PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V3, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
wolfx
Mar 23 2009, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 23 2009, 11:32 AM) RM129 is considered ok if is original Sony. I bud the Original PS2 component for around that price too. Anyway can someone update us latest price for New PS3? I heard price dropped from USD399 to USD 300, thats... really cheap... Even if its true i dun think we will feel the price drop immediately kua...
wolfx
Mar 26 2009, 07:35 PM

Hope someone can help me with this....
i just got PS3 yesterday and want to use it with Dell S2409W. I am aware of the audio fade-in/fade-out problem and was so annoyed by it, so i decided to direct connect both audio feeds into my 2.1 speaker via a y-splitter adapter as recommended by the FAQ on this thread.
Problem is when I insert both audio inputs (1 from PC and 1 from PS3) into the splitter, the sound volume of both inputs is greatly reduced. The sound will be loud as long as I: 1.) remove one cable from the y splitter 2.) disconnect the audio cable from either the devices assuming both devices are turned on
Is this normal? Is something wrong with my setup?
wolfx
Mar 26 2009, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Mar 26 2009, 07:53 PM) not sure.. i only use the y cable. not splitter..means need to change everything when to use either ps3/xbox360/pc. but now i bought a switch, easier..just press on the switch. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « How much is it?
wolfx
Mar 27 2009, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Mar 27 2009, 12:48 AM) i bought on a promotion. rm10. hahahaha.. but it roughly around rm30-40 Hmmm reasonable. Thanks for the info.
wolfx
Mar 27 2009, 12:11 PM

And another question: I noticed not all games support 1080p. I played abit of Valkyria Chronicles (it says 720p on the box) and RE 5 and wasn't impressed by a few things:
1.) VC: Some lines on are jagged, Anti-aliasing looks bad. Is this normal in the game or is it because of the game upscaling it to my monitor? (1080p) 2.) RE5: Images aren't the sharpest i've seen. Due to upscaling? Or am i just too used to PC 1080p gaming? Also during the starting cinematics where zombies were running around, i saw some split second "after-images". Refresh rate problem? 3.) Wanted: Weapons of Fate Demo: The game just looks bad.....maybe its the game itself?
Perhaps bad HDMI cable? What you guys think?
wolfx
Mar 27 2009, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 27 2009, 12:41 PM) 1) Its a cel-shaded game, AA aren't usually applied in cel-shaded games. More over, PS3 uses quincux AA instead of multi-sampling AA, jaggys are bound to appear when its stretch onto a 1080p screen. More over, you are sitting not more than 3 feet away from your monitor I assume. 2) Upscaling is the big part of it, RE5 on the PS3 has some pretty dismal low-res textures. Its the way the games is made. As for the "ghosting" a.k.a after-images, its your monitor. 3) The actual resolution of Wanted is only 1024x576, which isn't even 720p. Its upscaled through software to 720p and then it has to upscale using your TV to 1080p. Just imagine how much resolution loss is there. Nothing to do with a bad HDMI cable, because if it is you would get juttery lines over your screen already. Hmmm...thanks for the answers. Very informative. So about problems caused by up-scaling, will it help if I forced the PS3 to use 720p instead of 1080p in the video settings?
wolfx
Mar 28 2009, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(DiCkWaD @ Mar 28 2009, 08:21 PM) I've tried resetting the PS3 but it doesn't seem to work. Once I change the display to HDMI, the sound cuts off. I've tried also to link up the AV Multi cable that comes with PS3 (ie. Yellow/Red/White cable) It only works wen I use the AV Multi to connect but once I change the display to HDMI, the sound cuts off. I hope I haven't been too long winded, jus trying to giv u guys d clearest picture I can. Please help. It's frustrating me to bits! Go to sound settings, and change your audio output to optical-out. I suspect its currently set to HDMI or AV Multi and thus you're not getting any sound.
wolfx
Mar 30 2009, 02:09 PM

Just thought i should mention that the PS3 screws up your internet connection if you're using a WRT54G Linkysys router, versions 6 and up. Mine was version 7 (the sucky version) and i suspected it was the PS3 causing my frequent disconnections and i was right after checking online. To correct this issue, turn off Media Server and UPnP on your network settings on the PS3. No problems after that.
wolfx
Apr 3 2009, 10:14 AM

streamyx sux this past few days....i can't even download the patch from http. zzz
wolfx
Apr 4 2009, 11:14 AM

Until now still can't update to 2.70. ARGH! Can anyone host it on a local server or something?
wolfx
Apr 4 2009, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Apr 4 2009, 12:14 PM) sis.., download here.. http://dsa01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...2a/PS3UPDAT.PUPthere's even a tutorial at the first page on how to do it. I know. Only getting 0.2 kbps. QUOTE(vorchiel @ Apr 4 2009, 12:16 PM) Thanks man! You're my saviour.
wolfx
May 5 2009, 10:57 AM

You people eating while gaming that's why got ants enter the ps3 issit? 1st time i hear this case. LOL!
wolfx
May 5 2009, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(Posgrado @ May 5 2009, 05:24 PM) heh well i did the old traditional way of putting the ps3 in the sun, just the morning sun, hopefully no damage to it  result : crapload of ants came out and actually tried to make a new hive/nest/whatever in the cracks of the wall nearby.. they been exterminated with extreme prejudice... so far only 1 or 2 ants came out after that. Probably still have to open the ps3 to see if there's something else in it. Either that or just plug in and play and hope for the best  Congrats. Lets just hope the queen ant was out of the PS3 that time because that is the most important. No point if she lay more eggs and re-infest your PS3. Without the queen any remaining ant in your PS3 will die off as well. This post has been edited by wolfx: May 5 2009, 09:17 PM
wolfx
May 5 2009, 10:21 PM