can't reach 1080p hdmi, my xbox360 capable of oni 720p and 1080i

TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:07 AM, updated 17y ago

140 posts

i've just got a xbox360 with the hdmi cable.
so i tried it on my LCD(sharp aquos).

but i can't seem to be able select the 1080p option(it's grayed out).
Only 720p and 1080i are selectable.

why is that so? help out plss everyone, anyone.
gundamalpha
post Feb 10 2009, 12:09 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Your LCD isn't 1080p compatible
sjn hassan
post Feb 10 2009, 12:15 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

afaik u'r monitor not full HD
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:20 AM

140 posts

that might be true, but i was pretty sure it could.
anyway, thanks for the quick replies.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 12:21 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

just check ur tv spec to be sure.
sieg_wahrheit
post Feb 10 2009, 12:26 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 10 2009, 12:22 AM)
2 types ...Full HD and HD ready...while the latter is 1080p
uh, u mean the former rite?
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM

140 posts

if thats the case, which would be better, 720p or 1080i?
please help, much appreciated.
technophile
post Feb 10 2009, 12:29 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM)
720p is reasonable already coz most games are coded on that resolution.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 12:29 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

IINM, it's practically the same 1080i and 1080p if ur tv is below 40"
TSmaxZibel
post Feb 10 2009, 12:58 AM

140 posts

alrite, ive just checked out the specs on the web, it seems my 32" LCD is only able to support till 1080i,
those with 52" and above only can support 1080p. wth didn't know that.
i thought both 1080i and 1080p is having the resolution of 1920x1280.

anyway, so using 720p is good enough huh...
well, i wanted to play games in HD thats why... feeling kinda down now.
msn83235502
post Feb 10 2009, 01:06 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:58 AM)
alrite, ive just checked out the specs on the web, it seems my 32" LCD is only able to support till 1080i,
i and p is not resolution bro... regardless it's i or p, it still using same resolution.. the 480,720,1080 is the resolution.
GOodMaNn_haha
post Feb 10 2009, 01:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(maxZibel @ Feb 10 2009, 12:27 AM)
haha..it's the same thing...720p=1080i
PhoenixByte
post Feb 10 2009, 08:40 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

most games are coded on 720 anyway...no need to be down smile.gif
chicano
post Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM

chicanoMY
854 posts

720p>1080i
figure8
post Feb 10 2009, 08:57 AM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(chicano @ Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM)
720p>1080i
i agreed brows.gif
most of xbox360 use 720p as native resolution. they just upscale to 1080p if we use that resolution.
ron4
post Feb 10 2009, 09:12 AM

1,123 posts

My lcd tv bravia 32' can support until 1080P, no problem so far

Lakum
post Feb 10 2009, 11:58 AM

Slave New World
690 posts

I think its 1920x1080
unrealweapon
post Feb 10 2009, 01:00 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

resolution :

from the worse to the best

480i
480p
720i
1080i
720p
1080p

if you are using a 32" and it supports 1080p, means it's downscale to (720P <) , it just accepts the signal but does not give u actual 1080p .. however
if ur 32" is 1080p version, it will definitely cost u around RM3k-4k.
zio
post Feb 10 2009, 01:04 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Last I checked, 720p is still HD. So, no reason to be down.
redbull_y2k
post Feb 10 2009, 03:46 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

yeah and most games are at 720p anyways. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 10, 2009, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Feb 10 2009, 01:00 PM)
resolution :

from the worse to the best
480i
480p
720i
1080i
720p
1080p

if you are using a 32" and it supports 1080p, means it's downscale to (720P <) , it just accepts the signal but does not give u actual 1080p .. however
if ur 32" is 1080p version, it will definitely cost u around RM3k-4k.
32" 1080p are around RM2.2k-3.5k. nod.gif

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Feb 10 2009, 03:47 PM

0.0204sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:42 AM