House extension roof

TSsupercolossal
post Feb 5 2009, 01:41 PM, updated 17y ago

620 posts

For extension roofing I have some questions.

1. Is it ok to use wood as the roof structure? How does it compare to iron structures?

2. Roof tiles, I see some people are using cement/conrete tiles where as some are using corrugated (orange colour) roof sheet? Which is better?

3. Is it necessary to install a gutter?
a6meister
post Feb 5 2009, 02:16 PM

462 posts

Aluminium structure is actually cheaper than the wood type. It depends on the contractor that do you the job. Older generation prefer wood. I had personally discuss this with some builder, and all have their own view of points.

For my experience, after climbing to the attic level, i find out that ALUMINIUM is quite soft, after u step on it. But, i believe, in the long run, it will be good, as wood will rots after decades.

For the roof tiles, normally, house using corrugutated type. Dont forget, we are and tropical countries, lots of rains, you would not want to see your roof stuffed with rain water.

Gutter actually is optional. If you afraid the rain water will overflow to neighbours, is beter to install one. If not mistaken, a stainless steel guteer cost around rm 40 a foot long. I install the gutter myself, which i was using the PVC TYPE. With about RM 120, and with the help of my brother, we installed a 9 foot gutter.
TSsupercolossal
post Feb 5 2009, 02:45 PM

620 posts

Thanks for the reply.

The contractor did mention that the alunimum will sag after a while and the recommended wood isntead.

I'm not sure if I understand you right, at the moment the contractor recommended using those big sheet of corrugated roof (huge rectangular pieces)instead of the cement tiles because he says that they will last longer, is that true. Tiles will then to crack / wear out after a while

What are they made of anyways, I hope it's not asbestos.

The extension is on the ground floor, contractor says that don't really need a gutter because there will be a slight overhang of the roof after hte door. Kinda undecided if I should get one installed.

What is the common practice anyways?

And any other things that they put between the ceiling and the roof to prevent intrusion and even to regulate temperature?
a6meister
post Feb 5 2009, 04:23 PM

462 posts

yes, aluminium is softer,as i mentioned, thus will be sag if u stand on it. But, should not be a big deal, cause, normally, people wont go to the attic unless for wiring and piping thing.

corrugated roof, is very common, is made by asbestos, but, not that lasting, plus, does not look nice. for cost saving, it will be the option. i use clay tiles roof for my kitchen extension. Much expensive, looks nicer, and also, last longer.

TSsupercolossal
post Feb 5 2009, 04:48 PM

620 posts

Any health hazards associated with asbestos roofing?
kimyee73
post Feb 6 2009, 10:46 AM

1,007 posts

I think one more point you have to look at is whether it is nice to look at. Personally I prefers roof tiles over corrugated sheet. If you intend to fix a ceiling under the roof, better to use aluminum trusses as it is not a food for white ants. Otherwise using wood trusses would look really nice looking from below. Cost wise would probably be the same between aluminum with ceiling and wood without ceiling.
chamelion
post Feb 6 2009, 10:55 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

wood are better. aluminium will sag not because some1 in the actic but because the weight of the roof.

if you engage termite proofing, part of the job is to spray the roof wood support. else you can buy termitox from ACE, dilute with water and spray it yourself. it will solve the termite issue for 5-8 years easily.

sag frame will need to be total replace due to safety which is more costly.

also ask your contractor to add wood beam to make the roof inaccessible from outside as most of house break in is via roof.
TSsupercolossal
post Feb 6 2009, 01:09 PM

620 posts

Ok thanks for all the replies, I have decided to use tiles.

What do you mean by having wood beams to make the roof inaccessible?
jwrx
post Feb 6 2009, 04:26 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Feb 6 2009, 01:09 PM)
Ok thanks for all the replies, I have decided to use tiles.

What do you mean by having wood beams to make the roof inaccessible?
meaning dun have the gap between roof beams too big, otherwise the pencuri can remove your roof tiles and just crawl in.

i renovated my house after i bought it..it was over 22+ years old, and the wooden roof beams still in good condition, so i just added additional roof beams to make the gap smaller, so that pencuri cant crawl in easily..have to saw away at least 2 beams b4 can gain entry
etanks
post Feb 7 2009, 05:19 PM

actually i m doing the ID & renovation work. i can suggest to use zink sheet as well to prevent the theif to break in. Cox quite a lot of my client are using it right now.

0.0214sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:41 AM