Nokia Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V8 ♥♪, Nokia Tube the Iphone Killer

feimeng
post Feb 11 2009, 03:27 AM

637 posts

hard reset finally available on our 5800 with the latest v20 firmware
just press and hold green call button + red end button + camera shutter button and switch on the phone from off state and wait until the nokia logo comes out

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 11 2009, 05:44 AM
feimeng
post Feb 11 2009, 12:10 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Feb 11 2009, 10:42 AM)
rclxms.gif  welcome to da club meh...read the frontpage. it help alot for who new to tube.

list to do after get a tube
-upgrading the firmware if tube running old firmware
-hard format *#7370#
-shoping for tube assory/screen protecter
-more? yeah sure alot to do when got tube  icon_rolleyes.gif
*#7370# is soft reset
hard format is when we doing tis with actual mechanical buttons
hard format for 5800 is press and hold down the green button+red button+camera button and switch on the phone until the nokia logo pops up
feimeng
post Feb 11 2009, 02:17 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Feb 11 2009, 12:28 PM)
i thought

*#7780# is soft reset (all setting reset, user data preserved)
*#7370# is hard reset (all setting + user data reset = like new phone)
green button + red button + camera button + switch ON is same as *#7370# (use it when u can't boot up the phone properly like what ridz is facing)

no ??
yes, u're right as well
but my definitions for both reset methods are:

soft reset is something u do with/on the phone's system software such as key in *#7780# / *#7370# and etc
hard reset pula is when u deal with the physical buttons to accomplish the reset task

soft reset does has many ways to choose frm but hard reset is just 1 and onli way to do it

Added on February 11, 2009, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(konspiracy @ Feb 11 2009, 12:14 PM)
oh so, if your phone bricks then we use this method to hard reset?
yes
we're now able to rescue the phone ourself finally rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 11 2009, 02:25 PM
feimeng
post Feb 11 2009, 03:50 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(fruitaleman @ Feb 11 2009, 03:38 PM)
this phone has UDP, user data protection so that when you update your firmware, you don't lose any of ur data

however if your still concerned, you can still backup your data and then only update your firmware.
UDP = user data preservation
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 03:52 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Da_Shiang @ Feb 16 2009, 01:19 AM)
wasnt that the v20 has alot of problems, smashpop did review it...especially the search got error.

why bother to update to a problematic 'latest' firmware...
get a seat and wait for the stable firmware with some proper changelog.
there is no stable firmware nowaday
problems frm last firmware solved but new bugs introduce at the same time as well in the newer version
it is the matter of more or less onli
tis is a culture now in mobile industry
u'll never get a real stable firmware even until the day u switch ur current phone to something new
and u'll end up stucked in a never ending story of waiting after all b4 u do tat

so anything new, just go 4 it
as v20 ppl now happy using their 5800 new functions but v10/v11 ppl still sticked to old style of it with less features as well as performance wise
as long as there is no critical issue to cause the phone to stop from working
why not just give it a try?
and summore u can help nokia to figured out the bugs to bring a more stable version in the future more quickly
no harm isn't it?
if every1 just wait and do nth then we'll all end up suffering until death but still get nth after all

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 16 2009, 04:15 AM
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 04:05 AM

637 posts

guys, i've found something isn't rite related to our 5800 gps positioning method
i've bring tis out in another forum but it's in mandarin
i'll now post it over here but i'm lazy to translate it word by word/sentence by sentence
and looking 4ward for someone who kind enough to help me translate it or use ur own words to simplify it
thx in advance and sorry for any inconvenient cause.

tis is a strongly recommended reading for those who use GPS and with no unlimited data plan subscribed on ur 5800

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Caution : 重大发现!

是关于GPS的
我们小5的GPS的定位方法不是有4个吗?
分别是:

1:蓝牙外接独立式的GPS设备
2:AGPS辅助式定位功能
3:纯内建GPS定位 &
4:基于网络

而此次关键要谈的是最后一项“基于网络”
此功能我一直都找不到关于它的解说到底是如何运作的
不过在最近升级至v20后使用GPS的时候发现“奇怪,怎么会被扣那么多钱了?!”
因为在v11的时候就算我2,3,4都打开了,定位后查看扣除的数目也只不过是几仙而已
可是现在却经常都是一块钱了,而且是刚刚好一块钱
重点是我现在定位已经不用AGPS功能了
那怎么还会被扣钱呢?
所以就只有一个可能性了,就是最后第4项的“基于网络”在作祟
因为单纯GPS定位的话是不可能会被扣除任何费用的
当然这我也只是在猜想而已
为了找到问题的源头,我就做了以下的测试:

1。冷启动状态下,选择第3,4项为定位方法
结果:被扣掉1块钱
2。冷启动状态下,选择第2,3项为定位方法
结果:被扣掉几仙而已
3。成功定位后,关闭GPS功能,选择第3,4项为定位方法再次启动
结果:被扣掉几仙
4。成功定位后,关闭GPS功能,选择第2,3项为定位方法再次启动
结果:完全零费用

所以结论是果然如我猜想的一样,是第4项“基于网络”导致的
可是为什么v11的时候不会这样子的,而升了v20后竟然变了个样?
经过分析后得出了几个可能性:

1。v11的时候“基于网络”这一项有bug,所以没有在运作,所以就没被扣钱了
2。v20修复了以上的bug,所以恢复正常状态就开始要算钱了
3。其实一直以来都没有问题的,而是电信商(例如maxis, digi......我个人是用hotlink)开通了这个服务所以开始收取费用了(最近maxis有在升级其网络设备的迹象)

那到底“基于网络”是怎么样的一个功能?
它的运作方式是如何?
很抱歉,我找不到相关资料
只是在说明书上看到了一些半吊子的解说
不过有说明是需要流量费就对了

其实除却GPS与AGPS之外还有另一种方法
就是google map上使用的基地台定位法
这方法是完全不需要GPS的
只不过准确度就没有GPS高
相关运作方式请参考以下视频

不过其中却没有提到任何收费事项
我的猜想是以基地台的讯号找到你目前的大概位置
可是依然还是需要计算,来来去去发送与接收资料当然就需要流量费了
AGPS只是发送资料到相关伺服器进行计算然后把结果送回到你的手机然后就只需要GPS就够了
而“基于网络”就必须寻找四周的基地台,所以流量就变多了

所以如果阁下是签购unlimited data plan的可以不必理会这一点
而其他没有的各位就强烈建议你们把“基于网络”这一项去掉不要使用了
如果想快速定位的话AGPS就足够了
当然如果你是不在乎速度的话,基本上GPS也ok了
完全不需要半毛钱费用

以上

(PS:以上设置在功能表-〉设置-〉手机-〉应用程式设置-〉定位-〉定位方法里面
或者直接打开应用程式里面的“位置”程式,然后定位-〉定位方法也可以)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 06:23 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(kitkat @ Feb 16 2009, 06:00 PM)
hey guys!!!
i got reply from nokia
what the... shakehead.gif
www.nokia.com.au?
nokia australia???
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 09:46 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 16 2009, 07:09 PM)
now i activate a-gps , integrated gps and network integrated

when it ask to connect i will press NO haha.
no cure for this
b'coz i've been tried to do tat b4 but still dia makan
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 09:57 PM

637 posts

guys,
i thought the changes of the product code is one of the ahem method as well
isn't tis forum doesn't allow tis kind of discussion?
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 10:55 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Feb 16 2009, 10:46 PM)
that price can get 12mp dslr camera
haha

but the phone also run on s60v5
n the screen is bigger than tube

Added on February 16, 2009, 10:47 pmthat price can get 12mp dslr camera
haha

but the phone also run on s60v5
n the screen is bigger than tube
it's not running s60v5 but the new symbian foundation open source os

This post has been edited by feimeng: Feb 16 2009, 11:04 PM
feimeng
post Feb 16 2009, 11:16 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 16 2009, 11:10 PM)
anyone having slow browsing on lyn? Take me nearly 1 min to load this page.
yes
and cause my reply appears twice

why ur status "banned"?

0.0444sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:58 PM