5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Nokia Nokia N85 Thread V2, The "Best" Display N-Series

alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 01:37 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Yeah exactly my point.. try asking nearby shops and see the price diff.

there are local sellers in lyn too. but price a bit higher. maybe can buy in bulk.. meaning collect names for anybody in this thread that wants to buy a batt maybe can lower the price.
alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 12:34 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Mar 30 2009, 09:14 AM)
any one try NINJA STRIKE?

it it available? for sis or java? very nice. it activates and uses the camera huh.. that would suck more batt power though..hehe
alpha_company
post Mar 30 2009, 04:44 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Mar 30 2009, 02:42 PM)
sisx file, if you want cr@ck version try flying Spaghetti monster forum.
did u try it in your phone yet?
alpha_company
post Apr 1 2009, 02:41 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Mar 31 2009, 08:22 PM)
after tweaking some camera setting and modding it[my modification]...

this phone produced a very great picture..[like DSLR/SLR picture icon_rolleyes.gif ]

haha...great..
A dslr/slr picture is very very different. Currenty no cmos cameraphone can beat a CCD dslr. Even an i-Mobile 902 phone that has CCD sensor can't really beat a true dslr but it's one of the best if not the best cameraphone yet. Yeah, a mobile phone with ccd sensor. If that can't even beat a true dslr.. No N-series can.. I do photography and i know what i'm talking about.

The compression used in cameraphones are higher and thus making the file smaller. Ever wonder why 6mp dslr creates very big file size? because of the very low/no compression rate (depends on image formats).

If you say an n85 can produce a great picture like dslr, then an N95/n82 would clearly be much better than dslr and imobile 902 would be the king of photography which clearly it isn't. go figure.

Great 5mp camera - N82, N95, N95 8gb ( if flash is taken into consideration, n82 wins hands down and gets no. 1 in rank. )

Good 5mp camera - N79, N85

Great 3mp camera - N93, N93i, N73, N73me, 6500 slide

Good 3mp camera - 5610XM

Mediocre 3mp camera - 5800XM

Bad 3mp camera - E71

Added on April 1, 2009, 2:46 am
QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 1 2009, 12:17 AM)
How about using 3g or GPRS ? Will it also drain battery very fast?
Battery drains a bit if u turn on 3g coverage. it uses more batt if you use it to surf the internet etc.

The other thing to keep in mind is that low 3g/gprs/edge/gsm coverage in rural areas can also drain more batt because the phone uses more power to keep it connected. So if you're in low 3g coverage areas, turn off your 3G coverage. Tools > Settings > Phone > Network > GSM mode. that'll save u more batt. if you want to use 3g the just turn it back on by selecting UMTS.

I suggest that if u do not use 3G a lot or just sometimes, then i suggest running the phone in GSM mode.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 1 2009, 02:50 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 2 2009, 12:26 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Apr 1 2009, 09:38 PM)
I see. thank you so much for the information. So does somebody buy any extra battery and take it while on the go?  smile.gif
you're welcomed.. btw, maybe u could use a car charger? if you're driving..

Added on April 2, 2009, 12:51 am
QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 1 2009, 03:02 PM)
yeah i say thaT its look alike haha...

N82 and N95 also can be good if we know how to tweak...
'bout your ranking...had you tried all phone..?

this is my ranking.. i have tried all phones below thumbup.gif
this is overall ranking[with flash and without]

5MPX

GREAT CAMERA PHONE - N82
GOOD CAMERA PHONE - 1st-N95,2nd-N85,3rd-N958GB,
MEDIOCRE CAMERA PHONE - K850

3.2MPX

GREAT CAMERA PHONE - 1st- K800,2nd - N73
GOOD CAMERA PHONE - N80
the above ranking is for overall[use flash and without flash]

N958GB should be rank 2nd in Good Camera Phone but when use flash.. N85 win it thumbup.gif
Yes about my ranking.. i've tried all but two, n93/n93i and e71. but i've seen pics of e71 and it's really bad compared to even 2mp cameraphones. I've also researched about n93/n93i's camera abilities and it's a great 3mp camera because it is the only N series that has a mechanical shutter (like ones used in digital cameras) so it's much much better in the form of optical zoom.

So i know my ranking is right. p.s. this is nokia thread so no SE phone ranking needed or wanted here.

Your information is clearly wrong because :

1. You stated n95 1st and n95 8gb 3rd in list.. this shows u do not know anything about cameras and cameraphones and just making this up. IN FACT, N95 8gb and N95 has the EXACT same camera module and flash module and also the same s60 v3 fp1. so y different rank?

2. Even a staff here that OWNS and USES n85 says that n95 camera is much better.

3. I've seen pictures with flash of the n95/n95 8gb and n85 and even n96 dual leds, it is almost similar because there's no clear advantage of the dual leds that can be seen in pictures. Only N82 made a clear and comparable difference because of the xenon flash.

4. You must also take note that n95/n95 8gb camera module is better than n85 in low light/poor lighting because of the bigger/better n95 sensor. period. You should not only consider flash pictures but also the quality of pictures taken in low lighting/poor lighting/ indoors. (in indoor/low light, it makes 5800 pics look really grainy and this is why it goes down in the list) Price wise, y do u think a 2 year old n95 8gb phone is still more expensive than the very new n85?

5. If N85 needs to be tweaked (non AUTO mode) to reach the level of n95 (auto mode) then imagine if we tweak n95. it should and probably will be much better than n85 right?

6. You said "look alike" right. NO n-series phones can even produce a 'look alike' picture of DSLRs.

Added on April 2, 2009, 1:01 am
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Mar 28 2009, 09:36 AM)
Photo quality is probably the most disappointing part of the phone. N95 camera is much better IMO

Anyway, I dropped my phone in Heathrow airport (badly) last month, and the screen got seriously cracked. I couldn't even turned on my phone then, and it took me a whopping RM380 to fix it (original set)

blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
samurai1337 is a STAFF of lowyat forum.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 2 2009, 01:02 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 3 2009, 01:18 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Apr 2 2009, 10:56 PM)
ready 3k..... buy iphone 3G under maxis....rm1.9k for phone pay rm100 for 12 months......after that, u can use any line u wan.... hehe =.="
better buy the phone unlocked ..a lil bit cheaper and dont need to use maxis..
alpha_company
post Apr 3 2009, 02:31 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Apr 3 2009, 12:25 PM)
haha I'm in the same situation as you~ been wondering for like 2 weeks now... still cant choose bet 5800xm and N85... both have pros and cons...
5800xm have touch and i really wanna try the on-screen qwerty keyboard as well as the touch screen... but N85 has better camera than 5800xm and the build quality is much better than 5800xm...  rclxub.gif
but already stated in your sig u got an n85??
alpha_company
post Apr 3 2009, 03:09 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(sakpn2000 @ Apr 3 2009, 03:05 PM)
dun like touch screen phones...
i wonder how u guys type sms?
tongue.gif
the 5800 got various options to type sms. qwerty, mini qwerty, alphanumeric (like normal phones) and handwriting if im not mistaken.
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 12:30 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(leoboa6 @ Apr 3 2009, 10:00 PM)
There are few minor problems with this current model after several months using it.

1st problem I'm facing right now is due to the stupid cover.. The slim and nice cover seems to be very thin and start to sound. Like when you type message, dial number and the back cover on top also very loose..

2nd problem is the keypad. There are loads of loads of scratches on my the keypad. It's due to the slide..
The rest is still under close supervision..
i also saw some complains and pics of n85's front Green/red call/end call button come off at the edges and u can actually take it off with your fingernails. it's kinda thin actually..

just be careful with your phone and i guess it'll be just fine.

sliders tend to have more mechanical problems than normal candybar-shaped phones like n82, n73, n78, n79. but the advantage is it looks nicer, cooler and is more compact than candybar shaped phones.
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 04:18 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

just relax.. take care of your phone. that's all.. but dont over do it ..meaning dont take care of it to the point that it's hard for u to use the phone itself..
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 09:06 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

maybe you could get a leather case for this phone but it will make it much more bulky and less easy to use.

just put a screen protector on the lcd screen.. and make sure that you're careful not to drop it on the ground..
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 03:54 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 4 2009, 03:50 PM)
HOT weather...i still dont get my HACKED n-gage game yet..
sad.gif
take it slow and easy.. i guess u dont want to send your phone back because software problems too.. you just got your phone wat
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 05:13 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Apr 4 2009, 04:54 PM)
sorry, but are those apps free?
yeah.. but remember.. not to talk bout this so freely in here.. it's illegal to talk about warez.
alpha_company
post Apr 4 2009, 10:32 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 4 2009, 09:50 PM)
if you talk about design i can 100% say n85 win in every way..
if you says about software i think is amost the same larh...
nothing much differ..
but the N95 Camera is better than N85, though both are 5M.P
but about the built quality..
N85 wasnt tht good..
that is the only stuff i think..
features wise

N95 8GB
-infrared
-better 5mp camera
-larger screen

N85
-fm transmitter
-sharper screen
-more compact size
alpha_company
post Apr 5 2009, 12:43 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Mar 24 2009, 07:01 PM)
myky44 : the pic is taken by n85? err.. it's very blur
remember this? he's a Mod btw

Added on April 5, 2009, 12:44 am
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Mar 28 2009, 09:36 AM)
Photo quality is probably the most disappointing part of the phone. N95 camera is much better IMO

Anyway, I dropped my phone in Heathrow airport (badly) last month, and the screen got seriously cracked. I couldn't even turned on my phone then, and it took me a whopping RM380 to fix it (original set)

blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif
and remember this? he's a STAFF. is E90 better then E63 in overall ratings. yes. Heck that's y it's a E"9" series. same goes with N series.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 5 2009, 12:49 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 5 2009, 08:33 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Apr 5 2009, 05:14 PM)
mine last for 4 days...

better u buy original nokia battery.. icon_idea.gif
the one that lasted 2 days is original already i suppose. the batt life difference depends on user usage..
alpha_company
post Apr 5 2009, 09:11 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

some non original batteries lasts as long as an original one in day to day use but the overall lifetime of those non ori batt is usually short.

meaning if u bought a non ori batt, it could last for maybe a few months only..

the other thing is that non ori batt could have a negative effect on your phone .. power surge etc..
alpha_company
post Apr 5 2009, 11:42 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 5 2009, 09:37 PM)
any nice theme for our N85?
mind sharing??
xD
try zedge.com make sure u set the settings in the website to n85.. it will list down the compatible themes for your n85

try this site too.. great fp2 themes too www.pizero.net
alpha_company
post Apr 6 2009, 12:36 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

try this www.ahmed-world.com
alpha_company
post Apr 6 2009, 02:53 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

he has quite a collection of real nice and unique themes..

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0536sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:47 PM