Do take note that the BCAR Section L in question is CAA's LWTR, NOT DCAM's LWTR.
Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!
Jun 11 2012, 09:40 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
Do take note that the BCAR Section L in question is CAA's LWTR, NOT DCAM's LWTR.
Jun 15 2012, 11:34 AM
1 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Jun 27 2012, 03:50 PM
1,931 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
enjoying my working life! hehe
Jul 3 2012, 12:32 AM
8,930 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Still a long way more for me till I start working.
Btw bro jazzy(or uncle? Thanks! |
Jul 4 2012, 02:12 AM
418 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: penang |
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:32 AM) Still a long way more for me till I start working. i like fixed wing more... Btw bro jazzy(or uncle? Thanks! |
Jul 4 2012, 10:38 PM
Jazzy will be fine, although I am more on the uncle side..
Personally I would advice you to take up rotary wings.. why? The high demand for it and of course, a better pay than fixed wing engineers.. Enjoy your module 12.. Mr. Terry Chan will be conducting the course for sure.. QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:32 AM) |
Jul 4 2012, 11:33 PM
Thanks for your comment jazzy! Appreciate it really. Guess I'll tick the rotor craft box then
btw, wanna ask whether is the dcam license convertible to an EASA license and vice versa? Mainly asking on behalf of my friend as I plan to work locally so either way is fine by me. Reason I'm asking is because currently in the place I'm doing my ojt, many techs/trainees are still in the dark about this issue. Some say EASA can convert to DCAM but not vice versa, some say can't convert at all while some says it's almost interchangeable. Getting mixed signals and the answer varies depending on who you ask And once again, thanks! |
Jul 4 2012, 11:38 PM
DCAM to EASA = Do not know. Up TO EASA to recognize and accept.
EASA to DCAM = Case to case basis,solely at the discretion of the DG. This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 4 2012, 11:39 PM |
Jul 5 2012, 01:29 AM
Put it in short, nothing is finalised yet?
I remember last time during my briefing un APR I remembered En. Adnan mentioning that the Malaysian DCAM license is recognised in many, many other countries. So how does that works? |
Jul 5 2012, 01:42 AM
The DCAM license is obviously recognized in Singapore, Brunei, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand and the Middle East.
For all intents and purpose, honestly where do you wanna work? EU? Forget it. The best paid employers are in the middle east eg. Emirates, Qatar etc.. Singapore is actually a good place to work. Now, no one would employ you with just a non type rated license. You must have experience in the type.. no less than 5 years, preferably 7 or more.. now what does that mean? You have to start locally, ie Malaysia then after getting the necessary type ratings (B777, A330s, etc are essential) then work your way 'out'.. And this is generally true.. to practice/work in any country, you must convert your recognized license to the local license issued by the local regulatory body by sitting and passing, of course, their air regulation examination(written). You may be required to sit for an oral if they so required, airlegislation and or technical. A pre-requisite to that is a letter of offer/appointment letter for your employer and working visa. This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 5 2012, 01:49 AM |
Jul 5 2012, 01:52 AM
Honestly I'm pretty comfortable working in Malaysia actually. Closer to my family, friends and the lower cost of living here compensates for the lower salary here.
Totally forgotten about the fact that DCAM is recognised in those countries as well. I guess doing my OJT in SAE, meeting and talking to many of the techs/trainees here, they all seem to look at the EASA license as the holy grail of some sort. Spoke to quite a number of people here and some of them actually look down on the DCAM license saying it's useless as you can only work in msia Thanks again jazzy for clarifying things again. Paiseh ask so many questions Added on July 5, 2012, 1:55 amBut then again, many of the techs are ex-Nilai guys and maybe that's why they look upon EASA so highly? This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Jul 5 2012, 01:55 AM |
Jul 5 2012, 01:58 AM
Nothing at all. I am also disturbed by the sudden interest with EASA-66 license and some local higher learning institutions riding on the band wagon to make a good quick buck.
Bear in mind B1 & B2 EASA-66 license is a MECHANIC's LICENCE for LINE MAINTENANCE CERTIFICATIONS ONLY as oppose to DCAM's Part 66 B1 & B2 which is an ENGINEER's LICENSE, hence the differences in the syllabus.. I hope you're clear in this. Ask your En. Adnan lah! NIlai's grad; Yup.. the reason why they will be 'stucked' at that level for quite some time... This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 5 2012, 02:00 AM |
Jul 5 2012, 02:18 AM
Yeah, reasonably clear enough now about the licensing system
In case you didn't know, En. Adnan had already left APR around end of April and I had not stepped into APR since my OJT began around the same time as well Really feeling lucky I did my own research and did not sign up in Nilai as that was what I almost did |
Jul 5 2012, 04:33 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
1. Where should I take up my Diploma/Degree? MIAT, NILAI, MSU, TAFE ?
1.5- Do you guys know of the scholarship programs if any offered by the above institutions? 2. When do MAS and/or AirAsia usually have their TAME program? 3. Before I get LWTR, I have to work ? which means Technician? How much can I expect in terms of pay as a Aircraft mechanic ? 4. Which would have higher demand? Avionics or Mechanical? 5. LWTR is issued by DCA ? and Type Rating by the Company I work for? 6. Can I expect to earn like around Rm7k in Today's money after 5 years of getting my LWTR ? |
Jul 16 2012, 01:05 AM
816 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
hey there, i just finish my a level course and currently waiting for my results.. plan to take ame course in air transport training college in singapore. I would like to know once i complete the 2 years there and pass all examination after that im LAME?
Jul 16 2012, 03:04 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
QUOTE(Deswin @ Jul 16 2012, 01:05 AM) hey there, i just finish my a level course and currently waiting for my results.. plan to take ame course in air transport training college in singapore. I would like to know once i complete the 2 years there and pass all examination after that im LAME? You only need the license to be a LAME, which you'll have to obtain from the local Aviation Agency, You can be a primary school dropout and still be a LAME if you have the license |
Jul 16 2012, 11:18 PM
Not quite.
You can still get the 'LWTR' if you're a school dropout(for whatever reasons) but most job appointments will be based on minimum SPM qualifications... QUOTE(Gregyong @ Jul 16 2012, 03:04 PM) |
Jul 19 2012, 04:07 AM
3 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
wow! so impressive!
so many sifus in here. best of luck to all. im taking B2 DCAM Part 66 and employed. wish me luck guys! This post has been edited by burger026: Jul 19 2012, 04:11 AM |
Jul 19 2012, 11:45 PM
All the best to you, burger026!
Jul 20 2012, 02:58 AM
105 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
*offtopic*
anyone selling Britelite Kamper here? pm me pls... thanks TS. |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec