EARTH HOUR 2009 by WWF

kenji_britney
post Mar 24 2009, 11:00 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Mar 24 2009, 09:49 PM)
unless ppl start doing something b4 or after they get the "awareness" about global warming.....
it is pointless
it started on 2007 ???
and does the "warming" became worse or better?

its like... yea!!! i participated by switching off for an hour.....
the next day... days after that....wat will happen ?
Each of your effort will be considered a vote for Earth against global warming and the results will be presented by WWF to world leaders at Global Climate Change Conference 2009 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

kueks
post Mar 25 2009, 12:00 AM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Mar 24 2009, 11:00 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

A: hey... streamyx is getting slower day by day !

B: yea...

A: lets sign the online petition on the slow connection so the connection will be better !

B: will it work? wat happen next?

A: the petition will be sent to the top management of tmnet and possibly the government of msia !!!!

B: . .. . . . . . .

took this from the star

ISN’T participating in WWF’s Earth Hour a bit irresponsible? It’s the perfect example of “slacktivism” - symbolic, with minimal practical effect. Why limit ourselves to turning off the lights for a mere hour every year? Shouldn’t it be our second nature to conserve energy whenever we can?

WWF’s main goal is to raise awareness on climate change. But what message is it sending when Sydney celebrated its Earth Hour with a fireworks show? Tel Aviv, for its part, organised a rock concert, which was powered by pedal generators and falafel oil.

And, one wonders how much energy is wasted in marketing the event throughout the world.

A fellow Malaysian summed it up best: “During the Earth Hour, I’ll turn of my lights then I’ll be driving to the nearby Carrefour. They can’t afford to turn off theirs, can they?”

Rather than switching off the lights for one hour, and then proudly claiming “I did my part”, do what our Government says: ubah gaya hidup (change our lifestyle).

If we’re really serious about minimising our carbon footprint, we should go back to the Stone Age. Then, every hour would be Earth Hour.

AL GORILLA,
Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor.

This post has been edited by kueks: Mar 25 2009, 01:16 AM
eggy
post Mar 25 2009, 10:01 AM

Question authority; but, raise your hand 1st
1,761 posts

I rather stop making the global warming worst than doing nothing.
I rather help spreading words about it than just saying it no point.

Earth Hour is one of the way to build awareness among people. Just like you said, to change our way of living.
This kind of campaign is the starting point to make sure people are really aware of the current situation of global warming and start changing their lifestyle.

From Sydney it spreads all around the world. Every year the the participating countries are increasing.
I am sure the awareness will also increase among ourselves.
Its an EFFORT for God sake. Of course la you cannot expect something to change on a bit. Pfft~!
Its only been 3 years la bro.

Government encourage us to change our life. The way we living it. If supporting Earth Hour is one of the way to start to change it doesn't it mean we are following what they encourage us to do?

Shouldn’t it be our second nature to conserve energy whenever we can?
Earth Hour campaign ENCOURAGE people to shuts their unnecessary lights for an hour during 28 March. It is part of the campaign.
Again, to build awareness how conserving energy is important. It should be in ourselves to do keep on doing this. Not only during 28.

Its totally in ourselves whether we want to stop it or just doing it for fun.

LAWL!

This post has been edited by eggy: Mar 25 2009, 10:04 AM
melz84
post Mar 25 2009, 03:30 PM

1,603 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Mar 24 2009, 08:47 PM)
Starhill gallery and ritz-carlton are participating

http://www.ytlcommunity.com/EarthHour/
Mid valley is participating also...
Anybody going to CapSquare this saturday for the Earth hour event?
kueks
post Mar 25 2009, 04:15 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 25 2009, 10:01 AM)

sadly most ppl doing it for fun just bcos of the marketing done by wwf and other org (some which use it as free publicity)..... u really think they care ? unless their life is affected by the global warming in a hard way... people wont do anything ... thats human nature....

yes.. we know that africans are starving.... no clean water..... so wats next ? starve for a day campaign ?
then wat? oh... i participated by not eating for one day.... yea.. it will raise awareness so people will do something about the hungry africans.... then wat?
after few days... people will just forget about it... they have more important things in their life to care about....

electric cars been around since more than 10 years ago... y not the countries invest on it ?
cos oil is profitable.....

so since ur supporting this thing... may i ask.... wat changes u made in ur life to "save the earth" ??
yea things like saving electricity..... its more to saving money than saving earth

oh yea... i "did my part" though by turning off almost everything every single night when i go to sleep for few hours whistling.gif
i believe majority in the world does that everynite smile.gif

and to help "save the earth" ..... i WONT drive to any events on sat.... or buy any wrist bands made by factories which pollute the earth

This post has been edited by kueks: Mar 25 2009, 04:32 PM
eggy
post Mar 25 2009, 04:45 PM

1,761 posts

Yep. Saving electricity, save the power consumption.
Of course by doing that I save money in paying my monthly bills yawn.gif

Why would you want to know what I did to save the mother earth?
Why don't you ask yourself what you did for her?

Like I said, it is more to the people themselves. What their point of view of the results in doing something like this.
For you maybe it is pointless.
For others who are still care and concern about the global warming, campaign like this is one of the way to show their supports.
If people forget it because there are a lot of important things they need to concentrate on then it is up to them.
This campaign doesn't force you to do it. It just a campaign.

Free publicity? Of what may I ask?
Global warming? It is for a good cause doesn't it?
It is not like we have to pay anything to support it. Come to think of it, you actually save yourself an hour of electrical bills. yawn.gif yawn.gif
The advertisement doesn't cause you a penny does it?

As a normal people, this kind of thing is the least we can do in return comparing to what the mother earth has given us.
Oh well. Some people just don't understand the importance of this kinda thing.

Talking about stone age...
Well, if sacrificing an hour of turning off non essential lights is so problematic wonder how to survive during that age with totally no electricity. yawn.gif yawn.gif

LAWL!

This post has been edited by eggy: Mar 25 2009, 04:46 PM
kueks
post Mar 25 2009, 04:55 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

lol did i say its problematic to turn off for an hour ?

the whole thing is just pointless
i did tell u.... i "did my part" by switching off almost everything when i sleep whistling.gif
and its for everyday smile.gif

the publicity is when. . . the pictures of certain landmark.... big organization... or names of those will appear in the internet or newspaper just bcos they will participate in the earth hour....

just bcos of the marketing gimmick.....

so u must be going to celebrate the event eh?
where? midvalley? klcc?
whistling.gif

already bought ur wristband????
hmmm

maybe i shud sell low cost earth hour t shirts at a high price during the events....
u will buy eh??

This post has been edited by kueks: Mar 25 2009, 04:59 PM
eggy
post Mar 25 2009, 05:06 PM

1,761 posts

I am celebrating it at home.
I believe the wristband are free.
So no need to buy for it.
For the shirt, no thank you. I already got my own.
Thanks for offering BTW smile.gif
kueks
post Mar 25 2009, 05:09 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

oh alright biggrin.gif

thats good smile.gif

have a wonderful nite this sat
Myow
post Mar 25 2009, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(AsuKi @ Mar 15 2009, 03:00 PM)
HA!!!! this event really good for our Earth! guys for ur infomation. I will print 1000 high-quality flayer for this event! hope this help for our earth  thumbup.gif
hahaha, thanks for the info~~
anyway, you're killing the TREES with your 1000 pieces HIGH QUALITY PRINTING,
what is the purpose of this event then??
pengiranijam
post Mar 25 2009, 10:21 PM

1,568 posts

Yea, agree with Myow, consider using electronic recycle one, so don't waste put ur money and killing trees for just ONE HOUR EVENT... it will wasteful...
fardly83
post Mar 26 2009, 09:53 AM

im also promote to all my friends/ staff and all people..
hengmy
post Mar 26 2009, 02:47 PM

1,991 posts

i guess most of the people has miss-understand or under-estimate the purpose of this program.
the main purpose of the program is to collect 1 billion of votes from worldwide to request for official government policies to take action against global warming problem.
so u off your light is to put your vote, but not to decrease the global warming..
this program is set on night time 8.30pm to 9.30pm but not day time because even u off your light on day time, no people can see you are voting for it..
beside that, u need only to turn off the light to vote, but not all electric equipments.
lastly, if u really want to be the part to save earth more than other, u should automatically not wasting in electricity usage daily..

maybe TS should state more clearly in the 1st post, so that people do not misunderstanding on Earth Hour.
alanyuppie
post Mar 26 2009, 02:55 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 25 2009, 06:06 PM)
Good for you. that's the most energy saving effort.

For the "lights off one hour" energy saved, alot of energy and resources are wasted in the fanfare and event.

Why not just "simply" turn off lights when the time comes. and turn in back on one hour later? Rather than participating in events in groups and places. These events consume resources and energy too. And its not the matter of who's sponsoring it/ and who's brand logo will be there all the time.

Objective is noble. but its been abused by various parties hiding behind the cloak of "energy conversation" to organise various events that waste alot of resources (T-shirts/flyers/banners/... all these comes from mother nature herself).

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Mar 26 2009, 02:56 PM
skysherly
post Mar 26 2009, 07:10 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Myow @ Mar 25 2009, 05:19 PM)
hahaha, thanks for the info~~
anyway, you're killing the TREES with your 1000 pieces HIGH QUALITY PRINTING,
what is the purpose of this event then??
u r wrong.
The purpose is we want to create awareness about global warming.
we are collecting support from people for global warming issue, and as well create the awareness to people. Those papers or flyers or forms or whatever printed for this event is not wasted, because after this, more and more people are aware of it. They would realize how sick the mother earth is and what can we do for her.

It's very obvious just turn off an hour will not help much but what we are aiming for is long term. Everyday, how many people out there are actually wasting the electricity? How many are aware of it? By doing this, trying to let people know the fact that our mother earth is sick, just hope more people will turn off the electricity whenever they are not using it.

Thus, the purpose of this event is not asking people to group together for whatever any celebration but creating awareness and getting all the support against global warming. IF you really love yourself, you should love the earth. Always remember, without the earth, where are you going to stay? She has been so kind and tolerate to us, it is time for us to do something to protect her.

LilCroSs
post Mar 28 2009, 12:04 AM

46 posts

Myow is right, off electric for an hour will not takes any trouble for u, off it for the earth, u might helps alot, support earth hour !!
TShfz
post Mar 28 2009, 12:19 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(eggy @ Mar 25 2009, 05:06 PM)
Dude, which place ha you got the wristband for free, tell me lorgh......
And btw, you go the T-Shirt at Cyberjaya or somewhere else?
TShfz
post Mar 28 2009, 12:26 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(skysherly @ Mar 26 2009, 07:10 PM)
u r wrong.
The purpose is we want to create awareness about global warming.
we are collecting support from people for global warming issue, and as well create the awareness to people. Those papers or flyers or forms or whatever printed for this event is not wasted, because after this, more and more people are aware of it. They would realize how sick the mother earth is and what can we do for her.

It's very obvious just turn off an hour will not help much but what we are aiming for is long term. Everyday, how many people out there are actually wasting the electricity? How many are aware of it? By doing this, trying to let people know the fact that our mother earth is sick, just hope more people will turn off the electricity whenever they are not using it.

Thus, the purpose of this event is not asking people to group together for whatever any celebration but creating awareness and getting all the support against global warming. IF you really love yourself, you should love the earth. Always remember, without the earth, where are you going to stay? She has been so kind and tolerate to us, it is time for us to do something to protect her.

Very motivative post, better I hear your speech rather than read here, sure the best one thumbup.gif
BTW, I'm agree with you and you know what, not much people know this good event, to tell the truth, only 20% of people knows about it in my school, the balance, don't know about it.....
And, where you lepak lepak when EH times come?
TShfz
post Mar 28 2009, 12:28 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 26 2009, 02:55 PM)
Good for you. that's the most energy saving effort.

For the "lights off one hour" energy saved, alot of energy and resources are wasted in the fanfare and event.

Why not just "simply" turn off lights when the time comes. and turn in back on one hour later? Rather than participating in events in groups and places. These events consume resources and energy too. And its not the matter of who's sponsoring it/ and who's brand logo will be there all the time. 

Objective is noble. but its been abused by various parties hiding behind the cloak of "energy conversation" to organise various events that waste alot of resources (T-shirts/flyers/banners/... all these comes from mother nature herself).
Agree and HIGH 5 DUDE !! rclxm9.gif
1 more you forgot to post, it also can reduce a littler bit from make your life become + worst, the green thing in your wallet, [THE $$$]
TShfz
post Mar 28 2009, 12:30 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 26 2009, 02:47 PM)
i guess most of the people has miss-understand or under-estimate the purpose of this program.
the main purpose of the program is to collect 1 billion of votes from worldwide to request for official government policies to take action against global warming problem.
so u off your light is to put your vote, but not to decrease the global warming..
this program is set on night time 8.30pm to 9.30pm but not day time because even u off your light on day time, no people can see you are voting for it..
beside that, u need only to turn off the light to vote, but not all electric equipments.
lastly, if u really want to be the part to save earth more than other, u should automatically not wasting in electricity usage daily..

maybe TS should state more clearly in the 1st post, so that people do not misunderstanding on Earth Hour.
Sorry hengmy for the inconvenience, and thanks for the reminder and will fix it later, K notworthy.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0260sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:06 PM