Sony Ericsson Cyber-Shot C905 V2, Shiho is finally in town!

davidmak
post Feb 28 2009, 10:49 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(kokifung @ Feb 27 2009, 11:20 PM)
wah.. luck for u madman.. . laugh.gif  laugh.gif
hmm.. not no battery ar??
my phone also suddenly died off few times..  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
then recharge ok liou..  sweat.gif
If the battery has charge in them or not depleted to less than 10% and just shut off without any warnings or notification, I think it is a battery problem. It shouldn't just go off like that. If it is almost depleted, then ok lar.
davidmak
post Feb 28 2009, 01:58 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 28 2009, 12:23 PM)
battery was practically full ler...gf said she charged it the night before.
err...wat wifi problem??
I guess just let them have a look at it. Don't rush them and leave it there for a few days so they can diagnose properly.
davidmak
post Mar 2 2009, 11:13 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(saukoon @ Feb 28 2009, 06:28 PM)
i've updated my firmware to the latest version, as discussed here, wayfinder still shown as 7

yesterday i just tried the GPS function to get my location, and everything is fine until today. I was surprised that Navigator no longer works! Using explorer to find in Application folder, the Wayfinder 7 is gone!!!

i didn't know how could it disappear.. is that possible to reinstall without reset the phone?

thx!
In the new software update, WayFinder is still displayed as WayFinder 7. But if you check the version number in 'information', you'll learn that the version number is now 8.xx.xx. Visually speaking, the interface of the software is changed too and is the same as the Wayfinder 8 that you buy from their online store. I would say that its a spelling mistake on their part.

Or maybe (just maybe), they're avoiding some legal issues or some restrictions.
davidmak
post Mar 3 2009, 10:45 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Mar 2 2009, 10:35 PM)
I tried reupdating the firmware via SUES (because of the wifi prob) but it keeps getting stuck at 99% sleep.gif
Err... were you able to restart the phone despite quitting the SEUS? If it cannot, I'm afraid the only way is to send it in for flashing or using DaVinci flashing tool (chargeable). You won't be able to use SEUS to continue flashing because the finalization phase is screwed and SEUS's server is unable to certify the flashing (since it can't detect your EROM details). Only way is to flash from alternative bootloader (EROM approach) which is only accessible by SE or 3rd party flashing tools.

I had the same problem... always stuck at 98%. Some forums indicate it is a hardware failure. Some people say SEUS sucks since there's no 2nd attempt. Once fail, thats it. You have to send it in. If you're using AP set, I believe AP companies have the proper tools too.

Hope this helps.
davidmak
post Mar 4 2009, 08:37 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(xgnesh93 @ Mar 3 2009, 11:02 AM)
I had this problem too, what i did was i reflash it using A2uploader with Main + FS with custompack. Then re update using SEUS. It works wonder ya
So you have the tools and the files? Mind sharing with us? I think it is a good backup tool in case we hit into the 98/99% stuck SEUS. Thanks.

p/s: Upload to mediafire, faster too smile.gif
davidmak
post Mar 12 2009, 12:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Actually I bought original and checked all the features before paying. Too bad it had to die after software update (something undetectable simply by testing the phone briefly). So always make sure the warranty coverage is sufficient (both AP and authorized).

By the way, I read from here that there's a minor update already? Is it true? Checked back a few pages no real distinct discussion about it. What's the version?

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 12 2009, 01:00 PM
davidmak
post Mar 12 2009, 01:38 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(lim47 @ Mar 12 2009, 01:28 PM)
The new firmware has smile shutter ?
Thats R1DA032 right? That update include a lot of new features. However, he mentioned its just an update for bug fix and has improved overall responsiveness.
davidmak
post Mar 13 2009, 10:09 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Mar 12 2009, 06:03 PM)
the smile shutter and other applications is the major firmware update, there is another minor update(still take a while to download though) that is the bug fix only update. icon_rolleyes.gif
No go here. Checked with SEUS, no new firmware. Apparently SEUS detected my phone as CDF12xx-7979. But my CDA is 1208-0527 according to the service menu. Weird.
davidmak
post Mar 15 2009, 12:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Mar 15 2009, 11:18 AM)
got my C905 back from the service center!
i reported the key 6 problem, game A game B button problem and some sound that the phone makes when the phone is shaken.
but.....
the service center only repair my key 6. =_="
game A and game B didnt repair. and when i shake my phone still got sound. =_="
zzz... i think the service center ppl lazy ler.
Did they input all your comments into the jobsheet? Usually those technicians follow the jobsheet. Sometimes the customer service offer just round up all your comment so they could have missed your requirements. I always go through what they type to ensure that they get me correctly. Guess you will have to turn in the phone again.
davidmak
post Mar 15 2009, 04:25 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(alvinchan @ Mar 15 2009, 03:59 PM)
hey guys  some people selling their c905  coz they facing ear piece problems
that why i think buying original is worthy at that time
Well the ear piece problems were mainly from the initial batch of C905s (mostly AP phones). Original phones over W52 don't have this problem anymore.
davidmak
post Mar 19 2009, 09:50 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Dlim88 @ Mar 17 2009, 12:15 AM)
ohmy.gif My turn 2 have wifi problem....cant connect 2 my house router ...It just say out of range & after that my bluetooth can turn on or off but still can receive sms/call  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I had that problem once. I can't turn bluetooth or wifi on or off. It'll stuck. Even a restart won't help. In the end I had to take off the battery and let it reset before inserting it back again. After startup, everything goes back to normal. Weird... unsure.gif
davidmak
post Mar 20 2009, 07:45 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(felixx @ Mar 20 2009, 01:20 AM)
try take out battery,leave it ar 1 min then put back ...see what happen... biggrin.gif
Yeah try that. It should work. laugh.gif
davidmak
post Mar 25 2009, 04:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Mar 25 2009, 09:29 AM)
Here's a complaint i got on my blog post bout the C905. This gal got cheated by a shop in Times Square

pls buy from reputable shops so that if there is any problems, at least u can still exchange it
I don't quite understand the article. Why didn't the sales supervisor direct them to Sony Ericsson Authorized Service Center which is just opposite (and connected) to Times Square? The one in KLCC could just be another retail store. But, I remember our friend from here says that shop also provide support services and its open on Sundays while others all close.

Well, I don't think you can get a one-to-one phone replacement unless SE has exhaust all attempts to repair the phone or to restore its functionality. Case in point is that the owner should send it in. SE usually provides 3 days turnaround time. It'll give them enough time to troubleshoot. If all else fails, then SE will at its discretion offer a free replacement. I mean one can't demand for a one-to-one change without sufficient reporting and documentation of the problem. Other people also have to account for the replacement mah... cannot simply give replacements. There are procedures to follow (customer always right don't count here ya... tongue.gif ).
davidmak
post Mar 25 2009, 11:04 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

No offence, same advice. Send it in. The point is that you bought an Original set. You don't need to go back to the shop and put up with their 'bad' customer service. You can deal direct with SE where you have more say. Let them fix your phone. They are specialized to handle customers and concerns like you have. No point dragging. Get it down now instead of regretting later. The shop that you bought from is just doing retails sales, they don't have the facility to service a phone, let alone authorize a direct replacement.

QUOTE(sexyspanishguitar @ Mar 25 2009, 11:03 PM)
davidmak.

This is because MR TAKURO LEE FROM LATEST COMMUNICATION only directed to the KLCC one ! ! BECAUSE HE IS SUCH AN ASS
Ok, maybe he is hahaha! biggrin.gif But now you're smarter and more informed. Send it to SE Service Center at Plaza Berjaya 1st Floor (next to Nokia SC). You can go there via Times Square 1st floor through the bridge passing the Monorail Station. They're open from Monday-Friday (closing at 6pm) and Saturday until 1pm. Alternatively if you're from Cheras, you can go to Taman Segar near Leisure Mall and along the Maxis shop across the street.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 25 2009, 11:08 PM
davidmak
post Mar 26 2009, 10:49 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sexyspanishguitar @ Mar 25 2009, 11:12 PM)
davidmak

I dont think customers here in MALAYSIA have more says . I have already sent it for sure. And they said its the software problems. What does software problems got to do with  BATTERY OVER HEAT??? AND WHEN CHRGING THE PHONE IT SAYS PLEASE USE ORIGINAL SE BATTERY???? AND  MR JOHN WOO FROM SE NEVER EVER CALL ME NOT EVEN ONCE AS PROMISED. ITS US THAT KEEP CALLING THEM TO ASK BOUT THE PHONE. THAT AMOUNT OF MONEY RM 1800  WE HAVE SPENT ON THE PHONE IS PROBABLY A MONTH OF HIS SALARY. AND ON TOP OF THAT WE HAVE TO KEEP BUGGING THEM WHEN IT GOT PROBLEMS???
For the record, my phone (before February 2009 software update) has the battery heating problem. In summary my phone have the following symptoms:

1. Bluetooth connection cannot be established and cannot be turned ON/OFF without removing battery to reset. Not even soft reset.
2. WIFI connection cannot be established without removing battery to reset.
3. GPS is slow to detect. After using GPS, battery will heat up and experienced accelerated discharging/battery drain.
4. SEUS update will always fail.

After the February2009 major update, item 1 to 3 was fixed. I can confirmed it is software problem. In fact, battery heat up is actually not related to battery. It is the MCU that is heating up. I am convinced that after using GPS, it'll fail to close the GPS coding and kept it looping in the MCU wasting unnecessary cycles and causing the heat up. Also, when the MCU or other components is stucked at 100% utilization, they'll use more power and hence place a larger drain on the battery. When battery is discharging at higher than normal, it'll heat up. Simple characteristics of Lithium Ion/Polymer batteries.

However, after update my phone keep on restarting if I perform some specific steps like watching youtube with WIFI on. I am sure it was software problem because I didn't really do a full reset before using it. So I thought of updating again with SEUS but this time an EROM failure cause it to shut down permanently. So I sent mine in. After a few trips in and out of SE service center, they finally gave me a new replacement phone and a new battery.

By the way, a lot of new SE phones do not have the 'Optimized Battery Charging' wording anymore. Its only 'Batter Charging'. If you see something other than these (like what you mentioned), then you might be using a counterfeit battery or an original battery with a defective chip. To check if you have an original battery, you can inspect the holograms, etc. If you sent your in, they will be able to identify it and give you a new replacement. They will settle the issue with the place you bought it from. These things don't need to involve customer.

Added on March 26, 2009, 10:55 am
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Mar 26 2009, 10:10 AM)
My phone got the earpiece problem. suddenly didnt work last nite when it was working perfectly fine in the evening. then I use my handsfree then after that i refused to work.

When I receive/make calls, i cannot hear the other person. hv to put on loudspeaker sad.gif

lucky mine is ori. where's the nearest place to send it in Damansara or Bangsar area?
Looks like a flex-cable tear? I read that the flex-cable like any other slider phones is prone to accidental tearing. Thats why the earpiece failed to work but the speakers are ok. But this is just guessing. For locations of SE service centers, you can check their official website or give them a call at their numbers.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 26 2009, 10:55 AM
davidmak
post Mar 26 2009, 10:10 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Mar 26 2009, 09:40 PM)
I tio flame. lol.  icon_rolleyes.gif

anywayyyy, i got a call from SE today asking about the "customer experience" for C905. (i think the se service center gave the info in)
In the conversation, i mentioned:
1. keypad problem
2. hang issue (sometimes only)
3. game A and game B buttons lembik

hopefully they will take that feedback n go improve the keypad... then near end of my warranty i go change again. muahahaha.
Me not yet get such calls. Hopefully I can contribute when I receive one.
davidmak
post Mar 27 2009, 07:33 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 26 2009, 10:25 PM)
same here no luck also .lol doh.gif urs is ap or ori ? mine ap .lol
I believe SMS Chat was taken off and didn't make it to the February 2009 update. Probably the upcoming one will.
davidmak
post May 4 2009, 04:45 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Apr 29 2009, 11:03 AM)
Anyone experience this problem with their C905? All a sudden on a call the C905 will disconnect and you hear the unable to connect tone. Then you can see on the C905 the call but pressing on any keys won't do anything. After it hang for awhile it will say "Busy tone sent".
Yes, I have this problem. I suspect it is network problem because when it happens, the phone still display that it is connected to the other line. But its only once last week. Never encounter it anymore.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.1801sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:31 PM