Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

fisherman10
post Jun 1 2009, 12:17 AM

1,372 posts

hey everyone...pls relax

all is not lost. i used to have the same problem but i managed to fix it and recover all my data fully. I'm on a Seagate 750GB with S/N: ST3750330AS and FW: SD15.
I'm sure all of you would be thinking of RMA in which you'll loose all your data. I'm also pretty sure that all of you want your precious data back. I almost cried when i tot i lost everything but i managed to recover everything.
I know professional data recovery services would cost thousands. But i'm willing to do it at lower price. This is because, i'm not from a big company of wtv. I'm just soloing and doing this as my free time.
So...yea..as long as its not physical problem but this firmware problem where harddisk cannot be detected in BIOS, i can help. I even do data recovery in the case the drive was accidently formatted. Provided its not overwritten by any new data.

For more info and enquiries, contact me at : fisherman10@gmail.com also using this for skype. or just search my name - rfkwfoong
MSN : dwarling_90@hotmail.com
Phone number is 012 3 4 5 9 9 5 2.
My phone is usually off during the day but u can leave me an sms with your details or just email me and i'll contact you back surely.
Or you can just pm me.

p.s. From someone who has 16yrs of bookmarks, RSS feeds, softwares, DVDs and tweaks which was just about to be backed-up. i manage to save it...all glory to God!
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Aug 13 2009, 12:54 AM
fisherman10
post Jun 1 2009, 03:23 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 1 2009, 12:09 PM)
10 Years and never backup?

Seriously, no matter what brand you use, ALWAYS BACKUP. HDD are cheap nowadays. 1TB is only RM3xx. This is what happens when you're too lazy to do simple backup. Maybe fisherman can help you.

Fisherman: Nice service. I'll keep you in mind (touch wood!).
haha.....its not that i dont backup. you see, the case is like this. I wuz using a P4 where i had all my data there and of course 2 copies on a separate internal hdd la. then around november 2008, i bought my new quad-core together with the seagate. so i installed vista here n then transferred everything to here and then reformat my old P4 so that still can be used by my bros and sis coz it wuz getting clogged up. and then just as i was planning to back it up frm my new pc to the old harddisks this week, it died a few days before [murphy's law la...haha]. but thank god!....i manage to recover my data. icon_rolleyes.gif

[edit]:oops...i tot u were asking me why i never backup for 10 yrs. but anyway, i already typed it so.....dun care la]

Added on June 2, 2009, 12:44 pmso anyone needs data recovery services?
or shud i pm some of you peeps out there?...haha

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Jun 2 2009, 12:44 PM
fisherman10
post Jun 3 2009, 10:51 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(e-fatty @ Jun 3 2009, 06:57 PM)
fisherman, how bout selling me the cable needed to do it. RM 20. What do you say? xD
lol....come on la....
not easy to get the cable and its not that cheap also la.
if higher then can consider la. or u wan me to recover for u but thats a bit more expensive la. those pro data recovery companies charge like dunno wad and they bill u by kilobytes leh.
fisherman10
post Jun 4 2009, 11:35 PM

1,372 posts

@cruxs
I'm not really in KL area la. Would be easier if in subang area. and try to give earlier notice la. If further then i nid longer notice la. Need to arrange transport mah. n how much ur can afford?

@e-fatty
u adi noe that finding the appropiate tools not easy lor. where can sell so easily ar
haha

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Jun 4 2009, 11:35 PM
fisherman10
post Jun 5 2009, 04:51 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(SilverCast @ Jun 5 2009, 10:05 AM)
Whoa... My Seagate 7200.10 160Gb is dying tongue.gif Lucky I do regular backup smile.gif
I have some questions... My hard disk already 1.5years old. Can claim warranty rite?
I have checked the hdd's SMART and showed Power Up Time = 9700+ Hours. Am I still have the warranty?
No wonder my hdd kaput so fast... Almost 10000Hours of service already tongue.gif
I should throw away 24/7 habit from now on sweat.gif
well yours is 7200.10 so probably if its physical failure, then it'll have to depend how long is ur warranty la. check ur receipt or ur dealer la.
fisherman10
post Jun 6 2009, 01:39 AM

1,372 posts

under the T&C there, does amount of hours make a difference?
i usually think it's still gud for warranty la. coz usually they see like how many years n all. they dun really see the hours wan la.
fisherman10
post Jun 6 2009, 02:03 AM

1,372 posts

lol....must be leaving it on 24 hrs to dl movies eh? hhahaha
fisherman10
post Jun 6 2009, 05:46 PM

1,372 posts

well, they usually dont say how many hours la...
they just usually say abt 3-5 years la...coz many factors can affect ur hdd wan. like heat, fragmented hdd and rough handling.
so like usually its 3-5 years la...but it can spoil anytime aso because of factory defects or anything. we wouldnt know. the harddisk that you just bought might be an old one where someone sent it back for warranty.
fisherman10
post Jul 4 2009, 02:16 AM

1,372 posts

@dark.angel
you cant update the firmware when it cannot be detected in BIOS already. It's too late. Its now bricked already.
if u wan ur data den hav to send for data recovery la. giv me a call - 0 1 2 3 4 5 99 52.
i do data recovery btw.

@mxploit
as far i know when i last read at the seagate website, they only offer free data recovery for those in the US only.
any updates?
fisherman10
post Jul 27 2009, 10:13 PM

1,372 posts

hey guys..
@ghoster
i do data recovery and i can recover the data for this kinda problem.
if u're interested can contact me at fisherman10@gmail.com or msn - dwarling_90@hotmail.com
There are some here who are saying that they send their drive back to seagate and they get free data recovery and stuffs like that but i have seen cases where seagate just gives you back a new drive with a message which states that they were unable to recover your data.

@chiakm
this is indeed a firmware problem. but unfortunately, it is already too late to update the firmware as it already cant be detected in the BIOS.
anyway, i do data recovery, so feel free to contact me at fisherman10@gmail.com or msn - dwarling_90@hotmail.com if you're interested for more details.
fisherman10
post Jul 29 2009, 01:39 AM

1,372 posts

@ghoster
nowadays hdd's very cheap already mah.
what i can do is, i can fix it for u then u can decide when or where u wanna transfer ur data out or i copy everything out into another of your hdd.
the problem i said abt sending back to seagate might affect you but there's no 100%. u can try ur luck if you want but ones u send your hdd, you dunno what will happen to it.

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Jul 29 2009, 01:40 AM
fisherman10
post Aug 19 2009, 11:57 PM

1,372 posts

hey guys? anyone needs data recovery? You can be sure that ur data remains confidential. Sending your harddisk for warranty means that u're actually sending your data to wonderland. Who knows what they'll be doing with your data once your hdd is with them? And then there's the problem of your hdd being lost during transportation, or being mishandled.

So, all is not lost. i used to have the same problem but i managed to fix it and recover all my data fully. I'm on a Seagate 750GB with S/N: ST3750330AS and i'm not worried at all.
I'm sure all of you would be thinking of RMA in which you'll loose all your data. I'm also pretty sure that all of you want your precious data back. I almost cried when i tot i lost everything but i managed to recover everything.
I know professional data recovery services would cost thousands. But i'm willing to do it at lower price. This is because, i'm not from a big company of wtv. I'm just soloing and doing this as my free time.

So...yea..as long as its not physical problem but this firmware problem where harddisk cannot be detected in BIOS, i can help. I even do data recovery in the case the drive was accidently formatted. Provided its not overwritten by any new data.

For more info and enquiries, contact me at : fisherman10@gmail.com also using this for skype. or just search my name - rfkwfoong
My phone is usually off during the day but u can leave me an sms with your details or just email me and i'll contact you back surely.
Or you can just pm me.

I have already successfully solved this problem for a few users who have saw my services here. So rest assured as no data, no charge.

--
Email/Skype : fisherman10@gmail.com / rfkwfoong
Windows Live Messenger : dwarling_90@hotmail.com

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Sep 26 2009, 01:19 AM
fisherman10
post Oct 11 2009, 12:14 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(yOuNg$tEr @ Oct 9 2009, 09:44 PM)
lolx mine manage to last for 10 months.. SD15 firmware
just died today..
can i hook it up into an external usb casing to transfer the files?
once it's bricked, there's nth much u can do like changing ports or using ext case.
want data recovery? PM me.
fisherman10
post Oct 13 2009, 12:35 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(publicENEMY @ Oct 12 2009, 11:01 AM)
do you have any testimonial? did anyone have use fisherman10 recovery service? any comments?
wahh....
actually I've so far done 3 cases before. All successful. No data no charge.
if u want, i can give u their contact number/MSN if u wanna check. They're not on LYN so they didnt post anything here. I think they just probably googled abt this problem and they found my post.
dun worry...i provide fast service. I'll do it immediately after u pass me ur hdd. Abt 2 hrs after that, i can give you back ur hdd and I'll prtscrn the screenshot of ur hdd in My Computer also as proof. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Oct 13 2009, 12:36 AM
fisherman10
post Oct 13 2009, 12:44 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Oct 13 2009, 12:40 AM)
may i know the model no of ur 750gb drive there.

is it this 1??

ST3750330AS

and if u dont mind from where is ur drive is manufactured from??
Yeap...it is that model.
well, the 750gb drive is actually mine. In fact, the computer that i'm typing on now is using that 750gb hdd. Bricked once on me and of course i recovered it myself. The other 3 cases i did was all 500GB.

My drive was manufactured in Thailand also. biggrin.gif
fisherman10
post Oct 13 2009, 01:39 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Oct 13 2009, 01:34 AM)
thanks for the info man.

im kinda gambling on this one as its the same model affected but i think the new firmware does it job well.
ok... whistling.gif
but if u noe anyone with these bricked drives needing data recovery, look for me la....haha rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

thanks. wink.gif
fisherman10
post Nov 2 2009, 01:06 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(lambman @ Nov 1 2009, 04:04 PM)
oh no my 500g sea
well, if you need data recovery for these drives, I'm always available. smile.gif
fisherman10
post Dec 17 2009, 01:41 PM

1,372 posts

i can do and did data recovery for these drives with this problem. interested?

Added on December 17, 2009, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(TimKen @ Dec 17 2009, 12:07 PM)
my st31000340AS  1TB just got bricked today after been using for 1yr and 2mths, and i can't seems to revive the drive after trying the firmware update method, i would really like to send the drive back to seagate for data retrival but there some naughty stuff in my HD that i don't want others people to see XD.... is there any other options that i can salvage the data from my drive??
if u wan more info on data recovery, pm/msn/email me ya.

This post has been edited by fisherman10: Dec 17 2009, 01:49 PM
fisherman10
post Dec 29 2009, 11:29 PM

1,372 posts

@pal33x
replied u through pm already
--
anyone else need data recovery for this problem, pm me, very much cheaper than professional data recovery services and of course, dont need to worry about seagate stuffs laughing abt your private data, kicking ur hdd around, realeasing everything unto the Internet. rmb edison chen? brows.gif brows.gif
fisherman10
post Feb 23 2010, 10:27 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 2 2010, 12:49 AM)
Waa.... cry.gif my Seagate 7200.11 500Gb suddenly can't be detected. After a year of usage suddenly my bios can't detect it but the HD is power up and running. After searching around, I found out that it is a common problem for this model but I didn't know... cry.gif  What should I do? Can I send back to Seagate to revive it because the label said it is an OEM althought I bought it from retailer. Very important data in that HD  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
hey guys? anyone needs data recovery? You can be sure that ur data remains confidential. Sending your harddisk for warranty means that u're actually sending your data to wonderland. Who knows what they'll be doing with your data once your hdd is with them? And then there's the problem of your hdd being lost during transportation, or being mishandled.

So, all is not lost. i used to have the same problem but i managed to fix it and recover all my data fully. I'm on a Seagate 750GB with S/N: ST3750330AS and i'm not worried at all.

Or you can just pm me.

I have already successfully solved this problem for a few users who have saw my services here. So rest assured as no data, no charge.

--
Email/Skype : fisherman10@gmail.com / rfkwfoong
Windows Live Messenger : dwarling_90@hotmail.com

0.0384sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:10 AM