Wifi Monitor Software, Can i monitor/ see other user ?

TSbeyond_99
post Jan 27 2009, 09:16 PM, updated 17y ago

1,035 posts

As topic above, is there any software that i can use to monitor other users in same network?
I wan to know their brandwidth so that I can stop downloading if they are browsing some webs.
TSbeyond_99
post Jan 30 2009, 03:26 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jan 29 2009, 08:00 PM)
huh?  i dun understand? download if they are browsing  some webs?
I mean I will not download if they wan to browsing .
P2p download often cause internet hang n affect web browsing.

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jan 29 2009, 08:04 PM)
Reroute everything into your pc, and use some QoS software that enables you to view live traffic as well.
Is there other way, so the oher users can do it as well?
TSbeyond_99
post Feb 1 2009, 06:25 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(persona68 @ Jan 31 2009, 02:25 PM)
never heard off...
Dose not mean it do not exist.

QUOTE(sanjayws @ Jan 31 2009, 03:22 PM)
You need complex network devices for such things. I suggest go talk to your house mates. If you're real kiasu, then try products like Untangle, PFSense or Smoothwall all free and very good quality software. These software can tell you all what not and limit usage or control certain traffic like Torrent.
This is how your connection is today
You

Friend 1  -----> Your modem/firewall ----> Internet

Friend 2
When you implement a mediator device as mentioned above, this is how it will look
You

Friend 1 -----> [Security device] -----> Modem/Firewall -----> Internet

Friend 2

This security device can be an old PC with 2 network cards minimum.

You can setup some of these software to be transparent, i.e. inline without modifying anything on the configuration that you have now.

Complex solution to a simple problem,..ya i know..welcome to world of Technology

Sanjay
Sounds too complex n troublesome to me.

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Feb 1 2009, 01:30 PM)
Just QoS him to a certain bandwidth. Don't bother.
Yea since he is so seflish n stubborn.

Btw, can software like sniffing monitor the brandwith?

0.0160sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:32 PM