HONDA CIVIC Club V10, V.ery T.errifying E.nergetic C.lub

yaphong
post May 6 2010, 05:02 PM

659 posts

anyone here tried sierraglow already?

I have trouble maintaining the cleaniness of my taffeta white... sigh...

what is the cost?
yaphong
post May 7 2010, 11:40 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(jeffreylim1 @ May 7 2010, 08:59 AM)
I contaacting Mr Choong, he quoted me RM650 for FD.
How is it compared to Shine N Shield?
yaphong
post May 9 2010, 12:16 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(ub3rg33k @ May 8 2010, 10:57 PM)
I think Sierraglow beats ShineNShield hands down when it comes to cost. Sierra is 650 one time with no follow up required and guaranteed for 5 years. ShineNShield is 780 one time with follow up of 120 every 6-9 months also guaranteed for 5 years. So, some simple math and the cost of ShineNShield stacks up over time.

In terms of "glowness" and "wet look", I think both are about the same. ShineNShield seems smoother than Sierra due to Sierra having a sort of gum-like texture after application. I don't know how to describe it, but it feels almost "sticky" even though it's not (feels sort of like someone applied paste). This is not necessarily a bad thing as I think it will harden more and the Sierraglow layer feels thicker than ShineNShield. Difficult to describe lah, best if you pay both places a visit to see with your own eyes.

The only unknown factor for me is durability or how it performs over time. Since I saw only new cars at both locations, a bit difficult to decide lah. I suspect ShineNShield may have a slight edge in this area simply because of the requirement of follow up treatments, but this is of course a bad thing from cost perspective. ShineNShield also seems to have more comprehensive services as they also have interior treatment and some "premium" car wash.

Currently, I'm slightly partial towards ShineNShield, but the long term cost over time is a bit off putting considering if you do the 120 wash every 6 months over 5 years plus the initial 780, the total TCO is close to 2K ald!
Wow thanks for your info. Maybe I will find some time to visit both of the shops.
yaphong
post Jun 6 2010, 10:51 PM

659 posts

I accidently scratched my left bottom on a cement divider. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Some of the paint came off. Will it start to rust?
yaphong
post Jun 10 2010, 01:09 AM

659 posts

My 1.8 getting around 12 to 14 km/l
hmmm... I drive a lot on KL/Selangor highways...
yaphong
post Jun 25 2010, 01:46 PM

659 posts

My Civic V-Kool Elite is only RM2,000
yaphong
post Jul 2 2010, 11:57 AM

659 posts

I did ask before, a minor repaint may cost RM200.

That was from Kah Motor Body Repair shop.
yaphong
post Aug 11 2010, 08:52 PM

659 posts

Don't buy Honda Civic already.
My car just stolen in 20 minutes today.
This with the additional Locktact brake lock.
yaphong
post Aug 11 2010, 10:48 PM

659 posts

Kena steal la.

Sigh, very sad when looking at the CCTV. They straight can open my car boot (Civic doesn't have the remote boot opener, need to use key) then can open my car door within a 2 minutes.

The remaining time they were working on my brake lock.

I will try to upload my CCTV video if possible.
yaphong
post Aug 12 2010, 10:12 PM

659 posts

Sad la, today go Honda Customer Service the dude just said there is nothing we can do. Even if you want to replace your car we cannot give you discount, any assurance that your car will not be stolen again or such.

Donno what is the purpose of customer service
yaphong
post Aug 13 2010, 08:36 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Aug 13 2010, 02:53 AM)
I think you're expecting too much from the customer service if you're looking for more than just a pat on your shoulder and an empathetic look on their faces. Cars get stolen everyday. You can't expect them to give discounts for every case right? Sorry for your loss again. However, it's better to move on and if you want to make a difference, upload that vid you were talking about and perhaps other Civic owners can learn a thing or two. I still don't understand how the basterds managed to get the doors unlocked via the boot. Still waiting for your answer.

My relative's 6mth old CRV was stolen from within the house compound! Nobody heard or saw anything, it happened in the dead of night. He's driving an FD2 now. The autogate is now padlocked for slightly better security, and there's a motion sensor in the car with a remote alarm that he keeps in his room.
What can you learn? As Honda explicitly discourage you to modify any parts of your car even for additional safety feature, their own OEM security is highly questionable. They can break in two minutes. So what can we do?

We pay so much to Honda and we don't deserve a better support from them? Cars get stolen everyday because manufacturer doesn't give a **** to their customer. Charge you heavily and give you crappy security then tell you don't modify.

When professional thief comes, then he has a smile on his face because everything is the same from the factory.

I will try to upload my CCTV video soon but you can't see how they can open the boot or the door. It just opened.
yaphong
post Aug 14 2010, 12:03 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Aug 13 2010, 09:40 PM)
I do agree that stock car alarms are useless in most cases when dealing with high-tech professional thieves. You can only install steering and brake locks to slow them down. If you can prove that Honda's security system is crappy, do publicise the matter so every Honda owner will make noise. Since you already said that a pro thief is smiling cos everything is the same from the factory, it matters not if you have a high end system or a ciplak system. All they have to do is "train" with your car model. They will also be able to train with a Merc or BMW smile.gif In this case, I don't think you can blame Honda for their choice of immobiliser cos it won't make a difference smile.gif
Well I don't know whether you lost your car before but maybe you will speak differently when your new car is stolen.
yaphong
post Aug 14 2010, 11:29 PM

659 posts

Here is the video as promised.

No alarm was sounded throughout the entire process. The thief started from the boot and proceed to open the door. This is Honda Engineering.

Note: I have speed up of the last part because the thief is working hard inside the car and you cannot see him. It took him awhile probably because he needs to break my brake lock.

This post has been edited by yaphong: Aug 14 2010, 11:37 PM
yaphong
post Aug 14 2010, 11:35 PM

659 posts

Should be working by now.
yaphong
post Aug 15 2010, 11:59 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Aug 15 2010, 05:09 AM)
Thanks for sharing that painful video. Sorry again for your loss. From that video, I gather that the basterd mofos took quite a bit of time to take care of your brake lock. The evil deed would've been completed much faster if you hadn't had the lock installed. Btw, what about steering lock. Did you have one installed? It is clear that the brake lock has met its objective, which is to slow them down. The more locks they have to dismantle, the longer it will take and the more suspicious passersby would be.

From now on, if I see a big black SUV or whatever parked suspiciously like that, I will try and see if the car being blocked is being "worked" on or not.

It's too bad that it's not against the law to double park like that even though the driver is in the car. If a strict ban was in place, the method employed to steal yaphong's car wouldn't have worked. If the general public was more alert, those who passed by would've suspected something amiss, since there was ample parking space yet the SUV was double parked.
I didn't install steering lock. Just the brake lock. So now you understand why I complained on Honda's security system. A brake lock is more effective in keeping the thief busy than the OEM security.

During the period of time, some of my colleagues did pass by but they didn't notice it as well. Very sad.

Nevertheless, I will try to write a letter to Honda to complain. Not that I am expecting people to say sorry but I am utterly disappointed with Honda's system.
yaphong
post Aug 15 2010, 04:33 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Aug 15 2010, 02:38 PM)
Bro YapHong, I noticed there were 2 guys walked in front of tat b@stard's CRV who driving Brown Accord.

Do you know them and perhaps they noticed something? Cannot be denied, not much help from getting back your car, but that's at least something you can do.

Btw, did you mind if I share this video in facebook?
Yes, the two people who walked to the Accord are my managers. Already tarok them already for not noticing.

You can share! Please help me to spread the news!
yaphong
post Aug 15 2010, 10:33 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(ky-l @ Aug 15 2010, 07:15 PM)
If you think Honda security system is bad because they can still steal your car then basically almost all car manufacturer security system will suck to you too.
No, the point that they break the OEM security within 2 minutes is too disappointing.
How come a third party lock can last for 15 minutes?
yaphong
post Nov 19 2010, 01:59 PM

659 posts

I already lost my 6 month old Honda Civic. I heard they are targeting white Civic.

No need to buy Honda la. People will never understand the true pain of losing a dream car until they experience it themselves.

Here is the repost of my CCTV video

Avoid Honda Civic if you can!

Added on November 19, 2010, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(omnimech @ Nov 2 2010, 02:25 PM)
ANyone has contact at honda .

My civic got stolen 2 months back. >_<

It was only 4 months old.

Planning to buy a new one. Wondering if anyone can help by recommending someone a sa they know so that I can get a good price ..

Stupid bank interest also went up. So damn inconvenient. Grrr.
Nope. Don't bother. I contacted Honda and wrote a 9 pages letter to them. Asking whether they can provide any assistant or discount for repurchase another Honda. It took them 3 weeks and say sorry and thank you.

But if you insist, you can look for Miss Izatul, supervisor of Honda Customer Communication centre or the always not here, Miss Jahabarnisa, Head of Honda Customer Communication centre. They will tell you sorry and still wanna sell their car at full price.

You are their "water fish"

This post has been edited by yaphong: Nov 19 2010, 02:04 PM
yaphong
post Nov 20 2010, 04:23 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Nov 19 2010, 04:10 PM)
i don't exactly understand why you are angry at honda.

your car was stolen. very, very unfortunate, but no fault of honda's. they are running a legitimate business and even i do not see why it would only be reasonable for them to sell you a second civic for cheaper. if they did that for every lost/stolen car, they would be making a loss.

it is not just the car industry; if i had a parker pen stolen from me and went back to the stationary store demanding for a lower than sticker price because it was the 2nd pen i was buying... well, i'd get rejected as well.
You don't compare a pen with a car. Honda not necessary has to offer a discount, but they could have assisted me more in my case rather than saying sorry all the time. It was started when I walk-in into Honda Malaysia office and demanded to speak to a supervisor. The Honda CCC (Customer Communication Centre) executive wasted my time and rejected my simple request to see his supervisor.

I am angry the fact that when I initially discussed about the possibility of a car theft with Honda. Honda refused to assist me in adding any additional locks and threaten to void my warranty. Then they assured me that their system is state-of-the-art and the stolen rate is low. So now when my car get stolen, Honda said otherwise.

Anyway, there is a long story and a series of events make me angry with them. I prefer not to repeat all over again.

About the legitimate business, who knows if there is one or two syndicates have inside job. Granted, it is not Honda's doing but if it compromises a customer's interest, it is their fault.

I have no proof for that so I shall rest it there.

Civic itself is a nice car and Honda Malaysia claimed to be Customer Satisfaction No 1 but the fact they are no better than Proton (in terms of customer support). If you still have your Honda, good for you. But once your dream car is taken away from you, you may start to understand.

Added on November 20, 2010, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 16 2010, 03:39 PM)
Civic is not high rate. Just because you have civic and we just concentrate on 1 type. Maybe others brand have more higher rate.
Civic is a high rate, unless you have access to our police statistics.

When my car is stolen, I reported to the criminal division of Puchong branch. I spoke to the Sergeant handling my case.

Me : Kereta saya kena curi
Police : Kereta apa tu?
Me : Honda Civic
Police : Oh memanglah. Sekarang Honda paling top di kes kecurian.
Me : Macam mana saya boleh kurangkan risiko kecurian kereta saya?
Police : Jangan beli Honda (lol!)

The same thing the investigator for my case (you will be investigated before insurance company will pay you). He mentioned about high rates of stolen Honda Civic. To be fair, Toyota also suffered the same fate.

Anyway, if your car is still with you. Good lor. If your car is stolen, baru awak faham.

This post has been edited by yaphong: Nov 20 2010, 04:30 PM
yaphong
post Nov 21 2010, 12:51 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Nov 20 2010, 09:28 PM)
If we lost our car , can we claim it thru insurance?
Of course. But it depends on how you lost your car lol.
Anyway, I have to admit Honda has a good insurance policy with Tokio Marine. They will pay 100% of the car price if your car is still within first year.

0.0425sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:52 PM