Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:09 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:00 AM)
they said the data on the platter is intact (only firmware causing it to disappear from computer OS),
but only seagate's data recovery services (or other pro HDD recovery) can recover them..
so masuk hospital lor.. if keranda then cannot even recover the data mah..  tongue.gif
Umm but my seagate "st3500320as" works for 1 yr till now without any clicking noise... btw i nvr dropped my drive when i service it....
firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:14 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:10 AM)
lucky you then
what is the firmware that your HDD using?
some just die without warning, u don't even have to physically damage the drive
umm how to check ehh i nvr upgrade the firmware.. sorry ^^
firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:19 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(firdaus_bob @ Jan 21 2009, 01:14 AM)
umm how to check ehh i nvr upgrade the firmware.. sorry ^^
wait a minute juz now i check at device manager at drives propeties and at details tab

property

device instance path

IDE\DISKST3500320AS_____________________________SD15____\5&B140DE0&0&0.0.0

i think my firmware is sd15
firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:25 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:20 AM)
haha, lucky you then
i am praying hard that my HDD won't brick on me, i need it to do my works, i don't mind if it wanna brick in May (touch wood)
get another extra hdd like me .... means you can store your data on safe hdd like wd green works green for me hehehehe
firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:28 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:26 AM)
so far Seagate has not came up with any solution doh.gif
anyway, if something goes wrong, it wouldn't be your fault right? it's like, you set up properly for them and all, but it's the hardware problem, not because of your negligence
ummmm RAID means RISK ACKNOWLEDGE IN DEVICE ahhaha just joking but raid takes alot of risk for my opinion...
firdaus_bob
post Jan 21 2009, 01:35 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jan 21 2009, 01:32 AM)
RAID 10. so these things happen on random ? or do they have a "timer"?
i still want my reputation to stay intact. and all this while i've been avoiding maxtor  sad.gif
sir im not that geek to explain you bout that but try click this link...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID_10#RAID_1.2B0

0.0136sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:33 PM