Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 06:40 AM

548 posts

Hi all,

I was directed here by someone who saw the more global forums discussing about this over at :
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=128092&st=220

For Malaysians (in KL) who are affected by this stupid self-coma hard disk, I'm suggesting that we share and buy 1 unit of the HD Doctor for Seagate. That is known to be able to fix the hard disk without loss of data. There are people in UK + Canada who has confirmed that and I have also gotten a quotation from SalvationData.

I will be purchasing that very soon (before end of January - might delay to after CNY as the company is in China) but it's really costly. In order to recoup some of my costs, I'm proposing to fix other self-coma-ed hard disk for a small fee.

For those interested, please send me an email poolcarpet at yahoo dot com. Note that I am located in KL, Malaysia.

P/s: Anyone also contemplating to buy the HD Doctor? Just to avoid the situation where 2 or more people end up buying the same HD Doctor just to fix their single hard disk.

Thank you!

Added on January 15, 2009, 6:49 amBtw, for those affected, please try and goto:

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=128514

and post the details of your hard disk to DerSnoezie - he/she is from Holland and is doing the world community a great service by trying to compile the list of all the failed drives and come out with enough numbers to proof that this is no random hardware failure.

This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Jan 15 2009, 06:49 AM
poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 09:23 AM

548 posts

sellers/distributors are the victims too. they are even worse off, if they are keeping stock of this stupid brick. hopefully large retailers can pressure seagate into doing something. individually as consumers, it is very difficult.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 15 2009, 09:10 AM)
allngap is already generous enough to give the 3 months personal warranty. It should have come with no warranty at all.
poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 09:48 AM

548 posts

Nope. Not officially from Seagate. They are not even acknowledging this problem and just request us to send in the drive for RMA.

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 15 2009, 09:32 AM)
is there a firmware update out yet?
poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 10:05 AM

548 posts

Fully agreed with this - it's not any seller's fault, this is a seagate problem. Please don't fault the sellers as they are even more victimized that us consumers.

Anyway, just ensure you do backups of important data that is stored on this drive. Anything that you can re-download or reproduce, forget about it, but if you keep personal photos for example, you better back it up.

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jan 15 2009, 02:23 AM)
its not his fault its seagate problem

Added on January 15, 2009, 10:06 amCheck here and you'll see there are China made drives which failed too.

QUOTE(s1lencer @ Jan 15 2009, 09:37 AM)
lol, well I don't think that there's any soft marking in the information reported to the system that explicitly says where it's made...

maybe serial numbers if you have the master list of which set of serials originate from where.. but unless you work in seagate little hope of getting that. LOL. and if you DO work in seagate, you wouldn't be posting here now would you?

China or Thailand, you've still got a semi suicidal drive on your hands...

Added on January 15, 2009, 10:08 amCome here for more details on this - it's widespread all over the world. The best option now is to get the Salvation Data HD Doctor for Seagate 3.0 as users in UK/Canada have reported success in fixing and getting back their data. I'm trying to gauge how many in KL, Malaysia would pay a small amount to get their hard disk fixed. If there is enough number I will buy the HD Doctor and then we can fix our hard disks and then kiss Seagate goodbye!

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=128092&st=520

QUOTE(mhn21 @ Jan 15 2009, 10:03 AM)
a friend's disk just died... 500gb 7200.11 . bought at pcfair.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Jan 15 2009, 10:08 AM
poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 10:46 AM

548 posts

correct, so far it seems that 500GB and 1TB are mainly affected. Some 750GBs are also reported but no 320GB. See the list here:

ST3500320AS = 7200.11 500GB
ST31000340AS = 7200.11 1TB
ST3750630AS = 7200.11 750GB

http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/...racuda_7200.11/

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 15 2009, 10:31 AM)
-Err, as far as I know, there're only mentions on 500GB and 1TB drives, but none on others (correct me if I'm wrong).

Regards.
poolcarpet
post Jan 15 2009, 01:40 PM

548 posts

Zmir, I hope your words will not come back to haunt you! smile.gif

We are talking about drives that fail within few weeks and months from purchase date. We also have people whose hard disk was purchased in Dec 2007 and it failed in Dec 2008 due to this problem, so please don't assume that 'drives will fail over time' because in this case, it's not a hardware failure but a potentially defective firmware code!

Anyway, I hope you and your friends have backups, all the time, before every single reboot smile.gif

QUOTE(Zmir @ Jan 15 2009, 11:33 AM)
hmm, with my friends + me buying the ST3500320AS SD15 firmware, i think weve bought about 7 of them, and none of them failed over 6 months!
Not to say they wont fail, every drive will fail over time, so ppl who dont have backups are just sad ppl
poolcarpet
post Jan 17 2009, 07:44 AM

548 posts

Hi all,

Please do not simply update your firmware. Latest news now is that Seagate has finally acknowledged this problem and they will be releasing a firmware soon.

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=207931

Also, a statement from their spokesman:
http://techreport.com/discussions.x/16246

So those with this drive that is still running, hang in there make sure you have backups before you shutdown each time.

Those with this brick-ed drive and need to get the data back, wait for the news on free recovery.
poolcarpet
post Jan 19 2009, 10:37 AM

548 posts

AD14 fixes the cache issue, not this BSY problem.
I suggest you double check with Seagate and MAKE SURE you have 100% tested backups before you do this....

AD14 has been out for a while, so this cannot be the firmware that fixes the BSY problem.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 19 2009, 10:22 AM)
No, mine is AD14.  The reason i don't wanna post is because there could be different firmware for different batches. Don't simply pandai-pandai and flash everything to latest urself lar. I dun wanna post my firmware here and later screw up everyone's hard disks, then blame SeaGate.

Just give em a call, forgot the e-mail to the support posted up there. What's so difficult? Just spend 5 minutes on the line and kaw-tim already. Tell them ur serial no and they'll give u the correct firmware. Don't be lazy! doh.gif
poolcarpet
post Jan 19 2009, 10:49 AM

548 posts

I would suggest to wait for Seagate for official news. Don't try to pandai-pandai sendiri, may end up with a permanently bricked hard disk!!

Just use the online serial number checker to see if yours is affected, if yes, then send a mail to discsupport and wait. Serial numbers need to be in CAPS.

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 19 2009, 10:44 AM)
-BTW, can we use the SD1A firmware from Newegg (for 1.5TB ST31500341AS) for the 1TB drive (ST31000340AS)?
poolcarpet
post Jan 19 2009, 10:59 AM

548 posts

wow, it was working before! now they took it down??? maybe overloaded smile.gif

https://apps1.seagate.com/rms_af_srl_chk/

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 19 2009, 10:57 AM)
-Err, I already submitted a case on Saturday (2 days ago).  sweat.gif

-BTW, about the S/N Checker, refer here: http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/messag...&thread.id=5005
It isn't reliable.
poolcarpet
post Jan 19 2009, 11:05 AM

548 posts

haha, you do realize that Seagate didn't own up to this until much later when they faced enormous pressure from worldwide community.

Anyway, what I'm saying is - AD14 doesn't sound like the fix for this BSY problem. If it were, then we wouldn't have this problem and now we are waiting for Seagate's firmware fix. Numerous people worldwide have contacted Seagate for the firmware fix and was told it was not ready yet. So it will be really amazing if AD14 is the solution.

What I'm also saying is be careful if you are going to do this, and make sure you have verified backups of your data before you proceed.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 19 2009, 11:01 AM)
Maybe, but perhaps it also didn't have the problematic code in SD15?? Who knows. We are not Seagate.

0.0177sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:47 PM