112 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Metal Gear Online Official Thread (PS3) | V4, (Hold) R1 + ▲ + Streamyx | New Expansion

Kernkraft400
post Mar 5 2009, 11:17 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

He deleted Lucky. After a week, he's level 12 Eagle.
Mgsrulz
post Mar 5 2009, 11:53 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

aight..
well,im gonna try to go in to mgo for a match or so..
whole week didnt play rclxub.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM
AztecWolf
post Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM

Hello all – We’re happy to announce the official release date and more details about the SCENE Expansion pack for Metal Gear Online. SCENE will be available separately for $9.99 and offered as a bundle with the second MGO Expansion pack, MEME, for $14.99 as well as all three expansion packs – GENE, MEME, and SCENE, for just $17.99 on March 17, 2009 via Metal Gear Online’s in-game shop and Konami’s shop. All will be available for purchase using the PlayStation Network Wallet (as well as PayPal, in addition to the previous payment methods). The pre-order period for SCENE starts on March 10, 2009, and will run up until release date. And remember, all players who pre-order SCENE will receive the special “cardboard man” head gear for free!

I know many of you are curious to know each of the new special character’s (Raiden and Vamp) weapons and abilities, as both characters display incredible talents in the Metal Gear Solid 4 single player campaign. You’ll be happy to know that many of their same abilities will be available in Metal Gear Online.

Raiden is quite agile, can run very fast and uses a High Frequency Blade. Much like in the single player campaign, he is best at close-range hand-to-hand combat. He will be able to jump to high places where ordinary soldiers would need a co-op boost, and can also fall from high places and land without taking damage. Naturally, he can use his High Frequency Blade, which can be used to deflect frontal attacks when drawn, in addition to attacks. He can also choose to use it in a non-lethal mode, by using the back of the blade. He also will have Throwing Knives available, and can headshot other players by using them. He also has a special VISOR that, when in the closed position, will be able to detect traps. As he does not have nano-machines implanted into his body, he will be unable to use the SOP Link, SOP Destabilizer and the SOP system information gathering skills such as scanning, etc. All SOP related abilities and affects are therefore nullified when using this character.

Vamp, master of knives, is agile, runs incredibly fast and excels at close-range hand-to-hand combat, especially when using his Combat Knife and Throwing Knife, which he can use to headshot other players, like Raiden. He will be able to jump to hard-to-reach places, fall from high places without taking damage – but will be able to utilize the SOP system and fall victim to it, unlike Raiden. His unique nano-machines will also make him seem immortal, every time he is defeated during the game, he will be resurrected in the same location.

There will also be a new game type opened to all MGO players: Solo Capture (SCAP). SCAP is a FREE-FOR-ALL Match with no team divisions. Capturing the Kerotan frog will make that player’s timer begin to decrease. The player who can keep possession of the Kerotan frog the longest, and allows their timer to reach zero first, will be the winner. If a player who isn’t holding the Kerotan is killed, no points will be awarded, but that player’s timer will be reduced.

Also included in SCENE is a great deal of new gear that you can use to customize your character, including the Bikini Outfit, Clown Face Paint, Haven Trooper Uniform Set, Resistance Uniform Set, Hockey Mask, Mohawk Wig, Short Cut Wig, Shirtless, and Robbie (Silent Hill character).

Source:
http://blog.us.playstation.com/2009/03/05/...ails/#more-7292

Added on March 6, 2009, 2:23 amSCAP sounds good and extremely different from DM.

All players will have to hunt down the guy with the frog. If they kill any other player who doesnt have the frog, they wont get the kill and points lolololol.

Kern will obviously stay away from modes like this.

This post has been edited by AztecWolf: Mar 6 2009, 02:23 AM
SSJBen
post Mar 6 2009, 10:23 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

$18 USD does seem like a very nice price for all 3 expansions!!

Atleast for once Konami Online isn't scrapping away on your money.
TSadreanalyn
post Mar 6 2009, 10:56 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM)
Source:
http://blog.us.playstation.com/2009/03/05/...ails/#more-7292

Added on March 6, 2009, 2:23 amSCAP sounds good and extremely different from DM.

All players will have to hunt down the guy with the frog. If they kill any other player who doesnt have the frog, they wont get the kill and points lolololol.

Awesome info. Thanks Aztec.

SCAP doesn't seem to catch my attention. I don't like being hunted down all the time sad.gif
But I'm gonna try it, nonetheless.

Try with Zal and you and some other LYN's.
AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(adreanalyn @ Mar 6 2009, 10:56 AM)
Awesome info. Thanks Aztec.

SCAP doesn't seem to catch my attention. I don't like being hunted down all the time sad.gif
But I'm gonna try it, nonetheless.

Try with Zal and you and some other LYN's.
Np.

SCAP is a dumber version of DM. In one of the pics, you can see the guy with the FROG glowing. Like wtf.

Konami obviously like people glowing <.<
TSadreanalyn
post Mar 6 2009, 11:17 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 6 2009, 11:14 AM)
Np.

SCAP is a dumber version of DM. In one of the pics, you can see the guy with the FROG glowing. Like wtf.

Konami obviously like people glowing <.<
Glowing is a bit too much IMO (For DM for being the top player, that is)

I mean, enemies could see you behind walls, and see where you're hiding rclxub.gif
AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(adreanalyn @ Mar 6 2009, 11:17 AM)
Glowing is a bit too much IMO (For DM for being the top player, that is)

I mean, enemies could see you behind walls, and see where you're hiding  rclxub.gif
Its not just you. 100% of the MGO community finds it annoying. Thats why not many play it.

=\

Added on March 6, 2009, 11:29 am
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 6 2009, 10:23 AM)
$18 USD does seem like a very nice price for all 3 expansions!!

Atleast for once Konami Online isn't scrapping away on your money.
Thats RM65 =\

Well, SCENE alone is RM35...so...yeah still expensive imo...

This post has been edited by AztecWolf: Mar 6 2009, 11:29 AM
TSadreanalyn
post Mar 6 2009, 12:16 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 6 2009, 11:26 AM)
Its not just you. 100% of the MGO community finds it annoying. Thats why not many play it.

=\

Added on March 6, 2009, 11:29 am

Thats RM65 =\

Well, SCENE alone is RM35...so...yeah still expensive imo...
If Kern plays it it'll actually be an advantage for us.

We can actually see when he's going to ambush us from his tower ! laugh.gif

AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(adreanalyn @ Mar 6 2009, 12:16 PM)
If Kern plays it it'll actually be an advantage for us.

We can actually see when he's going to ambush us from his tower !  laugh.gif
15 players lob 3 grenades while he camps in the tower.

I'll record. It'll be epic. 30 simultaneous explosions on B.B. mid structure.

:DDDDD
Mgsrulz
post Mar 6 2009, 01:17 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 5 2009, 11:54 PM)

scap is from MPO/MPO+

seeing how the player who captures the frog starts glowing,it seems they took the MPO route.FAIL!

they failed in MPO when it came to capture:
you can run around dodging enemies and the countdown clock will still move.

they rectified it in MPO+:
you have to stand in certain designated areas for the clock to wind down.
get out of the zone,and the clock doesnt move.

why the MPO method fails:
you can just run around and win!
that is BS.
dont need to shoot anyone,just run to victory.
with MGO since you have the Cbox,it makes dodging even easier than in MPO!
not to mention the maps are much much larger.

im not sure if kern has played that mode..i think he has nod.gif
AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 6 2009, 01:17 PM)
scap is from MPO/MPO+

seeing how the player who captures the frog starts glowing,it seems they took the MPO route.FAIL!

they failed in MPO when it came to capture:
you can run around dodging enemies and the countdown clock will still move.

they rectified it in MPO+:
you have to stand in certain designated areas for the clock to wind down.
get out of the zone,and the clock doesnt move.

why the MPO method fails:
you can just run around and win!
that is BS.
dont need to shoot anyone,just run to victory.
with MGO since you have the Cbox,it makes dodging even easier than in MPO!
not to mention the maps are much much larger.

im not sure if kern has played that mode..i think he has nod.gif
You sure?

I thought in MPO, the kills and points are counted even if you arent the guy carrying the frog around.

In MGO it doesnt count. The only person you can kill and get points is the guy carrying the frog.

Say:

Me carrying frog.

Kern kills you. But he doesnt get the kill nor the points. Instead your timer is reduced since he killed you when he's not supposed to.

This method is to prevent boosters and just for all the players to hunt down the frog carrier at the same time.
TSadreanalyn
post Mar 6 2009, 01:39 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 6 2009, 01:31 PM)
You sure?

I thought in MPO, the kills and points are counted even if you arent the guy carrying the frog around.

In MGO it doesnt count. The only person you can kill and get points is the guy carrying the frog.

Say:

Me carrying frog.

Kern kills you. But he doesnt get the kill nor the points. Instead your timer is reduced since he killed you when he's not supposed to.

This method is to prevent boosters and just for all the players to hunt down the frog carrier at the same time.
Does death counts ? laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Mar 6 2009, 01:52 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 6 2009, 01:31 PM)
You sure?

Say:

Me carrying frog.

run around and win the round.
i was hunted in MPO before,but yet because there was no zone to stick in,i could just run around and win.
the enemies went after me only,but still i won because i didnt have to do jack shit-just run.

it still fails.
besides,you think the majority of MGO players ACTUALLY read the rules?
many of them dont even know the rules exist! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

btw,RUNNER 3 will rule this mode,i think whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Mar 6 2009, 01:53 PM
TSadreanalyn
post Mar 6 2009, 02:12 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 6 2009, 01:52 PM)
run around and win the round.
i was hunted in MPO before,but yet because there was no zone to stick in,i could just run around and win.
the enemies went after me only,but still i won because i didnt have to do jack shit-just run.

it still fails.
besides,you think the majority of MGO players ACTUALLY read the rules?
many of them dont even know the rules exist! doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

btw,RUNNER 3 will rule this mode,i think whistling.gif
Yep.
Definitely.

Spamming the L2 button to equip and unequip the box seems to do the trick too. Haha.
AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(adreanalyn @ Mar 6 2009, 01:39 PM)
Does death counts ?  laugh.gif
No. Unless the guy who kills you is the same guy with the frog.

If you are killed by anyone else, death doesnt count. Only your timer will be lessened by a second or so.
Hwoarang45
post Mar 6 2009, 06:19 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

.... haiz i think i wil lget scene exp, u guys?

to think of it buying it saparately really stings, so far already spend Rm195 + Rm60 x 2, now add another Rm60, tats like RM375+ on one game, darn konami , like leech suc-ing me blood dry.... lol

those new to mgo darn nice lah combo pack is rm60+ only
AztecWolf
post Mar 6 2009, 06:31 PM

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 6 2009, 06:19 PM)
.... haiz i think i wil lget scene exp, u guys?

to think of it buying it saparately really stings, so far already spend Rm195 + Rm60 x 2, now add another Rm60, tats like RM375+ on one game, darn konami , like leech suc-ing me blood dry.... lol

those new to mgo darn nice lah combo pack is rm60+ only
Erm...

MGS4 = RM190
GENE = RM50
MEME = RM45
SCENE = RM35-40

Baru total RM325.

But yea, thats a lot of money on one game.
Sh1mX
post Mar 6 2009, 06:32 PM

17 posts

Haha.. Mine is the Limited Edition boxset.. so it's RM300.. how's that ? biggrin.gif
Hwoarang45
post Mar 6 2009, 06:49 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Mar 6 2009, 06:31 PM)
Erm...

MGS4 = RM190
GENE = RM50
MEME = RM45
SCENE = RM35-40

Baru total RM325.

But yea, thats a lot of money on one game.

yeah everytime i tumpang friend to buy i kasi RM60 one shot mah, for the trouble and conversion rate, well, hope this time its cheaper and easier with psn purchase

QUOTE(Sh1mX @ Mar 6 2009, 06:32 PM)
Haha.. Mine is the Limited Edition boxset.. so it's RM300.. how's that ? biggrin.gif
ahahah but didnt u sold ur bonus disc liao hehehee... wink.gif

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ps i got the estimated price on ps3fanboy site,

SCENE price om PSN and Konami's own online shop

Scene only = USD$9.99
With the previous "MEME" expansion = USD$14.99
Full add-on pack -- "MEME," "GENE" and "SCENE" = USD$17.99

darn USD is damn high now, like 3.8+ haiz sux ler....

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Mar 6 2009, 06:52 PM

112 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:02 AM