can't reach 1080p hdmi, my xbox360 capable of oni 720p and 1080i

TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:07 AM, updated 17y ago

140 posts

i've just got a xbox360 with the hdmi cable.
so i tried it on my LCD(sharp aquos).

but i can't seem to be able select the 1080p option(it's grayed out).
Only 720p and 1080i are selectable.

why is that so? help out plss everyone, anyone.
gundamalpha
post Feb 10 2009, 12:09 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Your LCD isn't 1080p compatible
sjn hassan
post Feb 10 2009, 12:15 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

afaik u'r monitor not full HD
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:20 AM

140 posts

that might be true, but i was pretty sure it could.
anyway, thanks for the quick replies.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 12:21 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

just check ur tv spec to be sure.
sieg_wahrheit
post Feb 10 2009, 12:26 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 10 2009, 12:22 AM)
2 types ...Full HD and HD ready...while the latter is 1080p
uh, u mean the former rite?
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM

140 posts

if thats the case, which would be better, 720p or 1080i?
please help, much appreciated.
technophile
post Feb 10 2009, 12:29 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM)
720p is reasonable already coz most games are coded on that resolution.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 12:29 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

IINM, it's practically the same 1080i and 1080p if ur tv is below 40"
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:58 AM

140 posts

alrite, ive just checked out the specs on the web, it seems my 32" LCD is only able to support till 1080i,
those with 52" and above only can support 1080p. wth didn't know that.
i thought both 1080i and 1080p is having the resolution of 1920x1280.

anyway, so using 720p is good enough huh...
well, i wanted to play games in HD thats why... feeling kinda down now.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 01:06 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:58 AM)
alrite, ive just checked out the specs on the web, it seems my 32" LCD is only able to support till 1080i,
i and p is not resolution bro... regardless it's i or p, it still using same resolution.. the 480,720,1080 is the resolution.
GOodMaNn_haha
post Feb 10 2009, 01:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM)
haha..it's the same thing...720p=1080i
PhoenixByte
post Feb 10 2009, 08:40 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

most games are coded on 720 anyway...no need to be down smile.gif
chicano
post Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM

chicanoMY
854 posts

720p>1080i
figure8
post Feb 10 2009, 08:57 AM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(chicano @ Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM)
720p>1080i
i agreed brows.gif
most of xbox360 use 720p as native resolution. they just upscale to 1080p if we use that resolution.
ron4
post Feb 10 2009, 09:12 AM

1,123 posts

My lcd tv bravia 32' can support until 1080P, no problem so far

Lakum
post Feb 10 2009, 11:58 AM

Slave New World
690 posts

I think its 1920x1080
unrealweapon
post Feb 10 2009, 01:00 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

resolution :

from the worse to the best

480i
480p
720i
1080i
720p
1080p

if you are using a 32" and it supports 1080p, means it's downscale to (720P <) , it just accepts the signal but does not give u actual 1080p .. however
if ur 32" is 1080p version, it will definitely cost u around RM3k-4k.
zio
post Feb 10 2009, 01:04 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Last I checked, 720p is still HD. So, no reason to be down.
redbull_y2k
post Feb 10 2009, 03:46 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

yeah and most games are at 720p anyways. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 10, 2009, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Feb 10 2009, 01:00 PM)
resolution :

from the worse to the best
480i
480p
720i
1080i
720p
1080p

if you are using a 32" and it supports 1080p, means it's downscale to (720P <) , it just accepts the signal but does not give u actual 1080p .. however
if ur 32" is 1080p version, it will definitely cost u around RM3k-4k.
32" 1080p are around RM2.2k-3.5k. nod.gif

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Feb 10 2009, 03:47 PM
gundamalpha
post Feb 10 2009, 03:48 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It's funny people crying over 1080p yet don't understand the term HD. And redbull who gave wings got it right, most games are 720p only
PhoenixByte
post Feb 10 2009, 05:32 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

ppl just want to be in the hype but dun fully know what they're hyped about biggrin.gif
eone
post Feb 10 2009, 05:38 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

even the game is in 720p, its quite hard to notice the differences if you are using lower than 40 inch tv and sit about 5 to 6 feet away.. playing a fast pace games..
neoardi
post Feb 10 2009, 06:30 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

what a shame doh.gif
S4PH
post Feb 10 2009, 09:22 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

1080P works well when watching blu ray movies but must be 32" above la 2 really experience the video quality.
Mr Ez
post Feb 11 2009, 07:39 AM

Super Cool
700 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Feb 10 2009, 03:46 PM)
yeah and most games are at 720p anyways.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 10, 2009, 3:47 pm

32" 1080p are around RM2.2k-3.5k.  nod.gif
Yeah price drop already, last time Samsung 32" 1080p cost 4k.
Nowadays you can get LG 32" 1080p at around 2.8k only.
yonggoh
post Feb 11 2009, 09:06 AM

1,314 posts

with a 32" ithe difference between 720p/1080i/1080p is meglibible unless ubeing nitpicky from about a viewing distance of 3 feet (not recommended)

My previous set up was a 32" Bravia which was "only" HD-Ready. It was all good smile.gif
S4PH
post Feb 11 2009, 10:38 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

i still think if for gaming setup 1080p is not very important. as long LCD is HD ready is good enuf.
law1777
post Feb 11 2009, 11:35 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(GOodMaNn_haha @ Feb 10 2009, 01:10 AM)
haha..it's the same thing...720p=1080i
bro i dun think its the same thing.. my HP w2408h can support 1080p but not full hd. 1st i was using 720p and my graphics are abit blurred. then i tried to switch it to 1080p.. everything is more sharp and clear
S4PH
post Feb 11 2009, 11:40 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

IMO ps3 will automatically select the appropriate resolution settings according to the game.
law1777
post Feb 11 2009, 12:26 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Feb 11 2009, 11:35 AM)
bro i dun think its the same thing.. my HP w2408h can support 1080p but not full hd. 1st i was using 720p and my graphics are abit blurred. then i tried to switch it to 1080p.. everything is more sharp and clear
no nid to go into games.. at xmb menus u can see it clearly
figure8
post Feb 11 2009, 01:36 PM

3,174 posts

^thats is your problem. if u select 720p, your screen will be stretch to full screen cus your monitor is 16:10. u cannot compare with true 720p 16:9 nod.gif

This post has been edited by figure8: Feb 11 2009, 01:37 PM
redbull_y2k
post Feb 11 2009, 03:04 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Feb 11 2009, 01:36 PM)
^thats is your problem. if u select 720p, your screen will be stretch to full screen cus your monitor is 16:10. u cannot compare with true 720p 16:9 nod.gif
Actually it's bcoz his monitor is 1920x1200. On a typical lcd screen anything other than the native reso will appear blurry abit hence the reason 720p would look better on a HD Ready lcdtv than on a lcd monitor that has a reso higher than 1280x720. nod.gif
justone
post Feb 11 2009, 04:56 PM

justone
1,067 posts

easy...check ur monitor resolution when u're in game...i tried with samsung 2233sw...i set it to 1080p(d monitor supports it for sure) in the XMB screen
there is a menu screen that displays the resolution and frequency, now is 1920x1080

when i start the game(i.e. naruto or other 720p games, it'll auto switch b to 720p) the image seem softer
then i put in a 1080p game(i.e. GT5p), i'll get 1080p which image is sharper

the sony thingy mentioned, i guess its kinda marketing gimmick to me...
they stated 1080p compatible, its jz that simply means it "ACCEPTS" 1080p signal den downscale it to 720p/1080i
the panel itself's resolution i believe its only HD ready, 1366x768

there is no nid to debate 720p or 1080i which is better, trust ur own eye..which setting u prefer, den stick to it laugh.gif
figure8
post Feb 11 2009, 05:40 PM

3,174 posts

^most ps3 games re native 720p. 1080p compatible mean it upscale to 1080p if we have lcd tv/monitor that capable to display up to 1080p. if we have/set to 720p, the display is perfect. no upscale/downscale. thats what i understand.. correct me if i'm wrong.
gundamalpha
post Feb 11 2009, 05:41 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

You are contradicting yourself
S4PH
post Feb 11 2009, 05:42 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

for me 720p is good enuf
law1777
post Feb 11 2009, 05:43 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Feb 11 2009, 01:36 PM)
excuse me u dont know w2408h can do 1:1 pixel mapping. so i hav black bars on the top and bottom.. and this equals to 16:9 isnt it? =)

Added on February 11, 2009, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 11 2009, 05:41 PM)
You are contradicting yourself
not full hd but yet your ps3 could upscale it to 1080p u guys dunno o?? @@ dunno how to explain to u guys leh

This post has been edited by law1777: Feb 11 2009, 05:45 PM
redbull_y2k
post Feb 11 2009, 06:58 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Feb 11 2009, 05:43 PM)
not full hd but yet your ps3 could upscale it to 1080p u guys dunno o?? @@ dunno how to explain to u guys leh
he actually meant that your lcd is actually Full HD capable. Full HD = 1920x1080, your monitor is 1920x1200. So your monitor > Full HD. laugh.gif
qudeenz360
post Feb 11 2009, 07:00 PM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Feb 11 2009, 06:58 PM)
he actually meant that your lcd is actually Full HD capable. Full HD = 1920x1080, your monitor is 1920x1200. So your monitor > Full HD.  laugh.gif
okla tuu... full HD..
720p dah ckup baguz da rclxm9.gif
S4PH
post Feb 11 2009, 07:54 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

IMO u can get the best picture quality from your LCD on its native resolution,PS3 cant give any res more than 1920x1080,so image will certainly be blurry.
law1777
post Feb 12 2009, 10:53 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

thats why i use 1:1 pixel mapping lo. tried on both 720p and 1080p. definately got big different!!

0.0277sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:57 PM