Technical xbox error 12, xbox classic 1st gen

TSjacky
post Feb 1 2009, 09:53 PM, updated 17y ago

Freak kiasu
1,271 posts

Hi friends,
Please help what to do. I swapped with Sony DVD-ROM model DDU1642 and no more error promt out but still I cannot read any disc. I can see the status of the DVD-ROM is "Open" all the time even when I first boot up xbox. I guess probably is Sony DVD-ROM model not compatible with Xbox. I tried to search this forum for the PC/DVD-ROM compatible list but found none.

Please help my xbox 1st gen, I miss the XBMC so much..please help..

Jacky
xxboxx
post Feb 1 2009, 10:08 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

i thought any dvd drive can be used with xbox. or maybe the drive didn't support reading dvd+r? have you try dvd-rom disc?

Added on February 1, 2009, 10:20 pmoh, i got it wrongly. you have to use 2 dvd drive.

just follow the instruction from this link.
http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/swap-dvd.php

good luck. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Feb 1 2009, 10:20 PM
TSjacky
post Feb 15 2009, 05:37 PM

Freak kiasu
1,271 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 1 2009, 10:08 PM)
i thought any dvd drive can be used with xbox. or maybe the drive didn't support reading dvd+r? have you try dvd-rom disc?

Added on February 1, 2009, 10:20 pmoh, i got it wrongly. you have to use 2 dvd drive.

just follow the instruction from this link.
http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/swap-dvd.php

good luck. icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi xxboxx,
Thanks for the input. I've done exactly like the instruction given that link but I still face the same problem whereby the DVD Drive status on XBMC dashboard stays "Open".

What could have wrong? Probably my Dell DVD Drive DDU1642 not compatible with xbox?

Regards,
Jacky

0.0151sec    1.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:27 AM