Overclock Q6600 with G31 mobo

TSwotiyo
post Feb 8 2009, 12:13 AM, updated 17y ago

327 posts

eh...tumpang thread...
cex...currently i usng gigabyte g31 mobo wif q6600 and 4gb value ram...can u guide me oc?cause i nvr oc b4..but i wanna try...thx
ckh93
post Feb 8 2009, 12:42 AM

40k VIP club
1,136 posts

go bios and oc by chaging fsb n multiplier
actually i also no oc be4..

This post has been edited by ckh93: Feb 8 2009, 12:42 AM
TSwotiyo
post Feb 8 2009, 12:55 AM

327 posts

huh?
but i think is vry danger...
but i heard b4 got software can oc...any1 know tat?
Aura
post Feb 8 2009, 01:28 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(wotiyo @ Feb 8 2009, 12:55 AM)
huh?
There are always dangers in overclocking.... I suggest u read up in the OC section and on websites regarding this....

Software is not that good in OCing.... The best way is to go into the BIOS and tweak there.....
SUSruffaz
post Feb 8 2009, 01:31 AM

yes I am a noob
1,066 posts

use software to oc? abit lousy lol..

why dun u learn to do it? because today's and incoming generation of processor, all will hav good ability to oc. if u nv learn now, then when tongue.gif

go to bios, raise the fsb / multiplier and make sure the ram speed match to the fsb (fsb:ram). let say, 800:800, then its 1:1. dun go other than 1:1. no point also smile.gif performance might drop.

q6600 can go to 3ghz with stock volt ( written at vcore section)

so, gogo now! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ruffaz: Feb 8 2009, 01:31 AM
lex
post Feb 8 2009, 01:48 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

Two methods....

Method #1: BSEL mod...

Picture is explanatory.... brows.gif

Method #2: Thru BIOS overclock settings....

1. Set system bus frequency to 333MHz. You may need to boost the FSB voltage a bit if not stable..

2. Set Memory Multiplier to 2x, your RAM frequency should be around 667MHz (safety). If you are adventurous, then try setting Multiplier to 2.5x, your memory frequency should be around 832MHz (slightly higher than rated frequency of DDR2-800, not sure if your RAM can handle or not... may need to increase RAM voltage a bit)

Make sure you run Memtest to test for RAM stability first... nod.gif

Anyway, make sure you also have a good 3rd party cooler to keep the CPU heat down.. icon_rolleyes.gif

sopen2003
post Feb 8 2009, 01:44 PM

384 posts

brows.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=651703&hl= brows.gif

1st at all, need to know ur mobo capable.. *do some search on net, read some review.. then u will know..
2nd sweat.gif need to change ur hsf.. that one not good for oc, trust me on it.. i know.. brows.gif *oc will generate more heat, so need good hsf..

Added on February 8, 2009, 1:46 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=623648&hl=

This post has been edited by sopen2003: Feb 8 2009, 01:46 PM
Dickong
post Feb 8 2009, 02:52 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(wotiyo @ Feb 8 2009, 12:55 AM)
huh?
I dont see any danger oc becos the most you wont boot n when you can boot the very important thing you look for is the temp n voltage, lower temp n dont overvolt your proc, having said that the proc will even shut down itself when overheat but not overvoltage.

This post has been edited by Dickong: Feb 8 2009, 06:52 PM
shaun3230
post Feb 9 2009, 10:23 PM

2,369 posts

OC software for CPU is extremely lousy. Like Asus` AI Suite
Dickong
post Feb 9 2009, 10:48 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Feb 9 2009, 10:23 PM)
OC software for CPU is extremely lousy. Like Asus` AI Suite
Seriously if u want to oc you better use the bios instead of software, becos bios stable n more accurate n can tweak around more than software
shaun3230
post Feb 10 2009, 09:18 PM

2,369 posts

Yes, thats why I like to recommend ppl to oc with the bios
syafix
post Feb 10 2009, 11:00 PM

Look at All My Stars!!
2,730 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675

i learn from here icon_rolleyes.gif
easy to understand wink.gif