Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

kayx
post Jun 11 2009, 10:23 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 11 2009, 12:09 AM)
hi guys, need to ask a bit of help. my gf's N79 got a new message icon blinking at the top, but there's no msg in the inbox. any idea how to remove it? thx
maybe the SMS on the SIMCARD is full?

Added on June 11, 2009, 10:30 am
QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ Jun 11 2009, 08:17 AM)
sorry want to ask...why my phone cant seem to connect to internet?when i browse website it said no gateway reply?hrm
Does it happen to all websites that you are browsing?
Which browser are you using? Or this happen to other applications that uses the internet

are you sure of the below?
- correct APN is used?
- APN settings are correct
- GPRS/3G activated?
make sure the settings are correct?

This post has been edited by kayx: Jun 11 2009, 10:30 AM
kayx
post Jun 20 2009, 12:13 AM

112 posts

the last 2 days' i've been shooting a lot of pictures with my N79. overall it give very good picture quality. but there's a few shots where the flash don't synch with the image capture. the flash fires a bit slower, resulting in my pictures got overexpose near the corner where the flash is.. so sad
kayx
post Jul 17 2009, 11:17 AM

112 posts

juz upgraded. had a scare just now coz didn't go smoothly had to retry twice.
but everything ok. don't look like any improvement to the phones, didn't notice any new icon maybe because i had my themes on, and installed quite a number of application like ovi store earlier.

feels a litttttlle slow though, just a little. maybe its psychological
kayx
post Jul 27 2009, 02:22 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 26 2009, 02:33 PM)
Guys i just bought N79 last week...

Anybody can guide me how to install Garmin TX mobile?
I've downloaded Version 5, and it a program which copies some files to the SD card (no idea why it cant detect the card on the phone so i had to use MSPD with card reader and copied files there)...Where should i transfer the files from MSPD into the M2 card?
And i have no idea how to run the application  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Btw i got OVI Suite too, wats the difference with PC Suite?
I dont understand how to use it anyway  sweat.gif
to install Garmin mobile ONLY... to install only ah...
1. connect usb cable - select USB disk mode (not pc suite mode)
2. click the installer for ur garmin on ur pc.. let it run, when it detect your card on ur phone, select the drive that points to it..
3. install and finish - done
4. unplug usb cable, your phone will return to normal and auto-start the garmin on ur phone (coz it detects it)
5. repeat the same for support files (voice nav, etc)

i've heard about your problem before, but my friend (nokia e71) don't know how to fix it and he notice it clashed with google maps, so he formatted his phone and everything ok liao.

pc suite - normal sync software lor
ovi suite - more feature packed sync software

i haven't tried to sync n79 with pc suite before, normally i install ovi suite, and used the PC Sync software from there to manage my PIM

Added on July 27, 2009, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 26 2009, 03:11 PM)
Oh btw, how do i use the navi wheel?

i dont understand how to use it.
navi wheel is actually a touch sensor..
if you see ur phone's middle button, surrounded by the navigation "pad" or "buttons", you can actually, move your finger around it.. and it will scroll through your menu like a wheel.. see below..

---
---

Added on July 27, 2009, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jul 26 2009, 09:00 AM)
Anyone wanna exchange the back cover with me......I have black, grey and blue...? I m looking for red?? Thanks!

Added on July 26, 2009, 9:40 amHi all,

My wife just got herself a N79.
It comes with Nokia Ovi Suite.

1. If she want to use the normal Nokia NSeries PC Suite to synchronise her N79 to microsoft outlook, copy files etc, can or not??

2. Or for N79, must use only Nokia Ovi Suite ?

Help pls.
you can try to connect her phone to the latest pc suite (just to make sure it has the latest drivers) and see if it works..
if cannot, then you install ovi suite, but choose only the software you want, for synching, ovi suite calls it "Pc sync"

This post has been edited by kayx: Jul 27 2009, 02:29 PM
kayx
post Jul 28 2009, 10:40 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 28 2009, 10:33 AM)
still dont understand how to control it...
in all honesty.... it's useless tongue.gif
the only time i use it is to scroll through the menus.. which i don't do often smile.gif
kayx
post Jul 28 2009, 03:40 PM

112 posts

just earlier today.. i tried to select a video with the navi-wheel.. it took me a few tries.. and it was very frustrating!
kayx
post Jul 31 2009, 12:19 PM

112 posts

mine was ok.. i spent 2 days running a lot of programs in the background at the same time, really stressing the phone.. using 3G some more..

- tweets60
- web surfing (open 4 windows
- music player
- seven email
- messaging (for inbox, sms, email)
- log
- handy shell
- handy taskman
- msn messenger

>2 hours of solid web surfing, email, chatting, listening to music, nothing crashes or slowdown on the phone.. excellent experience!
battery only used 1/3 during this time..

wish i had a n97 though because of the bigger screen and better qwerty keypad, coz a lot of viewing and typing.. hahaha

This post has been edited by kayx: Jul 31 2009, 12:20 PM
kayx
post Aug 1 2009, 09:11 AM

112 posts

n85 is slower than n79.. tested..
if money no issue, i would go for n86 or n97
also, new phone released E52
kayx
post Aug 2 2009, 12:04 AM

112 posts

juz want to ask you guys.. what do u think is a good price for a second hand original n79 is worth? if used for 2-3 months?
kayx
post Aug 3 2009, 01:11 AM

112 posts

i'm like the n97 very much.. thinking of selling my n79 to upgrade.. but then let me do some calculation first for my budget smile.gif

will let you know if i'm going to sell.. it's grey by the way.. with mocha, red and white xpress on cover..
kayx
post Aug 5 2009, 12:55 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 4 2009, 02:24 PM)
i wanna ask that why u guys choose n79 over n85?
i wud choose n79, because its much faster.
not impressed with n85 although it has amoled and review say better camera quality.
price is higher, but feature the same, and slower than n79...
but n86.. now thats a different story.. smile.gif
kayx
post Aug 5 2009, 10:28 AM

112 posts

not sure if using the same cpu.. forgot and lazy to check.. but there is a real life difference when you use both n79 and n85.. can feel that n85 is much slower and lag than n79
kayx
post Aug 6 2009, 10:25 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(myching @ Aug 6 2009, 04:03 PM)
Hi guys (and girls)

I'm actually looking into getting a N79 to replace w810i (about time I joined the Nokia club smile.gif )

However, my mom told me (she called up this seller she frequents) that from what she was told - out of 10 N79 (ori) owners, 8 complained that it hung easily. (Please don't ask me how accurate the statistics are! >.<)

Since you guys are all owners of N79s.. I figured that you guys would know much better. Advise please? Much appreciated!
forumers here will tell you otherwise, 8/10 have no problem.. right guys?
i don't really trust handphone shop sellers when it comes to smartphones, i'm not generalizing but not many of them knows how to squeeze or make the most out of symbian smartphones, so your mom may be dealing with one.. OR.. your mom should start to avoid the seller coz he sells a lot of problematic handphones! smile.gif

kayx
post Aug 8 2009, 11:30 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(myching @ Aug 7 2009, 09:30 AM)
Thanks, I think you all raised really good points there.. In fact, yea he recommended N82 and XM5800 >.<

Alrite, hoping to get my first brand new Nokia model soon! Lols. Now to decide on where I should buy it  rclxub.gif
sometimes the recommend u certain model.. coz they want to clear stock.. like n82 smile.gif
kayx
post Aug 12 2009, 06:06 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(hcfoo @ Aug 12 2009, 05:32 PM)
I'm a new user... been using for about 3 weeks now. So far the most expensive and complicated phone I ever bought.

I want to know if there's any recommended apps for Twitter?

Silly question, how to I check firmware and how to upgrade? Is it a must?  rclxub.gif
welcome to the n79 family hcfoo!

i'm using tweets60 mainly for twittering, though fring works ok ok only.

to check your software version, you can use the "SW checker" icon or press *#0000# on your phone/
latest firm ware is 30.019 released 11/06/2009 but you can choose not to upgrade.
normally, upgrades is recommended if you face certain issues with phones, or when nokia pushes out newer applications like Ovi or Nokia maps
kayx
post Aug 14 2009, 12:19 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(HEERO @ Aug 13 2009, 02:16 PM)
Hmm...i dunno wat's the problem, but u can try to download "fring" in "download" there.
It's work same as MSN while u can sign in to other IM too...
i got mine straight from nokia.. i think this is how i got it.. if i remember correctly..

http://europe.nokia.com/get-support-and-so...re/windows-live

kayx
post Aug 14 2009, 11:01 AM

112 posts

the gmail app have no problem downloading attachment, but i don't see any option to upload attachment

you need the quickoffice app to open ms office document, the premier version allows you to edit. i'm not sure if it comes with n79.

i installed garminxt on my own, search the web how to do it. garmin xt is just the application, you need the maps to power it, thats where malsing maps comes in.

i use Fring (free) to tie all my IM, supports YM, MSN, Gtalk. you can try nimbuzz or ebuddy as well.

there's a lot of apps, so just install a few first.. test it out..
kayx
post Aug 18 2009, 11:34 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(<shinpeng> @ Aug 17 2009, 10:44 PM)
heh! Bcoz we already 'ehem' garmin
if you don't want to "ehem" the garmin, and you have an unlimited data package.. can consider the newer google maps..
not bad also
kayx
post Aug 24 2009, 02:59 PM

112 posts

Added on August 24, 2009, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(nirmal78 @ Aug 21 2009, 07:03 PM)
1.another question, does the N79 fm transmitter works well ? i heard the sound transmitted frm speaker is nt so clear... is it true?

2.last but not least, wht is the current firmware cz i saw sumwhere on the net tht V30 is out...
3.btw does v20 perform better than v11 ?
fm transmitter works very well.. but u have to remember that your car radio antenna is on top of the car.. (top right or back center of the car), so don't think that putting nearer to ur radio head unit will help.. smile.gif

ver30 does nothing to me, and i noticed no new buttons or functionality

my n79 is grey with red cover..

yeah.. pix quality pretty nice
i'll just upload one only for comparison.

This post has been edited by kayx: Aug 24 2009, 03:02 PM

kayx
post Aug 26 2009, 05:04 PM

112 posts

nope.. the pix quality remains the same no matter which firmware i use.. need to adjust the settings like sharpness/saturation etc

This post has been edited by kayx: Aug 26 2009, 05:05 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0544sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:41 AM