161 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

hakunamatata
post Feb 19 2009, 09:16 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(kevin77 @ Feb 19 2009, 04:13 PM)
For anybody that wants to join airasia as a TAME, i got some info about the program they are offering....

1) only open to diploma holders in aircraft maintenance or relevan

2)for those of you who are studying in miat and tafe...you guys can applied and the luckly ones who go in airasia(AA) and come out as a LAE with a a330 type rating

3)mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is  approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...

4)TAME in AA get paid about RM 1200 for miat student not for tafe diloma holders...
are u sure? so unfair vmad.gif

This post has been edited by hakunamatata: Feb 19 2009, 09:19 PM
JohnMax
post Feb 19 2009, 09:26 PM

544 posts

That what the world now is.

There is no way to enter AA TAME cause they only take TAFE collage ppl as contract.

I think there is also no way to enter MAS TAME cause the now take from METC, as MAS TAME close long ago.

So want to go AA go TAFE collage lah. Want come MAS go MECT, as METC only for FELDA and staff.

Hahaha...
tarecore
post Feb 19 2009, 10:20 PM

79 posts

about this
"mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...
"
-should be MIAT not mait
-it doesn't matter whether u from miat/tafe, if u good enough and can pass DCA exam quicker, u are one step closer to become LAE
-as long u meet all the requirements

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 19 2009, 09:26 PM)

There is no way to enter AA TAME cause they only take TAFE collage ppl as contract.

I think there is also no way to enter MAS TAME cause the now take from METC, as MAS TAME close long ago.

So want to go AA go TAFE collage lah. Want come MAS go MECT, as METC only for FELDA and staff.

Hahaha...
about MAS TAME
-METC is different from MAS Engineering Training School
-METC is more like a side businees MAS currently doing with Felda
-METC students is NOT STAFF OF MAS, their ID color is purple, same as other contract worker while TAME is staff of MAS
-METC students do not have the same privilage as MAS TAME, they don't get any FOC ticket
-IMO, MAS still taking people for TAME, but i dunno for sure, just wait and read papers
jazzy939
post Feb 20 2009, 12:43 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Kinda hard to classify this between interesting, amusing or utter crap biggrin.gif

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 19 2009, 09:26 PM)

Hahaha...
TSXxAC3xX
post Feb 20 2009, 02:24 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(ezi23 @ Feb 12 2009, 01:00 AM)
guys, in the first page, how about we add more sub-categories in EASA (B1.1, B1.2, B1.3, B1.4) and conversion between them . it will be more interesting for someone to have more view in this line. and for DCA license for heli, light a/c, and piston engine as well. so if someone don't have a chance to work with large a/c, at least he still can see other options.

i can see a lot people over here want to get an idea how to become a LAME. like me who don't have any family members working in this field, i have to search by myself all the info and this forum and the last forum we used before did give me a lot of info.

(just want to add for the first page)
for the person who want to study outside this country, there is 3 place that quite famous for Malaysian.
1. AST (quite expensive)
2. City of bristol (more cheaper than AST)
3. University of Glamorgan (this one you need to study for degree and EASA because u will get both degree and EASA module)
sum1 plz provide me the infos bout tat bolded part?
alrite quite sum din update the guide already...anything more to add??

-do a lae hav their life? i mean would they hav time to relax n socialize?
Lestat
post Feb 20 2009, 03:58 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 20 2009, 02:24 AM)
sum1 plz provide me the infos bout tat bolded part?
alrite quite sum din update the guide already...anything more to add??

-do a lae hav their life? i mean would they hav time to relax n socialize?
B1.1 Aeroplanes Turbine-Engines
B1.2 Aeroplanes Piston-Engines
B1.3 Helicopters Turbine-Engines
B1.4 Helicopters Piston-Engines

i actually expect questions about where to go, what to do, dca, easa, blablablab, only last no more than 3 pages. guides should be in the 1st page and updated as necessary. and taking the first step doesn't mean u are half way there. still hoping someone would ask something like what is CoFF, FCU or what is an airplane or whatever.

oh, LAME are human too. they work, eat and poop.. and socialize. what makes u think these people are different from others?
jazzy939
post Feb 20 2009, 06:05 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Lestat,
Actually I am expecting such a question too! Now this thread beginning to be like one we closed, all over again! laugh.gif

Oh yeah, totally agreed.. It's just a JOB! sweat.gif

QUOTE(Lestat @ Feb 20 2009, 03:58 AM)

i actually expect questions about where to go, what to do, dca, easa, blablablab, only last no more than 3 pages. guides should be in the 1st page and updated as necessary. and taking the first step doesn't mean u are half way there. still hoping someone would ask something like what is CoFF, FCU or what is an airplane or whatever.

oh, LAME are human too. they work, eat and poop.. and socialize. what makes u think these people are different from others?
kevin77
post Feb 20 2009, 10:11 AM

21 posts

hey guys relax la abit with all the comments.... i call them and they are the ones who told me this 'crap'.... and im thinking the shortest and the safest way 2 become a LAE because unlike some people out there i got alot of things to do in my life.... life is short so make the best use of it...

and about the tame i said... think mr jazzy is right about it.... its a ENGINEERING TRAINEE PROGRAMME....he has alot of experience in this field and i respect him of that...

im only trying to be helpful so be nice with those replys... correct me if im worry i dont care but just be nice.... take care

Added on February 20, 2009, 10:26 amsorry of all mis type words because im working while replying...

example: worry should have been wrong..

sorry im 'worrying' too much in these few days... sorry guys

This post has been edited by kevin77: Feb 20 2009, 10:26 AM
jazzy939
post Feb 20 2009, 04:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

kevin,
Don't take it too seriously lah! laugh.gif
I'm just pointing out the mistakes in such indirect way.. wink.gif
JohnMax
post Feb 20 2009, 05:58 PM

544 posts

Learn from mistake is a key to success.
kevin77
post Feb 20 2009, 06:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 20 2009, 04:13 PM)
kevin,
Don't take it too seriously lah! laugh.gif
I'm just pointing out the mistakes in such indirect way.. wink.gif
sorry man i got too piss off vmad.gif over not getting a proper place to do my aircraft license that i took i my anger off over a such a small matter... it was a really unprofessional thing to do blush.gif ... sorry man.... can anyone help me on this problem icon_question.gif ... such help is very much appercepted...thanks and have a great day biggrin.gif ....
azameel
post Feb 20 2009, 07:00 PM

240 posts

just wanna ask.
anyone from nilai college doing aircraft maintenance here?
just wanna know their progress and their program as well
JohnMax
post Feb 20 2009, 08:19 PM

544 posts

Is very hard for us to get a job in Aviation like MAS and AA, after graduate and get diploma only.

The fight is to great among all. For those who have license different? Easy to get job?

In the sense that I must go for degree for Foreman and above....

Anyone taking EASA CAT B at british council by his own??

Anyone have soft copy of AME log book CAP174?
jazzy939
post Feb 21 2009, 07:22 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Quite right.
If you have at least an LWTR license, then it is more likely you will be hired. Having a type rating so much the better! wink.gif

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 20 2009, 08:19 PM)
Is very hard for us to get a job in Aviation like MAS and AA, after graduate and get diploma only.

The fight is to great among all. For those who have license different? Easy to get job?

TSXxAC3xX
post Feb 21 2009, 02:12 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 20 2009, 08:19 PM)

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 21 2009, 07:22 AM)
Quite right.
If you have at least an LWTR license, then it is more likely you will be hired. Having a type rating so much the better! wink.gif
dis is wat bothering me! sad.gif
i jz wonderin y mas/aa wanna do their own tame while they cn hire those graduates frm MIAT/APR and at the same time save up huge amount of cost??
if MAS/AA hav their own source of LAE, then still y bother to do it through colleges such as MIAT, NUC, APR etc when the employment rate is so low?
since its like dis, the only way to bcome a LAE is thru TAME frm MAS/AA so as to avoid risking our future of nt gettin employed, isnt it?
its either doin thru MAS/AA or chg ur mind to other careers... rclxub.gif
JohnMax
post Feb 21 2009, 02:17 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 21 2009, 02:12 PM)
dis is wat bothering me!  sad.gif
i jz wonderin y mas/aa wanna do their own tame while they cn hire those graduates frm MIAT/APR and at the same time save up huge amount of cost??
if MAS/AA hav their own source of LAE, then still y bother to do it through colleges such as MIAT, NUC, APR etc when the employment rate is so low?
since its like dis, the only way to bcome a LAE is thru TAME frm MAS/AA so as to avoid risking our future of nt gettin employed, isnt it?
MIAT, NUC, APR does not coporate with MAS to build up LAE. They build thier own to supply ma power only. But man power also hard to get job now.

That is also a point. I also wonder why MAS and AA want make contract and take people from there only. Other insititude can shut down edi right?
tarecore
post Feb 21 2009, 08:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 21 2009, 02:12 PM)
dis is wat bothering me!  sad.gif
why - for ur info, people from MIAT/APR/etc do not hold any DCA license when they graduated
those people only hold diploma/degree but not LWTR, the most important

save cost - MAS would save a lot if those people have LWTR

outsource - because MAS own TAME program still cannot fulfill their requirement
employment rate also low because MAS want people with LWTR not diploma/degree

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 21 2009, 02:17 PM)
MIAT, NUC, APR does not coporate with MAS to build up LAE. They build thier own to supply ma power only. But man power also hard to get job now.

That is also a point. I also wonder why MAS and AA want make contract and take people from there only. Other insititude can shut down edi right?
i never heard anything about MAS signing contract with MIAT to hire their students
can you show me any links

-----------------------------

from my experience
all miat student who enter MAS/AA, they were hired as JUNIOR TECHNICIAN aka aircraft mechanic

i have never found any miat students who graduated and then enter mas as LAE
while in MAS, those guys study on their own and then sit for DCA exam
when they got their LWTR, they'll submit it to the company
after that, the company will put them under MDP, mechanic development program
in MDP, they will go for various courses
and that's basically how people not from MAS TAME become LAE

IMO, u guys are getting wrong info about MIAT
graduating from MIAT don't guarantee you LWTR
but MIAT will help you to go sit for DCA exam
-special tuition on LWTR (don't know still got or not)
-helping u guys preparing work schedule
-negotiate with DCA

-----------------------
correct me if i'm wrong
azameel
post Feb 21 2009, 09:03 PM

240 posts

ac, mas and aa is not the only place who takes lame
there is still few other company such as airod,mhs,sas and few others

i never heard anything about MAS signing contract with MIAT to hire their students
can you show me any links
it was just last time where mas sent their tame to miat for training but stop halfway and continue back in mas

jazzy939
post Feb 21 2009, 11:11 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You are right on all counts. thumbup.gif

Tuition is still ON.

QUOTE(tarecore @ Feb 21 2009, 08:50 PM)

from my experience
all miat student who enter MAS/AA, they were hired as JUNIOR TECHNICIAN aka aircraft mechanic

i have never found any miat students who graduated and then enter mas as LAE
while in MAS, those guys study on their own and then sit for DCA exam
when they got their LWTR, they'll submit it to the company
after that, the company will put them under MDP, mechanic development program
in MDP, they will go for various courses
and that's basically how people not from MAS TAME become LAE

IMO, u guys are getting wrong info about MIAT
graduating from MIAT don't guarantee you LWTR
but MIAT will help you to go sit for DCA exam
-special tuition on LWTR (don't know still got or not)
-helping u guys preparing work schedule
-negotiate with DCA

-----------------------
correct me if i'm wrong
tarecore
post Feb 22 2009, 12:02 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 21 2009, 09:03 PM)
ac, mas and aa is not the only place who takes lame
there is still few other company such as airod,mhs,sas and few others
agree with u
there a few ex-students of miat currently working in eurocopter
the pay is quite good, better than MAS
but, u need to do all the job avionic/mechanical (as a mechanic)
jack of all trade
but they have different engineer for avionic and mechanical

other aviation company that i know
-spirit aerosystem, subang
-ctrm, malacca
-eagle, malacca
-aero composite, malacca
-HM flying school, langkawi
-MFA, malacca
-??? flying school, kelantan
-airfoil, kota damansara
-transmile, subang