Law Twinning Program vs Law Transfer Program, questions

TSkhiahsu
post Jan 23 2009, 03:52 PM, updated 17y ago

48 posts

I'm currently doing my A-Levels and looking to read law. I have a few queries regarding the differences between:

a) UK Law Twinning Program offered at Taylors University College.

From what I understand, students are registered with the partner university (University of Reading) right from the first year itself, so there is much less hassle regarding applications and so forth. Entry requirements are CCC, relatively higher than the (minimal) 2 principal passes of EE required for an external program.

However, would you guys recommend this option over the:

b) UK Law Transfer Program offered at HELP, INTI, KDU, Brickfields, etc.

Affiliate universities cited range from those like Exeter,Cardiff and Manchester to Northumbria and UWE. Hence,the minimum requirements cited are also two principal passes at A-Levels. (EE).

I'd really appreciate feedback from students currently enrolled in this program,regardless of which college they're at. Applications to the universities in UK are made through UCAS,am I right? If so, what are the prospects of actually *getting* into the university of your choice? Does it mean if you meet the academic prerequisites, your transfer application will be smooth sailing, or do applicants need to build up an impressive record of side-activities (curricular and non-curricular) as well?

From hearsay, UK universities can be a tad picky when it comes to external transfers, so it's worrying >.<

Thanks!

(Haven't completely ruled out the 3+0 external LLB option from UoL yet either,btw)

Annihilux
post Jan 23 2009, 05:25 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(khiahsu @ Jan 23 2009, 03:52 PM)

Affiliate universities cited range from those like Exeter,Cardiff and Manchester to Northumbria and UWE. Hence,the minimum requirements cited are also two principal passes at A-Levels. (EE).

I'd really appreciate feedback from students currently enrolled in this program,regardless of which college they're at. Applications to the universities in UK are made through UCAS,am I right? If so, what are the prospects of actually *getting* into the university of your choice? Does it mean if you meet the academic prerequisites, your transfer application will be smooth sailing, or do applicants need to build up an impressive record of side-activities (curricular and non-curricular) as well?

From hearsay, UK universities can be a tad picky when it comes to external transfers, so it's worrying >.<

Thanks!

(Haven't completely ruled out the 3+0 external LLB option from UoL yet either,btw)
I'm doing the UK Law Transfer Program at HELP currently. As of now, I have already sent an application to the UCAS with my 5 University choices. The prospect of getting into the University abroad differs from one and another. For instance:

University of Manchester's pre-requisite: 2A 1B in A levels, and your current Year One finals must accumulated an average mark of 55%
University of Exeter's : They didn't mention about A levels, but you are compulsory to do the LNAT examinations before you apply.
University of Cardiff's : There's a slight change between last year and this year's entry requirement. They ignored the A levels result, and the average mark you need to score is 50% and all papers passed.

Regarding Twinning programmes and UK Transfers, Twinning guarantees a spot for you in their partner Unviersities, but on the other hand, Transfer Programmes doesn't. For my knowledge, I didn't heard anything about sports or curriculum requirement YET. Maybe it has something to do with the scholarship perhaps.

That's all I think, glad I could help.
TSkhiahsu
post Jan 23 2009, 06:33 PM

48 posts

Thanks much, Annihilux. smile.gif
Hope your application goes well then.
liez
post Jan 23 2009, 07:19 PM

1,346 posts

y dun do it full here??? unless u wanna climb a career ladder there.
TSkhiahsu
post Jan 23 2009, 07:44 PM

48 posts

dun do it full here??? unless u wanna climb a career ladder there.

Call me shallow if you might, but I'm looking for the experience there. Don't know if one year will make any difference though,lol.
solstice818
post Jan 24 2009, 01:15 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(khiahsu @ Jan 23 2009, 07:44 PM)
Call me shallow if you might, but I'm looking for the experience there. Don't know if one year will make any difference though,lol.
Shallow whistling.gif
Just joking... Well, it's normal la since our education system in Malaysia has been nothing less than " brilliant" and I bet everyone opted to go oversea for it...

Ask if one year make any difference?Of course...If not, why is 2+1 there for people to join in the 1st place.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Jan 24 2009, 01:15 AM
silverfoxes
post Jan 24 2009, 01:49 AM

271 posts

i m currently in intermediate for uol llb 3+0........
dam tough wei zzzz
Annihilux
post Jan 24 2009, 11:55 AM

57 posts

That's why I chosed 2+1. I don't think 1 year will be enough to make any differences. Besides, it's around a year, not really 12 months.
TSkhiahsu
post Jan 24 2009, 12:13 PM

48 posts

That's why I chosed 2+1. I don't think 1 year will be enough to make any differences. Besides, it's around a year, not really 12 months.

meaning you're doing 2 years in UK? Sorry,blur. tongue.gif

Annihilux
post Jan 24 2009, 02:26 PM

57 posts

Yeah, I'll be doing 2 years in UK. Which is why another reason the most established UK Universities encourages transfer programme students to go over during their 2nd year.
jhong
post Jan 24 2009, 02:33 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Annihilux @ Jan 24 2009, 02:26 PM)
Yeah, I'll be doing 2 years in UK. Which is why another reason the most established UK Universities encourages transfer programme students to go over during their 2nd year.
Then , it should be 1+2 then ....
Anyway , do ur best in ur A-levels is the main thing.
alsree786
post Jan 24 2009, 06:03 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Annihilux @ Jan 24 2009, 11:55 AM)
around a year, not really 12 months? Isn't 12 months a year?

@TS

Your a level results will be an important thing. Doing well in that will allow u to gauge your chances of entering the better universities over the others via the DTP. If uni ranking, rep and prestige are important to u, compare uni of reading to the unis u can enrol in under a dtp.

whether u want to do a 2+1 or 1 +2 is up to u. if u can afford it, a 1+2 would be better since experience there is what u are looking for. do u intend to do the bvc eventually?

TSkhiahsu
post Jan 27 2009, 02:58 PM

48 posts

Thanks everyone for the opinions so far.

Your a level results will be an important thing. Doing well in that will allow u to gauge your chances of entering the better universities over the others via the DTP. If uni ranking, rep and prestige are important to u, compare uni of reading to the unis u can enrol in under a dtp.

whether u want to do a 2+1 or 1 +2 is up to u. if u can afford it, a 1+2 would be better since experience there is what u are looking for. do u intend to do the bvc eventually?

Yep, precisely- so I guess I'll be working my butt off for my A2 finals this May. tongue.gif
Regarding the BVC, I haven't made my mind up yet...keeping all options open. I'm looking into all choices available carefully as I don't want to plunge blindly into a degree with misconceptions of any sort.

The main reason for starting this thread was to see the general opinion on the issue of security vs chance (a secured place in a lower-ranked uni vs a stab at entering a better one). That said, I know league rankings can be misleading at times...other factors like people skills,work ethics, EQ and etc will matter as well in the long run.
peaceqrg
post Mar 19 2009, 03:55 PM

do we need IELTS if we are doing a UK transfer program?

limeuu
post Mar 19 2009, 04:19 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(khiahsu @ Jan 23 2009, 03:52 PM)
I'm currently doing my A-Levels and looking to read law. I have a few queries regarding the differences between:

a) UK Law Twinning Program offered at Taylors University College.

From what I understand, students are registered with the partner university (University of Reading) right from the first year itself, so there is much less hassle regarding applications and so forth. Entry requirements are CCC, relatively higher than the (minimal) 2 principal passes of EE required for an external program.

However, would you guys recommend this option over the:

Affiliate universities cited range from those like Exeter,Cardiff and Manchester to Northumbria and UWE. Hence,the minimum requirements cited are also [B]two principal passes at A-Levels.
shocking.gif

i didn't know it is so easy to get into laws in uk through these pathways......

and to think that imperial/lse wants AAA for entry........

so what happens when these 2 cohorts of lawyers graduate........the marked difference between them..... blink.gif
[Phenom]
post Mar 19 2009, 04:29 PM

36 posts

i heard KDU offering only 2 subjects for A-levels then can advance to do law? is this true?
alsree786
post Mar 19 2009, 04:49 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Phenom @ Mar 19 2009, 04:29 PM)
i heard KDU offering only 2 subjects for A-levels then can advance to do law? is this true?
yes u can proceed to a law degree with just 2 a levels, but it is recommended that u take at least three and do well in those three to widen your options...
TSkhiahsu
post Mar 19 2009, 09:03 PM

48 posts

do we need IELTS if we are doing a UK transfer program?

Funny enough-though it's stated on the website that IELTS is required for some unis, one of the college representatives I met at the Star Education fair the other day stressed that there was no need to 'waste money' and take IELTS, since they have prior agreements with their partner universities. Plus, the IELTS results are only valid for a duration of 2 years.
Dare not vouch for the truth of this statement yet. tongue.gif

However, an education advisor I met separately said IELTS was not necessary either, for applications to the Australia/UK. I'm currently doing A-Levels btw, maybe it's due to the fact that the course is in English already? *shrugs*
edennature
post Jun 11 2009, 09:05 AM

294 posts

The ranking
1 University of Manchester
2 University of Leeds
3 University of liverpool
4 University of Cardiff
4 University of Sheffield
6 University of Reading(taylor)
7 University of exeter
8 University of Hull
9 University of wales aberystwyth
10 University of Northumbria
11 University of west of england

This post has been edited by edennature: Jun 11 2009, 09:08 AM
CFLow
post Jun 11 2009, 09:09 PM

117 posts

I did my LLB 3 years full in University of Manchester.. back to 2003....
edennature
post Jun 12 2009, 09:22 AM

294 posts

nice..
TSkhiahsu
post Aug 24 2009, 08:32 PM

48 posts

Alrightyyy...have just received my A-Level results recently; and I would appreciate some opinion on:

Reading vs Leeds vs Cardiff

(I know rankings on university law league tables can only mean so much, but I'd appreciate some input from Lowyatians out there)

From what I gather by talking to seniors/law students/lecturers and such, Leeds has the edge of being a traditional redbrick uni, but what I really would like to know is - are there any vast discrepancies between these three unis? Thanks.

babyhoney
post Aug 24 2009, 09:28 PM

18 posts

i would assume that ur alvl result qualify you to get into leeds through help?

err in my opinion, (what i think) i would go for leeds through help? but for me its basically because of the ranking la, it was my insurance and i was ready to go there already (but i got my firm)

i didn choose reading because they are not recognised by singapore if wanna do bar there, only certain unis are and cardiff and leeds are one of them, but i also heard that singapore requires the llb to be done fully in uk
but i dono whether the rules have changed for both

and i didn choose cardiff basically because err its in wales, just never thought of going there

however i think, i think only la, that life in taylors reading, is easier than in help?

This post has been edited by babyhoney: Aug 24 2009, 09:29 PM
edennature
post Aug 24 2009, 10:55 PM

294 posts

Among reading,leeds and cardiff, Cardiff is the best then reading,finally Leeds
However,if you want to look for prestige university>Leeds,Cardiff

Why is University of Reading the right choice for students?

Founded by The University of Oxford in 1892 and gained Royal Charter in 1926

Ranked among the top 30 law schools in the UK in the 2008 Times Good University Guide

Ranked joint 11th out of 67 UK universities in the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE)

Ranked No. 1 for Learning Experience (out of 84 institutions worldwide) in the 2008 International Student Barometer

Achieved 90% satisfaction rating in the 2007 National Student Survey

Superb location, only 30 minutes by train from London; beautiful green campus, modern town with shopping and leisure facilities in the southeast

Degree recognised by The Law Society and Bar Council in the UK, and by the Malaysian Legal Qualifying Board

Dedicated support network for international students

15% tuition fee waiver and guaranteed accommodation for Taylor's students.

Reading University is the top 25 law school in uk,Cardiff 18 and leeds 33.

thats_hot
post Oct 1 2009, 08:24 PM

17 posts

Today my dad and I had a talk about what I should study next year and I think I wanna take ICPU from Taylor's. After that, I intend to study law in Taylor's with its 1+2 programme with the Uni. of Reading. Because the intake dates of the law programme are only January and September, my dad advised me to take the first intake of ICPU so I can straight away take the January intake of the law programme the year after. My initial plan was to take the second intake of ICPU but my dad tells me that I would be wasting 6months waiting for the next intake of the law programme. I have two questions:

(1) Is ICPU a good choice for me to study law? I know A levels is better but I'm really not interested.
(2) Will I make it in time to take the January intake of the law programme if I take the January intake of ICPU?

Thanks!
minshuen
post Oct 1 2009, 09:47 PM

282 posts

through HELP university college degree transfer programme,if i fulfilled the requirements,does it mean i will be guarateed a place in the partner university such as university of manchester?
alsree786
post Oct 1 2009, 11:55 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(thats_hot @ Oct 1 2009, 08:24 PM)
Today my dad and I had a talk about what I should study next year and I think I wanna take ICPU from Taylor's. After that, I intend to study law in Taylor's with its 1+2 programme with the Uni. of Reading. Because the intake dates of the law programme are only January and September, my dad advised me to take the first intake of ICPU so I can straight away take the January intake of the law programme the year after. My initial plan was to take the second intake of ICPU but my dad tells me that I would be wasting 6months waiting for the next intake of the law programme. I have two questions:

(1) Is ICPU a good choice for me to study law? I know A levels is better but I'm really not interested.
(2) Will I make it in time to take the January intake of the law programme if I take the January intake of ICPU?

Thanks!
firstly check with Taylors whether one who completes the ICPU can then pursue the twinning law prog. Secondly, check with Taylors or the lpqb whether the ICPU is considered a STPM/A level equivalent for admission purposes. In order to practice you will need a STPM/A level equivalent pre u qualification amongst other things...

QUOTE(minshuen @ Oct 1 2009, 09:47 PM)
through HELP university college degree transfer programme,if i fulfilled the requirements,does it mean i will be guarateed a place in the partner university such as university of manchester?
if you fulfill the requirements then yes you may apply for a place in manchester. Help cannot guarantee it, as it is still at the discretion of the affialiated uni. But most likely you will get it. There may be a quota system in place as well, so you may have to compete with your peers IF there is such a system. Contact the relevant college for more info on that.
Msjstinal
post Aug 2 2012, 10:55 AM

Hi People,

I know the discussion above took place 12354 years ago, i m also an a-level student thinking of pursuing Law Degree. Under dilemma if i should do Transfer or Twinning programme.

Hence, is there by any chance anyone of you know the credibility of University of Oxford Brookes? As i've been to various website stated they're new , however its been ranked as the best university amongst other newly established ones.

And, is the syllabus the same for Transfer and Twinning? Lets say i m doing a 2+1 programme, my first year i've decided to do transfer at HELP due to the better partners universities in UK, but i did badly, is it possible for me to switch to twinning in KDU to get into Oxford Brookes?

0.0218sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:40 PM