Need For Speed: Shift, another NFS annouced by EA, Fall 2009

secondrate
post May 23 2009, 02:11 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Not another one. This better be at least as good as Most Wanted. Not the two crapfests.
secondrate
post May 23 2009, 08:37 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

I hope it's more arcade than GRiD. I hated those Japan tracks. I also hope they include the Nissan Skyline, my favourite car in GRiD smile.gif.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 05:18 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Not so easy to play with kb... somemore the game likes to auto-brake, slowdown for me. Damn irritating.

I'm going to try with my Playstation controller soon.

Now, this or GRiD nicer? I cannot decide tongue.gif. But its very fun.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Sep 20 2009, 05:18 PM
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 09:19 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

sweat.gif I think the GRiD crowd came to NFS.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 10:10 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

laugh.gif Cannot stop laughing now.

I prefer Shift to GRiD. I find it more fun and yeah, no car sticking to ground.

Man I love Car Battles. And those Invitational Events... the first one I got let me drive a Lotus Elise. So fun drool.gif.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 10:13 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Mine are fine leh. All high, 1280x1024, 2x AA, 8x AF and it's a dream to run. Better than GRiD anyway dry.gif.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 10:26 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Hmm I learned today to always follow the arrows on the road. If it is yellow and I still accelerate, sure fly off the track.

But I like using my Lancer to bang people off the track brows.gif. Lots of Aggression with that car compared to my Camaro and M3.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 11:35 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

But there is an option to allow damage to affect the performance of the car hmm.gif. I set it to Visual Only though.

Huh, I realized my FPS in-game isn't too great. Around 30 FPS which is weird. Maybe my card is overheating. We'll see tomorrow when I get my new Gladiator 600 case.
secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 11:47 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

shakehead.gif FPS dropped to 18 during the BMW London River race with 9 other cars. Reminds me of GRiD... but that was with a 8600 GTS. Apa hal.

secondrate
post Sep 20 2009, 11:53 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

^ Whats your graphics settings and FPS ar?
secondrate
post Sep 21 2009, 09:21 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

I love replay mode. No sound problems there but the game likes to crackle for me sad.gif. But its good to take screenies.
secondrate
post Sep 24 2009, 04:41 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

I heard there are a lot of issues with Win 7 sad.gif. I haven't reinstalled Shift yet.

Going to start with 350Z if possible instead of that slow as hell Civic.
secondrate
post Sep 24 2009, 06:52 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Any 9800 user? Whats your fps ingame and settings?
secondrate
post Sep 24 2009, 11:12 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Sep 24 2009, 09:33 PM)
9800 OC version, max settings and best of all, its playable smile.gif
FPS bro? I get around 25-30 FPS when there aren't many cars around. But when there are around 9 other cars squashed together like in London River, it dips to 18 FPS. Playable... but hard to drive sad.gif .
secondrate
post Sep 25 2009, 03:21 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 25 2009, 12:00 PM)
Well they were GOOD considering that they were playing the game longer than me. Heck, I didn't even know the track at the time, but it was a 5 lap race, and I just follow them for 1 lap. By lap 2, I figured out that they have trouble keeping their car angle at the last corner, whereas I can tweak mine minutely, thus I had around a 2s advantage on that corner alone.
Sounds fun brows.gif
secondrate
post Sep 25 2009, 10:46 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

hmm.gif I see a vid on YouTube, he can get 30-50 FPS on the same settings I use with a lower end 9800 GT.

Mine is overclocked with Zalman cooler also cannot get stable 30 FPS. WTH.

If I upgrade proc to E8400, I wonder if can get the same FPS as him?

It's been bothering me a lot lately.
secondrate
post Sep 25 2009, 11:18 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Sep 25 2009, 11:01 PM)
im using e8400 + gtx275
lately the fps decreased
even get below 30....
Ouch... have you found out why? sad.gif
secondrate
post Sep 26 2009, 12:08 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

So... I am experiencing a bug that makes me have less than 30 FPS with a 9800 GT? I like the sound of that tongue.gif. I was beginning to think my CARD is bugged.
secondrate
post Sep 26 2009, 12:49 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Sep 26 2009, 12:30 AM)
What setting did you used?  hmm.gif
hmm.gif Cannot remember liao. Haven't reinstalled.

Er I think High for everything, 2x AA, Aniso 8x.

I see in Performance Test 7.0, my GPU smokes the 8800 Ultra and 9800 GX2 hmm.gif. So weird but it does yet it only shows in... Left 4 Dead.
secondrate
post Sep 26 2009, 01:05 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(deathbringer @ Sep 26 2009, 12:50 AM)
can, why not?? it's under 'graphics' menu. i think default is under bilinear or trilinear.

Added on September 26, 2009, 12:52 am
but i do not suffer framerate drops like u do.....

did u OC ur card?
The irony right? doh.gif

Yes it is OC. Clock speeds : GPU : 700 mhz, Memory : 900 mhz, Shader clock : 1728 mhz. Full throttle in games.

So I was wondering if my proc was the issue. E6420 stock clocks 2.13ghz, 4mb cache.

0.0471sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:11 AM