoor shots using wireless flash:

The last shot is done without flash. So if you compare no 4. with no. 2 which one looks better? WIth flash you can control the direction and intensity of the light to make your subject more interesting.

The 3rd pic if done without flash will just become a silhoutte or if you spot meter on the face, the background sky will blow out leaving a patch of white with little or no details.

That, my friends is the usage of flash.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by shootkk: Mar 6 2009, 09:14 AM
ryzan76
post Mar 6 2009, 09:12 AM

1,775 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 6 2009, 09:11 AM)
When using flash, the trick is not to have the flash usage become too obvious in your pic.

The last shot is done without flash. So if you compare no 4. with no. 2 which one looks better? WIth flash you can control the direction and intensity of the light to make your subject more interesting.

The 3rd pic if done without flash will just become a silhoutte or if you spot meter on the face, the background sky will blow out leaving a patch of white with little or no details.

That, my friends is the usage of flash....  smile.gif
i love....spell it again L.o.v.e ...wireless FLASH>>>> icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

mine to share

This post has been edited by ryzan76: Mar 6 2009, 09:33 AM
hokc77
post Mar 6 2009, 10:01 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Mar 6 2009, 09:02 AM)
hokc77 ,
ur new A700 bundle with 16105 or 18250  ?
I bought body only for $3200
The 16-105 bought last month for $1630
Seng_Kiat
post Mar 6 2009, 10:44 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 6 2009, 09:11 AM)

That, my friends is the usage of flash....  smile.gif
Ok. Nice explanation. I got it. smile.gif.

here come the question.. which should I get? .. biggrin.gif .. my situation, I have A300 with single kit lens + sigma 70-300mm (with Macro at 200-300). So, the question is, to get better picture quality for macro purpose, which one 1 buy 1st, a flash gun or a macro lens? I know, get both is the best but my budget says big big NO for it. tongue.gif.

A few pages back, a lot of peoples talking about flash, cobra, etc. What actually cobra can do that others can't? Thank you all. biggrin.gif.
MechaHerc
post Mar 6 2009, 10:53 AM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Mar 5 2009, 05:50 PM)
interior of building/unit/room/ not customer
if the interior, for me better shoot without flash, but need put ur camera to tripod.. use small aperture so the all area is sharp, eg F8
for me is important so i can capture the warm ambient light. but in low light condition, th shuter speed can be long, so need tripod there.. u can chek my flickr for my noob ID photo. biggrin.gif
SinnerBuyer
post Mar 6 2009, 10:54 AM

288 posts

A picture with 1,474 megapixels.
blink.gif

This post has been edited by SinnerBuyer: Mar 6 2009, 10:55 AM
noprob
post Mar 6 2009, 11:09 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Mar 6 2009, 10:01 AM)
I bought body only for $3200
The 16-105 bought last month for $1630
hokc77 , give some review on 16105 .. esp combo w A700
shootkk
post Mar 6 2009, 11:23 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 6 2009, 10:44 AM)
Ok. Nice explanation. I got it. smile.gif.

here come the question.. which should I get? .. biggrin.gif .. my situation, I have A300 with single kit lens + sigma 70-300mm (with Macro at 200-300). So, the question is, to get better picture quality for macro purpose, which one 1 buy 1st, a flash gun or a macro lens? I know, get both is the best but my budget says big big NO for it. tongue.gif.

A few pages back, a lot of peoples talking about flash, cobra, etc. What actually cobra can do that others can't? Thank you all. biggrin.gif.
If you're on a budget, then I would suggest you get the F42 flash and DIY an alien gun fix-on attachment for macro lighting. Just ask ryzan about the alien gun. The F42 can do wireless and you do not really need the strobe or the 'cobra' action of the F58 for macro.

Big question here is are you really into macro? If you are, then only consider getting a macro lens. For now use the Sigma to practice first.

If you are not on too tight a budget, then go for the F58 or cobra. icon_rolleyes.gif

Why is it called a cobra? Because the F58 can move its head and neck to the left and right just like a snake lor... this is more for portraiture shoots. Imagine the F58 facing you directly. The F58 can move 90 degrees left or right until the flash head plus the neck is like lying on its side either to the left or right. Other flashes need to have separate bracket to do that.

Hard to explain lar using words. Don't have picture.... sweat.gif
SinnerBuyer
post Mar 6 2009, 11:26 AM

288 posts

The world's largest telephoto lens. drool.gif
nickilala
post Mar 6 2009, 11:41 AM

elusion
594 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Mar 6 2009, 07:35 AM)
if u shoot macro without FLASH...u bug or the macro thing will dark....coz in macro we need SS between 125-200 / f 11 -18....iso 100...then walllaaaa...................................
The Wonder
post Mar 6 2009, 11:52 AM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ Mar 6 2009, 11:26 AM)
256kg ???

125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:14 PM