What tyre most quiet and comfortable driving?, Please share your experince...

TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 01:59 PM, updated 16y ago

1,615 posts

Hi guy,

I am driving a Camry and prefer most quiet and comfortable tyre.

I dun think I need control series because when I drive my wife Wira, there are huge differences between normal and control series on wet surface... But on Camry, even normal tyres can cut through water without problem.

Any recommendation?
cloudwan
post Feb 5 2009, 02:04 PM

- Knob -
8,421 posts

Hmmmm i'm using Continental ComfortContact, to me i'm really satisfied with it.. In wet n dry the performance is quite good.. Noise level also quite low..
The price is quite nice also..
Sooo i'm giving it a thumbs up smile.gif
keii-kun
post Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM

1,120 posts

if price is not much an issue, michelin pilot preceda should meet your requirement.

reason why your camry can cut water without problem on normal tyres are due to the fact that your camry is heavier than wira, therefore making it more stable and produce more contact to the road, compared to the lighter wira.

TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 02:08 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Feb 5 2009, 02:04 PM)
Hmmmm i'm using Continental ComfortContact, to me i'm really satisfied with it.. In wet n dry the performance is quite good.. Noise level also quite low..
The price is quite nice also..
Sooo i'm giving it a thumbs up smile.gif
Thanks...

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM)
if price is not much an issue, michelin pilot preceda should meet your requirement.

reason why your camry can cut water without problem on normal tyres are due to the fact that your camry is heavier than wira, therefore making it more stable and produce more contact to the road, compared to the lighter wira.
I also think of the same reason... I believe surface of the tyre also bigger for better grip... It is why I just want to focus on quiet and comfortable lo... tongue.gif
mantiz125
post Feb 5 2009, 02:10 PM

I'm a future Licensed Aircraft Engineer
1,168 posts

i'll vote for michelin.. my father also using camry... but the new one laa...

the price is about 500 for 1 tire without installation and adjustment... anyway.. tires using 17" inch rims ain't that cheap
kenneth1985
post Feb 5 2009, 02:16 PM

my vote goes for Michelin too. it is quiet, comfortable and long lasting
TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 02:25 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(mantiz125 @ Feb 5 2009, 02:10 PM)
i'll vote for michelin.. my father also using camry... but the new one laa...

the price is about 500 for 1 tire without installation and adjustment... anyway.. tires using 17" inch rims ain't that cheap
QUOTE(kenneth1985 @ Feb 5 2009, 02:16 PM)
my vote goes for Michelin too. it is quiet, comfortable and long lasting
Oh... Thanks...

I am also now looking at Michelin... Now the question is which model...

How about?

http://www.michelin.com.my/product/pcar_li...re_sed_mxv8.jsp

Do you guys know the pricing?
SUSredsn0w
post Feb 5 2009, 02:30 PM

74 posts

Every tire is the same just that every company has diffrent quality control of it. i will go for Dunlop for the best , for the worst i go for not korean but Toyo Tires
ah liew
post Feb 5 2009, 02:35 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

here are some interesting tire thread for you.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=889644&hl=
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=377857&hl=
Travies
post Feb 5 2009, 02:45 PM

1,048 posts

michelin pilot preceda, japan imported 1
LunaCry
post Feb 5 2009, 02:48 PM

281 posts

My Camry using Mic XM1 smile.gif its comfortable and quiet but i don think the grip is that good compare with goodyear ducaro Ga
TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 03:17 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Feb 5 2009, 02:35 PM)
QUOTE(Travies @ Feb 5 2009, 02:45 PM)
michelin pilot preceda, japan imported 1
QUOTE(LunaCry @ Feb 5 2009, 02:48 PM)
My Camry using Mic XM1 smile.gif its comfortable and quiet but i don think the grip is that good compare with goodyear ducaro Ga
Thank you so much... especially for the website...

From the Michelin website, it seems the MXV8 are the best on papers... and price listed on the

Michelin MXV8 (Japan) - Rm290 Puchong
Michelin MXV8 (Japan) - Rm285 Hin Leong

also indicating they are slightly more expensive than others... so make sense...

I guess this should be the model I am looking for... right?

Few questions here;

Q1: Where is the manufacturing date printed? And does MXV8 only from Japan?

Q2: About 205/45/R16, what does the number mean? My car is 195 right? How about other number?

This post has been edited by chanhin: Feb 5 2009, 03:19 PM
amduser
post Feb 5 2009, 03:27 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM)

u should say because of the heavy car body, the pressure of the 4 wheels towards the ground is increase
arowana33
post Feb 5 2009, 03:32 PM

204 posts

Michelin

amduser
post Feb 5 2009, 03:41 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 5 2009, 03:17 PM)
Thank you so much... especially for the website...

From the Michelin website, it seems the MXV8 are the best on papers... and price listed on the

Michelin MXV8 (Japan) - Rm290 Puchong
Michelin MXV8 (Japan) - Rm285 Hin Leong

also indicating they are slightly more expensive than others... so make sense...

I guess this should be the model I am looking for... right?

Few questions here;

Q1: Where is the manufacturing date printed? And does MXV8 only from Japan?

Q2: About 205/45/R16, what does the number mean? My car is 195 right? How about other number?
if want comfort then dont go for 45 series, go for 205/50R16 or 205/55R16, 45 will be more bumpy compare to 50 bumpy
ralf
post Feb 5 2009, 04:18 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Try Bridgestone GR80.

MXV8 205/55/16 is on my old ride many years ago..made in Japan, smooth and silent.

Added on February 5, 2009, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 5 2009, 02:08 PM)
Thanks...
I also think of the same reason... I believe surface of the tyre also bigger for better grip... It is why I just want to focus on quiet and comfortable lo... tongue.gif
Try newer model, Bridgestone GR80. smile.gif

Now still running second set of XM1 on current Wilalution, 185/60/14..silky smooth.

Added on February 5, 2009, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 5 2009, 02:08 PM)
Thanks...
Try newer model, Bridgestone GR80. smile.gif

Now still running second set of XM1 on current Wilalution, 185/60/14..silky smooth.

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 5 2009, 04:21 PM
lchan
post Feb 5 2009, 05:07 PM

721 posts

i'll vote for michelin too. But do check out falken azenis. They have a particular tyre that is supposedly advertised in car audio magazines around the world. Looks of people say its a very quiet tyre.
TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 05:41 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 5 2009, 03:27 PM)
u should say because of the heavy car body, the pressure of the 4 wheels towards the ground is increase
Thanks.. I belive the car is heavy la... Look at the fuel consumption speak it all..

QUOTE(arowana33 @ Feb 5 2009, 03:32 PM)
Michelin

Good... As fat as me... I like it drool.gif

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 5 2009, 03:41 PM)
if want comfort then dont go for 45 series, go for 205/50R16 or 205/55R16, 45 will be more bumpy compare to 50 bumpy
What does the 45, 50 series mean... Please explain.... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(ralf @ Feb 5 2009, 04:18 PM)
Thanks... Might get those if what I wanted is too expensive... like RM400 or more per tyre...

QUOTE(lchan @ Feb 5 2009, 05:07 PM)
i'll vote for michelin too. But do check out falken azenis. They have a particular tyre that is supposedly advertised in car audio magazines around the world. Looks of people say its a very quiet tyre.
Seems Michelin got the highest and consistence supporters here.
High-Roller
post Feb 5 2009, 06:47 PM

25 posts

mich xm-1 cheap and good
yngwie
post Feb 5 2009, 06:52 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

falken ze912 is fine too!
alvinz
post Feb 5 2009, 07:23 PM

832 posts

e.g.
175/70/R13

175 - width of the tire
70 - length (the thickness from the rim to the surface)
R13 - 13" rim

roughly those r the numbers for it ... correct me if i am wrong ..

amduser
post Feb 5 2009, 08:04 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 5 2009, 05:41 PM)
Thanks.. I belive the car is heavy la... Look at the fuel consumption speak it all..
Good... As fat as me... I like it  drool.gif
What does the 45, 50 series mean... Please explain....  notworthy.gif
Thanks... Might get those if what I wanted is too expensive... like RM400 or more per tyre...
Seems Michelin got the highest and consistence supporters here.
45 and 50 series means the height of the sidewall, for example, 205/50R16, which means the height of the side wall is 50% of the width of tyre, also can said as the sidewall is 50% of 205, almost like 102.6 something like that.

Xm1 wont be near RM400, it will be somewhere below RM300 maybe? just stay away from NCT5, my uncle's camry change 4 tyres to NCT5, RM300 per tyre, profile is 215/60R14, pity for him and his son that know nuts about tyres and dont listen to my advice sad.gif
TSchanhin
post Feb 5 2009, 11:48 PM

1,615 posts

Thanks for all the great explanation...

So I assume Camry default width is 195 right?

About the middle number, which number should I focus on? Which the best and comfortable, silent? tongue.gif

From threads that I can read... Seems minimum must be 50... or 55...

And when I look at the price section, I saw got 65...

So what is the differences between 50, 55 and 65?

This post has been edited by chanhin: Feb 6 2009, 12:01 AM
KITT
post Feb 6 2009, 10:53 AM

50, 55, 65...They are the ratio of the height of the tire sidewall. It's actually the percentage of the tire width. For example, 55% of 195 is 107.25 therefore the height of that tire is 107.25mm.
amduser
post Feb 6 2009, 11:06 AM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
Thanks for all the great explanation...

So I assume Camry default width is 195 right?

About the middle number, which number should I focus on? Which the best and comfortable, silent?  tongue.gif

From threads that I can read... Seems minimum must be 50... or 55...

And when I look at the price section, I saw got 65...

So what is the differences between 50, 55 and 65?
camry default is 195? i though is 215 sweat.gif i never drive before so i dont know

better dont get 65, it is more comfort but handling not precise, and if u use 205/65R15 it will be hell thick, iif me i prefer to use 50 or 55 series, cheaper in price.

the thinner the sidewall the better the handling but sacrifice the comfort and if sidewall too thin the rim will be very easy to "bengkok" when going through bumby road or small hole

thicker sidewall will be very comfort, but the handling r not that good and precise as compare to 50 and 55 series.

i dont think those big cars like camry and BMW and mercedes will use 65 series tyres, mostly for 13" and 14", sometime 15" also, but as wat i see, starting from 15" they normally use 60 series.

that's wat i know la, ever since i know this i'm trying to convince my parents not to get made in malaysia tyres lower profile tyres, correct me if i'm wrong.

This post has been edited by amduser: Feb 6 2009, 11:08 AM
TSchanhin
post Feb 9 2009, 01:17 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 6 2009, 11:06 AM)
camry default is 195? i though is 215 sweat.gif i never drive before so i dont know

better dont get 65, it is more comfort but handling not precise, and if u use 205/65R15 it will be hell thick, iif me i prefer to use 50 or 55 series, cheaper in price.

the thinner the sidewall the better the handling but sacrifice the comfort and if sidewall too thin the rim will be very easy to "bengkok" when going through bumby road or small hole

thicker sidewall will be very comfort, but the handling r not that good and precise as compare to 50 and 55 series.

i dont think those big cars like camry and BMW and mercedes will use 65 series tyres, mostly for 13" and 14", sometime 15" also, but as wat i see, starting from 15" they normally use 60 series.

that's wat i know la, ever since i know this i'm trying to convince my parents not to get made in malaysia tyres lower profile tyres, correct me if i'm wrong.
Thanks for explaining the middle number with human language... notworthy.gif

So it mean I am aiming for 205/60/R15
pillage2001
post Feb 9 2009, 03:05 AM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 5 2009, 08:04 PM)
45 and 50 series means the height of the sidewall, for example, 205/50R16, which means the height of the side wall is 50% of the width of tyre, also can said as the sidewall is 50% of 205, almost like 102.6 something like that.

Xm1 wont be near RM400, it will be somewhere below RM300 maybe? just stay away from NCT5, my uncle's camry change 4 tyres to NCT5, RM300 per tyre, profile is 215/60R14, pity for him and his son that know nuts about tyres and dont listen to my advice sad.gif
Camry on a 14 inch wheel?? Are you sure you know nuts about tyres too??
ceo684
post Feb 9 2009, 04:20 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

Maybe its not the latest camree but those '97 version?
TSchanhin
post Feb 10 2009, 09:11 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Feb 9 2009, 03:05 AM)
Camry on a 14 inch wheel?? Are you sure you know nuts about tyres too??
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 9 2009, 04:20 AM)
Maybe its not the latest camree but those '97 version?
Camry got 14" meh? shocking.gif
AiRBooM
post Feb 10 2009, 10:00 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

camry on 14" wheel??? hahahah.... quite funny if really have.... lol laugh.gif
TSchanhin
post Feb 13 2009, 09:31 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Feb 10 2009, 10:00 AM)
camry on 14" wheel??? hahahah.... quite funny if really have.... lol  laugh.gif
I think that guy should make a mistake la... 14" is just not so 'camry'... cool2.gif
tony2000
post Aug 19 2009, 11:03 PM

76 posts

lol how about wira? its an interesthing discussion here.. what are their sizes? i am looking for comfort tyre too..
D_Y2k.4^
post Aug 19 2009, 11:22 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

michelin pilot preceda is great! Been using Falkens and just replaced them with Mich and after changing, I've decided to stick to Michelin forever!
capiche
post Aug 19 2009, 11:32 PM

380 posts

my car, a myvi.. recently just changed from batuperak powerblitz 1800 to michelin xm1... from the day onwards.. i tell myself my next tire change would be michelin too!! haha smile.gif
michael9413
post Aug 20 2009, 08:55 AM

***@_@***
6,971 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Aug 19 2009, 11:22 PM)
michelin pilot preceda is great! Been using Falkens and just replaced them with Mich and after changing, I've decided to stick to Michelin forever!
PP2 is good but... there is some limitation... ppl whom have harder suspension setup would feel the ride is a bit harsh...
i fitted 3 sets on my Vios 05 and i feel it is bearable... but my fren's colleague CT different story... the ride at the back is harsh...
it is one of the best tire in wet for it's category...

QUOTE(capiche @ Aug 19 2009, 11:32 PM)
my car, a myvi.. recently just changed from batuperak powerblitz 1800 to michelin xm1... from the day onwards.. i tell myself my next tire change would be michelin too!! haha smile.gif
XM1 is good for Myvi... you can try out Michelin PP2 if you don mind the harshness of the ride...
XM1 is a basic tire and it is in lowest range of the Michelin family...
XM1<Primacy LC<PP2<PS2... the most common tire you see around...
powerblitz or GY NCT5 or others cannot compare to XM1 la... NCT5 will loose the traction on wet... powerblitz i did not see it as a tire for wet... rclxub.gif

for Myvi 14"... you can try out Falken 912 also... not a bad one... smile.gif
if you have 15" PP2 is very good in handling and traction but the ride is a bit harsh... you can give Primacy LC a try for its quietness and comfortable ride also...

ahsam1212
post Aug 20 2009, 11:52 AM

178 posts

tyres with aspect ratio of 70 will give the most comfort. hehe..
i never like those big rims n low profile tyres. that's me. haha

This post has been edited by ahsam1212: Aug 20 2009, 11:52 AM
briggs86
post Aug 20 2009, 01:29 PM

409 posts

yokohama C drive ? lolx..

This post has been edited by briggs86: Aug 20 2009, 01:31 PM
ah liew
post Aug 20 2009, 03:50 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

TS tumpang thread: can a good tyre protects the rim from being bengkok? thanks.
SejukCerita
post May 2 2013, 04:16 PM

53 posts

hi sifus. pls recommend me tyre for 17". Im looking for one that produce minimal road noise, comfy and decent priced (RM 250 - 350). and what are the other things that I should take note? thanks notworthy.gif
Quazacolt
post May 2 2013, 04:31 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(SejukCerita @ May 2 2013, 04:16 PM)
hi sifus. pls recommend me tyre for 17". Im looking for one that produce minimal road noise, comfy and decent priced (RM 250 - 350). and what are the other things that I should take note? thanks  notworthy.gif
yokohama advan db is slightly over your budget, however it is among the best when it comes to NVH

=edit=
will also request mod to move this to tire talk sub-forum

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 2 2013, 04:31 PM

0.0271sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:56 AM