You didn't read the manual.
HONDA CIVIC Club V10, V.ery T.errifying E.nergetic C.lub
Feb 21 2010, 02:57 PM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
You didn't read the manual.
Feb 25 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(yelfuzz @ Feb 25 2010, 12:00 PM) new civic AGAIN? wtf i just bought mine only last year around 5 months back..so far handling all superb! going to convert the bodykit at a shop i found in klang that does very good job for exceptional prices. What is Big vtec and small vtec? Did you ram up the RPM and hear the nice vtec engine sound?Wanting to ask some Vtec sifu. The new Civic is iVtec. What can we do to modify the engine to make it on par with Big Vtec or Small Vtec. Sorry my knowledge not so good! If we put piping for the civic, the sound of the Vtec is clear and loud or not. Theres paddle shift so i presume we can hear the Vtec open at a high RPM? Just checking before i proceed in converting the whole car in March. Your feedback is highly appreciated. |
Mar 1 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM) I've just ordered mine on Jan this year and expected to allocate my car during March. For my opinion, the Taffeta White color is quite ugly on the civic. The white color is just too white. Not to said when it get dirty. The white color that is look nice on civic is champion white with those type R. Why honda don't use it on normal civic? Anyway color are subjective.And yes, my SA did informed me that Honda Civic will release one more color variant which similar like bronze or brown color. However, I'll just won't change my mind, Taffeta White. |
Mar 2 2010, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 1 2010, 11:53 AM) Championship White is the Type R's trademark color, I don't think they will allocate it for the normal market I did saw even new honda oddesey have champion white. Not sure is it ownner buy new car and change the color or original car. Maybe odessey type R? Added on March 2, 2010, 11:29 am QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Feb 28 2010, 11:14 PM) The price increase is due to yen/rm or new civic parts?This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 2 2010, 11:29 AM |
Mar 3 2010, 07:20 PM
Mar 4 2010, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(salsabarney @ Mar 4 2010, 10:01 AM) I just bought a Civic 1.8 but still no USB input Cause you buy cheaper by rm1k.Added on March 4, 2010, 10:11 am HI.. Just check with other owners here..my first full tank allowed me to clock a mileage of only 320kms..i understand that new car needs time to 'settle' down and smoothen the engine flow. But 320 km is just too little.. Is it normal for your cars when you first bought it? I checked with the Honda service centre. they said the fuel consumption will decrease but after the first 5000km. Is it true? P/s I am not an accelerator type driver...just a normal one. Thanks Seriously, is USB input that usefull and important? Even now the model provide audio jack input (Ipod), do you guys use it? QUOTE(salsabarney @ Mar 4 2010, 10:01 AM) HI.. You must learn how to drive a civic car in order to save fuel. Your exciting about your new car, old habit and heavy foot overcome your sense of saving fuel. Just check with other owners here..my first full tank allowed me to clock a mileage of only 320kms..i understand that new car needs time to 'settle' down and smoothen the engine flow. But 320 km is just too little.. Is it normal for your cars when you first bought it? I checked with the Honda service centre. they said the fuel consumption will decrease but after the first 5000km. Is it true? P/s I am not an accelerator type driver...just a normal one. Thanks |
Mar 4 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Mar 4 2010, 10:46 AM) Probably... At first my Civic 2.0s only clocked about 8km/l... Now my mileage is 10500km... and fc is about 11km/l. Your mileage saving is still low. You like to vroom vroom cause powerfull engine.And USB is very useful... No need Cd, you can change song as u want... AUX jack is different, your player battery depletes over time, and its direct play and broadcast, so if your player sound not good, the playback also not good. USB plays the file format and quality itself. |
Mar 4 2010, 12:09 PM
Mar 14 2010, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Mar 14 2010, 04:16 AM) 1.8 is exceptionally good at FC... While 2.0 is decent for its power for daily drive... Mostly I heard, 2.0 FC is not much different with 1.8. With high torque and good FC on 2.0, that is why mostly point to 2.0.BUT If you search well enough... You will find out that most forum like autoworld, paultan will point you to 2.0... |
Mar 21 2010, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 20 2010, 06:10 PM) Guys i juz got my civic..and this is the 1st time i drive an Automatic car..and i noticed the RPM sometimes until 4.5(at gear 3) then change gear..why ar? I drive my Waja 1.6 i always change gears at 2.5rpm.. You got to learn how to accelerate and the way pressing the paddle. The car will learn your habit driving and suit to your mode. Civic using drive by wire.Example as you keep high rpm and change gear and drop back for long, the car will enter sport mode. (rally) Added on March 21, 2010, 5:37 pm QUOTE(shawnloong @ Mar 20 2010, 09:29 AM) Btw, I never understood the difference between the 1.8 & 2.0 in terms of the blue ambient light? 1.8 apparently doesnt have it, but I kinda see no difference, anyone to enlighten me on this? The ambient light is just make you feel romantic and the mode. That is why it call ambient. This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 21 2010, 05:37 PM |
Mar 29 2010, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Mar 29 2010, 12:30 PM) is there any 'honest' workshop around subang/sunway/puchong?1st time car buyer.mine is civic eg.just lookin for shop dat not charge kaw kaw and only tell the truth if any car parts broken.lot of shop today like to 'charge' ske hati. Yes, there is one in sunway. It is a branch from spore and they do std service for honda, toyota and nissan. Use origin parts and service kung fu follow japan std. Price cheaper than SC. Sorry. Forget the workshop name and the add. Will let you know late evening. |
Mar 30 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Mar 29 2010, 12:30 PM) is there any 'honest' workshop around subang/sunway/puchong?1st time car buyer.mine is civic eg.just lookin for shop dat not charge kaw kaw and only tell the truth if any car parts broken.lot of shop today like to 'charge' ske hati. Here the website to book the service http://www.autosaver.com.sg/ Phone 03-56210081Address: No 50, Jalan PJS 11/20 Bandar Sunway Technology Park 46150 Subang Jaya, Selangor Added on March 30, 2010, 12:09 am QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 29 2010, 11:54 PM) Civic no problem fitting the 18".This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 30 2010, 12:09 AM |
Apr 3 2010, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Apr 2 2010, 10:36 PM) is the civic really so bad on soundproof for tyre part? Not just the tyre side. During raining, the rooftop too very noisy. i did try drive my relative's car.... wao.. the tyre sound jt too loud la..... have any countermeasure on it ? Is your relative's car using 17" pp1 michelin tyre? It is a performance tyre and in a noisy side. Once it start to wear, it get noisy alot. You can soundproof the whole car. There is some soundproof material in the market. Some workshop did do this soundproof. |
Apr 3 2010, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(ub3rg33k @ Apr 3 2010, 01:52 AM) Any recommendation on a good workshop to do this without affecting the look of the car and spoil things? Yes. I know so far got 2 workshop that do soundproof. But installing soundproof sheet will barai all your car panel, roof, carpet and door panel. It take whole day job. So better think properly. And do consider, the soundproof is not alot. It like 10-30% proof. Depend what package to take. You might disapoint.But this 2 workshop is specialist in civic and they handling civic alot. Added on April 3, 2010, 2:50 pm QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Apr 3 2010, 11:15 AM) nop. he using michelin PP2 215/45. is it the same as well? It is same type tyre which PP1 in older than PP2. It is stock tyre come with the car. The soundproof cost anything from hundred till few thousand Rm. Depend what package you take. If not mistaken full package can cost rm3.5k+.regarding on the soundproof, how much it will cost roughly?? any recommendation on some more silent type tyre? budget one.. so that nex time when wanna change can consider it.... There is alot silent tyre and each brand do carry some type of silent tyre. For budget, I not sure. If not mistaken Yokohama have some very silent type of tyre. But not cheap. Do consider, silent type tyre not good for performance. More suitable for normal use. As I prefer, michelin PP2 is a good tyre and suitable for civic. This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 3 2010, 02:50 PM |
Apr 3 2010, 11:09 PM
Apr 5 2010, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(RedsInHell @ Apr 5 2010, 08:39 AM) Here we discuss whatever civic car. Eh..Your 2007 is what civic huh? 7th generation? Added on April 5, 2010, 12:56 pm QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Apr 3 2010, 06:16 PM) And why do people complain about the tyres? Hard compound tyre is noisier... But has better performance... Why do you want a quiet tyre on a Civic? Normal people who's driving daily don't understand what is performance and don't require it. What they want is cheap and quiet tyre only. It is very annoying with a loud noise from tyre and the road. After all they not race evveryday.Have you notice that first batch of civic is all 16" NCT5 good year tyre. This is normal budget trye. But don't know what reason HM change the 2.0 to 17" PP1 michelin. Want price increase? This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 5 2010, 12:56 PM |
Apr 5 2010, 02:55 PM
[quote=ZeroSP,Apr 5 2010, 01:23 PM]As far as I know... Because people bising about the little difference for FD1 and FD2 back in 2006... So they put in 17' and PP1 as well as other changes in 2007.
http://paultan.org/2007/04/17/honda-malays...-20s/#more-4584 [/quote] I see. Well, choosing a suitable tyre is important for setting up the car. Just like buying a good sport shoe for yourself. Is the shoe is right, you can run better and faster. The PP1 is suitable for the civic. Handling and conering is quite good. Just forget the noise. Added on April 5, 2010, 3:02 pm[quote=e_k1117,Apr 5 2010, 02:10 PM] Added on April 5, 2010, 12:56 pm Normal people who's driving daily don't understand what is performance and don't require it. What they want is cheap and quiet tyre only. It is very annoying with a loud noise from tyre and the road. After all they not race evveryday. Have you notice that first batch of civic is all 16" NCT5 good year tyre. This is normal budget trye. But don't know what reason HM change the 2.0 to 17" PP1 michelin. Want price increase? [/quote] agree with u... i jt wan more comfort drive.... as i also feel quite "shock" when driving it... civic 2008. the tyre sound is so loud and i vy uncomfortable with it(currently i driving the SEG AE101-using the continental normal tyre) and i do feel that my old seg is better still in terms of the tyre sound insulation... if i change the tyre, will it be better?(but not so soon la)..... is altis better in terms of this tyre soundproof? [/quote] Yes, changing to quiet tyre will reduce the noise alot. But don't forget, once start to wear, the noise will comeback. But not as loud as peformance tyre. Soundproof do help in noise. But don't expect a big improvement. Mybe help to reduce the noise around 10%-30%. Never try drive on altis. So not sure. Why don't you test drive different car and check the noise? But must be same category. Don't compare with benz. This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 5 2010, 03:02 PM |
Apr 6 2010, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(e_k1117 @ Apr 5 2010, 09:21 PM) oh really ah... then should be the design itself didn't emphasize on the tyre part soundproof. it is more on performance purpose... As Neo-Y said, the 17" is a low profile tyre too. The bigger the rim and the thinnest the wall tyre will produce louder noise. And the widther of the tyre contact to road surface too. Many thing got to learn right? jt bought a yr08 civic from my relative.... when 1st time driving was quite shock on the tyre sound coz act me and my family more on comfort style driving... thats why wondering that there is other optional way/tyre which can reduce the tyre noisy sound(except doing soundproof- too expensive)... There is another way also. Change the rim to 16" or 15" and remain the same tyre diameter. The width of the tyre will reduce if the tyre inch reduce. This will increase the wall thickness and smaller rim. That will reduce the noise too. But minus the glamour and the reduce the beauty of the civic. Added on April 6, 2010, 9:39 am QUOTE(RedsInHell @ Apr 5 2010, 06:08 PM) bought 10/2007, latest one, 8th is it? but before the new face-lift release. Can face-lift only be considered new gen? That is 8th gen. face lift or no face lift.& agree with that noisy sound problem. my sis city has better, quitter environment. Also when you're closing the door, city's feel heavier,locked in more 'kemas'. Changed the tyres to dunlop, still no improvement. Try put the civic trye and the rim on the city. The noise is still there. And try put the city tyre and the rim to your civic. See the noise will reduce or not. You will know the answer. This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 6 2010, 09:39 AM |
Apr 8 2010, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 8 2010, 01:39 PM) ooops..i forgot to mention..i bought mine in australia..it came with 15inch..haha.. about the VTEC sound..i dono much..but from wht i heard from 2007 Jazz VTEC...it sounded the same as mine. but who cares...juz know VTEC just KICKED in YO! I guess many don't know that, 8th gen civic have a best engine sound around. Added on April 8, 2010, 1:40 pm around 4 to 4.5...it also depends how much u put pressure on the pedal. So please don't vroom vroom around. He.... |
Apr 12 2010, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(omnimech @ Apr 12 2010, 12:29 PM) I just took delivery of my civic, Bro, don't judge that early. Wait till you get 20km wear off tyre. than comeback and tell here.I can tell u the low profile tyres are definitely worth the noise. Hahhaa, handling is a dream . well its adequate for now, until i upgrade the tyres to something abit better. The handling is still not adequate. Try high speed cornering. And you feel the car front spring and absorber soft. |
| Change to: | 0.0410sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:44 PM |