161 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Bottom

Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

JohnMax
post May 20 2013, 11:26 AM

544 posts

Totally agreed with jazzy939, "By the way, this not a profession to earn high salary. There are better and easier options."

Don't think it's easy. If you do than you have huge cables and also you polish your boss's shoes everyday
weikeat90
post May 21 2013, 09:54 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ May 20 2013, 11:26 AM)
Totally agreed with jazzy939, "By the way, this not a profession to earn high salary. There are better and easier options."

Don't think it's easy. If you do than you have huge cables and also you polish your boss's shoes everyday
then which field u wanna go next? tongue.gif at least u got type course ady ma.

This post has been edited by weikeat90: May 21 2013, 09:55 PM
Learjet35
post May 22 2013, 10:52 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ May 20 2013, 09:08 AM)
Ok. They're Part 147 ATO.
This is the deal. If at the end of the course you're getting a diploma + a license, then its ok. Otherwise, not that price! Take heed to maryjane9996's advice.

maryjane9996, I am sorry I can't recall. I shook hands with a lot of people, including my ex-students..
yeah u with Encik Dollah at that time.seems u guys rushing somewhere.. smile.gif

akjian
post May 22 2013, 11:56 AM

29 posts

Those who is interested in TLAE program . Can try to look into ST AEROSPACE ENGINEERING Singapore ..

This post has been edited by akjian: May 22 2013, 12:30 PM
Learjet35
post May 22 2013, 11:59 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(akjian @ May 22 2013, 11:56 AM)
Those who is interested in TLAE program . Can try to look into ST AEROSPACE ENGINEERING Singapore ..
u went there for training ? im goin there tomorrow.
akjian
post May 22 2013, 12:31 PM

29 posts

yup ..just that there is a 8 year bond which turn off many of them and camera phone is not allowed because ST is dealing with military planes also .

This post has been edited by akjian: May 22 2013, 12:47 PM
jazzy939
post May 23 2013, 10:50 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

flylah.com has migrated to a new system and can be accessed by this URL:

http://forum.flylah.com

hopefully no more issues with register script and posting.

New members click here:

http://forum.flylah.com/member.php?action=...ter&referrer=19

This post has been edited by jazzy939: May 23 2013, 10:57 AM
SUSguitar89
post May 23 2013, 05:38 PM

76 posts

I'm currently a technician in airline with completed diploma.

I want to ask, what should I take to upgrade myself, such as to DCAM & EASA ?

I can't quite understand how it functions, such as experience requirement & in relation to module taking. (suppose take while i'm working)

What is the examination places I can take up in around selangor ?

Note: I'm little bit familiar with old standard with BCAR, and frozen license, etc

This post has been edited by guitar89: May 23 2013, 05:44 PM
jazzy939
post May 23 2013, 09:57 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Have you read AN1101?

In aviation, there's always a reference document to show/point/guide/instruct. Get use to this mindset.

The authority here in Malaysia is DCA. There is a wealth of information on their website and also local ATOs that will repeat the standards and requirements of DCA.

forum and threads such as this and flylah among others have similar info too. Start searching and reading! tongue.gif

Someone (Johnmax, post #2777) posted a graphical flow of path to take to become one. Did you missed that or you do not understand?

Please ask very specific question/s.. AFTER you've done your homework, ie reading.

Thank you.

BTW, there no such thing as 'FROZEN LICENSE'! Coined up by one ATO to 'misled' the public...

This post has been edited by jazzy939: May 23 2013, 10:03 PM
camel90
post May 23 2013, 10:06 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

i'm always amazed by jazzy's dedication answering the same question since my first silly question back in the end of 2010 biggrin.gif

MIAT students like me should read this thread more often now that we've lost our dearest Mr. Hyder to some college in Pengkalan Chepa. just to keep us up to date with what's happening in the industry. icon_rolleyes.gif
jazzy939
post May 23 2013, 10:10 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Hey you remembered! tongue.gif

I think MIAT have a blog a while back, don't they help address such a query?
Sometimes I am puzzled why MIAT students did not approach their own aviation expert/specialist in house to clear their uncertainties..
Too bad MIAT lost Mr. Hyder... a great lost but thats what happened when your effort are not being appreciated. Not by the students but the management, of course!
akjian
post May 25 2013, 06:23 PM

29 posts

i would like to advise those who are interested in this LAME program to look for companies like MAS , SIA and ST which provides training . Unlike for those who want to take up their basic paper . I believe it would take a long time to be establish because some companies might not provide you with type course . Even you did all your basic paper and type course outside , the company have the authority not to establish you . For example if you have all the basic paper and you did your type course you must make sure that particular company allows you to collect SOE(which many companies dont or they would take advantage of you ). Apart from that , if you did a type course on A320 the company you work in must also have that A/C type N you must be able to work on it .( For example if that company maintain 737 and a320 .. But they assign to work on 737 therefore you wont be able to collect your SOE on A320 and more time wasted and your licensing will be delayed . However there are more factors that will delay or obstruct you from getting your license .
SUSguitar89
post May 29 2013, 11:10 AM

76 posts

Yes, but I personally prefer to have some people who had good experience on these to guide me. Anyway, I had read AN1101 and other AN related. I'm ex-TAFE and I can't found anywhere for list of part-147 organisation, so does that means I need to take 5 years experience if I take DCAM exams, even though i'm a diploma holder ?

Thats a big disadvantage against taking German EASA provided by Air-Tech Gildung in TAFE college.(2 years according to this and my college. Is it any better compare both of them ? (my head leader told me DCAM is better in terms of qualification and acceptance, is it true ?)

I had look up to Johnmax Post #2777 , there mention about conversion in the fourth steps, I guess that applies to EASA only ?

Just to be sure, the "frozen license" I meant should be 'basic license', is it ?

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ May 23 2013, 09:57 PM)
Have you read AN1101?

In aviation, there's always a reference document to show/point/guide/instruct. Get use to this mindset.

The authority here in Malaysia is DCA. There is a wealth of information on their website and also local ATOs that will repeat the standards and requirements of DCA.

forum and threads such as this and flylah among others have similar info too. Start searching and reading! tongue.gif

Someone (Johnmax, post #2777) posted a graphical flow of path to take to become one. Did you missed that or you do not understand?

Please ask very specific question/s.. AFTER you've done your homework, ie reading.

Thank you.

BTW, there no such thing as 'FROZEN LICENSE'! Coined up by one ATO to 'misled' the public...
jazzy939
post May 29 2013, 11:25 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

guitar89,
I understand your predicament!
Reading without someone explaining and guiding can be a daunting task especially this Part 66 license thingy.

Most of your answers to the questions there are unfortunately true.

SO, what to do next after a huge investments of time, money and energy?

Something that you and others need to consider whether to still further pursue a career in aviation or something else. It is still not TOO late to start over...

SUSguitar89
post May 29 2013, 11:50 AM

76 posts

Hmm.... It is somewhat disappointing, but I won't start over ^^ just looking for better option.

Anyway, IF I were to take EASA (in my case would be german EASA), then I have to take my experience on GERMAN-registered aircraft ? or I could take on MALAYSIA-registered aircraft (9M) as where i'm working, for the purpose of fulfillment for the basic license.

jazzy939
post May 29 2013, 12:01 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

If you have a completed any EASA based ATO, you only need to get your live aircraft experience in ANY EASA approved PART 145 MRO. In Malaysia there's only one, MAE (Malaysia Airlines Engineering). One is about to come up, AAe ( AIROD Aerospace Engineering).
You need to be EMPLOYED and should be working on LIVE aircrafts.

IF not an EASA Part 145 , it can be up to 5 years of experience required pending the acceptance of the affected EASA Regulatory Body concerned. Getting experience is one thing, you must be assessed by an approved person by that particular EASA's Regulatory body. Can be difficult if not Part 145 approved.

SUSguitar89
post May 29 2013, 12:50 PM

76 posts

Aw.... then it could really be troublesome. If taking EASA also need to have 5 years of experience due to not working under EASA approved part-145 with pending, then its better to take DCAM examination ^^

Some company such as MAS & Airasia provide courses & examination to their staff, how is it different than taking by ourself? (in term of experience work schedule)
jazzy939
post May 29 2013, 01:57 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

MAS, AirAsia and AAe have in-house development programme.
Such a programme is well planned and budgetted, as such it will be well coordinated and you should get your license within the stipulated time.
Self study requires a lot of effort, sacrifices and will definitely be a challenge and most likely take longer than anticipated due to several uncontrolled situations outside your control...
SUSguitar89
post May 29 2013, 04:35 PM

76 posts

I'm not sure about other company, but I heard from Airasia staff that the development programme is actually quite rushing, complete all module(examination) lesser than 6 months. Thats why I thought self study is better. (can use 2-3 years for examination, want to take it fast then 1 year no problem)

jazzy939
post May 29 2013, 07:02 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The AirAsia programme (MDP)was intended to experienced mechanic/technicians that already have minimum of 3 years working on live aircrafts. You're not qualified to be in that programme. There is however, Engineering Trainee programme for diploma and degree holder and that won't be an 'instant' LAE programme.. tongue.gif

161 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:06 PM