2G/3G/3GS iPhone Case Discussion Thread v2, Casings-Battery Pack-Screen Protector

johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 12:00 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(andyoba @ Jul 29 2009, 08:34 AM)
anyone have any experience with the Switcheasy Rebel Serpent? rated highly on iLounge and other review sites. i hear that they sell it in Machines, is that true? i prefer something that gives more protection especially around the chrome edges, the SGP still leaves the chrome bits exposed rite?
Yea, Machines carry them, but it seems that they are running low in stock, probably due to the upcoming iPhone 3GS craze? I resorted to buying from Jacquei also - highly recommended for good price and fast delivery.

MacCity stocks a lot of them as well, but I am very reluctant to spend money on them as the sales assistants are very bad mannered, and the prices are about RM10 more expensive than Machines,
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 12:13 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 29 2009, 12:06 PM)
Hey guys, I will be owning a iphone for the first time this saturday, just wondering what type of casing should i buy, and what is the price of it. ANy other accessories i should be buying too? anti-scratch transparent film? ANy suggestions?
For me, I am planning for the following:

1. SwitchEasy RebelCelestial - got it already
2. Apple Universal Dock - so I can drop in and charge while the phone is still inside the case
3. Griffin PowerJolt for iPhone - in car charger, and it comes with additional ipod cable so I can bring that one on me - it's great value coz bundled

Don't plan to use screen protector, coz the iPhone has a glass screen and very hard to scratch those. CNet had a video when the iPhone was first launched and they put keys and coins into a bag with iPhone and rubbed and shook them - without scratch. I had a Motorola SLVR which uses glass screen, dropped the phone so many times and the screen has zero scratch. Can't say the same for the body though tongue.gif
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 01:15 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 12:33 PM)
@johnliew,
Er.. I suggest U don't try dropping ur i3GS.  A friend of mine accidentally dropped his i3G - and ur absolutely right, the screen didn't get scratched, it just cracked! sad.gif
Thanks for the heads up smile.gif IMHO, even with a thin screen protector, if you dropped it hard enough the screen protector can't really help with shattered glass anyway. That's why I chose Rebel cases, it's the only one that I can find with sufficient drop protection on the corners.
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 08:28 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ndri11 @ Jul 29 2009, 03:01 PM)
bro where did you get griffin powerjolt and howmuch?? tq
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 03:09 PM)
@ndri11,
I got my Griffin PowerJolt during the Mac Discovery Week.  It was going for RM99 and I believe the normal retail price is about RM129 or something.  It's available at Machines.
tinkerbel's right, its RM129 at Machines, darn it, I missed the Mac Discovery Week tongue.gif I have not gotten it coz black color is out of stock.
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 08:36 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 08:33 PM)
@johnliew,
Are U saying this Griffin PowerJolt thing comes in different colours *shrugs*  I sure wasn't aware but mine's Black anyways.  I figured it's cheaper getting this one than the one I set eyes on (don't remember what that's called but that comes with a dock and all) and is price about RM399, close to RM400.
Just two colors, B&W smile.gif Check it out http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/powerjoltiphone
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 09:51 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(johnliew @ Jul 29 2009, 12:13 PM)
For me, I am planning for the following:

1. SwitchEasy RebelCelestial - got it already
2. Apple Universal Dock - so I can drop in and charge while the phone is still inside the case
3. Griffin PowerJolt for iPhone - in car charger, and it comes with additional ipod cable so I can bring that one on me - it's great value coz bundled

Don't plan to use screen protector, coz the iPhone has a glass screen and very hard to scratch those. CNet had a video when the iPhone was first launched and they put keys and coins into a bag with iPhone and rubbed and shook them - without scratch. I had a Motorola SLVR which uses glass screen, dropped the phone so many times and the screen has zero scratch. Can't say the same for the body though tongue.gif
Forgot about one more item - possible two tongue.gif

4. Shure Music Phone Adapter - matches my current SE115
5. (possible) Motorola T505 car handfree kit (http://direct.motorola.com/hellomoto/t505/)

Added on July 29, 2009, 9:53 pmMy RebelCelestial is here too!Attached Image

This post has been edited by johnliew: Jul 29 2009, 10:00 PM
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 10:09 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jul 29 2009, 10:01 PM)
my flatmate's 3G S has suffered the screen casualty already.

remember, the screen is scratch resistant, but not scratch proof
Can elaborate the actual condition it happened?

For rest, check this PCWorld scratch test => http://www.pcworld.com/article/157529/the_...ress_tests.html

I love it when the reviewer says "if you buy an iPhone, you wouldn't need to cover it up like a baby..." muahhahaha

This post has been edited by johnliew: Jul 29 2009, 10:14 PM
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 10:26 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(jfoong @ Jul 29 2009, 10:16 PM)
Guys...just wondering...if you're staying in Penang, where do you normally go shop for iPod accessories? I always have the feeling that only KL has most of the stuffs.

I'm getting my phone soon, but made no preparation in the "follow-ups" yet. And just by browsing through some of the recommendations, seems like there's quite a number of casing choices to look at =/ Personally I would like those that could protect, yet maintain the original outlook as much as possible (I like the phone the way it is and doesn't like casing to cover them up).
You could go with "skins", like Best Skin Ever or Zagg for scratch protection. If you are looking for a case, Griffin Reveal could be a good choice but it's suffering from global shortage as of now.
johnliew
post Jul 29 2009, 11:17 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jul 29 2009, 10:47 PM)
Guys know where else can get iSkin in any of the retail outlet stores?
I saw one last unit at Machines @ 1U. You might try to call up each Machines branch to check availability.

Alternatively you can always order from someone at LYN, cheaper and faster and more selection.
johnliew
post Jul 30 2009, 12:00 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 11:54 PM)
@jackhammer84,
Act.. can I ask - Y do U need a mount?! What about just leaving it on the dashboard; cannot meh?! Unless of course U intend to us the GPS on it tongue.gif
If that's the case then maybe can consider waiting for the mount for iPhone from TomTom. Before you guys shoot me, I know that TomTom does not have Malaysian maps. (i know coz i am Garmin/MFM fan). But if the price is right, it does come with a better GPS chip and speakers inside the mount (hopefully other iPhone apps can use that GPS) and TomTom mounts are usually fantasticaly reliable.

But if price is an issue, you can go to Carrefour and look for a generic one at about RM15. Actually a lot of people uses that, including my boss who drives a C class and using a Nokia E71 smile.gif

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by johnliew: Jul 30 2009, 12:01 AM
johnliew
post Jul 30 2009, 09:20 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 30 2009, 12:17 AM)
@johnliew:
those selling for 15 bucks at Carrefour, is it similar to this? (first one. exactly the same as the one selling at LYP)
Yup, exactly the same as Item 1. On another note, the Item 3 looks pretty decent... Make me want to buy pulak..hahahahah
johnliew
post Jul 31 2009, 12:11 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(lamdogkc @ Jul 30 2009, 11:37 PM)
anybody know where can i get this in m'sia?

[attachmentid=1110181]
iPhone 3G / 3GS Horizontal Hipster

or this
[attachmentid=1110202]
Can't help you with holsters as I am no big fan but as for form fitting leather pouch I got an alternative for you => http://www.senacases.com/Brands/iPhone-3G-...LTRA-SLIM-POUCH

I was using the Q9h version and the quality is really good. And I remember the shipping cost is a flat USD9.90 which is very reasonable.

Alternatively, I have seen ppl here recommending this as well http://www.iconic.co.nz/index.php?main_pag...products_id=343

Looks pretty sweet if you ask me smile.gif

This post has been edited by johnliew: Jul 31 2009, 12:29 AM
johnliew
post Jul 31 2009, 10:58 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 31 2009, 10:07 PM)
Hi people...

I just got back from PC Fair and EpiCentre's got a rather big booth at Ballroom 2.  There's a huge display of i3G/i3GS accessories; on top of a 10% discount for them.  Also, someone mentioned the Griffin PowerJolt - it was RM79 when I saw it [damn... and I paid RM99 for mine!]
Haha - that was probably me - I wanted PowerJolt for iPhone, but they only had PowerJolt SE. The formal is a USB car charger with detachable ipod dock cable and the latter is a soldered on ipod dock cable. And the promoters had no idea how to differentiate.

QUOTE(gmail @ Jul 31 2009, 10:44 PM)
did u see any powersupport air jacket going on sale at epicentre's booth??
Nope, pretty sure not present as I was looking for that one too. I heard someone got it from Machines at Gardens/MidValley from another thread.

Added on July 31, 2009, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 31 2009, 10:21 PM)
@teikwing,
I think so got lah.  If U want the PowerJolt, PM me - will get it for U since U been such a great help on the forum biggrin.gif

There was also a lot of Capsule/Rebel or whatchamacallit...  Even the Mophie Juice Air is available there so for those who wants to feel it or look at it, can head over to Epicentre @ Ballroom 2 (damn I'm begining to sound like their salesperson!) - except don't buy from them cause it's RM339 [go get it from Jacquie]
I second that. The Rebels were going at RM139, siao. I got mine from Jacquei for lots less!

This post has been edited by johnliew: Jul 31 2009, 11:00 PM
johnliew
post Aug 3 2009, 10:33 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(derekwg @ Aug 2 2009, 10:41 PM)
Hi Guys,I really having difficulties in buying case for my 3GS.I had bad experience with RebelCelestial for my previous 3G.It did provide the best protection but it scratched my chrome part....I actually having my 3GS naked now....
Ouch, I just got myself a RebelCelestial too! Do you mind sharing why would it scratch the chrome part, since the part that touches the chrome part is silicone? Thanks...
johnliew
post Dec 2 2009, 12:26 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 1 2009, 04:35 PM)
Anyone interested in getting a iSkin Solo Red Color?
It has a cool design.
Got lubang? Or selling yours?
johnliew
post Dec 26 2009, 10:52 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(lactose_operon @ Dec 26 2009, 06:12 PM)
syNzoR, i dun tink any of local shops in msia carry incase slider... sad.gif

nway, anybody got idea whether tis Speck SeeThru for i3g is avaiable locally?
Speck SeeThru
TIA biggrin.gif
My colleague spotted the SeeThru at EpiCenter @ Berjaya Time Square. You can try it out.

BTW I ended up replacing my Capsule Rebel with a much more solid and expensive feeling (although same price) case, the Speck CandyShell. Some people complained about the feel of the physical buttons after covered but I have none issue what so ever.
johnliew
post Dec 26 2009, 11:34 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(lactose_operon @ Dec 26 2009, 11:08 PM)
kewl...thx bro. nway, the SeeThru is exactly the same built as Candyshell rite? juz tat the SeeThru r invisible instead of solid colors...
Well almost true - the SeeThru is a hard/gel case, but CandyShell actually has 2 layers, one hard(er) gel like and the inside is soft (almost satin like) silicon.

The SeeThru also have the silicon part, but its only at the edge, where the CandyShell's soft layer is throughout. You can check them out both at Epicenter. Don't try Machines, they have stopped carrying Speck products.
johnliew
post Dec 28 2009, 10:42 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ Dec 28 2009, 01:54 AM)
Any Case That Protect Chrome And Not Expensive?
Don't Want Silicon Case.
Do you mean you want a hard polycarbonite case? I think most of the Griffin Elan cases covers the chrome part. What budget are u looking at?
johnliew
post Dec 28 2009, 12:38 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ Dec 28 2009, 11:44 AM)
Rm100 < If can
Um that's gonna be a tough one. It would either have to be a generic brand, or you can try SwitchEasy Vulcan - but one of the youtube reviews mentioned that the cutout maybe out of place. Your millage may vary.

0.0297sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:04 AM