PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V3, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

Mgsrulz
post Feb 14 2009, 03:27 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Feb 14 2009, 03:17 AM)
If I delete my friend id from PSN friend list, does he/she get noticed? I don't want to hurt someone feeling though
you delete them,they will lose your contact as well.

just be like ninja la..kasi delete terus ph34r.gif
show no mercy rclxms.gif

seriously though,why do you wanna delete the person?
contacts list full? shocking.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 02:45 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 17 2009, 12:19 PM)
guys, one question. any of you use ADDHOC PARTY PSP on PS3...I still remember I can configure my psp using it last year but when I try it now, it doesnt seem to detect my psp like it used to. I did some searching and failed to find anything (as this software is only released in Japan and all) any ideas?
a little advance for some people here,dont you think? tongue.gif
most of us didnt even install linux,let alone know about something exclusively for Japan blush.gif

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 18 2009, 07:05 PM)
guys can any of you reply Yahoo mails using ps3 internet browser? last time i can but now cannot lar sad.gif  cannot type anything at the email's body... sleep.gif
i cant even search in metacafe properly.
the drop down box doesnt work doh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 10:28 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 19 2009, 10:23 AM)
aw fcuk this shit.. my pc is down and temporarily my ps3 takes the spot as my internet gateway . and to thik ppl say internet browser on ps3 is not needed

Added on April 19, 2009, 10:26 am
Sony really needs to improve their services outside Japan. Remember PS2 Japan only BB Navigator?
what-what-what? shocking.gif

damn..so many things jap exclusive.

heh
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 05:27 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

same here.
the minute i jack into MGO,the fan suddenly BUZZZZZZes

have to switch on the aircond to cool it down rclxub.gif doh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 05:43 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 19 2009, 05:37 PM)
Rather than just more features taking a toll on XMB-SPU of the Cell, try opening up your PS3 and behold the amount of dust it has inside. Dust build ups just clogs the amount of trapped heat in the PS3. The fan is automated to run at full-speed when theres alot of bottlenecked heat on the bottom side of the console(which means where the Cell and RSX is.

I didn't experience any high speed fan in GTA4 or MGS4 playing in a fan room and in the afternoon after the new firmware updates. Although I do get my fan running at full speed when playing in an exceptionally hot afternoon though, where my room reaches a temp of 26c and above!
what's the combination to clean the ps3 again?
anyone know? flex.gif

mine is probably filled with:
dust
cat fur
dog fur

but the fan doesnt come on ALL the time...
just when it's exceptionally hot.(usually 15 minutes into MGO it will come on-especially nowadays seeing how it's so freakin hot!)

i doubt i'm the only one here who thinks so,but the BRAVIA is ridiculously hot!
play for a few minutes and i start sweating in my own god damn room! laugh.gif doh.gif

in comparison,i can play on my living room philips and not feel anything at all.
even after hours of play,the tv is relatively cool.

i think the problem with my situation is that;
1)im in my bedroom,where air ventilation is at a bare minimum(usually windows are shut even on the hottest day)
2)my table is quite small,and i have not much room-so my tv and ps3 are quite close together. add up the heat emanating from the PS3 AND the BRAVIA as well as my laptop,and you've got quite the sauna laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 06:21 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 19 2009, 06:17 PM)
Combination?
Uhm... the only sure-fire way to clean your PS3 thoroughly is open it up and clean it with an air-pressured can. If you are thinking that the full-fan speed trick cleans your PS3, think again. It does nothing.
lol..pointless.
if i open the ps3 up,more fur will go in. tongue.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 19 2009, 06:17 PM)
The difference between Philips ambilight and Sony Bravia's.... err, whatever they have.
ah..
so philips are known to be cool?
seriously,people should include these points in HDTV guides.

when the tv gets hot-no matter how amazing it may be,-it is ridiculously annoying
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 06:40 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 19 2009, 06:35 PM)
Now I feel less silly about myself. tongue.gif

I have a table fan pointing directly at my PS3 to cool it down. Don't want to take any chances.  flex.gif  flex.gif
i dont see how that would make you feel silly..
people do that all the time.

my cousin used to have a table fan dedicated for his PC. laugh.gif

here's the kicker-his mother was the one who said it should be there. doh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 07:34 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 19 2009, 07:33 PM)
erm, time to youtube opening 40gb ps3 ..
better not go for a toiler break in between,kang kucing pancut dalam mati ko laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 08:11 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

sneepershnake,lookie here
http://forums.gametrailers.com/thread/tear...he-beast/791229
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 09:48 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 09:42 PM)
Will be buying my long awaited PS3 from GH tmr. Anything I shud be alert off b4 i buy it? do let me know cz im noob at this.
what set are you buying?
80gb malaysian set?

what did they say is in the package?(or is it just console only?)
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 09:57 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 09:54 PM)
Errr .. i dun really know anything abt PS3 .. im more a Xbox360 fan .. hehe.

Any recommendation ?
i dont think GH would try to screw you over,so as far as the actual set is concerned,i think you're pretty set with it.

just remember to:
buy a HDMI cable.
dont have to be a 500 bucks cable..30 bucks also good enough tongue.gif

i think that's it laugh.gif

nothing much else,really..
just get the games you feel you're interested in.

other parts of the system is pretty similiar to the 360(get demo,test,like,buy..rinse repeat XD )

oh yeah.
also remember to sign up for as many PSN accounts as you can (SGP,US,Uk,JPN,etc)
different PSN Stores offer different demos/downloads/etc
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 09:59 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 09:57 PM)
Ok .. im downloading the asian ver .. then how am i gonna transfer it to the PS3?
just get a thumbdrive ready,create some folders:
*root of thumbdrive*
create folder:
PS3
UPDATE

paste the update file into the UPDATE folder
(if im not mistaken)

Added on April 19, 2009, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 09:57 PM)

Added on April 19, 2009, 9:59 pm

I see .. thanks

but .. the PS3 does not come with a HDMI cable ?
nope.. tongue.gif
it comes with composite rclxub.gif shakehead.gif

oh forgot another thing-think about upgrading your hard disk

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Apr 19 2009, 10:00 PM
Mgsrulz
post Apr 19 2009, 10:10 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 10:02 PM)
Why need to upgrade the HDD?
if 40gb is enough for you,then it's not necessary..
but many upgraded to 500gb laugh.gif

i myself am stuck on 40..need to keep deleting stuff non stop (demos,videos,etc) to make way for new things dry.gif

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 19 2009, 10:02 PM)
Btw, instead of a thumbdrive .. and i use my personel HDD?
yeah,should be no problem
Mgsrulz
post Apr 20 2009, 02:06 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 19 2009, 10:58 PM)

RM300 will net you a 500GB HDD.
320GB HDD is only RM190 now.
shocking.gif

drool.gif tempted to upgrade
Mgsrulz
post Apr 20 2009, 02:23 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 20 2009, 02:21 AM)
320GB only RM190 .. for real .. where .. im tempted now  drool.gif
at least you'll be on 80..im on 40 atm rclxub.gif doh.gif
so imagine downloading demos,and having to delete them just as a new demo comes out.

the only ones i havent deleted so far are the rare or cant-be-found-anymore demos like the GT5P demo/GTHD.

btw,you're going to GH all the way from cyberjaya? shocking.gif
Mgsrulz
post Apr 28 2009, 07:25 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 28 2009, 04:53 PM)
PS3 support USB keyboard and USB mouse... just for surfing or replying message..not for gaming..

you can use it for gaming...just not for all titles
Mgsrulz
post Apr 28 2009, 11:44 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 28 2009, 09:58 PM)
aiya..just that old game..
not worth mention at all..
wait there are alot game support then worth mention it support for gaming
whether it be 1 or all,still contradicts your claim that NONE support it
Mgsrulz
post May 4 2009, 05:19 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

mine are in folders.lol
sorted by date taken
Mgsrulz
post May 8 2009, 04:04 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 8 2009, 08:36 AM)
Well .. u can do that. I bought my MSG4 during launch .. then waited almost half a year b4 i got my PS3
shocking.gif wow sweat.gif

0.0415sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:49 AM