Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

thesun
post Jan 10 2010, 03:22 AM

1,810 posts

miat's apron during registration day.. very penuh one.. got many expensive cars oso during that day..

staffs sell drinks during registration day, the woman in red is Kak Ina..

this is one out of 14 or 15 aircraft at miat.. dunno what type is it..

in front of student centre

the field

outdoor gym

class / workshop building

skyhawk A-4F

finally i got accepted to study in MIAT, hopefully this path will lead me to become LAME one day, insyaallah thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by thesun: Jan 10 2010, 03:22 AM
thesun
post Jan 11 2010, 10:49 AM

1,810 posts

thanks man!
thesun
post Mar 20 2010, 03:08 PM

1,810 posts

my lecturer recommends us to take EASA exam at british council, (got 17 modules iinm)

let say 1st sem, we finished our physics subject, so next sem we apply to sit for the physics easa module.. of course must study on our own for the easa exam..

so by the time we graduate from miat, we should already finish at least 9 and above easa papers..

i do not know the proper procedures, but that's the basic idea lah.. some say we must have international passport..
provide the letter of confirmation that we are from MIAT (approved training school), so they will allow us to take the exam..

i did not plan to take the easa exam yet because one must complete all the modules within 5 years..
and i also did not sure whether to go for NDT or aircraft maintenance.. sweat.gif

(above statement is for diploma/degree students at miat who wants to pursue LAE the 'shorcut way', as per jazzy939 said, miat also got independent EASA part 66 programme, if you take this programme, of course this is the better way, but the course is expensive, about RM80k, and no hostel provided for the students)

This post has been edited by thesun: Mar 20 2010, 03:16 PM
thesun
post Mar 23 2010, 02:58 AM

1,810 posts

why don't you wait for someone who really have much time and knowledge to properly answer all your questions?

if you can't wait for answer, please ask the APR since you've planned to study there also. This thread is not open only for you, you don't have the right to simply close the thread just because somebody haven't answered your questions. Many other forumers / future forumers may find it is beneficial for them.
thesun
post Mar 24 2010, 10:42 PM

1,810 posts

ok, may i ask a question. i'm a miat diploma in a/c maintenance sem 1 student,
what are other good options for me besides taking LWTR and EASA exam? (other than become an LAE or aircraft technician)
-i expect somebody will answer "You can ask your lecturers or counsellors" biggrin.gif yeah, i will, but just for the sake of this thread so that everybody can read them.
to be honest, i followed this thread and Miat thread in jobs & careers since i submitted my application to enter miat, that was around 6 months ago i think, many new things i learned from here, it was useful for me especially during the miat interview..

not that i dont have interest on working on aircraft, but just want to know what does other related options offer.. does it good or 'less good' than the LAE path.. (i know it's not easy to become LAE)
i heard about aviation NDT, and someone who got license in industrial NDT must take another license for aviation NDT if he/she want to change field..

thanks in advanced.. smile.gif
thesun
post Mar 25 2010, 01:01 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(med @ Mar 25 2010, 10:15 AM)
woot! i read this and i had to register as a member to ask for mroe! the sun, i have applied for MIAT too like last month, i think. hopefully, i get into this school! by the way, is the chance high? oh ya, i am in serious dilemma now whether to go for MIAT, Aviation Australia or Air Transport Training College (singapore). sad.gif If I'm not mistaken, even if the school is not providing EASA syllabus, I still can go for the test my own? confused. rclxub.gif anyway, i wish there will be some experts who will be able to answer your question. all the best.
laugh.gif see, this thread is indeed beneficial for alot of ppl, seems like we are in the same boat buddy.. biggrin.gif
ok, honestly, i dont know whether Aviation Australia and Air Transport Training College are approved training school or not, (maybe somebody has stated before, but recently i didn't follow this thread that much, so please double check)

but for miat, it's confirmed already, one can say like this, (correct me if i'm wrong, i'm just a sem 1 student.. hehe) if you study at miat for 3 yrs, it's like you are already working on aircraft for the same period of time, so after graduating, to complete the 5 years of experience (one must work at least 5 yrs to become LAE), you only need to work for another two years..

yes, you can do the test on your own at the British council while you are studying at miat, let say sem 1 you take physics subject, so, you can sit for the easa physics paper whenever you are ready..
miat syllabus is not that 'far different' than the EASA, of course, miat exam is easy.. lol.. yesterday, i did my basic electricity midterm test in 5 minutes only.. not because i'm super genius, but just to give you a picture how easy it is, because all objective questions maa.. biggrin.gif

but for easa exam, i encourage you to get well prepared and take it very seriously, because you must complete all the modules within 5 years, the exam per module are not cheap too, around RM400 per paper if i'm not mistaken.. the materials to study for the easa exam you can get from seniors.. whistling.gif

dont worry much la, later when you got into one of those colleges, surely everybody is talking about easa exam.. then only the path become clearer for you.. wink.gif

i myself not sure yet, if i were to sit for easa exam, i plan to sit in sem 3 onwards.. 1st sem, enjoy first lah.. still getting used to the environment.. laugh.gif

btw, if you haven't do the miat interview, just google for "miat interview", alot of ppl already wrote their experience in blogs.. in fact, i did google for it too last time, and wrote about it too just to give back to the community.. laugh.gif happy Google-ing!

This post has been edited by thesun: Mar 25 2010, 01:09 PM
thesun
post Mar 25 2010, 03:01 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Mar 25 2010, 02:55 PM)
-deleted-
aiyoo, you post "-deleted-" makes me feel scared, did i say something wrong, if so, i'm so sorry.. still learning.. sad.gif biggrin.gif
thesun
post Mar 25 2010, 07:42 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(med @ Mar 25 2010, 06:43 PM)
any tips for my interview next time? smile.gif
actually, miat interview is not that easy, because it's not just oral, but also got IQ test,
1st u need to answer 50 objective questions, you must complete in 30minutes,
inside got many topics, english, IQ test, math, arithmetic reasoning, ahh.. can't remember them all.. 30 minutes feels like 5 minutes only, because many didnt finish in time, got a candidate only managed to answer 15 question only, the rest, he "tembak"
the mark i got was so so only.. sweat.gif after the test, candidates were allowed to take a 10 minutes break before interview session..

tips for the oral:
study a little bit about aircraft components, be familiar with the terms used on aircraft components, such as ailerons, rudder, elevator, fuselage, turbine engine, turboprop engine, fore/aft, wings (there is alot more, but dont worry, you'll learn later on)
no need to study detail la, it's good for your knowledge, but for the interview, just enough until u can point out which is which if somebody show you a picture of aircraft..

also, what forces acting on aircraft during flight, the bernoulli principle, and of course, they'll ask you your backgrounds before that.. i'm sure you dont have problems with your english, so be creative abit lah, show some passion to the aviation world especially if you are not from aviation background family.. also, wear proper attire, short haired, make sure you bring all important document, put them in clear file, so that easy for the interviewer to check (because got some candidate put all documents in an envelope rclxub.gif )

thesun
post Mar 25 2010, 11:05 PM

1,810 posts

@med
no problem. smile.gif

@jazzy939 and @azameel
both of you now finished study right? so, does all of your friends in your batch now become LAE, if not, the 'swing' to what profession ar?
thesun
post Mar 28 2010, 10:40 PM

1,810 posts

sorry, what is the different between Part 66 and Part 147?

thesun
post Mar 31 2010, 03:26 AM

1,810 posts

maybe because the place in miat is very limited..
keep in mind that not all malays who went for the interview got place in miat..
from what i heard, numbers of students applying keep increasing each intake..because miat is getting more popular..

not long time ago got the Perodua Alza outdoor crash test which was done at miat.
i think that one indirectly boost the miat publicity also..

This post has been edited by thesun: Mar 31 2010, 03:29 AM
thesun
post Apr 1 2010, 12:47 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(VTM @ Mar 31 2010, 08:43 PM)
i got a big question.. can u tell me exactly wat to study after SPM to become a LAME... tnx
now u still in school or already spm leaver?
just read few pages back carefully
thesun
post Apr 9 2010, 02:37 PM

1,810 posts

went to MAS hangar 02 subang yesterday, met some of the LAEs and other MAS staffs there, as well as their TAME..
it was my 1st time visit to MAS, did explore the workshops, the best part was when the slide raft deploy demo.. tongue.gif
camera isnt allowed, so no pics to share here..

one of the staff said, the MAS TJT programme not bad actually,
He said also, "If you got brain, you may be selected to higher level than JT, not necessarily you become JT forever la.."

miat is not that bad too, but i personally think it is way better if you study and work on live aircraft..

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 9 2010, 02:57 PM
thesun
post Apr 9 2010, 07:52 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Apr 9 2010, 07:22 PM)
the sun you come from MIAT? Because yesterday i saw some miat guys around at line 8. I working there.

If you think of money only, than you will end up boring because you doing something you will carry on until the end of your working career. You must interested and enjoy it. I like it so much the job.@@
yes.. probably you've seen me laugh.gif
most of the miat students who visited to MAS yesterday are still in sem 1.. so, it was a good exposure for us.. notworthy.gif
thesun
post Apr 9 2010, 08:25 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(git0926 @ Apr 9 2010, 07:54 PM)
can i know the requirement to study in MIAT? Which course you take? and how much for the total course fees, thanks
refer here.. MIAT WEBPAGE
the last date to apply for July 2010 in MIAT was 5th april 2010, but you can still apply but to be considered subject to availability of places..

for easa programme i do not sure when is the last date anyway, here EASA LINK

i'm taking diploma in aircraft maintenance technology (composite)
-it's 3 and half year course.. the newer diploma courses in miat only 3 years.. but i think not much different la..

there were also degree programme offered, pls check the website for more info..

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 9 2010, 08:31 PM
thesun
post Apr 9 2010, 09:34 PM

1,810 posts

4 years.. there is also part time bachelor in aviation management.. i think that one 6 years..

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 9 2010, 09:34 PM
thesun
post Apr 9 2010, 11:42 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Apr 9 2010, 10:53 PM)
Composite than will be fiberglass, kevlar all that things?

Graduate will work in workshop?? or?
Ya maybe workshop.. but also looking forward to work in companies like CTRM.. but dont know whether can put in the working experience for the license or not.. rclxub.gif

our syllabus from sem 1 to sem 5 are the same for composite, avionics, and manufacturing (these are the older diplomas), sem 6 is OJT and during the final sem only then we'll be separated, we'll learn more about our respective course; composite, manufacturing and avionics...

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 9 2010, 11:46 PM
thesun
post Apr 10 2010, 07:13 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(fatihah92 @ Apr 10 2010, 06:49 PM)
i'm planning on take foundation at unikl this year and then continue degree at MIAT.. am i having disadvantages because i'm not doing diploma in MIAT?? and are job opportunity for girls is slimmer??
why not straight away take diploma course in MIAT?
as many have said before, to become LAME, degree or diploma not important.. unless you aim for management aspects..
but it's not wrong too to take degree. it's good for you if somehow you change your mind not to pursue LAME later.. 4yrs is not a short time, anything can happen..
and about the gender thing
perhaps this can inspire you please click

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 10 2010, 07:21 PM
thesun
post Apr 23 2010, 04:57 PM

1,810 posts

i hope there is a thread about NDT career.
just to share you what we did today, it may not up to industrial standard.. anyway, here are some of the pictures..

i think all aircraft maintenance courses should have NDT subject included right?

This post has been edited by thesun: Apr 23 2010, 04:59 PM
thesun
post May 18 2010, 03:37 AM

1,810 posts

i thought one must have license to work on aircraft as engineer?
no license, cannot sign off aircraft.

0.0570sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:54 AM