Overclocking newbie, Sifus needed

TSyouloong118
post Jan 30 2009, 04:42 PM, updated 17y ago

109 posts

i am intending to replace my old computer with a brand new rig thumbup.gif and i would like to try OC-ing it, the specs are as below :

Processor : C2D E8400 / C2Q 6600

Mobo : Gigabyte EP45-UD3R

Ram : Kingston Hyper-X 4GB DDR2 1066MHz

Graphics : Gigabyte 9800GTX+/HD 4850

So i have a few questions : -

1) For the moment, i do not wish to buy additional cooling yet,so can OC be achieved with the stock heatsink fans for E8400/C2Q6600 ?

2) Is the mobo suitable for oc-ing ?

3) Whats the difference between ram with 800mhz and ram with 1066mhz?

4)DDR2 / DDR3 is better ? to rephrase, what is the future of memory? can DDR2 last for at least 2 years ?

5) I intend to use my rig mainly for gaming purposes,will there be a SIGNIFICANT increase in performance comparing C2D with C2Q ?

6)What is the difference with FSB of 1333 and 1066 (E8400 and Q6600)

bryanyeo87
post Jan 30 2009, 04:48 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

1) For the moment, i do not wish to buy additional cooling yet,so can OC be achieved with the stock heatsink fans for E8400/C2Q6600 ?

2) Is the mobo suitable for oc-ing ?

3) Whats the difference between ram with 800mhz and ram with 1066mhz?

4)DDR2 / DDR3 is better ? to rephrase, what is the future of memory? can DDR2 last for at least 2 years ?

5) I intend to use my rig mainly for gaming purposes,will there be a SIGNIFICANT increase in performance comparing C2D with C2Q ?

6)What is the difference with FSB of 1333 and 1066 (E8400 and Q6600)
1) sure, why not smile.gif

2) Yes, depends on target overclocked value, it should do fine up to 500fsb without much effort. then again, PL, voltages, mem divider selection, gtl ref will play a role in it smile.gif

3) speed? laugh.gif

4) Define better, DDR3 is the future of memory.

5) It depends on how the game was written, if its written for multi threaded, the Q6600 will perform better, if it was for single or dual threads, the E8400 will perform better. Comparison is based on same clock speeds.

6) speed? a lower/higher cpu multiplier laugh.gif

By the way, used the pinned threads:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/651703/+1340

Or the UD3R dedicated thread here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/830790

0.0135sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:31 AM