Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V20!, The Orange Legion

sidewinderz
post Feb 11 2009, 01:28 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(chiggy @ Feb 11 2009, 01:27 PM)
bring my SLR almost everywhere I go, as you will never know there would be a photo opportunity and if don't have a camera around with ya... well, dont want to lose the opportunity

of course there is always the camera phone, but my handphone only has 0.3 megapixel camera phone biggrin.gif
lol....bulky stuff there...hehe...feel like taking pic of my office building tomorrow...it'll be my last day working there..hehe.. smile.gif

sidewinderz
post Feb 11 2009, 08:44 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(nickilala @ Feb 11 2009, 08:39 PM)
After pp..
hnmmm..issit me or the colours seem a lil too saturated... blush.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 12:42 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

sob sob...i never know tamron 1750 f2.8 cost rm1.7k....that is freaking expensive...i thought its like under rm1.4k
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 01:39 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Feb 12 2009, 01:13 PM)
sidewinderz: search around LYN, there is this guy that quoted me 1450...
lol...still in thinking phase...i will decide once i play wif your siggy...hehe....wanna get poisoned.. tongue.gif

Added on February 12, 2009, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(achew @ Feb 12 2009, 12:52 PM)
its only 300buck diff..come on..its worth it~ buy now think later~ thumbup.gif
lol....i dun wanna waste my hard earn cash...besides, eating grass is never good... sad.gif any idea where to look for people selling this lens 2nd hand? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sidewinderz: Feb 12 2009, 01:41 PM
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 01:51 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 12 2009, 01:45 PM)
I thought I saw yghsin selling a brand new unit for RM1450 only? check him out in lelong.com lah. Quite a reliable seller.
any1 here got a tammy 1750 that i can try try? tongue.gif already manage to ask spooky to test his siggy 17-70...but was quite surprise that it is not a constant f2.8... sad.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 01:55 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Feb 12 2009, 01:55 PM)
i got .....u come here and try try tammy and the czcz drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
where you located? tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 01:59 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Feb 12 2009, 01:57 PM)
sidewinderz: No money for constant F/2.8 oh smile.gif
he is in east malaysia
haha....how much you got your lens and when? filter size 72mm?
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:02 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Feb 12 2009, 01:59 PM)
beside my sifu....kysyam....... cool2.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
buy it from yngshin la....rm1450.....the cheap one.i also buy there...
but if u want test mine,come here...
test the tammy and i give free of charge of test cz1870.....
test one and get free to test one
drool.gif drool.gif hehe...when and where? tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:29 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:02 PM)
jan 09......1450 price.....67 mm filter......
u want the czcz drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif i'm being poisoned... tongue.gif still no budget for now....i didnt even get to master my kit lens yet.... just wanna see what is the difference between f2.8 and f3.5

Added on February 12, 2009, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Feb 12 2009, 02:06 PM)
i got it around 1k, yeah 72mm....bro ryzan76: 1680 CZ la, not 1870
hehe...a big ass lens would be damn cool man...make your SLR look more "fierce" tongue.gif cant wait to molest yours spooky...hehe

This post has been edited by sidewinderz: Feb 12 2009, 02:30 PM
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:33 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 12 2009, 02:31 PM)
If you are night shooter, you'll realize the big difference of having f2.8 compared to f3.5 smile.gif
somehow i got the impression that if i have a f2.8 lens, i wont need a tripod to take night shots..is that true? tongue.gif and does focus system improve with a better lens? able to detect dark subjects better? smile.gif

Added on February 12, 2009, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(neo_lam @ Feb 12 2009, 02:33 PM)
guys....jz now saw someone talking bout WB....
u guys use AWB or set by ourself??
i wanna know wats the setting for indoor shots and outdoor shots??
wats the WB for f58am....?
AWB all the way unless i want some special "feel" to my pic.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by sidewinderz: Feb 12 2009, 02:34 PM
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:43 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Feb 12 2009, 02:41 PM)
nt really true la...i use tripod even with F1.4....sometimes u need 3~10sec exposure..cant do it without tripod

im nt sure whether good lens help to detect farker subject..but im sure that some lens has better/faster focusing speed,however the price/speed ratio might nt b justifiable  whistling.gif
i see....hehe...cause trying to stay away from a tripod...but thx for the reply...appreciate it smile.gif
tripod <-- Evil!! tongue.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 02:55 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(5za9 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:44 PM)
Photo spam.. tongue.gif

PP using picasa. C&C are welcome.. sweat.gif  biggrin.gif
wow...how you do that effect? what issit called? i tried searching on google but was unable to find it.. sad.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 12 2009, 02:46 PM)
Yes, that is one hidden advantage of having a bigger aperture lens mounted on your camera. You will notice that your camera will actually focus more accurately and locks on faster. Why? Because a bigger aperture lens will let in more light (remember the aperture is kept at the fully opened position during focusing, until you fire the shutter where it momentarily closes to your set aperture before opening back up ready for the next shot). More light will enable the AF system in the camera to work better (can "see" better mah....). And on the A700 & A900, the use of a lens with max aperture of f2.8 or more will also enable to camera to use the ultra-sensitive double cross AF sensor in the middle to even faster & more accurate AF.  thumbup.gif

But it is not true that is you have an f2.8 lens, you will never ever need a tripod. that is pure wishful thinking lah. you would probably need LESS use of the tripod, but definitely still want to bring a tripod along for night shots.
thx bro, very very informative...but any idea what determines the filter size? i mean like tammy 1750 is a 67mm filter but a siggy 1770 is a 72mm filter...both also f2.8...any idea?

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 12 2009, 02:47 PM)
Not really, if you are shooting night landscape, you definitely gonna need a tripod as when you lower your aperture, you'll get very very low shutterspeed and you'll get blurry shots if you handheld smile.gif
but tripods are so expensive...i really dun know what justifies the price...it is after all a device to mount your camera on that is all... hmm.gif hmm.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:01 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 02:59 PM)
the ballhead seems more expansive to me rather than the whole tripod..  sweat.gif
lol...the ballhead is the 1 that screws the camera in? smile.gif

QUOTE(5za9 @ Feb 12 2009, 03:00 PM)
sidewinderz - thanks for viewing my photo.. biggrin.gif .. try search Picasa 3 at google. u can download it for free.
oh...ok ok..will try it out now.. smile.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:08 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 12 2009, 03:07 PM)
You think 72mm filter size is big? Try my Sigma 24-70mm for size..... 82mm  shocking.gif

laugh.gif Actually to be honest, I'm not sure what exactly determines the final size of the filter thread at the front. I guess the internal design of the lens will more or less affects the final filter thread size? Just guessing. No idea if it was true or not.  tongue.gif
holly crap!!! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif is that even possible? hehe...but its damn cool...cant imagine it...my kit lens only 55mm...and here yours is 82mm!!! hehe...can post a pic of it attached with your camera?
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:10 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 03:02 PM)
dont know much bout it, but ya its the whole 'kepala' of the tripod. better & studier ballhead mean can support more KG of ur gears right?
true true...need tripod sifu come shade some light upon noobs like us... wink.gif
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:12 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Feb 12 2009, 03:09 PM)
selective coloring?? smile.gif
thx...got it.. smile.gif

tried picasa though (since i got nothing to do in the office...seems a lil hard though...i dun know how to make selective colouring...only got focal B&W...
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 03:57 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 12 2009, 03:13 PM)
photoshop CS2, CS3, CS4 also can
oh...reading up on it... =) this thread has been really helpful! smile.gif

QUOTE(5za9 @ Feb 12 2009, 03:15 PM)
sidewinderz - in picasa its very easy to do that effect. just go to - effects > soft focus > Focal B&W.....done.  biggrin.gif
ah...now i get it...i wanted to select the whole mirror B&W and the rest colour...hehe...i think photoshop is the way to go... sad.gif

QUOTE(craziqbal @ Feb 12 2009, 03:36 PM)
I think he wants you to take a photo of your camera with the 2470 attached to it.
yea...you speak the words right out of my head.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Feb 12 2009, 03:43 PM)
F2.8 and F3.5 will surely give difference in terms of DOF and speed. ahah mine normal lens only:)
I will avoid using AWB if i can. If i`m outdoor, i will use daylight. esp when i`m indoor, i eitehr go for custom or tungsten because i shoot in yellow light indoor most of the time. Using AWB gives a super orangy color which is wrong....sad.gif
Well, not for me though. my shots are mostly indoor (dinner time) lo light, 2.8 isnt really sufficient to capture movemeny. static wise its good enough...to capture movements i need 1/60 or above...depends on individual, some always shoot at 2.8 and they are happy with it, for me, i try to shoot at f4 nowdays because i want a super sharp pic, (pixel freak)

side note: big filter not good lo, heavy!
lol....=) thx though for helping me
sidewinderz
post Feb 12 2009, 04:07 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ Feb 12 2009, 04:05 PM)
sign0014.gif

Wow...CPL in action? tongue.gif

i love the blue blue sky!

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0429sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:45 AM