Which GPU is better ?, If Possible .. No Fan-boism !

TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 08:43 PM, updated 17y ago

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

The price of "Gainward HD4850 512MB GS" and "Gainward HD4850 1GB GS" didn't have much of a difference.

So, im going to put 1GB in the poll choice instead of 512MB ..

So the question is .. which one is better ?

Price : Performance Ratio will not be a question here as i only want to know which one is better ..

Or

Please do include your own opinion regarding which one is better whether its slightly better / a different league* much better / you can't feel much difference between them ..

I just need to know which one is the better one ..

Thanks ! sweat.gif

p/s : Try to avoid being a "Fan boi" or else, please state that you are a "Fan boi" so i can exclude your section of the poll .

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Jan 30 2009, 08:45 PM
tech3910
post Jan 30 2009, 08:45 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

i'll hav to go wit 4850 GS.
performance is superb & can OC quite well as well.
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 08:57 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

Come on guys .. stop voting without any comments .. lets hear out your words of wisdom brows.gif
blindbox
post Jan 30 2009, 09:02 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Radeon HD 4850GS 1 GB? Why? Just so that you can run GTA IV with everything maxed laugh.gif
prasys
post Jan 30 2009, 09:04 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

What you plan to use these cards for ?

Future games ? GTA IV ? and your resolution that you wish to play these new games at as well

TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 09:05 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Jan 30 2009, 10:02 PM)
Radeon HD 4850GS 1 GB? Why? Just so that you can run GTA IV with everything maxed  laugh.gif
sob .. i don't think i can play GTA IV with everything maxed especially when my Processor is only Core2Duo !!

anyways .. 9800GTX+ can't play with everything maxed ah?
pikacu
post Jan 30 2009, 09:05 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

does the price of two cards is the same?
Thrust
post Jan 30 2009, 09:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

If both cards has somewhat equivalent performance, TS should go for 9800GTX+. The reason is simple:

"The Way It Is Meant To Be Played"..... more games are optimized for Nvidia cards.
anep
post Jan 30 2009, 09:08 PM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

4850 here
blindbox
post Jan 30 2009, 09:10 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 30 2009, 09:07 PM)
If both cards has somewhat equivalent performance, TS should go for 9800GTX+. The reason is simple:

"The Way It Is Meant To Be Played"..... more games are optimized for Nvidia cards.
ATI does pretty well on TWIMTBP games. If you're still playing crysis, you should facepalm yourself doh.gif .
pikacu
post Jan 30 2009, 09:12 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

roflcopter, srsly

TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 09:14 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

omg .. someone poisoned me ..

"HD4850 is under powered, i would go for HD4870 instead"

now the bonus questions is .. GTX260 216Core is on par with ?

but then again .. i'll only stick with two options ..

HD4850 1GB GS

or

9800GTX+ 512MB

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Jan 30 2009, 09:22 PM
uzer85
post Jan 30 2009, 09:21 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

4870 OC 1GB sure pawn GTX260 216core.
hilmiangah
post Jan 30 2009, 09:45 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

4850 of coz as nvidia card is just a smaller die of an old technology while ati is a new architecture.
kaiser_falco
post Jan 30 2009, 09:54 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

emm..for gtx260 core 216 is actually better then 4870 1gb version and even in terms of oc,core 216 just oc like madness while 4870 is not going far..

for the pole 4850 my choice.
BigSaver
post Jan 30 2009, 10:09 PM

v(^_^)V
1,029 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 30 2009, 09:21 PM)
then GTX260 OC version core 216 sure will pawn back 4870 oc version laugh.gif
this core 216 is to counter back 4870 1gb ..

yeah my vote still goes to 4850..esp GS version
ZeneticX
post Jan 30 2009, 10:23 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 30 2009, 09:21 PM)
o rly?sos pls?

from what i see in reviews and comments here and abroad,its the other way round rolleyes.gif
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 10:25 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

off topic .. will ST56F be able to power up HD4870 1GB GS ?
shaun3230
post Jan 30 2009, 10:31 PM

2,369 posts

Im sure it`ll will, as the ST is true power...

I suggest teh 1Gb version
uzer85
post Jan 30 2009, 10:37 PM

3,812 posts

o rly?sos pls?

from what i see in reviews and comments here and abroad,its the other way round

emm..for gtx260 core 216 is actually better then 4870 1gb version

see this.
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/sa...4870_1gb_toxic/

This post has been edited by uzer85: Jan 30 2009, 10:38 PM
shaun3230
post Jan 30 2009, 10:51 PM

2,369 posts

9800GTX+ 1Gb for me
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 10:52 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Jan 30 2009, 11:51 PM)
9800GTX+ 1Gb for me
does 9800GTX+ 1GB even exist ?

Added on January 30, 2009, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 30 2009, 11:37 PM)
wow .. im keen to see what others has to say ! rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Jan 30 2009, 10:53 PM
shaun3230
post Jan 30 2009, 11:00 PM

2,369 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/258256-3...850-good-brands
uzer85
post Jan 30 2009, 11:02 PM

3,812 posts

wow .. im keen to see what others has to say

same here. hehe. biggrin.gif
going to get that GC when i got my money this tuesday. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 11:07 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 31 2009, 12:02 AM)
same here. hehe. biggrin.gif
going to get that GC when i got my money this tuesday. icon_rolleyes.gif
where are you gonna find the Sapphire HD4870 1GB Toxic Overclocked Edition ?

and how much will it cost ?
X.E.D
post Jan 30 2009, 11:09 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Epic FAIL.

I do see why you highlight brands in your sig though. rolleyes.gif

@OP

I have no idea how the 2 cards currently cost for you, but I can say that the (approx) lowest price for a 4870 512MB (Brick and Mortar shop) is RM 830.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Jan 30 2009, 11:11 PM
uzer85
post Jan 30 2009, 11:10 PM

3,812 posts

where are you gonna find the Sapphire HD4870 1GB Toxic Overclocked Edition ?

and how much will it cost

compuzone got it. (must see pricelist at compuzone website ) LYN pricelist not updated.
Sapphire 4870 Toxic 1GB rm999. nice. brows.gif
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 11:14 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

anyways .. i think im gonna get myself a HD4870 ..

the only problem is which brand do i need to pick ..

guess i'll solve that problem when i have RM1k+ in my hand brows.gif

btw, uzer85

Cex selling Zotac GTX260 216core for under RM900 .. normally it would cost others around RM1k++
Vervain
post Jan 30 2009, 11:31 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

wow, Toxic does come with tonnes of goodies. But I still like dual fan cooler.
uzer85
post Jan 30 2009, 11:33 PM

3,812 posts

anyways .. i think im gonna get myself a HD4870 ..

the only problem is which brand do i need to pick ..

guess i'll solve that problem when i have RM1k+ in my hand

btw, uzer85

Cex selling Zotac GTX260 216core for under RM900 .. normally it would cost others around RM1k++

nope. wont go for GTX260.
still prefer Sapphire 4870 Toxic 1GB although it'll cost 999.
since i'm going to get Gigabyte EP45-UD3P, maybe later i'll do crossfire with 2x Sapphire 4870 Toxic 1GB. oh..how nice is that. brows.gif
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 30 2009, 11:40 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 31 2009, 12:33 AM)
nope. wont go for GTX260.
still prefer Sapphire 4870 Toxic 1GB although it'll cost 999.
since i'm going to get Gigabyte EP45-UD3P, maybe later i'll do crossfire with 2x Sapphire 4870 Toxic 1GB. oh..how nice is that. brows.gif
ZzZzZ .. CF means 2 GPU Core right ? one day .. there will be one GPU with 2 Cores .. and the price will be so cheap .. all of us will cry ..

anybody know when this is going to happen ?

i bet Nvidia and ATi are laughing at us if they see we talking about 1 GPU 2 Cores ..

for now 1GPU 2Cores is like HD4870x2

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Jan 30 2009, 11:41 PM
commandboy
post Jan 30 2009, 11:57 PM

177 posts

a vote for 4850gs 1gb, if u wan higher resolution
Thrust
post Jan 31 2009, 01:11 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jan 30 2009, 11:09 PM)
Epic FAIL.
I do see why you highlight brands in your sig though.  rolleyes.gif
@OP

I have no idea how the 2 cards currently cost for you, but I can say that the (approx) lowest price for a 4870 512MB (Brick and Mortar shop) is RM 830.
Bro, I mentioned that "IF both cards have equivalent performance" ler... TS should really go for Nvidia. However if HD4870 pawns 9800GTX+ for the same pricing, of cause he should go for ATi then.

I am still forced to use Nvidia cards as they are still champions in running Folding@Home.
kaiser_falco
post Jan 31 2009, 02:27 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Jan 30 2009, 10:37 PM)
yawn..no need to see la..just buy it and try it then you know what i mean sometime review just useless..when you try all of it then you know,if cannot buy it borrow from your fren and do your own comparison,on any way the core 216 is better then 4870 1gb period...lets just speak based on experianced rather then reading,ok..
tech3910
post Jan 31 2009, 02:47 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

people who r saying 4870 > gtx260 216 is definitely a fanboy.

hey, i'm using 4870 myself, & i admit dat gtx260 is better in most of the occasion, it vary on games.
but 4k series has its own advantage, one of dem is in AA.
4870 loose a little b coz driver not optimized, i still hold faith in my 4870, hopefully ATI will release a better driver in the future......... tongue.gif
kaiser_falco
post Jan 31 2009, 02:55 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jan 31 2009, 02:47 PM)
people who r saying 4870 > gtx260 216 is definitely a fanboy.

hey, i'm using 4870 myself, & i admit dat gtx260 is better in most of the occasion, it vary on games.
but 4k series has its own advantage, one of dem is in AA.
4870 loose a little b coz driver not optimized, i still hold faith in my 4870, hopefully ATI will release a better driver in the future......... tongue.gif
my point exactly,even if you read im still using my old faithfull 4870 512mb,try the 4870 1gb previously and gaming on 27inch with 1920x1200 the different is so minimal,try te core 216 at stock the framerate averagely better then 4870 1gb about 5fps but on the oc term max vs max you can see the diferent quite a lot most likely vary from 10-15fps that is consider quite a good margin..
TSxelnamikaze
post Jan 31 2009, 11:13 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

hmm hmm .. so if 260 216 is at the same price as 4870 .. then we might aswell take the 260 216 right ?

but it seems that .. how come Cex's 260 216 offer here

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=900251&hl=Cex

is not bought by other people ?
pikacu
post Feb 1 2009, 12:21 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

yep, if Core 216 is the same price as 4870...you might as well take core 216 smile.gif

Im not sure why 4870 1GB still priced higher than Core 216 here sweat.gif
TSxelnamikaze
post Feb 1 2009, 12:26 AM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

price haven't been revised ?

seriously .. i'll take GTX260 216 over HD4870 GS !!
shaun3230
post Feb 1 2009, 12:28 AM

2,369 posts

If so difficult, see ur mobo la. If ur mobo is an Intel chipset, get the 4870, if ur mobo is an NF, get the GTX260
TSxelnamikaze
post Feb 1 2009, 12:34 AM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

i found out something interesting ..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of...rocessing_units

hilmiangah
post Feb 1 2009, 01:01 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:28 AM)
If so difficult, see ur mobo la. If ur mobo is an Intel chipset, get the 4870, if ur mobo is an NF, get the GTX260
why is that????

care to explain.....
ZeneticX
post Feb 1 2009, 01:09 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaun3230 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:28 AM)
cant be applied to X58 i guess tongue.gif
tech3910
post Feb 1 2009, 02:00 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Feb 1 2009, 01:01 AM)
why is that????

care to explain.....
just screw it if u dun plan for multi card setup.
coz b4 x58, crossfire can only b done on intel chipset.
Dark Steno
post Feb 1 2009, 07:39 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

Between 4850 GS and 9800GTX+, certain games favors Nvidia and so do 4850 GS. So you can see EA Games will surely have better performance when using Nvidia cards.

If you compare between GTX 260 and 4870, surely GTX 260 is better. 4870 only good on certain occasions against GTX 260 and only marginal.
shaun3230
post Feb 1 2009, 12:19 PM

2,369 posts

True, but I`ve heard of ppl doing CF on NForces.

Only the 58 chipset for i7 and SkullTrail can support both SLi and CF
KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 1 2009, 03:54 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

HD4850 1GB GS FTW... price wise
bryanyeo87
post Feb 1 2009, 04:23 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Feb 1 2009, 03:54 PM)
HD4850 1GB GS FTW... price wise
Why so? The lack of the 4850's speed will bog down whatever gains a 1 GB frame buffer will give.
tech_frix
post Feb 2 2009, 12:40 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i voted for d green camp...
suicideroach
post Feb 2 2009, 12:43 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 2 2009, 12:40 PM)
i voted for d green camp...
traitor mad.gif

lht850321
post Feb 2 2009, 07:28 PM

i also wanna know which one better

i am using gigabyte 4850 zalman

This post has been edited by lht850321: Feb 2 2009, 07:33 PM
TSxelnamikaze
post Feb 2 2009, 10:56 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

hey .. GTX260 Core 216 will beat HD4870 1GB GS hands down ..
Hisyamudin
post Feb 3 2009, 09:03 AM

56 posts

Go with nvidia, if you want better driver support, compatibility and performance.
Also they got physx too, which will enhanced your gaming experience.
Linux still have problem with ATI card and some games still doesn't optimize well even though the card
raw power is greater than GTX280.

Yes, GTX260 216 will beat HD4870 performance in many games.
HD4870 using R700 architecture which is optimized version of R600 (GDDR5, 55nm, 800 steam processor, DirectX10.1 and clock speed)

GTX200 is new architecture. Although it still using Directx 10, I don't see any directx 10.1 games coming or 10.1 is just hotfix for 10 i'm not sure, so don't bother.
Or if you can wait long enough, wait till DirectX 11 card coming out

peace.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Hisyamudin: Feb 3 2009, 12:06 PM
magna_voxx
post Feb 3 2009, 09:54 AM

-Maximum Game-
1,071 posts

which one u wanna go TS?
btw,vote goes to 4850 1gb..but if between gtx260 n 4870,i would rather choose gtx260..
Aura
post Feb 3 2009, 10:40 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Feb 1 2009, 02:00 AM)
just screw it if u dun plan for multi card setup.
coz b4 x58, crossfire can only b done on intel chipset.
I heavily agree with this statement.... If TS don't plan to get multi GPU setup, then any board will be fine.... But my suggestion is still going for NVIDIA bcos of the support for games....

I rather choose GTX260 over 9800GTX+ coz of the performance gap if ur budget allows it....

0.0547sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:17 AM