4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How much of a Bookworm are YOU? :D, On and Off? Casual? Hardcore?

TSfiredauz
post Jan 22 2009, 10:14 AM, updated 17y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

- I have a cabinet filled with nicely arranged books and magazines
- I work as a writer/editor in a magazine before, and I absolutely loved that job thumbup.gif
- How I usually read newly bought book, is by opening it little by little and read it from there on every page laugh.gif
- I used to be a librarian during college days @ part-time database admin and normal book caretaker biggrin.gif
- Everytime I pass by a book shop, no matter whether big or small magazine shop, I always thought of going inside and have a look. 90% of the time I would do so tongue.gif
- These days, most of my book purchases come from Amazon biggrin.gif
- One habit I have now on purchasing a magazine is to find the contest section and see if I have a chance tongue.gif

I guess I can categories myself as a casual bookworm.
I haven't reach the level of putting a frame on the wall for every new book I bought laugh.gif
lonely_traveller
post Jan 22 2009, 10:52 PM

241 posts

erhhh...i can said im hardcore smile.gif..lots of comics n magazines
roticanai92
post Jan 23 2009, 10:54 PM

Baby Audiophiler~
921 posts

- I have a cabinet filled with nicely arranged books and magazines
- Everytime I pass by a book shop, no matter whether big or small magazine shop, I always thought of going inside and have a look. 90% of the time I would do so

onli these 2..haha..
dishwasher
post Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I have a huge book shelf stuffed full of books. Its so full one shelf has a back row and a front row of books, and books lying flat on top of the rows. This stems from my need to buy books almost every week, which stems from my speed reading.

Yes I speed read, I was never thought to do so, just a natural thing for me.

In the last month, I have bought: Jack Vance's Songs of Dying Earth, Gene Wolfe's Urth of the New Sun, Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Thats from January 1st til the 20th. Almost all my money feeds my reading habit, which is why I'm too poor to get another book shelf.

Not only do I read alot, I'm extremely particular about my books. No dog earring, no damage to the cover, and I try to bend the spine as little as possible. I've screamed at people for mishandling my books, going so far as to ignore someone who accidentally sat on a book of mine for months.

I'm not just a bookworm, I'm a bibliophile of the most extreme type.
CallMeMonkey
post Jan 24 2009, 10:30 PM

506 posts

Probably just on and off bookworm. will only read book when i have the mood and time.
zenwell
post Jan 30 2009, 02:04 PM

1,749 posts

- I have a small cabinet filled with books, mostly double row and with some lying horizontal above other books. (wish to upgrade to bigger bookshelf but no space in the room tongue.gif)

- I always lookout for books warehouse sale or megasale wehre i can get cheaper books ( so that I can buy more tongue.gif)

- I used to buy magazines, enter the contest to win prizes (like firedauz), but now no more because really got no time. I got a big stack of postcard because they always request you to answer on a postcard especially beauty magazines.

- More than 50% of the books i have is not read yet. because i have no time tongue.gif

- i always carry one book in my handbag everywhere i go

- i usually won't be afraid bout my books being mishandled by others because none of my family reads novels and books. Even my friends who reads will read chinese novels so no worry of them borrowing from me (mine all english)

- used to read chinese novels and comics during younger days but i usually borrow from comic shop, seldom buy (and I read real slow when it comes to chinese words, half-past-six only tongue.gif)

- No matter how much i love that book, I won't buy if it is expensive. you can call me kiam siap/stingy tongue.gif. But really...no money la cry.gif cry.gif

ok, so far that's all. I think I'm only on-off bookworm because other thing really takes up a lot of my time compare to schooling days where I have more time for reading.
zergg
post Jan 31 2009, 03:41 AM

383 posts

i am the bookworm-in-making.. tongue.gif
but i got an obligatory to read book time to time again to be in line with my future carrier.
it doesnt feel the same way though when you are becoming the book geek with your heart not really into them.however with novels and graphic novels, that really is a different category tongue.gif
fundabonka
post Feb 1 2009, 12:27 AM

18 posts

Bookstores are hazardous to my wallet. Will definitely end up buying something everytime I get into one.
zenwell
post Feb 1 2009, 12:57 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 23 2009, 11:31 PM)
I have a huge book shelf stuffed full of books. Its so full one shelf has a back row and a front row of books, and books lying flat on top of the rows. This stems from my need to buy books almost every week, which stems from my speed reading.

Yes I speed read, I was never thought to do so, just a natural thing for me.

In the last month, I have bought: Jack Vance's Songs of Dying Earth, Gene Wolfe's Urth of the New Sun, Neil Gaiman's Coraline. Thats from January 1st til the 20th. Almost all my money feeds my reading habit, which is why I'm too poor to get another book shelf.

Not only do I read alot, I'm extremely particular about my books. No dog earring, no damage to the cover, and I try to bend the spine as little as possible. I've screamed at people for mishandling my books, going so far as to ignore someone who accidentally sat on a book of mine for months.

I'm not just a bookworm, I'm a bibliophile of the most extreme type.
@ dishwasher,

do you wrap your books?
MauveMarionette
post Feb 4 2009, 03:30 AM

70 posts

I consider myself as a casual bookworm.

I have a whole bookshelf full of books, some of them were from my mother's younger days but she's more of a non-fiction reader whereas I tend to read fictional and psychological-related stories.

I always carry a book with me around. Though try as I might to care for my books so that they are not dog-eared, they always end up somewhat bitten by the end of the day.

Biggest peeves: Pulling back my books to extremities that their spines met with each other. I'll kill you.

I don't put books as a priority to my shopping list but I often find myself wandering into a bookstore each time I pass one. biggrin.gif But I'm quite particular with the books I read.

I have a slightly smaller, different shelf for my poems, literature books and magazines.
feyhime
post Feb 4 2009, 10:13 AM

257 posts

Hmm I am casual I suppose.

I read mostly manga and fantasy novels. I need a new bookshelf very soon, the one I have now is already storing in maximum capacity (3-4 rows depending on size).

I will kill anyone who dog-eared or crack my books spine or leave any stains on it.

I'll buy the books if I like it (if I do have the cash otherwise it'll have to wait but I'll buy it for sure!).
rourou
post Feb 4 2009, 07:10 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

casual..... reading for me is another form of entertainment.. i go for light readings usually...... from science fiction to romantic novels to mangas smile.gif
dishwasher
post Feb 4 2009, 07:17 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I will kill anyone who dog-eared or crack my books spine or leave any stains on it.

You must be quite the personality! You're not casual, you're homicidal.

@ dishwasher,

do you wrap your books?
I don't. I like the feel of book covers and find plastic wrap to be icky. Besides, books under my care don't get bent or creased so wrapping is kinda pointless.

This post has been edited by dishwasher: Feb 5 2009, 05:14 PM
baoz
post Feb 5 2009, 05:08 PM

963 posts

I'm a casual reader here too.

I used to be a bookworm in school. Whipping out a book whenever I can steal a second or two but now no time...lol.

Here's my list. xD

1. I used to wrap novels I know I would keep as collection. Eg: Harry Potter series.

2. When I read a book, I only open like 10cm wide. Scared the 'spine' of the book will mark a lot of cracks.

3. I damn sakit hati everytime I accidentally fold a page or the edges get dog-eared.

4. My idea of shopping is the MPH, Popular or Borders. Not Topshop, MNG or Zara.

5. I only lend books to people I trust.

But nowadays I don't have the time to properly sit down and enjoy a nice novel. I have loads of books in my bookshelf unread and untouched.

Plus my mom has been nagging to clear up the shelf so I've been selling some of them. If new ones come in, the old ones gotta go.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 11:04 AM

431 posts

I think I'm a hardcore bookworm.

I read a book a night even though I've already start working.

I have books that fill up my home.My mom threaten to throw me out if I buy another book but I just could not help myself buying it.

All my book looks like brand new since when I read it I don't fold my book or open wide it.Yes I reread all my book at least three times.

I do not lend my book because I'm afraid they're going to ruin the book condition or they do not return it to me. I do lend it on some very special occassion.

In case of fire emergency in my home,first thing will be throw all my book outside and then only I save my family and the rest.

I was also a librarian and a the chief editor for my school magazine.

Yes I'm a speed reader which cause me to buy book a lot. 300 pages in 3 hours or less.So when I go on a long flight travel, I stop looking at those chick flick books that I can be done in less than 2 hours. I aim for those 800-1000++ pages.Even so, it can be finished in 10 hours flight with me sleeping on and off.

Anyway, any of you mind sharing second hand bookstores? I'm collecting James Clavell's novel and you can't get it in bookstores like Borders,MPH and all that. Plus buying full price for a book has taken a toll on my salary.

This post has been edited by milleu: Feb 6 2009, 11:05 AM
dawnreaver
post Feb 6 2009, 02:40 PM

659 posts

Er...I just stack up my books. No more place for them in the shelves.

One stack of books even doubles up as a stand for my left rear speaker. No damage to the books though since it's not one of those huge audiophile speakers.

I read mainly Warhammer Fantasy Battles, Warhammer 40k, Blizzard (Starcraft, Warcraft, Diablo) and Forgotten Realms (mainly just Drizzt).

I should take a pic of the whole overflowing stack sometime soon...lol!
dishwasher
post Feb 6 2009, 02:59 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(milleu @ Feb 6 2009, 11:04 AM)
Anyway, any of you mind sharing second hand bookstores? I'm collecting James Clavell's novel  and you can't get it in bookstores like Borders,MPH and all that. Plus buying full price for a book has taken a toll on my salary.
There's a 2nd hand book store at the top most floor of one utama, over on the MPH side (new wing). I think they have alot of Clavell. Honestly tho, you can't find Clavell at MPH etc? I swear I see his books lying around all the time.

BTW if you like Clavell you should try Wilbur Smith.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 04:00 PM

431 posts

Haha I think the book that you want always don't appear in front of you.

Wilbur smith? what most of his novel about?

I'm into phillipa gregory now. I like the plots and the women in her novel.But I prefer historical background.

I know even I bored myself with my current novel choice with the historical british,china,japan background but what to do I'm still in that mood.

dishwasher
post Feb 6 2009, 04:10 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(milleu @ Feb 6 2009, 04:00 PM)
Haha I think the book that you want always don't appear in front of you.

Wilbur smith? what most of his novel about?

I'm into phillipa gregory now. I like the plots and the women in her novel.But I prefer historical background.

I know even I bored myself with my current novel choice with the historical british,china,japan background but what to do I'm still in that mood.
Oh if you prefer semi historical stuff you'll love Wilbur Smith. Dashing men, beautiful women, and everything from the Savannah of Africa to the High Seas. Man meets woman, they fall in love, woman has affair, illicit love child, family fortunes won and lost... You know, that kinda thing. Wiki him.

And they're all really thick, so its good for speed readers like you and me.
milleu
post Feb 6 2009, 04:14 PM

431 posts

oh is this some kind of romance novel plots?

I'll be on the lookout for the author next time I go to the book store.

Haih I wish people around me is a book collector or something so I could borrow from them.Yes this does mean they can borrow from my collection as well.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0838sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:09 PM