Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V2 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

venicelim
post May 12 2009, 10:08 PM

330 posts

can anyone tell me of where to register for 33th anniversary extended warranty?
venicelim
post Aug 4 2009, 04:03 PM

330 posts

hello, all the LX3 owners there,
I hv a ques here
my bf is using the LX3 black color. & I would like to buy some gadgets for him.

for beginner, which gadget is needed the most?
fisheye? tele? wide lens? UV filter? external flash? diffuser?
which one is needed most and which one should i buy for him?

& u guys pls provvide me advice, together with the recommended place of where i can get the gadget or any forumers u recommend for me to buy the gadget from..

tkz

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 4 2009, 04:04 PM
venicelim
post Aug 4 2009, 08:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(reader @ Aug 4 2009, 07:27 PM)
wow! such a sweet gf  tongue.gif

Maybe a nice bag for his 2nd gf (the LX3), the leather one? (Rm200-300) or an external flash ($$$ though  rclxub.gif ) , or Adaptor + Lens (RM160++ up)

Imo, it's all up to what is he taking or what he likes to take.  As for me, I'll put the flash as priority, and lens wise, Tele first, coz LX3 24mm is wide enough for "normal"/casual shooter.  I feel that LX3 zoom is a bit short and I will like to try the Tele + the Wide 2.0 Aperture to see what's the outcome.

Anyway, it's all very personal.  And I am going to get all (Adaptor + Tele + Wide + CPL + UV) except the fish eye (doesn't suit me yet - maybe one day soon it will  icon_rolleyes.gif  )  unsure.gif  I'm Shopping around now.  unsure.gif  Still looking for a good flash that fit within my budget.

Just do a search, there're a few helpful and reliable seller here in this forum.

whistling.gif  *pandabase*  whistling.gif
a leather bag?
u mean the customised for LX3 leather bag? i dun tink he needs it..cz if i buy these extra lenses for him, i dun tink the leather bag can fit all those gadgets inside.

btw, wat is CPL?wat is it for?
& also wat is the UV for?
sorry tat i am a noob here..

am now doing research and only get to know all these gadgets..cz wanna giv him some surprise..so really need advice and tips from u guys.

so, is the external flash important? but isnt there are got intergrated flash ard? & the adapter got many size is it?
venicelim
post Aug 5 2009, 08:43 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(ocyrus @ Aug 5 2009, 01:31 PM)
Yay, I am now a proud owner of a black LX3! Thanks a lot to tycheah_7 for providing me with the shop info. Rm1599 for camera + 4GB SDHC + casing, too bad they've run out of the 'cheap' tripods sad.gif
wat type of casing u get?
is it the soft pouch type or hard leather casing?
venicelim
post Aug 8 2009, 09:21 AM

330 posts

guys, is there any manual focus lens for LX3? which can adjust the lens zoom distance?
venicelim
post Aug 9 2009, 02:33 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Aug 9 2009, 01:43 AM)
u mean LX3 auto adjust those settings ????
my PL filter did rotate...LOL
wat is PL filter?
and wat is it for?
sorry..might b a noob question
venicelim
post Aug 9 2009, 12:48 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Aug 9 2009, 08:42 AM)
polarizing filter (PL) main function is to limit the reflection of non-metal surface
usually PL come wif UV filter as well ... to filter out haze ...some claim can make the sky to be more blue
of coz cheap PL/CircularPL and expensive PL/CPL have alot of difference in quality of pictures .......

if i m not mistaken...PL dun do much if ther is no Sunlight, correct me if i m wrong
examples tat i took (juz by rotating the PL) :

is that means that PL filter does has UV filter function as well?
so if i buy PL filter, then i dun need to buy UV filter ard?

correct me if i am wrong.tkz

Added on August 9, 2009, 12:51 pm
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Aug 7 2009, 06:01 PM)
Me thinks they wont kill LX line easily, GF-1 actually a different breed of beast. with the price around 2k++ its a clear indication its different. LX-4 Might be out late due to its steady demands.
Got mine from Pandabase and if its the same it should be able to rotate too.
is the Pandabase one good enough?
and do u still use UV filter? or just the PL will do?

and how does it different with Hoya?

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 9 2009, 12:51 PM
venicelim
post Aug 10 2009, 04:34 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(nTHtoSEy @ Aug 9 2009, 09:18 AM)
i think hoya's pro1d cpl filter is more than enough. panasonic's accesories are overpriced.
hoya pro1D cpl?
and how does it different with Hoya HMC UV (N) and Heliopan and B+W.
so many choices, i dunno how to chose..

can anyone help? advice needed.
venicelim
post Aug 10 2009, 09:50 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Aug 10 2009, 08:41 PM)
some beginner's food shots tongue.gif

whre is the place? in KL?
seems so nice ler?
introduce the place pls..next time bring my fren there..

venicelim
post Aug 11 2009, 06:16 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Aug 11 2009, 05:00 PM)
i'm not sure bout u guys but i find the screen quality for the LX-3 is somewhat similar to the iphone's screen already and i dun think it is that easy for the screen to get scratched.
i'm leaving mine naked tongue.gif

@hongraphics
bbq plaza is always yum yum biggrin.gif

@venice
its BBQ Plaza, one utama

@laichong
i might be getting a wide angle lense from u soon tongue.gif
hey, is tele lens more important or wide lens more useful?
which one more in used for u guys?
cz i cant decide which one should i buy first, cz if i buy both together, it will kill my pocket!

advice needed!!!

@laichong
i might be getting the pandabase adapter + UV kits and lenses from u soon. just that i havent decide either i should buy tele lens first or wide lens first. cz i cant afford both! but i will surely buy from u in this 6th bulk. Dun close the bulk without me yea! i have been waiting for ur 6th bulk to open.
venicelim
post Aug 11 2009, 09:29 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Aug 11 2009, 08:52 PM)
venice,
i suggest u to get the adapters first and try it out whether u like the bulkiness or not
the extra adapter will add more bulk to the cam and this does not include the tele or wide angle lense yet.

try to get use to the bulkiness before getting other addons smile.gif
thats my 2 cents.
the bulkiness will definitely fine to me.

but i take any type of photography. such as panaromic, events, landscape, portrait..not specific on any type. tat's why i am very hard to decide.

so looking for u guys advice..

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 11 2009, 09:30 PM
venicelim
post Aug 11 2009, 10:17 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Aug 11 2009, 09:55 PM)
i own a adapter, telelens and PL n UV filter , lens hood
i have the adapter and UV filter fixed ( i dun take them out ...since i m using lowepro 200aw bag )
most of the time juz the adapter + UV  hmm.gif
under the sun .. i change to PL lo ( plan to get hoya pro1D ... hopefully can perform better )

telelens ... seldom use .... onli tried once in stadium or some scenery pic ( coz hav to maintain at 2.0x or 2.5x zoom )

widelens ( dun plan to own 1 ... coz LX3 24mm, if ppl fill up the space ...most left n most right person will get 'grow' in size )....
mayb i dun like the edge to get distorted la ....hahahaha  sweat.gif

currently looking for a flash gun ..... laichong seems to plan to bring in i guess... brows.gif
how about fisheye lens? is it getting more popular now?
btw,is there any thread on fisheye lens? i wanna see some samples..
cz fisheye lens is actully cost double then the tele / wide lens

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Aug 11 2009, 09:57 PM)
yeah. hand really itchy for flash gun now. Really hope laichong can bring good news. rclxm9.gif
Uzumaki, i affraid u didnt notice this, a msg from laichong this afternoon

QUOTE(laichong @ Aug 11 2009, 05:14 PM)
BBQ plaza is always a good place to have good food, their sauce can makes u non-stop eating rice... laugh.gif

Hanxz,
do drop by the bulk order thread, 6th bulk is now open...

Uzumaki NaruTo,
just got a reply from supplier, it seems that Falcon Eye HK is taking a straight policy on their reseller program and dont think they will entertain online trading as the volume is small. so, i guess we'll need to wait reply from Tumax.
sounds quite disappointing..am looking forward for flash gun too..
venicelim
post Aug 11 2009, 10:29 PM

330 posts

@nomoredfox ,

currently wat PL do u use?
Kenko? Hoya? which brand? does it has glare occured?
venicelim
post Aug 11 2009, 10:51 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Aug 11 2009, 10:33 PM)
yeah, i've ym-ed with him on this. But theres tumax the step sister of falcon. As long as it works lol. If not i'll stuck with mecablitz flash. Hoping by Hari Raya already got a flash gun.
see this
http://www.digitaltoyshop.com/prodtype.asp...c_Lumix_DMC-LX3
there's two type of flash gun there..but i duno which brand it is ..

Added on August 11, 2009, 11:10 pmguys..1 question here,
can i do the kinda fisheye effect using Photoshop or other software??

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 11 2009, 11:10 PM
venicelim
post Aug 12 2009, 12:39 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Aug 12 2009, 12:35 PM)
i dun think panasonic bring its flash during fair.....
wow..dun mention bout the pANASONIC flash gun..
it will surely cost u a lot $$$$$$$$
venicelim
post Aug 13 2009, 03:36 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(nTHtoSEy @ Aug 13 2009, 09:50 AM)
GH1 seems pretty expensive...lol..but the output is quite impressive..
output? u hav any sample pic?

Added on August 13, 2009, 3:37 pm
QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Aug 13 2009, 12:26 PM)
i heard it cost about 6k ... true ?
OMG!
6k..
are u kidding me?
it is very expensiv ler!!
expensiv than a dslr

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 13 2009, 03:37 PM
venicelim
post Aug 15 2009, 12:01 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(bboyrice @ Aug 14 2009, 11:08 AM)
hey all,
i have a blog set up for my fisheye pictures...
all taken with LX-3 as well..
do drop by and have a look.. =)
http://bboyrice.tumblr.com/

*pssss... can someone teach me how to upload picture to LYN.. >.<*
u can use the LYN host as well.
easier..
venicelim
post Aug 15 2009, 10:51 AM

330 posts

hey, when using fisheye lenses to take photo, how to deal with the black circular frame? i mean just leave it ther in the picture? or how to cancel it out?
venicelim
post Aug 16 2009, 12:34 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 16 2009, 07:14 AM)
I really miss the power of lx3... I hate myself so much that I damaged it...
wat happen o?

0.0418sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:51 PM