Why Malaysians are Lazy to Read?

highbury1913
post Dec 15 2012, 03:48 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Endevor @ Dec 14 2012, 05:25 PM)
Just to add on why Malaysian don't like reading .... its also because books in Malaysia are every expensive compared to other countries. A simple paperback book can go around Rm60.

Ya sure, we can order online but still. Think of it, if books are like Rm20 - Rm30 price range, I'm sure some of us will get some of them for the sake of reading.

my 0.02 cents.
Most mass market paperbacks cost RM36.90. Only self help books reach RM60 price tag for paperbacks because hardcovers aren't that popular in that genre.
highbury1913
post Jan 10 2013, 07:37 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(MF2 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:29 PM)
That's why, if i really want that book. i take a photoshot on the cover and search pdf in a google. Sometimes, i try to find at Bookxcess , Ancorp Mall or else free reading.Though, i worked at BSC bookstore as part timer, i'm only can get 20% discount but still cheaper biggrin.gif .
But you're not supporting the already dying book industry sad.gif
highbury1913
post Jan 16 2013, 02:44 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(pica88 @ Jan 11 2013, 10:56 PM)
i think internet is the main reason to make m'sian not like to read book.
Internet make people addict to it.
2nd is the price is not cheap and lack of choices to read.

when my pc has problem,i keep buying books to read,but after pc is repaired,books keep under my bed.
Lack of choice? I always believed that with Kino & MPH, Malaysia has a very good selection compared to most countries. In fact, it's great that we get both US & UK published versions of books here.
highbury1913
post Feb 4 2013, 05:22 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Feb 1 2013, 09:42 PM)
I don't think Internet is to blame.

So long as things are read, it would mean the same : reading.

Whether it is via blog, online news, forums, etc, it is also called as reading.

Reading does not need to mean only paperback/hardcover books.

If there s thing to blame, it is : FB, Twitter, and Instagram. LOL
It really depends on WHAT you read.

NYTIMES blog - good. PerezHilton blog - bad.

Online News? Malaysiakini - good. Yahoo! OMG - bad.

Forums? Any proper forum - good. kopitiam... well, you know.

When someone says people aren't reading enough these days - they mean reading things that expand our horizon or vocabulary. Something insightful or intellectual. A stimulant. Not reading just anything. My 2sen.

This post has been edited by highbury1913: Feb 4 2013, 05:23 PM
highbury1913
post Jun 3 2013, 09:57 AM

526 posts

Is it possible we're seeing a renaissance of the reading culture in Malaysia? Recently, the Bookfest, Big Bad Wolf and MPH Distributors Sale have all been packed. I've never seen so much interest in books.
highbury1913
post Jun 3 2013, 09:08 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Jun 3 2013, 05:38 PM)

Oh BTW - Is your "In the Name of the Wind" by Patrick Rothfuss offer still open?  blush.gif  ... Tempted  wink.gif
Yes. Reply to that thread la. Give me free bump. LOL.

0.0227sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:08 AM