Iphone 3g GPS

TSRyan
post Feb 2 2009, 06:47 PM, updated 17y ago

59 posts

any1 know, is there alternate gps for iphone 3g?
I found that google maps really sux....

Do iphone3g have 3rd party software like garmin gps?
TSRyan
post Feb 3 2009, 03:26 PM

59 posts

iphone 3g everything is good,

but wonder why the gps so lousy...must have internet just can connect gps...
gps not only using satelite 1 meh? after get the direction nv navigate ppl to turn or anythng else. Ppl driving how to always view the map?

this gps i vote 0 mark.... vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSRyan
post Feb 3 2009, 06:01 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 3 2009, 05:52 PM)
Internet connection is needed to display the map, not to get the GPS signal. If all the map are preloaded then there would be no space left for your media or app. We can bypass this by using offline maps provided the phone is jailbroken.

iPhones are meant to be coupled with a data plan, so if YOUR phone don't have a data plan then it's only YOUR phone that sarks, not the iPhone in general. Want a better GPS device, go get yourself a garmin instead of a phone. Sheesh.
sry u are wrong...i hav data plan but if that say now u outstation (oversea) then how?
2ndly gps shud be satelite navigation system, it should not involved internet. If that say now u are in somewhere rural which do not hav 3g coverage then how? Are u going to be lost?

3rdly, iphone gps do not guide u when the turn is coming, are u always view ur iphone maps while driving? Like other gps system will tell u when the turn is approaching. Then in this situation u will alert. If u always view ur maps...i just can say congratulation, 1 day u will kena something bad....
TSRyan
post Feb 3 2009, 06:33 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 3 2009, 06:24 PM)
@Ryan
I beg to differ dear ryan.

1st
Did I say YOU DO NOT HAVE a data plan? I said in GENERAL that the iPhone is INTENDED to be with a data plan. And if your (as in general and not referring to you dear Ryan) iPhone does not have data plan then only your (again not referring to you dear sir) iPhone sarks. Do not generalize the iPhone that sarks. BTW my first comment before was not even meant to you.

2nd
It is YOU thats not well verse with the technology behind iPhone. FYI ... iPhone is using A-GPS (Assisted GPS) which is better that GPS alone. It uses GPS and cell tower triangulation for better positioning. If GPS signal is lost then you still have cell tower as a backup. One thing you are correct, GPS system does not involve internet. What you do not get is that the internet connection is use to display the map in Google map, not in finding the coordinate. Please get your facts right. Thats why I said if you have a jailbroken phone then you can utilize the offline map where you do not need any internet/3G connection.

3rd
iPhone were never advertised as a dedicated device for turn to turn navigation. It's sooo typical of people that thinks when a device have GPS then it must have that features. GPS means Global Positioning System, a system to determine where you are. Not a system to give you directions. Those are an add on service to GPS thru software, not the GPS system itself. Now camera have GPS system built in, so they can give you direction where to go?

If Apple or Google decide to give the turn by turn features, they can always do that by software upgrade. The facilities are already there to begin with. And in the future, even company that develope GPS device like TomTom are planning to roll out software for iPhone to enable the features. Please please please dear Ryan ... get your fact straight. iPhone was never meant to be like the OTHER GPS system that you might have wish when it was launch last time. It does have the ability to do so.

Also please read my last comment, maybe you were blinded by rage that you missed it.
p/s - If and ONLY if I get lost, I'll use the thing that god gave me, my brain, so i can ask directions.  yawn.gif  Malu bertanya sesat jalan.
i hav do an experiment.
1st case - without internet
gps system could not provide driving direction due to unknow current location.

2nd case - with internet
the driving direction is come out.

both cases are in same location.

How do you explain this?

I also belive the signal do not involve internet. But why in this 2 cases, it showed so big different?

Beside that, not malu tanya when sesat jalan. If that say i travel 500km, so many place i duno, if keep asking, how long times u want waste? If ppl giv the wrong direction how?

Not every country or places hav a very easy sign board to be follow. If that say u take a rural road then how? Even ppl tell u the direction, u also have big chances to take the wrong way.

This post has been edited by Ryan: Feb 3 2009, 06:35 PM
TSRyan
post Feb 3 2009, 06:54 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Shock @ Feb 3 2009, 06:37 PM)
You need the internet to get the ROUTE. of course when no internet how to get the route.GPS in iphone is just merly and addition for you, just incase to find where u are.

as froze said, if you are hardcore traveler, a car gps is the thing for you not the phone gps.
Just now they said need internet to dl map n signal itself no need. They still said if hav offline map can settle it but even hav offline map u do not hav internet still cant route it rite? Am i wrongly interprete the post before?

i just wonder why must hav internet just can use gps? Coz in m'sia not every places have 3g or edge coverage.

I not hardcore traveler but sometime need travel.

0.0176sec    2.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:02 PM