Risk Engineer in insurance company, Job scope, prospect, salary???

TSAlice_1122
post Feb 9 2009, 01:22 PM, updated 17y ago

88 posts

what a Risk engineer do in an insurance company? their prospect and salary?
Please share.... notworthy.gif
kickent
post Feb 9 2009, 01:27 PM

477 posts

a risky sound job...
TSAlice_1122
post Feb 9 2009, 09:11 PM

88 posts

No 1 work as a Risk engineer here eh?? hmm.gif
Getz
post Feb 10 2009, 11:40 AM

390 posts

That position is quite limited. compared to other 'prime' position. Chances people know it is quite low.
TSAlice_1122
post Feb 10 2009, 04:22 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Getz @ Feb 10 2009, 11:40 AM)
That position is quite limited. compared to other 'prime' position. Chances people know it is quite low.
Really? anyway....those who know pls share lo....cos im interested to apply... icon_question.gif
thesurveyor
post Feb 23 2009, 02:34 PM

105 posts

Hey, hope im not too late for TS to read this laugh.gif

Okay, on paper Risk Engineer/Risk Surveyor looks like this:

http://www.prospects.ac.uk/p/types_of_job/...description.jsp

Im a risk engineer myself fyi. So, from my experience..risk engineer does the following, putting it simple:

- Collect information of a risk on site.
- Do overall assessment of the risk (constructions, situation, exposure, etc2).
- Do technical assessment on the risk (operations, machinery, raw materials, products, etc2).
- Do safety and health assesment on the risk (fire fighting system, means of egress, theft, work ethics, etc2).
- Provide recommendations to improve on all the items above if any.
- And finally, write a detailed report on all the items above. (The report is then going to the insurance underwriter for their use.)

It is an advantage for a risk engineer to have a technical background, at least from my experience.

Prospects: A lot of risk engineer finally end up being insurance underwriting manager. Small number will then move up to regional risk engineer, then really small number going for global risk engineer or they go for risk consultant. Also, if u want to get out from insurance industry...Risk Management department in various other industries is there for you to fit in.

Salary: I dont know for sure about other companies, but last time when I just started (fresh grad)..my salary was RM3.1k (including the allowances).

Its quite a fun job to me..coz I need to travel a lot, n I love travelling. N then the job itself is interesting, can see the whole industry from a small shoplot to a port, airport, power plant and many more im looking forward to. Thats about it =).

This post has been edited by thesurveyor: Feb 23 2009, 04:38 PM
TSAlice_1122
post Feb 23 2009, 02:49 PM

88 posts

thax thumbup.gif

thesurveyor
post Feb 23 2009, 02:55 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Alice_1122 @ Feb 23 2009, 02:49 PM)
thax  thumbup.gif
Np. So do u apply for the job? Hehe just curious..
TSAlice_1122
post Feb 23 2009, 03:04 PM

88 posts

yap...applied...but no news...
thesurveyor
post Feb 23 2009, 03:20 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Alice_1122 @ Feb 23 2009, 03:04 PM)
yap...applied...but no news...
Yea..not so many positions available, blush.gif . Well, I wish u gdluck then!
vanguard_13
post Feb 23 2009, 03:40 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(thesurveyor @ Feb 23 2009, 02:34 PM)
Hey, hope im not too late for TS to read this  laugh.gif

Okay, on paper Risk Engineer/Risk Surveyor looks like this:

http://www.prospects.ac.uk/p/types_of_job/...description.jsp

Im a risk engineer myself fyi. So, from my experience..risk engineer does the following, putting it simple:

- Collect information of a risk on site.
- Do overall assessment of the risk (constructions, situation, exposure, etc2).
- Do technical assessment on the risk (operations, machinery, raw materials, products, etc2).
- Do safety and health assesment on the risk (fire fighting system, means of egress, theft, work ethics, etc2).
- Provide recommendations to improve on all the items above if any.
- And finally, write a detailed report on all the items above. (The report is then going to the insurance underwriter for their use.)

It is an advantage for a risk engineer to have a technical background, at least from my experience.

Prospects: A lot of risk engineer finally end up being insurance underwriting manager. Small number will then move up to regional risk engineer, then really small number going for global risk engineer or they go for risk consultant. Also, if u want to get out from insurance industry...Risk Management department in various other industries is there for you to fit in.

Salary: I dont know for sure about other companies, but last time when I just started (fresh grad)..my salary is RM3.1k (including the allowances).

Its quite a fun job to me..coz I need to travel a lot, n I love travelling. N then the job itself is interesting, can see the whole industry from a small shoplot to a port, airport, power plant and many more im looking forward to. Thats about it =).
i think TS job scope will somehow differ from this...AFAIK, this is engineering risk-based inspection..(correct me if im wrong..)

as for TS who r applying at INSURANCE company, mayb the risk of person who insured themselves with the company? to be honest, i dun hv any idea there will be risk engineer in an insurance company.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by vanguard_13: Feb 23 2009, 03:40 PM
thesurveyor
post Feb 23 2009, 04:09 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ Feb 23 2009, 03:40 PM)
i think TS job scope will somehow differ from this...AFAIK, this is engineering risk-based inspection..(correct me if im wrong..)

as for TS who r applying at INSURANCE company, mayb the risk of person who insured themselves with the company? to be honest, i dun hv any idea there will be risk engineer in an insurance company.. sweat.gif
Well yea, if u r talking about life insurance..u are, rite? There's no need for risk engineer for life insurance, all in the hand of the underwriters.

Fortunately, there is a class of insurance..that is general insurance. General insurance is about property, industry, large and specialized risk (airport, powerplant), more on the industries..so that's where risk engineer comes in. Not many know this job, even me also didnt realized it existed before I took this job..because the position its too scarce, only 2-3 risk engineer per company in the general insurance industry.

Underwriters need risk engineer to provide them technical assesment of the risk and recommendations. N thus, the need of engineering based risk assessment which is the job of a risk engineer. nod.gif

*There are different job title regarding the job I was talking about e.g: Loss control engineer, risk surveyor, risk manager. All doing the same job.

This post has been edited by thesurveyor: Feb 23 2009, 04:12 PM
spriggan
post Feb 23 2009, 04:18 PM

325 posts

business admin student can apply ka ??
TSAlice_1122
post Feb 23 2009, 04:21 PM

88 posts

engineering degree is the requirement...
spriggan
post Feb 23 2009, 04:23 PM

325 posts

opss.. just asking...
kdash04
post Oct 17 2010, 08:52 PM

erm if we have risk & insurance background can apply?
theStroke
post Nov 1 2012, 12:47 AM

62 posts

hey there, i got an offer for risk engineer or we can call it as surveyor in an insurance company.
is it really 'engineer' thingy? i mean, since the company background itself isnt an engineering background right? im doubting it.

plus, not many know this job. and when i tell them, they underestimated me :'( because it's not really engineering background. pls help..
jordin.spark
post Nov 1 2012, 09:08 AM

246 posts

I wonder rite...is it the so-called adjuster for risk engineer in insurance?
Bussybody
post Apr 21 2017, 09:25 PM

246 posts

Bump

Any risk surveyor here?

0.0212sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:58 PM