8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nokia ♪♥ Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V7 ♥♪, 15000 posts & 250 registered users

tunertoobe
post Feb 3 2009, 10:40 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Feb 3 2009, 10:35 PM)
what is so good about martin SP. all also same SP except the adhesive is different. hahaha
Martin field's one is quite thin to minimize sensitivity loss while being protective.
Of course, that's the claim, haven't really tried it or heard from anyone that I know of that uses it. I shall try one in the coming weeks. biggrin.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 3 2009, 11:11 PM

9,309 posts

Any loss in sensitivity?
Some people don't report loss of sensitivity because they'd normally touch harder on the screen than others. I touch mine quite lightly(to be able to do multiple taps faster with less effort). So how is it?
tunertoobe
post Feb 3 2009, 11:22 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Feb 3 2009, 11:12 PM)
why do I have a feeling those look EXACTLY like the skool ones?and that I just spent RM50 when I could've gotten skool ones at RM6

Added on February 3, 2009, 11:12 pm

normal i guess...i feel no difference...maybe more sensitive than my previous SP...
Same ay?
What If I risk an extra RM10 and order directly from MF's website and see? tongue.gif
Nah. laugh.gif
I wonder where I could find one here in Sabah? All this banking in, waiting for delivery is too much of a wait for me. hmm.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:26 AM

9,309 posts

Guys, the speed rating for the Nokia mem card is class 4 innit?
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 07:04 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 4 2009, 01:36 PM)
After used Tube for a week, these are what I get, comparison to my old N73Me.

Pros
Big Screen
GPS/AGPS (mine lock within a minute)
Support bigger memory card
Nice lock key
Good speaker
Less lag than my N73Me, memory card 80% full still ok
Full screen wallpaper
Support MPEG4 with 640x360 resolution, superb image quality
Camera open faster
Nice media bar function

Cons
Physically
Low-built quality
-I can see the gap at the front cover and sometime squeaking when press screen.
USB port not standard,
-I need to connect another cable just to connect 5800, why don't they use normal mini usb?
No cover for camera
Sim card hard to remove, need to remove battery

Firmware (hope will fix in the next update)
Input type in Contact Book  search function is terrible
- If can change the input is ok.
Marking file not good
-I had to click click/press more than 2 times just to mark other file
Camera quality lower than N73Me
-Hope can improve in firmware update
Although it support H264, but with very low setting and resolution.
-Negligable as MPEG4 is already sufficient.
Hope the short cut in the media bar can be change.
-Some short cut I will never use.

Tips:
1.Application (games etc.) best install from phone (copy to phone), not through PC Suite.
2.Use Mass Storage mode for faster file transfering
3.Off GPS setting Setting->Phone-->Application Setting-->Positioning-->Positioning Method--> untick Assisted GPS and Bluetooth GPS
4.Don't run more than 2 applications at the background
  - ex. Garmin and Media Player. My phone will hang and have to restart when I open gamin with music played at the background. specially when I click remote (headphone) to skip song. In other cases, phone will become lag when open to many application.

That's all for now.

Added on February 4, 2009, 1:36 pm

My phone will become hot when using Garmin. Normal I think.
About that search contact thing, I think it makes sense.
You see, when you haven't put a single letter in to search a contact, the screen is full of letters. Press one initial letter for the name and the phone will automatically selects the names that corresponds to that letter.

And then at the same time the phone looks at these names and sees all the letters that comes next in each name. Therefore in order to not crowd the screen, the phone only shows the next logical choice of letters.

For example, I have names that starts with Ab, Aj, Al, Am, An, As, and Az. So when I press on a, every other letters disappear except for B, J, L, M, N, S and Z. It helps looking for a contact faster and you'll notice straight away when you don't have a certain contact.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 07:26 PM

9,309 posts

Yeah the letters changing places is a bit confusing at first.
Another improvement would be to grey out the other letters instead of making them disappear.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 08:21 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Feb 4 2009, 07:50 PM)
me me me!!!

I really wanna use it...
Yeah I use it too.
I found out that when you're used to it, I can actually search quite fast. Faster if not at equal speed.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 09:58 PM

9,309 posts

I think the power input is through USB, while power output is through a charger jack.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:03 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 4 2009, 09:59 PM)
that means can charge thru usb lo? isnt it?
Not through the USB port. Imagine having your conventional charger, with the main.........(what the hell do you call it? One you plug into your wall socket) changed into a USB jack.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:23 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(kennyboy @ Feb 4 2009, 10:20 PM)
looks like there are conflicting reports...N97 DOES support usb charging.
I'd imagine it will be a battery sucker. It'll have a larger built in memory. Loading Gigabytes of data in a single session will surely eat up the battery. USB charging would probably be the right thing to put in the N97.
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:26 PM

9,309 posts

Or you can screw up the charger. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:31 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(kennyboy @ Feb 4 2009, 10:26 PM)
depends on how they optimize the OS...N95 8gb wasn't so bad in battery life.
Yeah but still scary if suddenly the phone died.
One day I gambled trying to load 6+ GB of data into my phone with the battery at only 3 bars.
It didn't make it... sweat.gif
Imagine the N97 with 32GB(if someone would decide to load 30GB into a single session).

I think the purpose of USB charging is to avoid power loss and in case of emergencies, not for a proper charge.

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 4 2009, 10:31 PM
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 11:09 PM

9,309 posts

I dropped mine yesterday. 2 stage drop from PC desk to chair(wooden) and from chair to floor(no carpet). Every hardware still works great, no inherent misbehaviour noted, casing is intact and nothing came loose.

There, some crash test report. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 01:20 AM

9,309 posts

I've decided to risk it. I'm letting my screen bare.
I think it's an experiment worth taking. laugh.gif I'll see if there are scratches in the first week, and then the next, and then the next and next.
It's not a permanent thing, I'll get a screen protector after I'm done in a few weeks.

If I do get it scratched, a replacement front casing shouldn't be too long on the way here and what would it cost, 30, 50? LOL, I'm goin' crazy. I'll have to be extra careful though now. sweat.gif
Wish me luck! laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 01:30 AM

9,309 posts

Yeah, if the result's good I'd say I won't use any protector at all. biggrin.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 01:39 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(ljy1 @ Feb 5 2009, 01:34 AM)
i been using 2 weeks wifout any screen protector yet still nt scrath, jz a fingerprint magnet.
Ya see, that's what I've been thinking.
Actually I was looking at my old phone's plastic screen and thought, "this isn't bad at all, can barely see any scratches".
Then I looked at my phone and said, "what the heck". laugh.gif

The only fear I have is putting it in my jeans, as you know, the fabric is quite rough. Plus with all that metal studs above the pocket. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 5 2009, 01:40 AM
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 01:41 AM

9,309 posts

Just replace the front casing lo. tongue.gif
Anyways, ljy1, how do you treat your phone? Carefully, no worries of the screen? Just slide it in your pocket kinda treatment?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 5 2009, 01:43 AM
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 01:59 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(kennyboy @ Feb 5 2009, 01:50 AM)
use with protector, scratch, change protector. protector how much?
use without protector, scratch, bring to NCC, wait, charged a high price. how much?

the logic doesn't makes any sense. unless you are unable to find or afford a screen protector, very hard to understand. or u really dun mind the screen scratched. because the moment a scratch appears, you will be scolding yourself.

or we're just poor here. biggrin.gif
Nah, this is only to try out the screen's durability, it's a one time thing for me. biggrin.gif
I'm buying a Martin Fields next week probably. Just to see how durable the screen is. If only micro scratches appear, then I won't need to go to NCC and continue with the application of an SP.

If scratches appear that's enough to irritate me, then I'll replace and apply an SP.

But the extra sensitivity right now is making me giggle. laugh.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 5 2009, 09:05 AM

9,309 posts

But a black grey theme would look great with any Tube, red, blue or black.
I hope they can include that black theme in the next firmware update or make it available somehow for us. tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Feb 6 2009, 09:54 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(willchoong @ Feb 6 2009, 05:35 AM)
Can anyone help me with this problem? I have the malsing map installed and detected under My Managed data.

Added on February 6, 2009, 5:37 amRegarding the new firmware, xxxx09. What is the difference? I tried to update via the phone but it shows no new updates.
Seems like it is out in some countries.
Hmm, in some forums, they say the phone seems a bit more snappy after the update. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 6 2009, 10:03 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0478sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:46 PM