Customer Service At Its Best, Nintendo replace Wii & GBA razed by Fire

TSneogeocdz
post Feb 2 2009, 07:43 PM, updated 17y ago

698 posts

A company with a human heart.
Anyone in LYN have good customer experience when buying gaming stuffs?
Care to share?

http://gonintendo.com/?p=71149

Quotation:

"On September 19th, while my parents and I were at work, our house caught fire. By the end of the day, we had lost everything we owned, save what ever we had in our vehicles. The most important thing was that no one in my family was hurt except for a couple of pets (I lost my pet scorpion and my parents lost their cat)."

".........About two weeks later, I received a call from Nintendo’s Customer Service Department. They had received my packet and wanted to find out how my family and I were getting along. I told them about what had happened and how we were doing. Then, they offered me to replace my Wii and my Gameboy Advance SP for free. They even threw in all the cords for the Wii and the charger and such for the SP! I was blown away that the company would want to know how my family was doing let alone want to help out. I sent off my old, melted Wii and SP and received my new ones....."

colt_508
post Feb 2 2009, 08:21 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

is this could really happen to us? shocking.gif

i think the nice pic of GB & Wii is the pic before it caught by fire....
juz like Before and After doh.gif

trogdor1oh1
post Feb 2 2009, 08:27 PM

101 posts

In Malaysia
Nintendo:Cannot la,you don't have warranty means you cannot fix your Wii.Also warranty don't cover a fire in your house
Me:WTF YOU SAY I'MA COME OVER AND FIRE MA LAZOR YOU HEAR ME
Mr Ez
post Feb 2 2009, 08:28 PM

Super Cool
700 posts

I find it hard to believe this story as usually manufacturer wont replace if product is faulty due to such incident and usually it's covered by the insurance company. But I guess Nintendo is always different eh?
gundamalpha
post Feb 2 2009, 08:29 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

This fiction is based on a true story sleep.gif
gajah91
post Feb 2 2009, 08:49 PM

416 posts

i dont think its true... hmm.gif
but if it is true then very good! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gajah91: Feb 2 2009, 08:50 PM
rhoyo
post Feb 2 2009, 08:54 PM

-
2,800 posts

thats so generous of nintendo to give back him a new wii and gb .. looks like microsoft customer service is bad laugh.gif
msn83235502
post Feb 2 2009, 09:36 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Feb 2 2009, 08:21 PM)
is this could really happen to us? shocking.gif

i think the nice pic of GB & Wii is the pic before it caught by fire....
juz like Before and After doh.gif
hehehe.. no lah..gba one button black, new one button white.
TSneogeocdz
post Feb 2 2009, 10:29 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Feb 2 2009, 08:28 PM)
I find it hard to believe this story as usually manufacturer wont replace if product is faulty due to such incident and usually it's covered by the insurance company. But I guess Nintendo is always different eh?
Nintendo's moves make perfect business sense.
They know these kind of stories go a long long way in spreading goodwill for a company,
hence enhance the brand value.

GBA & Wii cost probably US$200 for Nintendo,
but the brand building effect - Priceless.
chicaman
post Feb 2 2009, 11:28 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

well nintendo is making a lot of money from wii and giving out 1 for free is totally nothing to them, indirectly they are getting praise from ppl from the whole world.

1 wii and 1 sp in return for praise for their customer service~

is it a good bargain?
BlueBerry~
post Feb 3 2009, 08:38 AM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Feb 2 2009, 08:54 PM)
thats so generous of nintendo to give back him a new wii and gb .. looks like microsoft customer service is bad laugh.gif
I may not be a Xbox fan. But i dont think Microsoft should be slapped with a bad customer service saying. Have you heard about the person's signed 360 being replaced?

link about the story

How bungie stepped in

How Microsoft redemed themselves
PhoenixByte
post Feb 3 2009, 08:51 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

if this can happen in malaysia...i'll be a nintendo slave biggrin.gif
TSneogeocdz
post Feb 3 2009, 09:14 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Feb 3 2009, 08:38 AM)
I may not be a Xbox fan. But i dont think Microsoft should be slapped with a bad customer service saying. Have you heard about the person's signed 360 being replaced?

link about the story

How bungie stepped in

I am totally going to sell this on eBay!
(I mean if i am the one getting this XBOX 360 signed by Bill Gate and Bungie developers)

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Feb 3 2009, 09:14 AM
samurai20
post Feb 3 2009, 09:22 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

That why we want official product... smile.gif
sonic_cd
post Feb 3 2009, 02:14 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Feb 2 2009, 11:28 PM)
well nintendo is making a lot of money from wii and giving out 1 for free is totally nothing to them, indirectly they are getting praise from ppl from the whole world.

1 wii and 1 sp in return for praise for their customer service~

is it a good bargain?
thats good imo . too bad it will never happen here ...
BlueBerry~
post Feb 3 2009, 06:20 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Feb 3 2009, 09:14 AM)
(I mean if i am the one getting this XBOX 360 signed by Bill Gate and Bungie developers)

Selling the faceplate alone would be enough. IMO, Bill Gate's signature seems a bit too simple for a person of his status.
gundamalpha
post Feb 3 2009, 06:40 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Feb 3 2009, 09:14 AM)

I'd sue them if they do this to my 360, seriously
opethbleed555
post Feb 3 2009, 08:57 PM

340 posts

lol.. art is subjective..
TSneogeocdz
post Feb 3 2009, 10:40 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 3 2009, 06:40 PM)
u r weird!
I so want Shigeru to draw and sign my Wii!

Goonerforever
post Feb 3 2009, 10:44 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Feb 3 2009, 06:40 PM)
I'd pay them to do that to my 360.
gundamalpha
post Feb 3 2009, 10:48 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

I paid for their work already, don't expect me to worship them after that. Guess I'm the only one who don't like to idolized others hmm.gif
Goonerforever
post Feb 3 2009, 10:59 PM

141 posts

It would be invaluable addition to my collection. brows.gif
neoardi
post Feb 4 2009, 12:42 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Feb 3 2009, 08:38 AM)

link about the story

How bungie stepped in

I like this story more thumbup.gif
SWATwolf
post Feb 4 2009, 01:06 AM

431 posts

I love you Nintendo tongue.gif
colt_508
post Feb 4 2009, 06:37 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

I called Nitendo Consumer Today..
regarding bout my faulty GB SP...

i wanted a replacement... but they ignore my request..
asked me to buy another new GB SP... cuz hvn't heard what is M'sia!!! shocking.gif

TSneogeocdz
post Feb 4 2009, 06:55 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Feb 4 2009, 06:37 PM)
I called Nitendo Consumer Today..
regarding bout my faulty GB SP...

i wanted a replacement... but they ignore my request..
asked me to buy another new GB SP... cuz hvn't heard what is M'sia!!! shocking.gif
I overestimated your intelligence, colt.

0.0228sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:58 PM