Graphic Novels, DC Comics, Titan Books, Marvel, etc

TSIcedNyior
post Jan 20 2009, 04:10 PM, updated 17y ago

1,768 posts

Graphic novels are comic books that are aimed at a more mature audiences. (Read More). I'm sure everyone is familiar with movies such as Sin City and 300. Well those are adapted from Graphic Novels - Frank Miller's to be precise.

A friend introduced it to me some time back and since then I've been hooked. Currently reading Fables by Bill Willingham

The series deals with various characters from fairy tales and folklore – referring to themselves as "Fables" – who have been forced out of their Homelands by a mysterious enemy known as the Adversary. They have traveled to our world and formed a clandestine community in New York City known as Fabletown. Fables who are unable to blend in with human society (such as monsters and anthropomorphic animals) live at "the Farm" in upstate New York. It takes place in a continuity of its own, and is unrelated to the larger DC Comics continuity.

This post has been edited by IcedNyior: Jan 20 2009, 04:11 PM
firedauz
post Jan 20 2009, 04:16 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Graphic novels are always one of my favorite section in a bookstore thumbup.gif

Ranging from the DC series of Batman all the way to the Justice League, up until X-Men and Avengers of Marvels.

And above all, Alex Ross is one of my favorite artist thumbup.gif
dezz
post Jan 20 2009, 04:23 PM

201 posts

heh, fables is quite good with snow white and the big bad wolf as the lead characters. i luv how they make a spinoff of well known folklore, lol.

dishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 04:30 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

I was re-reading Watchmen in anticipation of the movie, and honestly it is a masterpiece of story telling. I'm baffled by the fact that the book has been banned by our KDN.

Yes, banned. Go ahead and search MPH, Borders and Kinokuniya, you won't find a single copy around. I asked at the Borders in the curve, and was told by a staffer that KDN has effectively banned them from importing and selling the book. How sad.
firedauz
post Jan 20 2009, 04:52 PM

876 posts

Why was it banned?

Content too sensitive for the local taste?
dishwasher
post Jan 20 2009, 05:03 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 20 2009, 04:52 PM)
Why was it banned?

Content too sensitive for the local taste?
I'm lost for a reason really. Maybe its Dr. Manhattan's habit of not wearing pants? I see nothing wrong with the content, if it was banned because of that then V for Vendetta should be gone from the shelves as well, but strangely its still there.
noisetrigger
post Jan 20 2009, 05:22 PM

687 posts

Banned? Then I am glad I got my copy from Kinokinuya like back in 2007
toobad
post Jan 20 2009, 06:04 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ Jan 20 2009, 05:22 PM)
Banned? Then I am glad I got my copy from Kinokinuya like back in 2007
Watchmen? sounds familiar, i'm not sure if i had seen on in my supplier's warehouse.

or maby its sandman, ahah i'm not too sure blush.gif

1 questions guys, is this a comic or graphic novel?

http://www.amazon.com/Absolute-Batman-Hush...32446090&sr=1-1

This post has been edited by toobad: Jan 20 2009, 06:09 PM
Massa
post Jan 20 2009, 09:51 PM

Massa™
709 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Jan 20 2009, 06:04 PM)
1 questions guys, is this a comic or graphic novel?

http://www.amazon.com/Absolute-Batman-Hush...32446090&sr=1-1
toobad , it looks like a graphic novel to me.
toobad
post Jan 20 2009, 10:26 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Massa @ Jan 20 2009, 09:51 PM)
toobad , it looks like a graphic novel to me.
Ohh ahah okay. thank you
firedauz
post Jan 21 2009, 11:54 AM

876 posts

I have a theory: One powerful element of a graphic novel, is when an iconic character, especially leading character, got into a worst accident that stops them from being a hero anymore, or even worst, dead. Its a cheesy move, but it sells well laugh.gif

By dead, I meant literally died.
(and stays dead for a long time, until *of course* the character is revived again) tongue.gif

Death of Superman was a freaking hit among fans.
The US fans treats the death of Sups just like how Japanese manga fans treats the day Joe Yabuki (Ashita No Joe) died.

Then Captain America was next, from the Marvel side.

As for the Batman fans, the day Jason Todd (2nd Robin) died was a huge frustration for Bats, but fans all over the world clap hands on reading that laugh.gif Most of them didn't like Jason at all, since all these years, Robin had always been d*** Grayson. Since Grayson had grew up and moved to Bludhaven as Nightwing, Jason was filled in. In the end, fans now loved the 3rd Robin @ Tim Drake, since he has the d*** Grayson-aura around him.

Batgirl's accident was also a runaway hit when she was shot by Joker and the Prince of Clown took nude photos of her. But who can forget the accident caused by Bane on the day he breaks Batman's back, crippled our Dark Knight temporarily.

I haven't read yet the latest powerful death graphic novel, and yes you can guess it --- the Death of Batman biggrin.gif

Anyone read it yet?
Massa
post Jan 21 2009, 02:10 PM

Massa™
709 posts

Good theory , firedauz.
But you just remind me of Cyclops death though.
dishwasher
post Jan 21 2009, 04:26 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

the Death of Batman

Looking at the entire 52 series, and the whole restructuring of the DC universe, and considering Batman IS DC, I highly doubt he'll stay dead. You know, just like Superman.
pikopi
post Jan 21 2009, 09:08 PM

Where's the usual place do u guys get ur g.novels?
The usual Kino? Borders? MPH? Comic shop?
By any means, if there's any other unique places pls share it.

I love graphic novels but it's been a few years since I lost bought one.
I still could remember my first graphic novel which is two of the Kabuki series by David Mack.
I was so psyched cause I couldn't afford it back in the days, so my bf gave it to me as a surprise rclxms.gif
dishwasher
post Jan 21 2009, 10:12 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(pikopi @ Jan 21 2009, 09:08 PM)
Where's the usual place do u guys get ur g.novels?
The usual Kino? Borders? MPH? Comic shop?
By any means, if there's any other unique places pls share it.

I love graphic novels but it's been a few years since I lost bought one.
I still could remember my first graphic novel which is two of the Kabuki series by David Mack.
I was so psyched cause I couldn't afford it back in the days, so my bf gave it to me as a surprise rclxms.gif
I get mine mostly from Borders. MPH doesn't have a good selection of graphic novels. Kinokuniya's selection rivals that of Borders but I stay in PJ, and its a 10 minute drive to the Curve, so Borders it is.
TSIcedNyior
post Jan 22 2009, 09:35 AM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 21 2009, 10:12 PM)
I get mine mostly from Borders. MPH doesn't have a good selection of graphic novels. Kinokuniya's selection rivals that of Borders but I stay in PJ, and its a 10 minute drive to the Curve, so Borders it is.
Same here. I think only Kinokuniya and Borders has a good selection. That being said, Border's Curve selection is quite small :/
dishwasher
post Jan 22 2009, 10:02 AM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jan 22 2009, 09:35 AM)
Same here. I think only Kinokuniya and Borders has a good selection. That being said, Border's Curve selection is quite small :/
It suffices. Midvalley isn't that far away as well, and the Borders the have in Gardens is quite decent. Anything to avoid going to downtown KL.

Any fans of Neil Gaiman's Sandman around here?
firedauz
post Jan 22 2009, 10:03 AM

876 posts

I read Sandman before, but not really a fan.

If its magic, I'm more of a Zartana fan brows.gif
Duke Beard
post Jan 30 2009, 03:49 PM

WWE Champion
1,305 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jan 22 2009, 10:02 AM)
It suffices. Midvalley isn't that far away as well, and the Borders the have in Gardens is quite decent. Anything to avoid going to downtown KL.

Any fans of Neil Gaiman's Sandman around here?
I have 2 Trade paperbacks. Seasons of Mists and Fables and Reflections.

But my favourite however is still my softcover of Kingdom Come. Excelllent work by both Busiek and Ross.
zergg
post Jan 31 2009, 03:36 AM

383 posts

owh iced nyiur..didnt know that you started this thread some time ago...i would be more than glad to join in as well as i have quite a number (not that much anyway) of graphic novels in my possession.
so, where should i start....
how about a simple one with black and white cartoon strip (that is rather a misleading to say it out loud as a cartoon strip considering in which thread we are in now whistling.gif ).it is called "DEMO #2 EMMY" by brian wood, becky cloonan.
this graphic novel is a rather simple pages of an overwhelming "rich" drawings painted with black marker.the dialogue really nail the plot.
well, what else can i say.try to grab one of your own and immerse yourself

Added on January 31, 2009, 3:38 am
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jan 22 2009, 09:35 AM)
i got mine from borders...and lucky enough for me to get a whooping 20% discount everytime i went there thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zergg: Jan 31 2009, 03:38 AM

0.0168sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:35 AM