2G/3G/3GS iPhone Case Discussion Thread v2, Casings-Battery Pack-Screen Protector

jfoong
post Jul 29 2009, 10:16 PM

25 posts

Guys...just wondering...if you're staying in Penang, where do you normally go shop for iPod accessories? I always have the feeling that only KL has most of the stuffs.

I'm getting my phone soon, but made no preparation in the "follow-ups" yet. And just by browsing through some of the recommendations, seems like there's quite a number of casing choices to look at =/ Personally I would like those that could protect, yet maintain the original outlook as much as possible (I like the phone the way it is and doesn't like casing to cover them up).
jfoong
post Jul 29 2009, 11:09 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(johnliew @ Jul 29 2009, 10:26 PM)
You could go with "skins", like Best Skin Ever or Zagg for scratch protection. If you are looking for a case, Griffin Reveal could be a good choice but it's suffering from global shortage as of now.
Hey, thanks for that suggestion!

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Jul 29 2009, 10:37 PM)
i got the Bodyguardz (link), not the iShield smile.gif

i read from various reviews and user inputs from some forums that the Bodyguardz doesn't suffer the yellowish effect that the iShield has. oh well, i just bought it liao, so fingers crossed i hope these reviews are true, haha tongue.gif
And thanks for that link, very useful for me.

Of those three - FullBodyFilms' Protection Pack, BodyGuardz and Zagg's Full Body InvisibleShield, which one would you guys strongly go for?

Is iShield the same as the InvisibleShield above? Cuz I wouldnt want one that turns yellowish on me...

And yeah, one question, hopefully not silly (or repeated too often). If we have this iSkin applied, we don't have to stick on any of those screen protectors anymore...right?

This post has been edited by jfoong: Jul 29 2009, 11:10 PM
jfoong
post Jul 30 2009, 09:40 AM

25 posts

Good morning, peeps.

I browsed the first page for the shields and it seems like the SGP shield looks realllyyyy promising. Is everyone satisfied with it so far (for those who are using it)? I'm just curious if it's gonna feel plastic-ky after putting it on cuz I'm trying to get some protection that could give me the original feel as much as possible, hehe...

I'm gonna discount iShield from my list of choices since it has yellowing effect.
jfoong
post Jul 30 2009, 03:59 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 30 2009, 03:37 PM)
1. use it nakedly and protects it with just a cloth pouch. no bulk but zero protection.
1. apply a skin which doesn't add any bulk, protects from scratches but not drops. (or use it with a pouch)
2. get a hard case (Griffin Clarifi, iClear, SE Rebel, CapsuleNeo), which adds bulk but protects the whole phone from scratches and drops.
3. get a silicone case. less bulk, protects from scratches but not major drops.
4. resort to stick-to-the-back cases (SGP Ultra Thin etc.), minimum bulk, protects the back but not the chrome bezel against dents/scratches.
Ahhh, thanks for this. Very useful for me to make some decision, mm...

I'm thinking about either skins or hard case. Dont like additional bulk but the latter seems to be tiny bit better since it protects more. Dilemma...need to see the physical unit with those thingies on in order to decide, really.

Btw, the cases they have here's quite cool. I'm looking specially at the SGP Ultra Thin High Gloss Plus (extra, extra, lol). Anyone using it?
jfoong
post Jul 31 2009, 09:56 AM

25 posts

Good morning.

Do you guys apply the skins/screen protectors/casing/etc. yourself when you got them or you take it to someone to do it for you?

Btw, anyone know if SGP case is available in Penang? I need to have a feel of it before deciding to get a case or a skin instead.

Thanks!
jfoong
post Jul 31 2009, 04:02 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Jul 31 2009, 11:52 AM)
Attempting to apply my Bodyguardz tonight myself. I expect it's gonna be hell to put it on so i'm expecting to put aside 1 hour or so just for this.

Sellers like twinkles, who sells SGP Shield, offers installation services too apparently.
Yeah, can't wait to see the outcome. Remember the pics.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 31 2009, 11:57 AM)
@jfoong,
U can get the shop to install the screen protector + skins for U if U like but it's really ur call biggrin.gif  No extra surcharge for screen protectors.  I had a fellow forummer install my iShield for me and he did a superfabulous job !
Yup, definitely will get the shop people to do it if I could get those skins from Penang. Wouldnt want to risk anything at all cuz I'm not exactly a very talented person at this, lol...
jfoong
post Aug 3 2009, 02:57 AM

25 posts

Just wondering, there's a thread that sells iPhone's accessories by derrickmoo and the casings in there are very cheap. Any reason why those aren't really a preference with most of us in here? Somehow I think it has to do with the quality or the originality?

By the way, the socks are so colourful...feel like getting a pack for the heck of it, hehe...but don't think they are from Apple itself, aren't they? Hope my questions are appropriate, otherwise, please do the necessary, thanks.
jfoong
post Aug 3 2009, 01:20 PM

25 posts

I'm thinking to get SGP ultra thin high gloss skin/the casing. Where can I buy it in Penang or if that's not possible, who should I be looking for here?
I hope I don't have to install it myself cuz I know I'm gonna make a mess out of it sad.gif Thanks ahead.
jfoong
post Aug 3 2009, 02:32 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Aug 3 2009, 02:21 PM)
@jfoong:
i don't think i've seen SGP shield sold elsewhere except here in LYN. a fellow seller do offer installation service but he's located in KL.
Hi, teikwing. May I know who the seller is? Maybe I will have to do the installation thingy myself, no choice.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by jfoong: Aug 3 2009, 02:33 PM
jfoong
post Aug 5 2009, 04:15 PM

25 posts

You know, I did something silly blush.gif I bought SGP ultra thin high gloss casing (waiting for delivery) and it comes with Steinheil Crystal and Anti-Fingerprint screen protectors.

I just realised that these two are different types and we actually choose only one to use sleep.gif (I thought we use them together, yikes!)

I'm just wondering.........which one would you guys pick or do you know of which one's the better overall? Really appreciate some opinions here. By the way, I read somewhere that screen protectors have to be static-cling so it doesn't spoil the oleophobic screen we have on our phone when we remove them. So, do most of those that you have has this trait?
jfoong
post Aug 6 2009, 03:05 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(bluesky87 @ Aug 6 2009, 02:07 AM)
I actually did the exactly same mistake as you luckily the TS clarify with me on that. Would someone kindly give some review between this two type please? Pros and cons are much appreciated.
So good to hear that you got clarification on it. By the way, I'm thinking to choose the Anti-Fingerprint over the Crystal...my logic is, we do need to always use our fingers to run through our screen...crystal clear won't do anything if we have smudges on it, hehe...but still deciding...like you, I need to know if there's any up or down to either types.

Hi, mai-K

Did you post something? Cuz my side's showing a blank space...

0.0403sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:08 AM