HCL-Axon, Good career path?

TSsendoh07
post Jan 29 2009, 12:57 AM, updated 17y ago

Last year, HCL bought over axon global, thus axon global is now known as HCL-Axon. Just like to know, with this in mind, is it still a good idea to join HCL-Axon (ABAP Boot CAmp) in terms of career path as most likely a lot of restructuring will be going on.
leecy85
post Jan 29 2009, 09:52 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(sendoh07 @ Jan 29 2009, 12:57 AM)
Last year, HCL bought over axon global, thus axon global is now known as HCL-Axon. Just like to know, with this in mind, is it still a good idea to join HCL-Axon (ABAP Boot CAmp) in terms of career path as most likely a lot of restructuring will be going on.
Hmm.. hmm.gif
Is it HCL-Axon had offered you the ABAP Boot Camp so you are considering want to accept it or not now?

DarReNz
post Jan 31 2009, 03:34 AM

7,496 posts

the company still new so can't tell much just that mostly the backend will be affected ....
EpsilonStar
post Jan 31 2009, 06:51 PM

1,245 posts

may i know how much is axon paying for fresh in the abap boot camp? there's 2 years bond rite?
mangotree
post Feb 6 2009, 09:56 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jan 31 2009, 06:51 PM)
may i know how much is axon paying for fresh in the abap boot camp? there's 2 years bond rite?
probably one of the best for non Sap experience candidates......not many companies want to take in non SAP experienced candidate
bpk16
post Feb 6 2009, 07:18 PM

248 posts

there's a few vacancies listed on their website but there's no description or requirements? can anyone help out with this?
lelynx
post Feb 13 2009, 04:15 AM

838 posts

If u want to be spoon-feed or prefer a clear path of career direction, then go for it
SAP field is a good area to focus on for your career
motibina2002
post Feb 14 2009, 01:39 PM

I heard from my friend, axxon had retrenched IT department and some staffs from office after the merging; dont know is true or not.

This post has been edited by motibina2002: Feb 14 2009, 01:42 PM
hamsterwong
post Jun 4 2009, 11:28 AM

60 posts

anyone work in there now???...i wish to join...but wat i gonna do here
Kase
post Jun 6 2009, 04:57 PM

101 posts

I heard a lot Axon UK/US senior consultants has resigned? meaning the consultants in Malaysia got chance to replace the white peoples dy?
xilepeco
post Jul 10 2009, 01:43 PM

how is the culture in HCL Axon? Would like to know if it is encouraged to explore opportunities in different areas within the company or is it frowned upon.
lowcb88
post Feb 22 2010, 08:44 AM

15 posts

I use to be a contractor for Axon, it was damn good before HCL took it over. A lot of my friends have either left or got retrenched from there.

There are a lot of good people there though I do recommend it if your fresh.
ranul
post Mar 20 2010, 11:36 AM

477 posts

so...anybody has more information on the ABAP Boot Camp by HCL-Axon? How is the training like? And for how long? Is it recommended to those who wish to have career in SAP?
LightEnchanter
post Oct 3 2011, 01:05 PM

336 posts

anyone has taken their SAP course? i'm planning to self sponsored and switch to sap career, any advice?

This post has been edited by LightEnchanter: Oct 3 2011, 01:05 PM
Currylaksa
post Oct 3 2011, 01:19 PM

1,616 posts

HCL-Axon is now only HCL, they are hiring so... unsure.gif
mangotree
post Oct 3 2011, 09:02 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Oct 3 2011, 01:19 PM)
HCL-Axon is now only HCL, they are hiring so... unsure.gif
Meaning ?? they dropped Axon name oredi ? do u know what is their strategy from now ?
chong82
post Oct 4 2011, 01:35 AM

246 posts

ABAP Market is dropping like flies.
chezzball
post Oct 4 2011, 03:43 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Oct 4 2011, 01:35 AM)
kenape ye?
Currylaksa
post Oct 4 2011, 09:35 AM

1,616 posts

Dried up liao. Dead.

ABAP work like Proton's are outsourced to HCL's overseas resource. Petronas ABAPers rolling off soon. Shell project ABAPers either have rolled off or, if manager likes them, converted to semi-functional. One of the few decent ABAP work up for grabs is maybe Guinness, which is not confirmed. For the ex-Diagonal ABAPers looking for work, employers have been lowballing them with smaller salary offer.

The Indians are taking over.

QUOTE(mangotree @ Oct 3 2011, 09:02 PM)
Meaning ?? they dropped Axon name oredi ? do u know what is their strategy from now ?
They only wanted Axon's client base, they have tons of resources sitting at home.
LightEnchanter
post Oct 4 2011, 11:52 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Oct 4 2011, 09:35 AM)
Dried up liao. Dead.

ABAP work like Proton's are outsourced to HCL's overseas resource. Petronas ABAPers rolling off soon. Shell project ABAPers either have rolled off or, if manager likes them, converted to semi-functional. One of the few decent ABAP work up for grabs is maybe Guinness, which is not confirmed. For the ex-Diagonal ABAPers looking for work, employers have been lowballing them with smaller salary offer.

They only wanted Axon's client base, they have tons of resources sitting at home.
i guess its not a good idea to switch over to sap now? Currylaksa are u in SAP field now?

This post has been edited by LightEnchanter: Oct 4 2011, 11:56 AM
chezzball
post Oct 4 2011, 12:58 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Oct 4 2011, 09:35 AM)
Dried up liao. Dead.

good abapers getting jobs oversea.. bossnass 1 of them.. he's good so australia hire him direct. abap still good
badzeugene
post Oct 4 2011, 04:34 PM

305 posts

why is SAP dying???
Currylaksa
post Oct 4 2011, 04:56 PM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(LightEnchanter @ Oct 4 2011, 11:52 AM)
i guess its not a good idea to switch over to sap now? Currylaksa are u in SAP field now?
Eh...

Just asking, do you know the difference between SAP and ABAP? huh.gif
LightEnchanter
post Oct 5 2011, 12:17 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Oct 4 2011, 04:56 PM)
Eh...

Just asking, do you know the difference between SAP and ABAP? huh.gif
ABAP & functional is subset of SAP?
mangotree
post Oct 5 2011, 09:23 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(LightEnchanter @ Oct 5 2011, 12:17 PM)
ABAP & functional is subset of SAP?
SAP is the giant ERP software that covers from Finance, Stock Management, Sales, Manufacturing, HR....and many more.
Due to scale of the SAP, no one person can do all in this industry. In a typical project, you will need people who will play different roles. These roles are likely linked to their SAP skills.

Functional consultants are typically people who knows business process as well as sap functionality in one of the areas, eg : MM, SD, FICO...etc. They will be the one who design the business process required for a particular client. THese people will also do some settings (call configuration in SAP) to for a particular client. Good functional consultants are the ones with deep business knowledge in some industries and able to advice the client what is the best practice.

If the client requirement cannot be done using configuration settings, then this is when ABAP comes in. ABAP consultants will write codes using ABAP language to create either new programs or enhancement to SAP.

Hope the brief explaination helps. There is a lot more ...to this.
maverickkidf14
post Oct 5 2011, 11:37 PM

21 posts

if u got chance to join SAP, go for it...market is still there...a lot of big company using sap..now many open in malaysia...
chezzball
post Oct 6 2011, 12:39 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(maverickkidf14 @ Oct 5 2011, 11:37 PM)
if u got chance to join SAP, go for it...market is still there...a lot of big company using sap..now many open in malaysia...
if u got chance to be doctor, go for it...market is still there...a lot of human need doctor..now many open in malaysia...
maverickkidf14
post Oct 6 2011, 12:15 PM

21 posts

haha...then do not hesitate to join HCL as a doctor..
goolie
post Dec 19 2012, 08:53 AM

795 posts

Hey, recently i received a call from HCL-Axon regarding the IT jobs. Has anybody worked there b4? How's the working environment like? May i know more details about the company benefits and compensation? culture?
k town shit
post Jul 3 2017, 02:09 PM

771 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Oct 4 2011, 12:35 AM)
I got an invitation for SAP ABAP. Is that a good opportunity? can give comment? thanks
DU 2015
post Aug 16 2017, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(k town shit @ Jul 3 2017, 02:09 PM)
I got an invitation for SAP ABAP. Is that a good opportunity? can give comment? thanks
Hi Ktown, are you going to that interview? last saturday right? 12th August 2017. got any news?
static_365
post Apr 19 2019, 04:03 PM

265 posts

Sorry to bump this thread.

I receive an offer from HCL Tech for IT Support Engineer Position.

How is the working environment there and the salary?

Can anyone share ?
spiderman@lyn
post Dec 29 2020, 10:38 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(static_365 @ Apr 19 2019, 04:03 PM)
Sorry to bump this thread.

I receive an offer from HCL Tech for IT Support Engineer Position.

How is the working environment there and the salary?

Can anyone share ?
I assume you have accepted the offer and joined them, so can you share the experience and packages ?

0.0191sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:37 AM