U-mobile Thread!, 9cents/30secs

dgboy
post Aug 30 2012, 08:32 PM

5,074 posts

under GSM, umobile2G = Celcom and U Mobile = Maxis 2G

under 3G, U Mobile = either the real UMobile or Maxis

this is all quite confusing as in future we will not know whether our phone is tuned to the real U Mobile or is roaming under Maxis 3G

however, if you do manual search and select network, then the real UMobile is of course the Home network (see my pics above from this morning's post and you will see the house icon in the 3G network list)

having said all that, i believe the network name shown is dependent on phone model - some older or simpler phone may show Celcom or Maxis directly

This post has been edited by dgboy: Aug 30 2012, 08:41 PM
dgboy
post Aug 30 2012, 10:55 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Aug 30 2012, 10:49 PM)
I believe this is rather confusing, wouldn't be easier if they just show Maxis or Celcom directly?
agreed it is confusing...

UM may be deliberately hiding the network so people do not all force their hp to tune to Maxis rather than UM's own network

This post has been edited by dgboy: Aug 30 2012, 11:13 PM
dgboy
post Aug 30 2012, 11:12 PM

5,074 posts

just now, i set my nokia to gsm only

made a manual network search, both umobile2G (Celcom) and U Mobile (Maxis) are listed

when I choose the Maxis one, the phone flashes up Home Network Selected

when I choose the Celcom one, the phone flashes up Network Selected : umobile2G

evidently, Maxis is already being given priority as the preferred gsm roaming network
dgboy
post Sep 3 2012, 04:27 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(kop2299 @ Sep 3 2012, 02:43 PM)
anyone know the duration of the grace period for Umobile Prepaid line if I do not topup after active period?
90 days from Account Expiry Date
dgboy
post Sep 4 2012, 09:57 PM

5,074 posts

according to Malaysian Wireless the 3G sharing with Maxis may go live by mid-September
dgboy
post Sep 5 2012, 06:39 AM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Sep 5 2012, 12:46 AM)
correction - not 3G sharing, its 2G sharing.
2G roaming on Maxis starting to roll out already

3G roaming on Maxis is coming soon*

* and since this a sharing agreement between Maxis and UMobile, I suppose Maxis user will benefit from access to UMobile 3G network when they need it

U Mobile already has a 10-year multi-billion ringgit agreement with Maxis on 3G radio access networks (RAN) sharing. The deal with Maxis allows U Mobile to expand its current 2,000 3G base stations to 4000 base stations by 2013. Both companies are already working on sharing some 1,300 sites in the coming months. At the moment, Maxis has some 5,200 3G sites and 7,000 2G base stations. The 3G sharing is expected to go live sometime mid-September.

This post has been edited by dgboy: Sep 5 2012, 06:42 AM
dgboy
post Sep 6 2012, 11:18 AM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(levinx @ Sep 6 2012, 08:39 AM)
Maxis users wont be able to use U Mobile 3G.

This agreement is U Mobile users to use Maxis 2G and 3G networks.
Thanks for the explanation rclxms.gif
dgboy
post Sep 11 2012, 06:36 AM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Sep 10 2012, 11:45 PM)
Can we turn off voicemail?
Yes, but have to ask customer service to do it.

Some more, if you off voicemail you won't get missed call alert sms either.

dgboy
post Oct 28 2012, 06:21 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Oct 28 2012, 06:12 PM)
for the u mobile bonus is i top up 50 den i make a idd call den entitle for 15% top up bonus? the bonus is next time i top up or wad?
the bonus will be paid within 1 or 2 days

not too sure this promo is still on... the website says until 29 Feb 2012... I'll find out this week anyway since I just top up too and tonight will call friend at Singapore
dgboy
post Oct 29 2012, 08:00 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Oct 27 2012, 09:34 AM)
hey guys i set my apn for internet based on the umobile website.

but i can only connect to internet while on 3g. when 2g it does not work

how to fix this?
try switching on data roaming
dgboy
post Oct 29 2012, 08:05 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Oct 29 2012, 12:29 AM)
miss call consider ? or must a successful call ?
this 15% bonus with IDD call promo is still on.

yesterday, i top up and made the call, today receive the bonus already.

the IDD call must connect and be charged (but any minimum amount will do).

for new prepaid customers, the bonus only applies from your second top up onwards

example:

1 activate sim

2 top up RM5 or RM10 (no bonus)

3 top up RM50 and make IDD call (get RM7.50 bonus)

unlike DiGi bonus, you can spend the extra credit on anything smile.gif

dgboy
post Dec 10 2012, 04:34 PM

5,074 posts

The 3G roaming agreement with Maxis only covers Peninsula Malaysia.

This post has been edited by dgboy: Dec 10 2012, 04:35 PM
dgboy
post Dec 26 2012, 06:43 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(zuhairi1991 @ Dec 26 2012, 04:43 PM)
great.. bro.. now i used prepaid.. can change to postpaid? want try RM28 with 1GB data one..
Actually can subscribe to MB15 twice in succession to get 1GB/30 days under prepaid for RM30 (but no free mins or sms).
dgboy
post Dec 26 2012, 07:44 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 26 2012, 07:31 PM)
If you want Postpaid U28

do it this way

MNP UM prepaid > TuneTalk Prepaid > UM Postpaid
Might as well subscribe MB40 one shot, 2GB data for 30days, and auto renew get 500MB free data.
Yes that's what I'm using to power my laptop. And the auto renew bonus only 250MB.
dgboy
post Dec 26 2012, 08:11 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(zuhairi1991 @ Dec 26 2012, 07:51 PM)
So how much total need to pay? And total quota
MB15 = RM15 = 15 days = 500MB

MB40 = RM40 = 30 days = 2GB

MB15 manual renewal and no bonus

MB40 auto renew with 0.25GB bonus

Both strangle speed after quota to around 64kbps.

This post has been edited by dgboy: Dec 26 2012, 08:12 PM
dgboy
post Dec 26 2012, 09:35 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(et_kt @ Dec 26 2012, 08:38 PM)
What 3G speed to expect for MB40? Kind to share?
In KL, I'm getting 1-2 Mbps typically though it can go higher up to around 6Mbps.
dgboy
post Jan 2 2013, 06:42 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(raulxiver @ Jan 2 2013, 05:22 PM)
what are the standard prepaid charges for UM call and sms ?
Call = 18 sen / min (30 second block)

SMS = 08 sen to other network and 03 sen to U Mobile lines
dgboy
post Jan 15 2013, 10:51 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 15 2013, 10:06 PM)
I wish umobile prepaid got maybe a UMI40 for 1gb of data
You can use Mobile Broadband MB40, 2GB for RM40, the only difference is no free call or sms quota.

http://www.u.com.my/u-broadband/mobile_broadband_plans
dgboy
post Jan 15 2013, 11:36 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 15 2013, 11:24 PM)
But MB40 is not for phones right?
Can use it with normal sim and call plan.
dgboy
post Jan 15 2013, 11:48 PM

5,074 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 15 2013, 11:43 PM)
Oh thanks I didn't know that. Will consider it will see how. I hardly make calls or SMS nowadays so maybe I go for MB15, renew every two weeks.
MB15 have to renew manually. The bigger plans auto renew with an extra 250MB added.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0268sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:48 PM