Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V20!, The Orange Legion

raist86
post Jan 23 2009, 11:03 PM

1,577 posts

anyone using a minolta 28-75 f2.8? how's the image quality & feedback? can post a few shots?
raist86
post Jan 27 2009, 12:01 AM

1,577 posts

Hie guys, wanna ask the opinions of sifus here.

I have an offer to purchase an minolta 28-75 f2.8 lens which have some softness at f2.8 and require calibration from sony service center. The lens price is around RM 700-800.

I'm looking for a lens to replace the 1870 kit lens. Looking for a fast lens for low light photography. Currently i have about RM 1000 available to me.

Should i go for the minolta 28-75 or use the money to get something like the sigma 24-70 f2.8 @ RM 1550 (dunno the latest price)?

Added on January 27, 2009, 12:07 ambtw, GONG HEI FAT CHOI!

This post has been edited by raist86: Jan 27 2009, 12:07 AM
raist86
post Jan 27 2009, 12:31 AM

1,577 posts

i don't mind the 24mm range on the wide end as i rarely use the 18- 25mm range on my kit lens anyway. Most of my shots are portraits and using wide distorts the face. A big no no.

I've tried the tamron 17-50. TBH, not very impressed with the build quality. It's so so only.
raist86
post Jan 27 2009, 12:37 AM

1,577 posts

any shop where i can test the 17-50 and 24-70 side by side? sigh, i hate it when i have to choose between two lens because not enough cash to get both.
raist86
post Jan 27 2009, 11:17 PM

1,577 posts

eh, what's the current price of sigma 24-70 f2.8 and tamron 17-50 f2.8 ar?

headache to choose between either one of them. is the extra 7mm on the wide side worth losing 20mm on the long end?

This post has been edited by raist86: Jan 27 2009, 11:17 PM
raist86
post Jan 27 2009, 11:59 PM

1,577 posts

i like the pic 6. Not bad.
raist86
post Jan 28 2009, 01:40 AM

1,577 posts

how much is the sigma 17-70 now?

i guess it's a better compromise as like albnok says, how often will i be shooting at f2.8. I have a flash to back up on low light situation. It does cover a wider range.

This post has been edited by raist86: Jan 28 2009, 01:48 AM
raist86
post Jan 28 2009, 02:09 AM

1,577 posts

hate it when yen is so high.. causes all the lens price to go up.
raist86
post Jan 30 2009, 07:23 PM

1,577 posts

got quoted RM 1400 for sigma 17-70 f2.8 - 4.5 from boeing. Is that price ok for the lens? going there to test on monday
raist86
post Jan 30 2009, 10:27 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 30 2009, 07:29 PM)
Why don't you get the Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 instead?
deciding between the 3 lo. 17-50 is tempting, but ending at 50mm, it's a little short. siggy 24-70 pula got a history of gear stripping. Sigma malaysia only got 1 year warranty, anything happen after that 1 year, i can cry.

17-70 fits me the most. Just that, to spend 1400 for it, is it worth it? Since it doesn't have a constant 2.8 like the 17-50.
raist86
post Feb 2 2009, 01:10 PM

1,577 posts

street price for a300 is around 1750 for single kit and around 2200 for twin in kl. Go survey around in sungai wang, pudu and pertama complex.

If you're in kuching, den i guess it's better to buy there unless you wanna pay the air flight to come here.
raist86
post Feb 3 2009, 12:01 AM

1,577 posts

wanna ask opinion of the sal 16-105 f3.5-5.6 lens. How much does it cost on the street and how does it compare to the sigma 17-70 f2.8-4.5

I have about RM 1550 to spend on lens. hoping to replace my kitty.
raist86
post Feb 3 2009, 12:23 AM

1,577 posts

sigh.. wish i have enough moolah to just get the cz 24-70 and end all the headache.

With only RM 1550-1600, i can only afford 1 lens. Not much room for error.
raist86
post Feb 3 2009, 10:43 AM

1,577 posts

where do you guys go and test lenses arr? Do the shops owner go like bo song when u ask to try their lenses?

if ever come to malacca, don't go try lens at pakard photo in MP. Ask to try their tammy, terus give me grumpy face. wan to get them to answer some questions also so hard, they just ignore you. And this is when there's no other customer in the shop.
raist86
post Feb 3 2009, 03:03 PM

1,577 posts

sigma 17-70 is RM 1450 at boeing.

Trying to find a shop which sells tamron 17-50 at a reasonable price.

raist86
post Feb 4 2009, 03:37 PM

1,577 posts

y u all tt at so far de..
no tt near subang, damansara area?

Added on February 4, 2009, 3:38 pmbtw, new toy in da house. haha.. will take a few shots first.

This post has been edited by raist86: Feb 4 2009, 03:38 PM
raist86
post Feb 4 2009, 04:24 PM

1,577 posts

picked this up today. Hunted all over sg wang but couldn't find it. Finally found the elusive b*****d in pertama complex. Courtesy of international camera service @ RM 1630.

Guess what it is...

Bigger hint..

Tada..

It's one huge ass lens

I like the colors. Was just point and shoot.

First impression of the lens is that the size is just nice in my hands ( i have big hands). The problem that i find with it is the location of the zoom. It's too small and located right at the back of the lens. It'll take awhile to get used to it.

I hope this lens won't have it's gear stripped. International says this lens comes with 2 year warranty. I actually wanted to buy from Boeing, but when i reach there, they tell me no stock, have to wait till 2 oclock. Good thing i din wait and instead drove to Pertama Complex (first time going there and almost got lost). Boeing price is RM 1650 and with only 1 year warranty. Hopefully this lens won't have its gear stripped. Fingers crossed.

This post has been edited by raist86: Feb 4 2009, 04:25 PM
raist86
post Feb 4 2009, 04:36 PM

1,577 posts

abit confused with boeing lo.

I asked them, they say their siggy is original and not grey set. with 1 year warranty.

Den i go international, they say their ori lens come with 2 years. hmm
raist86
post Feb 4 2009, 05:21 PM

1,577 posts

I'll watch out for any signs of it stripping. It has 2 years warranty anyway. Hopefully i'll have a good one.

I do suspect that the stripping problem happens when the ring clutch is in MF mode and the body AF is on.
raist86
post Feb 4 2009, 05:36 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Feb 4 2009, 05:31 PM)
how about when the warranty's over??
how much to repair for gear-stripping problem ya? icon_question.gif

maybe u should upgrade to 2470Z before the warranty's over brows.gif whistling.gif

Added on February 4, 2009, 5:32 pm
if get f/1.4, cannot afford F56 wor sad.gif

By that time, can upgrade liao lo. lol

0.1460sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:51 AM