Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V6 ♪, V6 already?!?! ARE YOU KIDDING ME???
tunertoobe
Jan 23 2009, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jan 23 2009, 06:17 PM) Lol... Just house-sitting for a while... Anything you guys think I should put on the FrontPage to keep people informed (and to keep them from asking the same question over and over again)...  Like I said earlier, was planning of adding Accessories/Software reviews to FP... Ideas are really appreciated! Accessories and Software ideas would be nice.
tunertoobe
Jan 23 2009, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(mugiwarabai @ Jan 23 2009, 06:36 PM) my SP oso didnt cut at sensor area. mine working fine, no screen shut off during making calls. but, is it normal if the phone screen turn to black when we covered the sensor using our finger during making calls?  That's how it should work.
tunertoobe
Jan 23 2009, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(kae7 @ Jan 23 2009, 08:51 PM) so what do you want me to do... I will buy this phone when its RM 800 i believe it will be 6 months later... How far was the gap between 5700, 5610, 5320/5310, and this 5800? Nah don't wait. I'll say stick to the N series and buy whatever model Nokia comes up with next(if it's better) while waiting 6 months.
tunertoobe
Jan 23 2009, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Jan 23 2009, 11:41 PM) according to a poll in phone discussion, more than 50% of the users are suffering from some sort of problem. please tell me this isnt true =P Unfortunately.........hehe.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 24 2009, 12:14 AM) Nokia ships half a million 5800 XpressMusic handsets in 30 daysby Darren Murph, posted Jan 23rd 2009 at 8:09AM If this were coming from any other mouth, we'd definitely second guess it. As it stands, though, it's hard to dispute the words of Nokia's CEO when it comes to matters involving Nokia. Mr. Olli Pekka Kallasvuo stated rather proudly during the firm's Q4 results call that it had shipped just over 500,000 5800 XpressMusic mobiles (better known as the Tube) in just 30 days. That figure becomes even more impressive when you realize that shipments only occurred in select markets, though it should be noted that "units shipped" and "units sold to end users" could indeed be very different things. Still, half a million in just a month ain't too shabby in today's economy, so here's the kudos you're clearly due, Nokia. Source: EngadgetSo still not enough units to make any software company update their product to support S60v5? Well, if they publish the numbers sent to repairs in 30 days then.......  Ah heck, I'm still in love with it. Which reminds me, I'm actually an unofficial owner of a Blue Tube. Just haven't received it yet. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 24 2009, 12:19 AM
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(borneo @ Jan 24 2009, 12:50 AM) Can garmin xt run well on this 5800? Will there be any major problem for navigation? Not optimised yet for the S60 5th.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 01:21 AM
Can't answer that since my Tube is still in a box at KL in my parents' hands.  Just got the news.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(K-Max @ Jan 24 2009, 09:35 AM) MORNING ALL TUBIANS~~~~ My dad came back yesterday nite with his hunting shotgun and told me he bought nokia 5800. WTF, my dad never told me about it and he bought it for Rm1490. After I told him i can get from my fren for Rm1320, hopefully tat salesman will not get headshot from him. OMG your dad's COOL!!! He has a gun and owns a tube!! Awesomeness!!  Added on January 24, 2009, 11:44 amQUOTE(xtrifor @ Jan 24 2009, 08:35 AM) what does proximity sensor do? i don't understand how it works.  need to learn something here... Actually it works by sending infrared signals. At least that's how most proximity sensors work, and it's compact, perfect for a mobile phone. It sends out low powered infrared signals and calculates the distance of anything that bounces the signals back. Actually there are other proximity sensing technology but I think the phone uses this. It is the only explanation I can think of considering it's problems in bright light and screen protector covering it. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 24 2009, 11:44 AM
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jan 24 2009, 12:44 PM) The sensor only activates during call, when the sensor does not receive enough light, touch screen will go blackout. It's a nice feature that preventing your face to activate apps during calls. Some SP are not pre-cut that block the sensor thus will go blackout when the fone rings. Avoid such SP that is blocking the sensor, check first before you invent. Added on January 24, 2009, 12:46 pmGPS is free but navigation such as drive to, walk to need to pay. But then the phone will be dark when receiving call in the dark.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jan 24 2009, 01:00 PM) Eh....true ....did not try that before not sure  There was some truth in the light sensing thing but then I thought about what if the phone was in the dark and came up with that infrared thing.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jan 24 2009, 01:10 PM) i try tonite  Ya, confirm later whether it'll turn off the screen in the dark during calls.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(helo @ Jan 24 2009, 03:29 PM) i juz bought my 5800 the indoor photos are noisy, blur.... how to fix it? what i need to update my phone? where to get themes? thx Don't bother, from many reviews I've read they are lousy at indoor shots. Decent ones can be taken outside where there are good lighting. A forumer here took some shots indoors and I'd say it is confirmed. The colours aren't really good, and there is slight noise. Can this be fixed with firmware update or any software update though?  I'd like to know that as well. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 24 2009, 03:33 PM
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 24 2009, 04:51 PM) i assume 2nd batch would be better and rectify those problem. hmm QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jan 24 2009, 04:52 PM) lol... if u ask me i will nv buy any nokia phone for 2 3 4 56 7 8 9 10 batch ..... coz nokia phone alway 1st batch hav best build quality den will get suker on batch.... and for those who alway think 1st batch hav problem , u r really need some thinking skill training =) 1st batch will giv u image problematic bcoz the 1st firmware version normally come with 1st batch there for problems will appear . my N95 8GB i m first batch owner which the phone is fully made in finland... compare to those ppl who buy N95 8GB now my N95 hav solid build quality...and i din find any so called " problem" on my 1st batch n95... my phone nv hang , nv got glitch etc.... That earpiece problem I believe would be fixed silently by Nokia in their production. Other than that, any batch of Nokias I'd say will be identical. Except if there are new firmwares or something like that I think the ones that are undergoing production will have that. So I'll say buy now unless the reason to buy later being to wait for further price drop.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 09:18 PM
Is your plectrum blue?
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(borgkye @ Jan 24 2009, 09:21 PM) You are so funny Even if you receive a call in a dark, when you say "receive" a call, automatically you will put it near to your ear, so what is the problem if the screen turns off??? (your ear don't have an eye anyway  ) But how would you know who's calling you?
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(borgkye @ Jan 24 2009, 09:28 PM) It will show on the screen. Your screen will still lid even in a dark place, it will only turn off if something block the sensor (like putting it near your ear) No no no. The conversation before was whether the proximity sensor uses the light sensing technology or the infrared. I said it's infrared coz it's the most sensible thing to put. With a light sensor as a proximity sensor it won't be as practical since when there is no light, the phone automatically assumes that your face is near the phone when in fact it's only in a dark place. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 24 2009, 09:31 PM
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(borgkye @ Jan 24 2009, 09:35 PM) Sorry my bad. Of course it use infra red. All proximity sensor is using either infra red or ultrasonic wave but i this case it's infra red  That's okay.
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 09:48 PM
I've already made some wallpapers for my Tube.  Hey, why don't we put some wallpapers for Tube owners to pick in the first page? This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 24 2009, 09:50 PM
tunertoobe
Jan 24 2009, 10:32 PM
Nokia has 9 factories worldwide. I think it doesn't matter where they are manufactured. All have to adhere to Nokia's manufacturing and quality standards don't they?
tunertoobe
Jan 25 2009, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ Jan 25 2009, 02:03 AM) i dont think so, since they come with 1 years warranty, maybe its ok if they already have ur phone record before, so they can fix it again for free, i dont know, u better check it urself, luckily my tube doesnt give me a problem, serve me well and i love it really much!  Is yours avaxx or zitron?