Robert T. Kiyosaki Book Club, Rich Dad, Poor Dad!

TSroticanai92
post Feb 5 2009, 07:45 PM, updated 17y ago

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Kiyosaki

Robert Toru Kiyosaki (born April 8, 1947) is an investor, businessman, self-help author and motivational speaker. Kiyosaki is best known for his Rich Dad, Poor Dad series of motivational books and other material. He has written 15 books which combined have sold over 26 million copies.[1] Although beginning as a self-publisher, he was subsequently published by Warner Books, a division of Hachette Book Group USA, currently his new books appear under the Rich Dad Press imprint. Three of his books, Rich Dad Poor Dad, Rich Dad's CASHFLOW Quadrant, and Rich Dad's Guide to Investing, have been on the top 10 best-seller lists simultaneously on The Wall Street Journal, USA Today and the New York Times. The book Rich Kid Smart Kid was published in 2001, with the intent to help parents teach their children financial concepts. He has created three "Cashflow" board and software games for adults and children and has a series of "Rich Dad" audio cassettes and disks. He also publishes a monthly newsletter.
Books:

1.Rich Dad, Poor Dad: What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money—That the Poor and Middle Class Do Not! (1997)
2.Cashflow Quadrant: Rich Dad's Guide to Financial Freedom (2000)
3.Rich Dad's Guide to Investing: What the Rich Invest in, That the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not! (2000)
4.Rich Kid, Smart Kid (2001)
5.Rich Dad's Prophecy (2002)

Other Books:

* If you want to be Rich & Happy don't go to School? (1992)
* The Business School for People Who Like Helping People (2001) - endorses multi-level marketing.
* Retire Young, Retire Rich (2001)
* Rich Dad's The Business School (2003)
* Who Took My Money (2004)
* Rich Dad, Poor Dad for Teens (2004)
* Before You Quit Your Job (2005)
* Rich Dad's Escape from the Rat Race - Comic for children (2005)
* Rich Dad's Increase Your Financial IQ: Get Smarter with Your Money (2008)

My 1st book about financial stuff is "Rich Dad Poor Dad For Teens!" , and after that I read the famous " Rich Dad Poor Dad".
However, til now I am not yet rich! anyone know why??
I believe a lot daddys out there read this book before, what do you feel?
gain some gold from it?

This post has been edited by roticanai92: Feb 5 2009, 07:49 PM
zenwell
post Feb 11 2009, 11:54 AM

1,749 posts

I have some of his books. so far i've only read Rich Dad Poor Dad. The rest haven't start yet

Why you are not reach yet?

Reading all these books and educating yourself is good. But this alone will not make you rich. Action is what it takes to get you to where you want to be.
dream.angels
post Mar 14 2009, 08:29 PM

730 posts

m about to start this book.. how is it?
TSroticanai92
post Mar 15 2009, 01:15 PM

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Feb 11 2009, 11:54 AM)
I have some of his books. so far i've only read Rich Dad Poor Dad. The rest haven't start yet

Why you are not reach yet?

Reading all these books and educating yourself is good. But this alone will not make you rich. Action is what it takes to get you to where you want to be.
because u read the book, u make kiyosaki rich 1st , haha..
and if u act, MAYBE u can be rich.

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Mar 14 2009, 08:29 PM)
m about to start this book.. how is it?
its OK, and try to read and do wat's inside.
don juz read and forget, or else u wont be rich!
nicholaswinters87
post Mar 16 2009, 07:15 AM

134 posts

I read this book about 4 years ago. It was pretty eye-opening for me back then. His concepts are right but it remains hollistic, not exactly a practical guide.

Can read for fun, that's for sure smile.gif
dream.angels
post Mar 19 2009, 04:20 PM

730 posts

thanks.. smile.gif
nicholaswinters87
post Mar 19 2009, 05:07 PM

134 posts

Heard Robert Kiyosaki is coming to Malaysia, RM2000++ per seat... LOL biggrin.gif Dam cut throat man
TSroticanai92
post Mar 19 2009, 07:20 PM

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

QUOTE(nicholaswinters87 @ Mar 16 2009, 07:15 AM)
I read this book about 4 years ago. It was pretty eye-opening for me back then. His concepts are right but it remains hollistic, not exactly a practical guide.

Can read for fun, that's for sure smile.gif
well, unless u really practically do what's said inside, and do it in a way tat suits Malaysia.

QUOTE(nicholaswinters87 @ Mar 19 2009, 05:07 PM)
Heard Robert Kiyosaki is coming to Malaysia, RM2000++ per seat... LOL biggrin.gif Dam cut throat man
wth.. expensive like hell. anyone going??
nicholaswinters87
post Mar 19 2009, 08:09 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(roticanai92 @ Mar 19 2009, 07:20 PM)
well, unless u really practically do what's said inside, and do it in a way tat suits Malaysia.
wth.. expensive like hell. anyone going??
Well I sure as hell wont be going... biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Mar 20 2009, 05:49 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(nicholaswinters87 @ Mar 19 2009, 05:07 PM)
any further details about it? RM2000 for a seminar? too expensive shakehead.gif
happy4ever
post Apr 1 2009, 05:14 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

Don't need to attend.

I attended one if it many years back, and to tell you the truth, its exactly the same (but watered down) from his books.
There would be booths there selling his Rich Dad merchandises. The book itself is generally ok to grasp an overall view of passive income.

However, the misleading thing in this book is that it paints the picture that success equates to being rich with alot of passive income.
Different people have different levels of success, of which passion driven success is by far more competent in enduring obstacles you'd face. Monetary gain should be secondary and never to be your primary goals in life.

Lastly, this guy got rich by selling a book telling people how to get rich. An oxymoron if you ask me.
nicholaswinters87
post Apr 7 2009, 11:50 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Apr 1 2009, 05:14 PM)
Don't need to attend.

I attended one if it many years back, and to tell you the truth, its exactly the same (but watered down) from his books.
There would be booths there selling his Rich Dad merchandises. The book itself is generally ok to grasp an overall view of passive income.

However, the misleading thing in this book is that it paints the picture that success equates to being rich with alot of passive income.
Different people have different levels of success, of which passion driven success is by far more competent in enduring obstacles you'd face. Monetary gain should be secondary and never to be your primary goals in life.

Lastly, this guy got rich by selling a book telling people how to get rich. An oxymoron if you ask me.
Agreed.

In some of his books, he talks about selling and that he's a best-selling author, not a best-writing author.

I was like, "What? So all your ideas in the book are just for the sake of salesmanship? Gah~ faker~ blink.gif
annariana
post Apr 15 2009, 10:12 PM

197 posts

ahhh... good ole richdad wink.gif

i read this book around 6-7 years ago, i was 12-13 years old and rich dad poor dad was an eye opener.

works great in shaping ur perception. but to be successful in business, u still have to experience a lot of stuff. financial edu is definitely gotten by experience and not by reading biggrin.gif
firedauz
post Apr 21 2009, 05:03 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

While it is best to get insights and motivations from his books, I think practical sessions with real tutors/companies would be a much better way to improve your business.
TSroticanai92
post Apr 25 2009, 02:53 PM

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

QUOTE(nicholaswinters87 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:50 PM)
Agreed.

In some of his books, he talks about selling and that he's a best-selling author, not a best-writing author.

I was like, "What? So all your ideas in the book are just for the sake of salesmanship? Gah~ faker~  blink.gif
but do u learn something from it?

QUOTE(annariana @ Apr 15 2009, 10:12 PM)
ahhh... good ole richdad wink.gif

i read this book around 6-7 years ago, i was 12-13 years old and rich dad poor dad was an eye opener.

works great in shaping ur perception. but to be successful in business, u still have to experience a lot of stuff. financial edu is definitely gotten by experience and not by reading biggrin.gif
yup, but still an eye opener, gives me an idea of liability and assets.

QUOTE(firedauz @ Apr 21 2009, 05:03 PM)
While it is best to get insights and motivations from his books, I think practical sessions with real tutors/companies would be a much better way to improve your business.
hmm, u mean real work experience?
SUSahjames
post Apr 25 2009, 08:19 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

i like this book.

humour has always been my favourite genre.
happy4ever
post Apr 27 2009, 05:24 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

He never got rich la. He was never a bankrupt.
He got rich writing about how to get rich. And as luck would have it, Amway endorsed his book and he became rich.

Most of his writings were based on analogies, not entirely based on his life.

Only good for basic concepts. To put into practice, takes a lot more than these books. good for coffeetable reading. Nothing too serious though.

His board game, rat race, is a bit more interesting than his books
firedauz
post May 12 2009, 04:01 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Here's the info on the Malaysian event: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry25820085
celestra
post May 29 2009, 09:32 PM

anyway who wants to buy his books or game, can click my signature

anyway i love his books - got hooked since i read rich dad poor dad, the way he writes also very easy, no big words, so it becomes relax reading

i havent tried zig ziglar, but i heard he's good, im going to try

happyday888
post Mar 20 2011, 06:44 PM

15 posts

I am planning to get one of Robert Kiyosaki latest book - Rich Dad's Conspiracy of the Rich: The 8 New Rules of Money
May get it online from Book Depository, cheaper than some local book stores.

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/book/97804.../?a_aid=a1-book

cheers,
http://a1-books-review.blogspot.com/
beck_ken
post Mar 30 2011, 09:39 PM

4,716 posts

Many of his ideas do open up my mind, his books (Rich Dad Poor Dad and Cash Flow Quadrant) plus few books such as Parable of The Pipeline, Copy Cat Marketing, Who Moves My Cheese that really makes me to at least join MLM (network marketing) for passive income

happyday888
post May 26 2011, 11:31 PM

15 posts

Robert Kiyosaki's new book - Rich Dad's Guide to Becoming Rich Without Cutting Up Your Credit Cards: Turn "Bad Debt" into "Good Debt" will be launch in 31 May 2011

cheers,
HappyDay
http://a1-books-review.blogspot.com/

Schuan
post Nov 14 2015, 08:53 AM

69 posts

Robert kiyosaki Live In Singapore On 29 November 2015 VIP Ticket

Robert kiyosaki (Author of Rich Dad Poor Dad) - Masters of Wealth Course

Event date :29 November

Time 8am to 8 pm Venue:Resorts World Singapore

Price:$240 (Original Price is $268 on SISTIC)

VIP Ticket

VIP Seats (Best Seats in the room)
Autographed Copy of Robert Kiyosaki's Latest Book "Second Chance"
Exclusive Robert Kiyosaki DVD "The Man Who Could See the Future" (worth $299)
Exclusive VIP Lounge Access
Free Flow Coffee and Tea
Networking Area
Free Phone Charging Docks
Workbook

I purchased this ticket at $268 but cant attend due to oversea business trip. Willing to let go at $240.

Contact +6582686788

0.0238sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:17 PM