161 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

azameel
post Feb 16 2009, 12:53 PM

240 posts

-hw long does it actually tooks to get a Type Rated license? hw much the allowance we'll normally given 4 each type rated?
-will it b stressful while gettin those type rated?
-so generally we still study while workin in order to get those type rated?

i have no exact answer for all the question, but from RUMOURS i heard,for MAS is 500 for each narrowbody license and 1000 for widebody license,
the type rating is given by the company, not as per lae request, but im not sure whether one can request for it or not, someone can enlighten me please.

How long is the concract and bond with MAS. How much is the total cost?

Elauan?
Bond is 10 years after establishment, cost RM167k( cause at first using easa), varies between intake as my seniors cost is ony around 70k but my junior intake (diploma holder) is around 120k(15yrs bond)

allowance like shit only RM700+Rm50(laundry allowance) per month(not yet deduct epf,socso etc) for 3rd year and the increment is RM50 a year, but for a diploma holder intake if im not mistaken 800 for 1st year
if ojt can gain extra money by working overtime, but now they freeze ot for trainee

This post has been edited by azameel: Feb 16 2009, 12:55 PM
tarecore
post Feb 16 2009, 04:07 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 16 2009, 12:53 PM)

if ojt can gain extra money by working overtime, but now they freeze ot for trainee
lol
training school want you and your friends too study more
that's why no more OT for apprentices

about GMR, most of them have basic license (from what i heard)
IMO, most of them don't even know how to do basic task
example, wirelocking, only a few would manage to do it properly
the rest can be considered as study by the book only
but then, that's why GMR send them to MAS, for OJT
azameel
post Feb 16 2009, 04:57 PM

240 posts

lol
training school want you and your friends too study more
that's why no more OT for apprentices

its not training school that freeze the ot
its the management
whats wrong with doing ot? more exposure to aircraft
and i do notice most of the major work always do ot time one

This post has been edited by azameel: Feb 16 2009, 05:03 PM
santana
post Feb 16 2009, 09:52 PM

58 posts

Can anyone confirm whether LAE are paid type rating allowance for their first type rating or they're only paid type rating allowance starting from their second type rating?
tarecore
post Feb 16 2009, 10:37 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 16 2009, 04:57 PM)
its not training school that freeze the ot
its the management
whats wrong with doing ot? more exposure to aircraft
and i do notice most of the major work always do ot time one
management? erm, maybe to cut cost
different people have different views

major work during ot, not all the time laaa
sometimes, the equipment only available during evening
not all people want to hold back their tasks for ot
usually people keep the small tasks for ot
azameel
post Feb 17 2009, 12:16 AM

240 posts

management? erm, maybe to cut cost

thats what i heard,
but pity to the trainee cant even gain more income
coz the allowance is too little already comparing to current living cost

jazzy939
post Feb 17 2009, 08:18 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

This 'trainee can't do overtime' thingy has been going on for ages.
Operationally if you have good rapport with the main crew and your training officer.. should be no problem lah... wink.gif

wusuhong
post Feb 18 2009, 12:19 AM

181 posts

how many years do i have to work as lae to achieve 10 k in malaysia?
jazzy939
post Feb 18 2009, 06:20 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Depending which company you work, the number of type approvals you can have, which trades you are in, possibilities of doing overtime, I'd say a minimum of 5 years, with 7 years very likely...

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Feb 18 2009, 12:19 AM)
how many years do i have to work as lae to achieve 10 k in malaysia?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Feb 18 2009, 06:21 AM
kevin77
post Feb 18 2009, 10:11 AM

21 posts

[quote=jazzy939,Feb 16 2009, 12:41 AM]
I do not mind long essays at all.. you know how long, tedius and boring reading manuals are, right?
Its those short forms that you used that make me rclxub.gif and mad.gif

[/quot

hi guyz .. whatss up...i hope u guyz are doing fine... anywayz i just wanted to thank u people out there 4 all of the useful tipz and advises on becoming a LAE... well actually i have just finish my SPM last year... and i am really keen 2 become a lae myself... but the problem is that i can not find a place that offers a good program on becoming a lae... places like miat,nilai, and others are great but they only offer a diploma and we all know that 2 gain access 2 a aircraft maintenance license a person does not need a freaking diploma and it will take a really long time before i can become a good lae....

So, some say that airline company like MAS,AA, and transmile is the place to go if u wanna become a establish LAE in a shorter time of period as becoming a lae with many type rating cn take a lng time.... but the problem here is that Mas may take in more malayz and staff's kids than the public and i dont think my resultz are going 2 be very good either so i can't get in AA as a TAME.... and as 4 tramsmile.. well they have stopped thier part 66 program 4 few years 2 come from now cry.gif ...

But luckly... just when i was about to give up which i normally dont... i found a place called ADVANCE AERONAUTICS TRAINING CENTRE(AATC) in ipoh... and i said 2 myself that my problemz will be finally OVER because place offer the EASA part 66-B2 program and which after 5 yearz or so... i can become a lae(not sure nether is LWTR).. but come on guys its better than a useless diploma and it takes a shorter time than a diploma course.... but i am still worrying as the centre stated above has many political issues and not many of us knw abt ths place.. So guyz i need advise since u people are experience in thz field.. so any of u got any info or know of other places/centres/airlinez in this coutry thdt offer this kind of progarm please do info me..please reply icon_question.gif .... anywayz thankz again 4 the great job u guyz have done...cheers

i really hope you guys can understand my short esei this time laugh.gif ..

Added on February 18, 2009, 11:58 amcn=can
lng=long
2=to,4=from
thz=this
thdt=that

sorry gentleman(s) i miss 2 uncorrect those short forms
p.s. some short just add a "a" into the word... really sorry people my bad... thanks

This post has been edited by kevin77: Feb 18 2009, 11:58 AM
wusuhong
post Feb 18 2009, 12:08 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 18 2009, 06:20 AM)
Depending which company you work, the number of type approvals you can have, which trades you are in, possibilities of doing overtime, I'd say a minimum of 5 years, with 7 years very likely...
thanks jazzy for your information. it really motivates me alot.
thanks bro biggrin.gif

Added on February 18, 2009, 12:13 pmdoes lae have ranks?
like senior lae and newbie lae?
does lae get bonus in the end of the year?
or car and housing loan subsidy?
any free air tickets?
and finally any free stocks?

This post has been edited by wusuhong: Feb 18 2009, 12:13 PM
hakunamatata
post Feb 18 2009, 12:32 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Feb 18 2009, 12:08 PM)
thanks bro biggrin.gif

any free air tickets?
Depends on the company? All i know is LAE get taxed alot shakehead.gif
jazzy939
post Feb 18 2009, 02:34 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

TAXation solely depends on your income. The bigger your paycheck, the more you're paying back to the 'government' tongue.gif

tarecore
post Feb 18 2009, 02:45 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Feb 18 2009, 12:08 PM)
thanks bro biggrin.gif

any free air tickets?
lae, lead engineer, lead engineer operation

bonus depend on company performance
car and housing subsidy, no

free air tickets and rebates, all staffs get it, not just lae
it depends on number of years in service

annual leave, lae usually have more than normal staffs

free stocks, ESOS, yes
wusuhong
post Feb 18 2009, 09:57 PM

181 posts

so for me to achieve 10 k meaning 5 years as junior tech and 7 years as lae to achieve 10k if everything go smoothly?
jazzy939
post Feb 19 2009, 06:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I don't know about the junior tech part, but that is what I meant about the LAE part..provided things have NOT change in terms of minimum qualifications and pay structure.
kevin77
post Feb 19 2009, 04:13 PM

21 posts

For anybody that wants to join airasia as a TAME, i got some info about the program they are offering....

1) only open to diploma holders in aircraft maintenance or relevan

2)for those of you who are studying in miat and tafe...you guys can applied and the luckly ones who go in airasia(AA) and come out as a LAE with a a330 type rating

3)mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...

4)TAME in AA get paid about RM 1200 for miat student not for tafe diloma holders...
JohnMax
post Feb 19 2009, 06:30 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(kevin77 @ Feb 19 2009, 04:13 PM)
For anybody that wants to join airasia as a TAME, i got some info about the program they are offering....

2)for those of you who are studying in miat and tafe...you guys can applied and the luckly ones who go in airasia(AA) and come out as a LAE with a a330 type rating

3)mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is  approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...

4)TAME in AA get paid about RM 1200 for miat student not for tafe diloma holders...
Where you get this info??
jazzy939
post Feb 19 2009, 07:32 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

There is NO TAME programme from AirAsia. Get your facts right.
It is called ENGINEERING TRAINEE PROGRAMME.

I am afraid it is NOT the same. Understand the EASA-66 before any attempt to comment.
jazzy939
post Feb 19 2009, 07:39 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

My advice is, ensure that your source of information is reliable/valid before posting such an INACCURATE 'facts' that may be misinterpreted and create much confusion.. doh.gif

QUOTE(kevin77 @ Feb 19 2009, 04:13 PM)

3)mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is  approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...

161 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:42 PM