QUOTE(JakzT @ Mar 22 2009, 03:43 AM)
if you want to find general softwares fast and easy.. try searching in zedge.. remember to set the phone to n79 and it will filter the softwares compatible for n79Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20
Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20
Mar 22 2009, 04:12 AM
4,016 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: ★MALAYSIA★ Status: Photographing |
Mar 22 2009, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(machoguy @ Mar 22 2009, 12:31 PM) hi guys need ur opinions... if you like candybar form phones...either get n79 or n82 if you have the money..so far any prob with this phone? hang,camera,crash,auto restart ?? advance thanks for reply... may be grab this phone this week i give n79 a plus on looks and compact size. |
Mar 23 2009, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 22 2009, 10:30 PM) AP set might come with COR (country of origin) specific manual and keypad symbols... yeah. correctAdded on March 22, 2009, 10:30 pm. things that u should take note of between ap and ori n79: 1. warranty of course different.. 2. the included ap set n79 package must be the same as the ori 3. manual could be other than english 4. the keypad could also have extra words/symbols of other languages such as thai or arab. try and avoid this cause nobody likes a messy keypad |
Mar 23 2009, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(chun @ Mar 23 2009, 08:22 PM) sigh.. me still trying to figure out how to install the garmin mobile xt on my n79... looks like FP2 got some extra steps get 5.4 because 5.3 has this nasty habit of running a silent background app even when the phone is idle and need to have another app to kill it and need to open up the folder and delete selected files.. too much work compared to v.5.4 that has an option to turn off the silent running app.so far the best guide was found in the noeman forum anyone knows which Garmin version better for n79? 5.00.30 or 5.00.40 ? that silent app running in the background uses considerable amounts of battery and would make u run out of battery much much faster. so get 5.4 |
Mar 24 2009, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(chun @ Mar 23 2009, 08:22 PM) sigh.. me still trying to figure out how to install the garmin mobile xt on my n79... looks like FP2 got some extra steps if you already installed 5.3, dont worry because you dont need to remove garminXT 5.3. Instead, download garminXT 5.4 and install it, it will update to 5.4 and you dont need to do anything anymore...you can just use it straight away. remember to look in the settings to turn off the app running in the background.so far the best guide was found in the noeman forum anyone knows which Garmin version better for n79? 5.00.30 or 5.00.40 ? |
Mar 24 2009, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(shah_boy83 @ Mar 24 2009, 05:25 AM) plzz tell me what the different between AP n Zitron or Avaxx??? 1. Difference in priceOnly price?? How bout the quality?? camera?? Ap is same like zitron 100%? 2. Warranty differs in that AP usually support up to 18 months and AVAXX/Zitron 1 year. 3. Original AVAXX/Zitron is better in terms of repair and overall service. (if your phone gets broken la..) 4. The build quality of the phones are the same. 5. The bundled items that come with ori should also come with AP set like headphones and chargers. Find out what is in the ori bundle and go and find out if the AP has the same bundled items..if u want to buy AP |
Mar 25 2009, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(exshige @ Mar 25 2009, 10:06 AM) Need some help. i was reading on installing GarminXt and i'm a first time GPRS user to get a goog gps signal, you have to be outside of your house/ apartment and have a clear view of the skies above you.1. i installed GarminXT 5.3 2. installed the supporting files for HELP and VO 3. installed Malsing map 2.3 4. Enabled my Digi GPS 5. Turn off AGPS, Network GPS, Bluetooth GPS 6. Set Positioning Server/Access Point to Digi GPRSWAP2.0 (was original set to Diginet by default) 7. Start my Garmin, then goto Setting/Remote GPS and set to Integrated GPS But when i try to use it inside my office, my condo, my car, the signal bar is always empty and sometimes only 1 bar if u lucky. I went into the Remote GPRS screen where u can see the orbits of the satellite, i can only see 1 homing (if lucky) and is forever "Acquiring Satellite". I have to go to my condo balcony (16th floor), stand outside, then i can reach 3bars after standing there for couple of minutes. then i go to the Satellite orbit screen.. now i can see multiple homing bars trying to lock into 5-6 satellites.. but the Lockin still need about 4min++ before i locked and can start using the map... during the 4min locking in period i see those homing bars go up and downs.. and slowly adding more and more homing bars... whats wrong ah? i think i did install the Garmin and map correctly as i was able to use it once.. the problem is i always don't get signal... especially in a car in middle of a wide road!! please help.. avoid obstructions like tall buildings that can block satellite signals. when u are in a car it supposed to be okay but i think u are near tall buildings when you're in the car right? avoid that. and/or turn on-a-gps to get a faster lock on in urban areas. btw, i suggest that u use the newer garminXT v 5.4 so that u can disable the pesky silent running apps in the background. u dont have the option to to turn that off in 5.3, which WILL reduce your battery life substancially. Added on March 25, 2009, 10:44 am QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 25 2009, 01:17 AM) I had brought my N79(Zitron) at 20/11/2008. I'm encounter some problem as follow: 1. to avoid that or reduce that problem, set your Options in Messages to save it in MEMORY CARD instead of it's default PHONE MEMORY. install themes and apps or games to MEMORY CARD and not phone memory to avoid that problem too.1)build in memory being used up after a period of time using tht phone 2)after a period using it, inside the memory card comes up with many foreign folder n files tht. I'm willing to get rid from those probs by format my phone n memory card, but i'm afraid tht after format memory card,how can i get back the original files tht suppose be inside? What i want is my phone back to origin...means no nid to download again n install for nokia map,N-gage somethings... So anyone can pls guide me? Added on March 25, 2009, 8:25 am1 more problem to ask, if i wish to format d phone n memory card,how can i get back all d original folder n files? Should i go back to d place where i brought my phone to ask for them help me to do this format? 2. there will be foreign files and folders over time as you install applications etc.. it's normal and doesnt eat up a lot of space at all. you can do a format of your phone and then format your memory card. if im not mistaken you need to download the maps and ngage games again, but that is not to difficult have u ever updated your firmware? This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 25 2009, 10:44 AM |
Mar 25 2009, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(exshige @ Mar 25 2009, 10:46 AM) i figure out it could be obstruction of building... just download and directly install it..no need to do anything anymore. Remember not to UNinstall v5.3, just install the new 5.4 and it will update itself.but when i tried it in my car.. i make sure myself is not around tall building.. i was on LDP.. assuming i was able to get a lock on.. then i follow the guide into some tall urban areas.. also no choice right? or only avoid tall building during lock on period only? i just got to know 5.4 is out.. can just download from official site and install? no need re-"ahem" it? if you get a lock on on the ldp and then went towards tall urban areas the last position that you would be in the map is on the ldp. unless you turn on a-gps. if you want to know your position constantly in urban areas, normal gps just wont do. |
Mar 25 2009, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(chun @ Mar 25 2009, 07:08 PM) thanks for the info seriously install the 5.4 over the 5.3...and wont need to do anything else, it will update itself. in 5.4 you can turn off the background app. if 5.3 lasts you almost 2 days i bet 5.4 with the background app OFF will last you 2+ days with the same amount of use.i have been trying out the 5.3 version for the pass 2 days and it looks like it is performing alright, battery life can last me almost 2 days even when i on the gps while travelling around to numerous locations. And i also noticed that using the Garmin XT somehow it gets the signal faster (maybe cos i forgot to switch off A-GPS initially) and feels like it doesn't sucks as much battery as using the nokia maps.. Oh, doomx i went to lowyat that day and saw the pouch you mentioned... doesn't look as good with the phone in it la... and the one opening from the side (similar to the E66 one) also cannot fit nicely la... those are usually for those slim phones... although the n79 is much slimmer then most of the other N-series cousins, but still a bit thick compared to the others .... i believe it's because of the camera optics which makes it well worth the extra milimetres.. Added on March 25, 2009, 8:35 pmjust to show you what I meant here's a pic i took (outdoor la) ![]() and the picture has already been resized (by about 70%) and a bit of jpeg compression. Added on March 25, 2009, 9:48 pm QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 25 2009, 12:51 PM) i'm a new user on symbian phone. So i has some question to ask. 1. Just put the .sis installer file in your memory card. Then open Tools>File Manager and click right to look for files inside your Memory card. Install in your memory card as i do not recommend installing it in your phone memory as there have been complains of themes/apps not being able to be uninstalled when it is installed in phone memory.1)where should i paste d installer after i download my theme? 2)how to delete d theme after i had installed it? As i couldn't delete it in apps manager. 3)If i brought a new micro SD 8GB, what i need to do so that i can use it as usual? 4)whr can i download "Dictionary"(that original came with nokia phone,seen i had format my memory card n phone)? 5)My frenz r using "talking dictionary" but i dunno where to get d apps, anyone kmcan tell of where to download it? 2. Go the selected themes that you want to uninstall and click options>remove. 3. If you want all your files then make sure that u enable hidden files and copy all of it into your new phone. OR use nokia PC suite and backup anything u need. 4. the dictionary is not on the phone originally actually as far as i know. i suggest installing a 3rd party dictionary as it is much better and easier to use, plus it also supports various languages. 5. There are numerous dictionaries available, some are free and some are not. I suggest searching google and looking in this websites zedge.com and symbian-freak.com inside the freeware apps for S60 V3 This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 25 2009, 09:48 PM |
Mar 26 2009, 12:11 AM
1. You're welcomed.
2. What i mean by click right is that you can flip between phone memory and memory card. btw, did you put your files in memory card or phone memory? but anyways, install the themes & apps in your MEMORY CARD. 3. both zedge and symbian-freak provide safe trusted softwares. 4. for S60 themes, look in zedge.com but 1st set the device to n79 and it will list down compatible themes and apps for your phone. 5. look here for great themes too.. http://www.pizero.net/archives/category/theme-posting click next below for other older but still great themes. |
Mar 26 2009, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(booooster @ Mar 26 2009, 03:34 PM) yup.. but remember that n series cant play all kinds of mp4 files. i tried downloading mp4 videos from youtube and playing it on my friends n85 (big bro of n79). some of the files are playable and some just can play out the sounds and no video.maybe you could also try installing a 3rd patry video player for your n79. Added on March 26, 2009, 9:15 pm QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 26 2009, 05:52 PM) Wow, great! man this can get u banned or something.. no hacks cracks and stuff of that kindIf u have any else more nice software, pls share with us too Added on March 26, 2009, 9:18 pm QUOTE(nk3371 @ Mar 26 2009, 05:15 PM) successfully hacked my n79... about the red light when taking videos, i've seen people in youtube videos opening the phone physically and doing something to disable it.Now can access private/resources folders... no camera sound... no need to sign anything... installed fontrouter...<--enhanced my phone font...+anti-aliased tommorow wanna install n-gage games, new font, and garmin... and also, wanna get rid of pre-flash and red flash when taking pictures and videos...<--need to study first... if you want an easier no fuss solution, just tape something like a cut out cigarette box and paste it on top of the light..haha.. now nobody can see u. silent hunter kind of recording la.. no sound and no red light. This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 26 2009, 09:18 PM |
Mar 26 2009, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(choyster @ Mar 26 2009, 09:22 PM) are you indoors? internal built in gps CANNOT be used indoors or around high rise buildings in urban areas.go outside where it is clear but it till take 3-5 minutes to find your position. if you turn on agps-assisted gps, you will be charged for 3g data but the lock on time will be much much faster and can be used in urban areas. |
Mar 27 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Mar 27 2009, 10:34 AM) hi guys.. please help me to decide between n82 (i know its an old model) and this n79 baby... the aspect im thinking is the camera as i take pictures alot including night too.. i'm a girl here so i'm tempted to get n79 coz of the size but am questioning abt n79's camera at night.. with the dual LED.. izzit clear enough?? n79 - slimmer, much better battery life compared to n82Urgent.. as i'l be getting it at around 2 smtg... fast replies are appreciated n82 - can take great night/lowlight/indoor shots, choose |
Mar 27 2009, 07:18 PM
Mar 28 2009, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Mar 27 2009, 08:24 PM) oh yeah. thanks. found this thread before.Added on March 28, 2009, 12:21 pm QUOTE(chiamin23 @ Mar 27 2009, 10:06 PM) Radiation level of n79 is quite high...exp: when u msg or having phone call near radio u can hear the beep sound..any idea to lower it or reduce it? seems harmful to us also hehe yeah.. i know. i think newer n-series have this sound thing u said..Added on March 28, 2009, 12:23 pm QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Mar 28 2009, 01:21 AM) finally i decided to buy this phone yeah i remember you from g900 thread..remember me? welcome to the dark side.. Added on March 28, 2009, 1:24 amadding to the club cutiesbaby312 27/3/2009 AP 1,160 from twinkles at last u've succumbed to nokia..haha This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 28 2009, 12:23 PM |
Mar 29 2009, 03:53 AM
QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Mar 28 2009, 07:18 PM) i never owned g900 before..Added on March 29, 2009, 3:56 am QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Mar 28 2009, 11:30 PM) LOL.. yeah i remember u of cos u said new to s60.. but you already have an N82.. what's up here? selling somebody elses n82?btw, u bought ap set right? so change the firmware to euro la..so can silent the shutter sound. This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 29 2009, 03:56 AM |
Mar 29 2009, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 29 2009, 10:28 AM) Is it worth for me to change my phone from N95 to N79? I like the good looking and also bar phone right now cos my N95 are too old already. to be honest it's not worth it. n95's camera is better than n79.battery life - n79 is better. if you want to upgrade i suggest going higher up the n-series ladder. dont look back. |
Mar 29 2009, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(kae7 @ Mar 29 2009, 02:08 PM) n79 isnt just good looking and stylish. it works and it's full of features. so ur statement of "who dun care bout money" seems to me like you're saying this phone is a waste of money. which is wrong.Added on March 29, 2009, 3:38 pm QUOTE(shah_boy83 @ Mar 29 2009, 03:33 PM) I dont know what to say.. But my fren have N95.. and the night picture was superb.. why the n79 not???? are u telling that you've tested both phones and n95 is better? is it your n79?This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 29 2009, 03:38 PM |
Mar 30 2009, 12:12 PM
1. Is your phone ori or ap? If ap i think they will charge you for it at NCC.
2. You can do the format of memory card and format of the phone yourself. Install nokia pc suite. then install nokia software updater. update it from there. 3. The contacts are in your SIM card and the list only shows numbers saved in your phone. So copy the sim numbers to the phone memory. 4. Do the update yourself. You'll be happier. Learn. dont just pay those cheating shops to do it for u. Added on March 30, 2009, 12:19 pmUpdate your firmware 1. Once you know that new version is available, download and install Nokia Software Updater if you not have it installed. 2. Plug in the Nokia cable to your phone and connect it to available USB port. 3. Make sure that your computer is connected to the Internet and run Nokia Software Updater. 4. Nokia Software Updater will check whether new firmware is available. If your current firmware version is older than the new version, it will ask you to update your firmware. 5. But take note, make sure that you already backup all your settings and files because when we are talking about upgrading firmware, we are actually will format the phone. So make sure you have already done the backup. 6. Then, follow the instructions and Nokia Software Updater will download the latest firmware version and will install it to your phone once it is finished. 7. While the phone is being upgraded, you will see that the phone display goes to blank. It is normal. Don’t feel scared or shocked. 8. If everything is fine, your phone will be rebooted and you will see Nokia logo at the splash screen. But if something goes wrong, don’t worry, just go back to step 1. IF IT SAYS THAT your firmware is already the latest, disregard that. REINSTALL the update again. This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 30 2009, 12:19 PM |
Mar 30 2009, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 30 2009, 02:21 PM) Yes you are right. Now after i deleted all contact tht save in sim card,no more contact name shown in hp. 1.1 Your hp is ORI or AP? 1) my current firmware is 11.049 (got any latest update for it?) 2) if i do the format my self, izzit pressing *+green+3+power ??? for device only 3) if i do the format in memory card, after formatting, hw can i install map and N-gage? 4) after i done those format in device and memory cad, anything else i need to take note o install ??? Thx for u ya alpha...seen only u are always giving me solution...if not i can't believe hw bad will be in my hp now. 1.2 Do you know what is your product code? Answer both these Q first then I can help you to find whether other product codes have newer versions, and teach u to change product codes. 2. Check my sig below (nokia guide check update format). Yes it is for device only not memroy card. I suggest formatting memory card 1st then update phone to n79's firmware. Then format phone if u want. To format memory card see that thread in my sig too. 3. If u use nokia maps and n-gage dont worry. Both are there in the phone but the maps u have to download using Nokia PC Suite, look inside and you'll find it. Games need to buy but can download trial versions. http://www.n-gage.com/ 4. Nothing else other than maps for Nokia Maps application and games for Ngage. That is if u use these apps.. if you don't then no need to install even maps and ngage. its; your choice to install any apps. but i STRONGLY suggest installing themes and apps in MEMORY CARD. not phone memory. |
| Change to: | 0.0486sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:15 PM |